Past Car
Models no longer being sold by local distributors.
Model unavailable since Dec 2012
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Road Test - Nissan Sylphy 1.5 (A)
09 Sep 2009  |  Nissan Reviews
Nissan aims to widen their demographic beyond middle-aged ’Uncles’ and add a touch of class to their family range. But have they succeeded?
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Nissan Sylphy
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
22 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3/5
17 out of 22 (77.3%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

22 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Hozei
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-May-2013
Nice, Comfortable Car, But A Tad Bit Underpowered  Posted on 08 May 2013
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
So i bought this 2006 bluebird sylphy two weeks ago. It is the 1.5 litre version with 4 speed (i think) automatic gearbox. Bought it used with 40000kms on the dash. Car looks new. Almost untouched. The previous owner must have been very careful or very responsible or both. Good thing.
My previous car was a 2001 nissan bluebird sylphy n16 with 1.5litre qg15de engine. Manual transmission.

What I like
1. The cabin space for both front and rear passengers. Wow. Its mind boggling how Nissan did this. I am 6 foot 2 inches tall so i know what am talking about. It is so spacious i can sit at the back and cross my legs. Awesome.
2. Comfort. The car is comfortable to ride in. Think the suspension is the reason. Very soft. Don't know about driving on rough roads though.
3. Noise insulation. The cabin is very quiet. Minimal noise from outside.
4. The steering has controls mounted on it for the stereo and i believe the gps.
It has gps navigation.

What I do not like
1. The tiny 15 inch shoes (wheels). Too small for my liking. They don't do justice to the looks.
2. Currently am getting 9.8kms/l which stinks to high heaven. Am thinking of checking plugs and everything to see whats causing it. It should do better.
3. Acceleration is lethargic. Probably coz of the heavy body and small engine.
4. Drum brakes. In this day and age?
4. The gps and radio is in japanese. I dont know any japanese
5. Car sits too low so ocassionally scraping the underside

Adeline_1973
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
2 forum posts Joined on 10-May-2011
My second ride. I like it!  Posted on 10 May 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have owned this car for 3months. So far so good, very comfortabe, compared to Sunny. Good fuel comsumption, always get 12.3-12.7. Very silent engine, air con is very strong, rather underpowered. Must floor my acclerator jus sometimes at PIE. Rather light steering, very easy to grip hand wheel, have a nice leather feeling on it.

Overall, the Sylphy is a comfortable and reliable ride. I bought this car with no-regrets! Don't think. Go for it.

What I like
-Comfortable ride. Can stretch at back.
-Light steering. Especially for a lady driver like me.
-Foot brake. Very little cars has this feature in its league.
-Fuel comsumption. Better compared to my previous Sunny.

What I do not like
-Puny 15 inch. Should make it to 16 or 17"
-Not much.

CJH_1967
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
10 points
10 forum posts Joined on 03-May-2011
The Nissan Sylphy. My sixth car, and the best one! (:  Posted on 03 May 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I have decided to go car hunting to replace my 3 years old ride--Latio Sport. I had 3 choices in mind-Sylphy, Civic and Latio. I decided to turn down Latio as it is very common on the roads and looks bad. Civic is also turned down as it has a bad sound system (1.6l) and has rather bad sound insulation. So, I went down to test the Sylphy.

I've drove the nissan Sylphy for about 1 and a half years. I've bought the Sylphy as I needed a big, comfortable ride. And of cause, my friends strongly reccomanded this car to me. Frankly speaking, this is one of the SLOWEST car I've ever driven. But I feel that the Sylphy is the most comfortable drives I ever had. From the Latio Sport, to Sunny, I feel that it is the most comfortable rides. I nearly slept in the car before. :p Apart from comfort, i like the size of the car. Looks like a 2.0l! Handling have improved afer i changed my stock rims to the 17" ones. Steering is rather light. Leather seats can be kinda of hot for the weather in Singapore. But the air-con is very strong I must say.

