Past Car
Models no longer being sold by local distributors.
Model unavailable since Feb 2013
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota Rush
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
8 Reviewers
3 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
2.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3/5 Features
3/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
2.5/5
6 out of 8 (75%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

8 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( ) Next »  
  •  results/page
FiatMan
Neutral Newbie
22 reviews
1 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Oct-2010
Most Valued Money Car you can buy from the market today  Posted on 09 Nov 2012
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I remember driving this car back in 2007-2008. It was my 2nd car. This car has a tall height ride which is perfect for me.Even though you could not drive this car fast it is still a great valued for money car you can buy now. I checked the internet and they sold it around 38-57k. The FC is great too!. This car would travel you from Singapore to KL smoothly. The cabin noise is loud sometimes. I hope from the next generation of the Rush the AC would be much better.

What I like
Everything

What I do not like
AC

Clanceroy
Premium User Clanceroy
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Feb-2012
A big surprise for me!!!  Posted on 03 Mar 2012
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I had just changed my Nissan Presage to this little cuty Rush. Before changing, I have heard many people feedback that Rush is not powerful, consumption not so good etc etc. But when I went for a test drive, it was a big surprise for me.

The first sight at this car, it really attracts me alot. It is cute, tall(which is a must for me to choose a car) and stylish. Once sit inside, my mum instantly exclaimed that it is very spacious, she can fold her legs and sit comfortably, just like sitting in my presage.

The acceleration is not so fast but I thinkone reason is because most Japanese cars take into consideration of safety. But it speed rather well on the highway. Swift andAs you accelerate to a higher speed, the car seems a bit noisy but it sound so much better to me compared to my presage, a 2.5L MPV, sounds much more noiser than it, and also draggy like an old man when it moves.

Stability is another reason I like about Rush. With such a high CG, the car is still so stable when going up a slope and travelling on a rough road. Fuel consumption is low. I drove this car to KL and only need to top up twice half 3/4 tank of petrol for the whole trip. Handling is easy, especially with the overall clear view of the surrounding.

The rear cargo space is spacious too, even presage doesn't give such a big space, unless you knock down the third row seats.

Overall it is a handy, functional and economical SUV and I really love driving in it. It has given me the comfort and ease of driving.

What I like
Sluggish, cute look
Height
Spacious interior and cargo space
Fuel consumption
Easy handling

What I do not like
The aircon control switch.

FerrariVeyron
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Jan-2011
Cheap and Reliable SUV  Posted on 22 Jan 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
My dad bought this car in 2009. And when he brought it home, i decided to test it. The looks of the car, it has a cheerful look, but with a dash of evil. It looks like the Mona Lisa painting, a mysterious unexplainable expression. Then came the performance.. Not bad. The acceleration (0-100km/h in about 12secs). Which was relatively alright being a 1.4L SUV car. It is relatively silent while cruising at about 80-90km/h. But when i decided to speed up a little, to about 110 km/h, it began to rumble quite a bit. So yeah, it isn't made for speed. So what is it made for then? Well, easy said, it is for practicality, easy, fun and cheerful driving, which is a +1 for woman drivers and it is a breeze to handle and drive this car. It ride height is also high, so it is easier to see on the road while driving. Easy to park too as it comes with rear parking sensors and a kerb mirror at the hood. The car also came with an LCD touch screen monitor, which is good as it plays my favourite DVD's and CD's with Bluetooth and Radio function. However, there are the downsides.. On a HOT day, the car feels like an oven. The single fan is not capable of cooling the whole car on a really hot sunny day, which is very bad as sometimes it gets really stuffy and warm. This agitates me abit, but well, i can't be expecting a Mercedes Benz cooling Airconditioning system in a 1.4L Toyota Rush. So in conclusion, it is a car that is made for fun and practicality.. Not much for its speed and comfort.

What I like
- The Price
- The Practicality
- Easy to Drive
- Cheap to Maintain
- Not a Gas Guzzler
- The Fun of it :)

What I do not like
- The air conditiong system
- it cant be driven as fast
- comfort in the car can be improved further

Ahkuek123
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Jan-2011
RUSH  Posted on 11 Jan 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
The comfort and the features for this is rather average, but it's the handling and the exterior looks that keep me driving this car for 2 years. i like the exterior look as it gives me a sporty look and this car is damn easy to drive due to is light handling and tall view from the driver position, however, the legroom space is rather small for a height of 180 as i have to push the seat to the back all the way, causing passenger behind me to suffer.

What I like
Kerb mirror helps a lot when i'm doing the parallel parking
Engine is quite underpowered but when i'm using the overdrive, overtaking is much easier.
fuel consumption

What I do not like
engine performance
air con
comfort
noisy ride
legroom for drivers and passengers in front and at the back.

Shahrizal
Premium User Shahrizal
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
19 points
6 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Affordable Japan SUV  Posted on 10 Dec 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I bought this Rush ever since it was launch in 2006. Now, I've been driving this car up to Penang Malaysia. At 1st I thought I might need at least 2l engine car but with Rush, hassle free. Further more, I'm not the drive which into performance type. 90% of my car cosmetic is still original especially the engine. I would recomend this car for a 1st time buyer on SUV. Very reliable in every most aspect.

