of
reset
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Autobacs Venture S'pore Pte Ltd
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
53 Reviewers
2 out of 5
spacer
Technical Expertise
2.1/5 Customer Service
2.1/5
spacer
Value for money
1.9/5 Outlet Experience
2.1/5
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 2 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

53 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  • « Back ( 1 2 3 4 ) Next »
  •  results/page
OpelAstraJS
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
4 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Jul-2009
Excellent Service by Autobacs!  Posted on 14-Oct-2017
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise5/5
  • Customer Service5/5
  • Value for money5/5
  • Outlet Experience5/5
I would like to commend the excellent service from Autobacs service crew. I would like to make special mention of Ryan and Yong. Value for money tyre replacement Keep it up! Management Response
 
MaggieTayBeeLeng
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
12 points
15 forum posts Joined on 31-Jul-2017
Bad car service at Autobac and cheated your money  Posted on 31-Jul-2017
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise1/5
  • Customer Service1/5
  • Value for money1/5
  • Outlet Experience1/5
We sent our car first time at Autobacs for regular servicing on 8th July 2017, Saturday (Morning).
We waited for few hours and the car was ready about 3+, We paid for the fees of standard package for cooler and changed whatever recommended by the Mechanic, Andy. We spent $343.80 For the total services and parts changed and drove to Whampoa to visit my parents-in-law. That was appropriately a half hour drive.
After which, we wanted to head home at around 7.30pm. The car stalled and had to be towed to Autobacs Ubi. Please bear in mind that we still had to find our own means of transport to get home from Whampoa to Tampines and next day from home to Ubi for collection of car again.
The next morning, the mechanic called and denied that it was their fault. They claimed that the parts were old and we needed to pay MORE for the parts that were too old. They also claimed that the problem did not lie on the coolant, yet the reason for break-down was because it was overheated (according to them). Fine, we were wary but we still told them to go ahead. We can't do anything much anyway, since the car is with them.
Our car was in perfectly good condition before the servicing. We just brought it for regular checks to make sure everything is fine. However, after the check and change of part, IT BROKE DOWN.
That's not the best part, at 1.30pm, they called us again to inform that ANOTHER PART needs to be changed. Wow. It must be nice to have someone saying "Okay Okay" To everything they suggest right. They gave the same excuse, too old, needs to be changed, while giving a stuck-up attitude, as if we owe them. If we are not going to change the parts, they will put back the part and they won't bear any consequences, at the end, we spent another $348 for the parts which was caused by the overheating which the Mechanic, Andy did not check properly and rush to complete the work.
We went there as customers. Yet, we left feeling dignified and let-down at such poor service. We should have checked the feedbacks and reviews given by other customers on Facebook before actually heading to Autobacs.
After the incident, we went to check the reviews and found out that we're not the only ones that got "Conned". Sure, you might argue that it's not explicit conning but constantly taking out money to fix the car AFTER the check felt terrible. Why didn't the Mechanic inform us at the first check? They only told us that our car had SO MANY PROBLEM after it broke down AFTER the check and put the blame on us for driving when the water is leaking?
Go ahead, send your car to Autobacs if you want to experience a rollercoaster of emotions. Go ahead, if you feeling rich and wants to be chop on the cutting board like cabbages. Go ahead, if you want to experience the 'BEST' service.
With that being said, that's the last time you'll be seeing us at Autobacs. Good riddance. I was told by Autoback marketing manager, josephine wong that my coolen was serviced by machine and not human. The fault don go to any of the mechanic nor the machine, it is just that we are unlucky that the machine did not do a good job and damaged our coolen and the only compensation that she can gives us is a one free service, who will dare to go back to Autobac for free service, I don know this time what will be damaged on my car, and what spare parts i need to change again. Never wan to go back to autobac for servicing. Car Owners, go autobac for servicing, at your own risk and be prepared to by Con by them again and again. Good luck to all Management Response
 
Kombahbao
Premium User Kombahbao
Clutched
3 reviews
36 points
44 forum posts Joined on 07-Jan-2012
Just go there for minor purchases  Posted on 02-Jul-2017
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise3/5
  • Customer Service3/5
  • Value for money3/5
  • Outlet Experience4/5
My rule of thumb for Autobacs is to only buy small small items there. Their promotional items can be pretty good, and you get to have everything under 1 roof.

Besides the random car accessories (blind spot mirrors, power sockets, air fresheners, etc), I installed my car cam and regularly change my light bulbs there as well. So far pretty ok except for the car cam (most exp stuff I purchased from them). The cam powered off randomly on a few occasions. Not sure product defect or poor wiring.