Price is rather steep now, might be due to COE. I bought the car at about 70k. One complain i must say, I think some people in this review have encountered this also, the loud and inaccurate. But has lowered the volume of it, so now still under control. I am also impressed by the car's sound proffing, very silent!

Overall, I feel that the Sylphy is a very comfortable, stylish ride. Therefore, I WILL recomand this car to my friends.

What I like
-Comfort. Almost slept in the car once.
-Sound-proffing. Very silent ride, especially at high speed.
-Size, rare sight to see a 1.5l so big.
-Style, rather stylish, look like a executive car.

What I do not like
-Puny 15 " rims. 16 or 17" should be better to give it a more blanced look.
-No auto-attractable mirror, must fork out exra cash. Must be very careful when boarding and alighting car.
-Slow pick-up. But that is not a big problm, because I'm not the chio type.
-Speed cut at 165kmph.

Du4509
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Dec-2009
My first car, I love it  Posted on 18 Oct 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
It's been 8 months above when I got it as OPC car. Till now it's only 7K+ km as I only use it in weekends most of time. Excellant car for the price at the time I bougut it. 66K before OPC rebate.

Mine is black color and I installed solar film after I bought it. Have to say, the inside temporature is high when parking under the sun even with the solar film. The aircon is good. I normally set inside temp as 27 & 28 and still feel cool when driving.

The FC is quite OK. Not as 6.9L/100KM as in the spec, but I managed to control my speed and maintain it as 9L. I usually drive in high way without jam. I drove to Melaka twice and enjoyed the speed of 130 - 150 and still feel stable. I noticed the FC will increase a lot when the speed is more than 130. It's about 12 for 130 and 14 for 150. Thinking it's due to the 1.5 engine, not 2.0 one. The best FC is at speed of 80 which is about 4 or 5. By the way, I managed to speed to 170km when there is no traffic (and police) before me.

As it's my first car, I don't have many comparison with other brands. I just love it and it's desired for a family car, not a racing car. I can feel the acceleration is not that good even I put od off. The comfortability is the most important when I chose this car as my friend recommends me.

What I like
- comfortability
- exterior design (metal border of side windows, only with luxury cars)
- convenience brought by keyless system
- huge space

What I do not like
some features like
- no control in the steering wheel
- no auto-lock system (I had once left the car unlock for 2 days as I forgot to lock the car)
- dragonfly-like front lamp design, not fasion

Bouncetheking
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
1 forum posts Joined on 28-May-2010
My first drive  Posted on 28 May 2010
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
I have been driving it for 4mths. It is a comfort drive that shuttles me around between point A & point B. Car is underpower when driving with full load, especially driving up slopes.

Reverse sensor fails to work when I collected car.
Feels lack of power when driving with full load, maybe due to car size and heavier weight

What I like
Leg brake as seldom seen in car in the same range
Keyless entry for convenience
Huge boot
Exec look
Adjust car seat vertically
Remote car boot control

What I do not like
Bumpy ride when going slow speed
Manual button to close/open side mirror
Low FC; currently stands at 10.5-10.7km/l
Lack of power with full load
No USB ports
Single CD player

Ttbest
Premium User Ttbest
3rd Gear
1 reviews
382 points
275 forum posts Joined on 01-Jan-2006
Most Comfort Ride!  Posted on 04 May 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Definitely the most comfort ride i have gonna thus far. The engine is quite and the soft suspension really makes the journey most pleasant for all in the car

What I like
Most of the gadgets and design of the car

What I do not like
- No Engine Start/Stop button
- No Buttons on steering wheel

Fgn
Fgn
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
7 points
10 forum posts Joined on 25-Feb-2010
One Great Comfort Car!  Posted on 14 Apr 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Have been driving the new car from April. Very comfortable and smooth ride. Good handling as well.
Compared to other car brand in it's category, one of the best!