What I like
Fuel Saving - Super
Comfort - Good
Interior - Average (A simple plan interior)
Exterior - Good - (Easy to maintain)
Handling - Good - Easy to handle as an SUV
Driving - Good (Especially long distance)

What I do not like
Aircon - only fit in 1 fan. Need to switch full blast on super hot day

Interior - Front seats are bulky with cushions which make the car looks smaller inside.

Noisy while driving long distant.

Chancm79
Premium User Chancm79
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Not a car I would recommend  Posted on 19 Aug 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 2/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

What I like
Good Fuel consumption
Nice car design

What I do not like
Slow acceleration, problem when overtaking
Noisy engine
High centre of gravity, have to be careful when making turns
Small cabin space

Dunnounme
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Most affordable SUV - recommended only if you know how to appreciate a budget SUV.  Posted on 21 Mar 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Before I start my review, I would like to point out that this review is for a compact budget SUV, not a saloon car. So readers have to tune their mindsets to evaluate an SUV. It would be a total mismatch to compare a mini SUV with a saloon car's character.

I have been driving a Rush for 14 months now and I've not regretted changing from a 3 year old Corolla G9 to this Rush. Of course, not comparing what the Corolla can offer me but what a SUV is suppose to offer me.

Comfort: The ride is a little bouncy for the rear passengers when going over uneven roads. Front passengers are still ok. Typical of a SUV since their suspensions cannot be soft.

Reliability: No issues so far, except for some slight rattling in the boot area due to the spare tyre mounts, expected for such mounts.

Handling: Pretty decent for a SUV, not much body-roll during corners but try not to do it too fast due to the high CG. Steering is light but accurate, good news for ladies.

Exterior design: Nothing to complain about. Good looking and compact.

Interior design/features: Typical SUV practicality with fully split rear seats to give good cargo space. Two 12V socket (one in the boot). Foldable power side mirrors, height adjustable headlights and driver seats. Leather seats of my choice of colour and trimmings. Kerb mirror is especially helpful during parking.

Engine performance: Typical of a SUV, it's initial gear ratios are taller than saloon cars, meant for better torque. First 2 gears are a little lethargic and noisy, but once it goes into 3rd gear, it's quiet cruising. I did some grounding and intake modification (cost less than $500) and the low end performance improved quite a bit. At cruising speed, engine noise is audible above 100kph. Again, SUV gear ratios are not meant for cruising, they are meant to be multi-purpose, including moderate off-roads.

Fuel consumption: I have been getting 11-12+km/l constantly with 60-70% highway driving. This considering the fact that I'm lugging 2 amplifiers, one big sub and 50kg of sound-proofing around. I sound-proofed the whole car from 2 layers on the roof to floor pan and 4 layers on the doors.

Off-road: One big let down if you're into off-roading is the lack of 4WD. Rushes here are RWD. Hence, it's only suitable for light to moderate off-roading. Any ditches deeper than the tyre radius should be avoided.

What I like
- high driving position, good all-round view, no worries about flood...haha
- Good looks
- Economical SUV, good fuel consumption (highly dependent on your luck, the traffic conditions and the way you drive)
- Good cargo space. Imagine I went to IKEA and bought myself a 2.1m tall bookshelf and I could fit the package into my Rush with the rear and front passenger seats folded down! Try that with my Corolla, no way!
- Able to go on non-tar roads without worries. I always hit the undercarriage of my previous Corolla when travelling on kampong tracks, especially in Malaysia.
- At 1200kg, it's considered pretty light for a SUV. Most other SUVs would have weighed 1400kg and above.

What I do not like
- Only available in rear wheel drive, no 4WD version readily available.
- Engine is only available in 1.5L, a 1.6L or even 1.8L would be ideal. Then again, there's RAV4 1.8L, but at a much more expensive price tag.
- Slower pickup as compared to saloon cars due to the lower gear ratio. BTW, I had a neighbour who drives a RAV4, and he told me his RAV4 also had the same characteristics, 1st 2 gears are tall and slow. We sort of had the agreement that not many people can accept this.
- Rear drum brakes. Disc brakes would have gave better performance, but then again, they are more costly and that would bump up the car price at the end of the day.

Quistation
Clutched
19 reviews
30 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Looks good, but does not drive good  Posted on 20 Mar 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
I bought a Toyota Rush in 2006, when it was recently launched.

At that time, it was one of the cheapest Jap SUV. It was also touted to be small and easy to drive. A lifestyle vehicle for young singles. Exterior looks great, many colours to choose from.

As it was a parallel imported vehicle, I only got a short test drive after I have signed on the dotted line. After I took delivery of the car, I started t realise its shortcomings.

The engine is very noisy. Everytime I rev it, the engine has to go to 3,000rpm before changing gears. Acceleration from start is also slow. At above 100kmh, the engine is straining, and handling is also compromised. Interior is also very sparse, and does not come with much features.Overall, a very uncomfortable-to-drive car.

What I like
- Nice exterior
- Lots of colours to choose
- Fuel consumption is low for a SUV
- Price tag is reasonable

What I do not like
- Very slow acceleration
- Lots of cabin noise
- Slow to change gear
- Bad handing at high speeds
- Sparse interior

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Toyota Rush
3 stars - based on 8 reviews