They did ask me if I want to do more stuff (change engine mount as the rattling was bad) but were not pushy when I rejected. Management Response
 
Demio1102
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
16 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2012
You get what you pay for  Posted on 31-Oct-2016
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise5/5
  • Customer Service5/5
  • Value for money3/5
  • Outlet Experience5/5
No doubt about it, prices here are 10-30% More expensive that outside workshops. But you get service, you get after sales service, and you get a company that stands by its products. You get a clearly written invoice for every job done, you get to browse their aircon showroom while your car is being worked on. You can't get these at the outside workshop. For tyres wait for their promos the prices are quite ok after the promo. Management Response
 
happy_April
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
4 points
0 forum posts Joined on 04-Oct-2016
Quotation of repair is too expensive  Posted on 04-Oct-2016
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise3/5
  • Customer Service4/5
  • Value for money3/5
  • Outlet Experience3/5
The quotation of repair is too expensive.
Car service package is considable. Management Response
 
Otgekoo
Premium User Otgekoo
Clutched
7 reviews
31 points
24 forum posts Joined on 26-Jun-2009
Great Disappointed with Loyang outlet  Posted on 06-Jul-2016
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise2/5
  • Customer Service1/5
  • Value for money1/5
  • Outlet Experience3/5
Initially have good impression on Loyang outlet when I first went there to replace my Rims and tyres. Did wheel alignment as requested by the tech mechanic. Felt this outlet is much better than UBI outlet. However, last wheel alignment this new young tech I did not see last time ...1 year later after the wheel replacement...This young tech inform that my shocks are affecting a good alignment and suggest to replace shocks together with 1 free wheel alignment. I accepted and place a deposit due to time constraints and fixed today to install the shocks. The replacement was done by another tech which I felt he just wanted to finish fast and told that the free wheel was not noted but after my insistence he just get it done any how stating that my lower arm is showing worn out. I just feel he can still get it properly done as the before they also did a poor alignment for me and inform that the wheel alignment system is faulty.

From my point of view they charged me expensive shocks then told me the lower arm Crack another cost before they can do proper wheel alignment. Always seems to have many fault after 1 another which really felt disappointed with their skills and experience. 1 guy told me it is due to the management wants to see revenue that why autobacs are charging sky high spare part and labour, which labour are not proving customer with skills and customer service satisfaction. Autobacs seems to be 1 stop workshop but I feel it maybe worst than normal workshop at autobay or Sim Ming road. Management Response
 
Nick9072
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Mar-2016
Poor customer service and day light robbery  Posted on 20-Mar-2016
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise1/5
  • Customer Service1/5
  • Value for money1/5
  • Outlet Experience1/5
Was at autobacs Bukit Batok on 18/03/16 to fix a puncture tyre. The staff instead of recommending a check on the de flated tyre recommended a change of one . Hence decided to take up the option thinking that tyre probably need replacing. Upon replacing tyre and checking on puncture tyre , realize there was no visual damage n probably only the valve is faulty . Well I don mind changing tyre but guess what the tyre which they sold me use double the price in the market . Well last time I will visit them again even thought hey are Juz a few steps from my place. That is daylight robbery . Poor service n no customer service . Only think of robbing the customer .Defintely no recommendation to anyone. Management Response
 
Mrfamashammmmmmm
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
16 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Aug-2013
Fast & Efficient.  Posted on 16-Dec-2015
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise3/5
  • Customer Service3/5
  • Value for money3/5
  • Outlet Experience3/5
Despite the many negative reviews, I must say my visit to Autobacs was a brisk. Although prices were really steep, and I didnt have much of a choice to go to other workshops, as i was rushing for time, I tried my luck with Autobacs. Fixed my rearview camera with them. Within a day, all was good! Management Response
 
Limpeh23
Premium User Limpeh23
3rd Gear
15 reviews
366 points
203 forum posts Joined on 21-Apr-2011
Great Variety but Pricey  Posted on 04-Aug-2014
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise3/5
  • Customer Service4/5
  • Value for money3/5
  • Outlet Experience4/5
This is basically your supermarket equivalent for car stuff, your so called NTUC or Giant. You can basically find almost everything and anything car-related in here, while browsing through the aisles in air conditioned comfort. Tyres, rims, head units, engine oil, car cleaning products, interior accessories, you name it they probably have it. They also provide car servicing. Only thing is, their products are not the cheapest around and are mostly priced a bit higher than outside vendors. The trade-off is the convenience of a one-in-all store. Service wise, staff are pretty pleasant and helpful, although the reviews on their mechanics has been mixed. Management Response
 
Cybernation
Clutched
4 reviews
34 points
32 forum posts Joined on 13-Dec-2009
Most lousy place ever when comes to customer service  Posted on 17-Nov-2013
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise2/5
  • Customer Service1/5
Was served by a bespec fellow with a crooked mouth on his physical appearance. Attitude towards me lousy, with another ang mo fellow he served him like a king. Obvious double standard. Charge me 10 bucks labor for engine oil change. When ask why was it not the case last time round he says unless im a member. Flash member card LL replied labor waive. When ask about change sparkplug at the same time says this time MUST charge labor cause different job. He die die have to charge the labor by giving an excuse to do so. I dont even want to give half a star rating. No service standards, a disgrace to their Japanese bosses when Japan is internationally well known for their service standard. Engine oil is reasonably priced but alot of hidden cost when want to install other things. If not my usual workshop is close on sunday I would definitely not have come. Nevertheless the young mechanic named Ben was knowledgeable and courteous. Management Response
 