What I like
Keyless entry
Extremely smooth ride
Comfortable seats
Spacious legroom
Air-con powerful
Quiet Interior
Remote boot release

What I do not like
No control buttons at steering

Liana12
Clutched
2 reviews
29 points
22 forum posts Joined on 10-Apr-2010
Tested And Love It.  Posted on 13 Apr 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Hi, I tested the car and after I straight place a booking. Got the COE on the 1st bidding as told by my TC SE, capped at $28.3k. Now waiting for my baby to arrive end of April. A luxury mid sedan that was build with comfort & space in priority. Surprisingly spacious & comfortable in it's class. Although the size looks big but I feel the 109 ponies power plant is adequate to move this beauty. Very quiet interior.

What I like
1. Keyless entry.
2. Space & legroom.
3. Quiet Inteiror.
4. Wood trimming add more class.
5. Ionizer air-con.

What I do not like
1. No electronic drive seat. (Only for 1.5)
2. 15 inch sport rims for such a big car. (16 or 17 better)
3. No wood trimming on steering wheel.

Falling_stars
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Sep-2009
Definitely much beta car of its category  Posted on 03 Apr 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Has been driving this car for 3 months. Most of my friends who sat in my car says : is this 1.8 or 2.0? another says : u dare to let your gf drive such a big car? the rest says : u sure its 1.5? exterior looks big but interior is huge i can say, esp the rear seats.

At first for its size, i thought would be heavily underpowered and boot space would be small but it prove otherwise. I have no problem overtaking and able to fit 2 full size luggages in its boot. Very smooth and quiet ride at 100-120kmh. Tried top speed cut off at 165kmh, engine ok, but guess my suspension too soft resulted difficulty in handling.

But its definitely not for sporty car go-ers.

Of this category, any beta cars?

What I like
Executive exterior and interior compared to most 1.5/1.6
Spacious interior
Spacious boot
Responsive engine
Feels like a living room when sitting inside
sound insulation
cheap taxes/insurance
Executive features - keyless entry and go, foot brake, tilting headlights, arm rest dual compartments etc

What I do not like
FC - 10-10.5kml
Small fuel tank - 42l
Top speed cut off @165kmh
no sun roof

JingHng_1990
Neutral Newbie
47 reviews
11 points
12 forum posts Joined on 31-Mar-2010
Value for money ride!  Posted on 02 Apr 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
My friend drove this car for 3 years now. The condition of the car is still in tip-top condition and a/c is still very cold. Interior is comfortable although dash feels plasticky. Boot space is well sorted and fc is also quite okay but cold be improved compared to the corolla axio. This looks like the cefero but who buys the Sylphy now when there is the Teana?

What I like
Mostly all

What I do not like
Sluggish engine
FC is not well sorted

Tinydog
3rd Gear
1 reviews
494 points
460 forum posts Joined on 28-Oct-2009
Value for money car  Posted on 02 Feb 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Much higher quality then my previous ride - VIOS. surpass in terms of comfort, size, features. Keyless entry is cool but i have my doubts about it in the sense that it doesn't give me a sense of security when compared to locking by remote in my previous car. However this kind of things I can get used to it. 1.5(A) lacks many features that can be found in the 2.0(A). Too bad but you got to pay a premium to have those features. Otherwise its a good value car considering the high OMV and COE of 18+K each while selling at 65K at the time I got it. FC yet to be determined but hope its not much worse then my previous 06' VIOS.

What I like
Classy gear shift
Huge rear space
Nice seats
Light steering
Good sound insulation

What I do not like
Got to pay for DVD player
Got to pay for body kit
only 4AT
no motorised seat adjustment
Single CD player
No USB port

Darthkk
3rd Gear
3 reviews
391 points
384 forum posts Joined on 31-Aug-2009
Very Satisfactory Ride  Posted on 16 Jan 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Realise from my last post I accidentally put 'NO' in 'would I recommend tis vehicle to a friend' so i come back again to put a strong 'YES' since the post cannot be edited.

