This is a past / unavailable model
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Road Test - Kia Picanto 1.1 (A)
16 Sep 2010  |  Kia Reviews
Can this small car outdo its competitors in terms of space and drive? Hop in with Julian as he takes the cutie out for a drive.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Kia Picanto
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
28 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
3/5
23 out of 28 (82.1%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

28 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Cabbage
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 24-Nov-2010
Best bang for buck car!  Posted on 24 Nov 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the new sports edition Picanto at c&c and to my surprise it's engine is pretty good. Doesnt feel like a 1.1l car, engine is smooth and good enough to get from a to b at a fairly fast speed.

I loved the interior and exterior of this new version, looks sleek and sophisticated! However, the plastic feel seats were a bit fo a disappointment. Still the brakes look great, the steering wheel and gear all lookmuch more classy with the leather wrap.

The exterior rocks as well.

I just wished there is airbags to this little car and perhaps more color choices as c&c only had 2 colours left. I'd also appreciate better seats.

But overall, i loved the car and will be getting one very soon!

What I like
-interior/exterior design
-engine smooth
-price

What I do not like
-seats, too plasticky
-should have a retracting mirror system
-no airbags

Camrycamry
2nd Gear
1 reviews
243 points
241 forum posts Joined on 12-Apr-2010
Value for money car!  Posted on 19 Nov 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Drove my friend's 2 year old pica. wow! beyond my expectation! Interior certainly don't look cheapo, pick-up reasonable, low consumption... If you don't carry 5 pax for most of the time, this is certainly a value for $$$ point A-B car.

What I like
Easy to parallel park, low consumption, nice interior.

What I do not like
Not comfortable with 5 pax.

CountryMan
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Oct-2009
Gave up on this car after test drive  Posted on 11 Nov 2010
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
had been testdriving friend's picanto as i wanted to buy a new car. want a cheap but new car with warranty.

One my friend's car, interior plastic start to have patches after 10 months. Handling is not so good. dun feel good sitting in the car. boot space is also too small. it is lacking many important features like airbags electric mirror etc

In the end decided to buy a Chery A1 instead. looks nicer and cheaper and comes with more features.

What I do not like
handling
plasticky feel
small boot space

KylerTeh
Neutral Newbie
5 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-Jun-2010
Cuteness plus Reasonable Price tag.  Posted on 11 Jul 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Hi all! I went to test drive the picanto during my free time. I find the car rather... stylish! Engine is okay not too underpowered and FC! Simply amazing! It is the same as a Jazz! Incredible! Many said that this would be a good starter and I really think so!

Have a safe drive ahead!

What I like
*Styling-Cute!
*FC-Not bat at all!
*Value for money-Of course! You get what you pay for!

What I do not like
*Engine a little underpowered-But still can live with it!

Skylurker
1st Gear
3 reviews
70 points
78 forum posts Joined on 10-Nov-2009
Good starter car + cost efficient  Posted on 26 Jun 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Good point A-B car. Although it has a small boot space, the rear seat can be collapsed to give you a bigger storage. Rev it up high and you can zip through traffic at ease (dangerous too). It is my own car, and family's 2nd car.

Considering that Singapore do not need really big CC cars for this size, I went for this rather than the swift or Getz, which have higher engine cc. 1.1L saves me a lot on road tax!

What I like
- Strong engine
- Comfortable seats
- Good Handling on steering
- very cold aircon (at near heater already also freezing cold)
- small fuel tank
- Low F/C (15.8km/l for MT)
- Quiet engine even at 110-120km/h (try it at NSHW!)
- Easy to manual wash
- Easy to get spare parts
- Very cheap maintainance
- Cheaper road tax
- Cheapest in this range
- Cheap insurance too...
- RON92 petrol can already!!

With all these cost savings, there is no sacrifice of engine breakdown or whatsoever that causes misery to driving. Thumbs up for this wonderful car!

What I do not like
- Small boot space
- Wiper jerks (but problem solved recently by cleaning glass...)
- Wiper spray too strong, sprayed at car behind (may be good for some people)
- Pick up loses to most cars
- No rear wiper

JingHng_1990
Neutral Newbie
47 reviews
11 points
12 forum posts Joined on 31-Mar-2010
May consider this car to be your first car.  Posted on 31 Mar 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I drove this car 2 months ago during my friends birthday. When i look at this car, it reminds me of the rainbow. It has wide choice of colors and stlish headlights. I am impressed with the service at Kia motors and will hope to come back again to test drive it.

What I like
Overall,great car
Simple design
Cheap
Steering wheels [it feels simple]
Knockdown rear seats
smooth transmission

What I do not like
No airbags, abs, ebd
May feel floaty at highways.
Take awhile from 0-100 km/h

Manterror
1st Gear
5 reviews
62 points
59 forum posts Joined on 06-Feb-2010
Simple yet fun and best for starter.  Posted on 06 Feb 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Picanto is our first car and had driven it for 3yrs now. We initially needed a simple, cheap and nice car to start with. So we tested and look into few models, namely Perodua KELISA, Chevrolet AVEO, Hyundai GETZ/MATRIX, Toyota PASSO/VIOS and Suzuki SWIFT. All these cars has their own good and negative factors. And it takes us months and finally decided to go for PICANTO. Never regret it, its simple, its cheap, its cute and as a starter, it fit our needs.
We had tested our stock condition PICANTO even to its limit by driving 150km/h from TUAS checkpoint all the way up to Malacca non-stop. So far so good, only wear and tear issue like tyres and brakes since we bought it. Fuel wise, meet our expectation.