D3v1LmAn69
Clutched
2 reviews
38 points
36 forum posts Joined on 14-Jan-2012
Bad experience in car amp install  Posted on 01-May-2013
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise2/5
  • Customer Service2/5
  • Value for money1/5
  • Outlet Experience2/5
Few days ago went to Autobacs Ubi to purchase and install a Pioneer
GM-D9500F car amp. Total cost is $569 including wiring($100). I asked them to put the amp in the trunk but for some stupid reason they say only can install under passenger seat. I bet these jokers just want to save money on wiring. So, after installation I checked and verified the amp is working properly, able to play CD and songs from USB stick okay. But later found that when turning to radio, all my FM channels reception became very bad. Read many forums and found class D amps have a tendency to affect FM reception. So brought car back to them. Their tech spent some time to tshoot. Eventually they did something to the power antenna wiring and improved the reception but did not totally eliminate it. He commented that part of the cause is due to my installation of LEDs for stop light, saying that if i step on brake while listening to radio, reception will be worse. Even did a battery test show me results and try to convince me that maybe battery not strong enough therefore
reception bad, recommend me to buy a new battery. I did not believe it is caused by a weak battery so did not fall for the trap. Their car batteries are very expensive.

Few days later I checked the car amp connection in detail as I wanted to tune the gain to match my car speakers. Realised these jokers are just plain lazy in the wiring job. At a price of $100 for wiring labor they do not even use lugs on ALL wires to connect to the amp terminals. They just strip about 1cm off the ends, twist and connect to the terminals.I checked the manual which strongly recommended the use of connector lugs. End up I installed the lugs and reconnect the cables! The power cable used was also too short such that it was a pain in the neck to loosen the screws securing the speaker wires. In addition, both the power cable and ground cable are both RED. Walao eh!

Based on the experience above, I believe the techs there are really unprofessional despite charging a much higher price for car audio services. I will not engage these jokers again for any car servicing or audio system installation.

If you want car audio stuff, go read forums, know where the recommended shops are, go there window shop, take down brand and models, go back home do research on the specs and reviews. Buy what you really want and engage other car audio shops to do installation for you. 4-gauge, 8-gauge, RCA and speaker wires are readily available at Sim Lim Tower. They have a number of shops selling car audio stuff, and there are shops on upper levels that help you install the audio accessories for a fee.

Stronly recommend you give Autobacs a miss. Regret is never a good feeling I tell you. Management Response
 
VitaC
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 09-Jun-2012
 Posted on 09-Jun-2012
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise2/5
  • Customer Service2/5
  • Value for money2/5
  • Outlet Experience2/5
last mon when to autobacs. was looking through GPS while waiting for car but nobody seem to care. very dissatisfied and price is so steep. Management Response
 
Sinori
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
9 points
4 forum posts Joined on 16-Apr-2012
Auto BAD  Posted on 14-May-2012
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise1/5
  • Customer Service2/5
  • Value for money1/5
  • Outlet Experience1/5
I will NEVER let them touch my car again. Sent in my car for servicing on friday night, spent more than $200 and get my car into more trouble. End up I have to take cab to go home. called my up the next day and tell me to change fuel pump to test. End up I called another workshop to tow my car from them. The other workshop solved my problem without changing ANYTHING. This will be a warning to all newbie. Management Response
 
Tharkyn
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 18-Feb-2012
 Posted on 02-May-2012
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise1/5
  • Customer Service1/5
  • Value for money1/5
  • Outlet Experience1/5
Do not trust them. Prices are insanely high - mine was 60% above what others charge. Had my radiator changed with them last Sunday since i didn't know of other shops that were open. Didn't have much of a choice since my car had to be towed. Tried to complain but only received stupid excuses like "we don't check the market rate and just let our supplier quote price". When i asked for a breakdown, they tried to minimize the cost of the radiator by quoting $170 for the hoses alone. It's funny how they try to get out of it only to make it more obvious. Going to CASE and file a complaint. Management Response
 
Enigma69
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 29-Dec-2011
 Posted on 29-Dec-2011
spacer
Overall Rating: 
  • Technical Expertise3/5
  • Customer Service2/5
  • Value for money1/5
  • Outlet Experience2/5
Did my servicing with them and I felt that service was ok. Was advised to replaced all 4 shock absorbers and paid $980 for non original parts (Not sure if I was ripped off). Alternator had problems the very next day and I brought the car back. Mechanic was helpful and prompt to help me identify the problem. I was then advised to replace the alternator but was quoted the price $1700! Got it fixed at another workshop at a fraction of the price. In short, I find that service of the staffs were alright but the prices they charge can be sky high. Management Response
 
  •   Sort By
  • « Back ( 1 2 3 4 ) Next »
  •  results/page
Receive 2 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Merchant Logo Autobacs Venture S'pore Pte Ltd
2 stars - based on 53 reviews

Recommended for you

1-6 of 18