After 2 months of driving, the experience is getting better, the FC improves to about 8.6L/100km, and engine performance gets better, pick up improve and very smooth in acceleration. And the other day on NSH, travelling on an ave of 120km/h, the RPM is only about 2300.. very smooth and steady.

Would change the tyres to a quieter version though, the stock one is indeed too noisy.

What I like
everything

What I do not like
still the reverse sensor :-)

Alanchensc
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Jan-2010
Most Comfortable and Value for Money 1.5L car in the market  Posted on 16 Jan 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Just got the car in Jan'10. Interior is "huge" and seats are comfortable. Engine power is average but you can still accelerate and over take vehicle if you are "daring" enough to step on the accelerator and "push" forward. Looked at previous reviews made, this is a family sedan, so for those who got used to performance cars such as Subaru WRX/STI fans, please don't post your comments here as the car is under power because if we compare your Subaru with Porsche - your car is definitely "under power". It's definitely a better buy than a Thailand made Toyota in terms of sound insulation and engine quality. Changed the tyre to Michelin Primacy LC and the ride is more quiet as compared with the original Yokohama Aspec tyres. Have compared this car with Kia Cerato Forte and Chevrolet Cruze - Nissan Slyphy is a better choice for me in terms of comfort, spacious interior and FC. Currently the price at S$66k or lower is a good buy in terms of the S$18k OMV and high COE.

What I like
1) Interior seating comfort and spacious driver seat
2) Good FC of 13 km per litre (60/40 highway/city drive)
3) Body size (doesn't look like a 1.5l car)
4) Quiet engine
5) Huge boot space - can put two golf bags

What I do not like
1) Car body design can be further improved to make the car look more "sporty"
2) Average car suspension as you need to slow down when crossing road humps

Xusadnoh
1st Gear
2 reviews
94 points
83 forum posts Joined on 11-Dec-2009
Fugly plus underpowered  Posted on 03 Jan 2010
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 1/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Sat in my friend's sylphy 1.5AT as a passenger and drove it for a few days when he was overseas.

Exterior: Fugly as hell
Interior: Cheap plastics that rattles
Drive: Poor handling and lousy suspension with only ok comfort level. Lousy brakes too.

Conclusion: This car is seriously overrated

What I like
None

What I do not like
1) Ugly styling (subjective)
2) Sucky acceleration
3) Rear drum brakes
4) No audio controls on steering wheel
5) Puny 15" wheels
6) Torsion beam suspension (rear)
7) 4AT is so passe

Darthkk
3rd Gear
3 reviews
391 points
384 forum posts Joined on 31-Aug-2009
Most Comfortable and Luxurious 1.5 car in the Market  Posted on 30 Nov 2009
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Just collected the car last week... and used it extensively during the last long weekend, and only one word to describe this car "comfortable' :-)

Was hunting for a new car to replace my 8 yrs old ride, went around test drive and monitoring the price. Sylphy was not n my radar at all until it drop the price to 67k. And I decide to take a look, and it's love at first sight, my whole family loves it as well.. the leg room is so hugh, the car does not look that big but once you get in you really cannot tell how they have so much space inside this car and the comfort leather seat.. wow. I can say it's much more comfortable and luxurios than some entry lever BMW and Merc.

What I like
1) The Luxury interior feel and comfortable leather seat
2) I love the touch of the steering wheel, very nice leather
3) quiet and easy cruising, the first time I drive I cruise up to 120km without realising as so stable you can't feel the speed at all!
4) The facelifted central console, looks very nice at night with the orange lighting
5) Handling of the car is easy
6) very big boot

and of course, the spaciousness of the car!

What I do not like
1) a bit under power, a few times I do not have confident to change lane or overtake at all while on highway

2) the reverse sensor given to me is just too loud and not indicative

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Nissan Sylphy
3.5 stars - based on 22 reviews