Its time now we needed to upgrade to a bigger car and always keep ourselves neutral in selecting car regardless if they arent japanesse made. Our korean car did perform. Our next car should sit comfortably for my growing children and as usual, cheap but reliable as a mode of transportation from point A to B.

What I like
1) Simple and cheap to maintained.
2) Nice and cute looking.
3) Compare to other car of the same class, Picanto did outshine the rest in Performance/Economical.
4) Easy handling

What I do not like
1) Good for starter with no children to family of 4.
2) Boot space.
3) Look sportier if comes with Sunroof.
4) Stock tyres to sport 15" probably.

TuffDaddy
1st Gear
1 reviews
61 points
59 forum posts Joined on 12-Sep-2009
Good first car for non family people on a budget  Posted on 25 Oct 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I've been driving a Picanto every now and then these past few months (rental).

What I like most is that it's easy to handle, especially when parking because of its small size.

What I don't like is that the boot size is so small that it cannot even fit my baby's stroller.

Also, it's a bad idea to bring more than 3 people if you're going grocery-shopping. You're gonna need every passenger seat area possible to plonk your groceries as the boot just isn't enough.

Everything else I can live with. No other issue.

I'd recommend this car for non family people on a budget. Definitely not a worthwhile long term investment if you have a family to drive around.

What I like
Easy handling.

What I do not like
Small boot space.

Baphomet
Premium User Baphomet
5th Gear
1 reviews
2,190 points
2075 forum posts Joined on 10-Aug-2009
A very good point A to B car.  Posted on 12 Sep 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Just collected my Pica 3 weeks ago. I will have to say that it surpass my expectations. Air-con is cold. Handling is excellent. Engine is quiet.

What I like
Cold air-con
handling is swee
Price
cabin is quiet when driving

What I do not like
no auto rear window
pick up sluggish...but its a 1.1....so ok la
manually adjusted side mirror..
rear view mirror too small

Crawdad22
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-May-2009
A True A to B Car  Posted on 25 Jul 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
If you are looking for a A to B car, the Kia Picanto is perhaps the most cost effective choice our there in the Singapore market right now.

What I like
-Good Fc
-Easy to park
-Good driving position for tall pple
-Continental styling

What I do not like
-Stock brakes mushy
-Stock tires poor grip
-Back windows not auto

Westray
Clutched
1 reviews
25 points
31 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Beyond the expected  Posted on 12 Jul 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Don't be deceived by its small looks, the spacious interior design can fit 5 adults comfortably with average 1.7m. Although some of the common features doesn't come with the original package, it didn't matter to me. Enjoy driving it at all times, feels like my own room. The colors are colorful! A 'personality' car.

What I like
Easy navigation.
Comfortable.
Driving at around 80km/hr can save up to 500km for a 30L tank.
Super value for money!

What I do not like
Slow pick up.
Engine is slightly noisy.

Helengoh
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
About my cute Picanto  Posted on 05 Jul 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
A small and easy-to-park car with sufficient leg space despite its small size. The powerful aircon, the cute look, the reasonable car price, the compact exterior size, the ease of steering, the low oil consumption and the boot space.

The auto transmission gear when change to reverse or D is not very smooth sometimes, the blindspot is a bit hard to check, the pickup speed is a bit too slow when there are full load in the car, the car will jerk when going over bumps even at low speed, the window at the back have to be rolled up and down manually, no pocket pouch for the back seats, small compartment for putting things.

What I like
The aircon, car price, the exterior size, the steering, the oil consumption and the boot space.

What I do not like
The auto transmission gear control, pickup speed, car jerking when going over bumps, the manual window at the back, lack of pocket pouch for back seats, small compartment.

Ronleech
5th Gear
1 reviews
1,420 points
1315 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
100% Value for what you paid  Posted on 27 Apr 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Have this ride (manual) for 2 over years. This ride is 100% worth for the amount you paid. A non-fuzzy peopls car.

What I like
Small and zippy
Good fuel consumption - 29-30L i can go about 500+-km (Singapore area travelling within 70-90km range)
Easy to handle
Low maintainence cost (at least till now)
Good for it class, i had drove to genting for 5 times and malacca for once, with 2 adults and 2 kids (Condiser i am a 100kg man)
Top speed at 150+-Km/hr at NS highway and still stable
Very stable while cruising

What I do not like
Vehicle abit light
Small boot
Slower at pickup and 4th gear

Wind69
Premium User Wind69
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
13 forum posts Joined on 16-Apr-2009
Car for first time owner  Posted on 25 Mar 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
First time owner here, if you are looking a car with power then this car is not for you. This car is recommended for ppl who travel from A to B.

Be prepared to wait up to 3 mths if they dun have the colour you want. The waiting time to get the car is a bit turn off though.

What I like
Easy handling
Small but spacious in its class (to mi)
Comfortable ride

What I do not like
A bit noisy interior
Small boot

Luigi
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 16-Apr-2009
Datsun  Posted on 19 Mar 2009
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I encounter same problem like reviewer 3. They dont know what is promise. I waited for a month plus but still cant get the car.

What I like
No comment, not yet drive.

What I do not like
Empty promise.
superslow delievery.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Kia Picanto
3.5 stars - based on 28 reviews