Related Articles

Car Review - Chery V5 2.4 (A)

Car Review - Chery V5 Crossover 2.4

Never miss a thing with new Blackvue DR750S Series

» Go to articles

Past Car
Models no longer being sold by local distributors.
Model unavailable since Oct 2008
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Chery V5 2.4 (A)
25 Nov 2009  |  Chery Reviews
Our last review of the V5 struck some of our readers as being too biased and unfair. So in a bid to show how important our readers and their feedback are to us, we’ve gone and given the Chery V5 a fair and honest once over again.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Chery V5
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
7 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
3/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
6 out of 7 (85.7%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

7 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Systemx
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
13 points
12 forum posts Joined on 20-Dec-2010
Yes I will recommend but with caveat  Posted on 10 Jan 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Car is certainly value for money especially considering today's prices. However Vertex agent charges unreasonable prices for servicing and repair. And as mentioned, most parts are only 1 year warranty, so don't bother going back to them after 1 year.

What I like
Great value for money, comfortable ride.

What I do not like
Fuel consumption is poor 8km/l only.
Vertex as agents are out to chop heads.
Expectations must be lowered when you buy China, parts mostly unreliable except engine which is from Mitsubishi.

CountryMan
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Oct-2009
Exceptional value for Money  Posted on 11 Nov 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
My dad bought this car for 6 months with the new body kit (It really look cool with this body kit) I will drive the family around on weekends and go Malaysia often.

One our trips to Malaysia highway, the car is very stable and overtaking the Protons and Peroduas there is really effortless. Someitmes I will hit 150km/h without noticing.

Overall handling is very good and ride comfort surprises me the first time I sat in the car as I was skeptical of this car initially. I think China will start to take over car manufacturing in the world just as it had done on all the IT products (Apple iPhone is now made in China).

This would be a good buy considering a Japanese modlel will cost about 50% more...

What I like
Handling
engine power
comfort

What I do not like
small detail needs to be improved

Manterror
1st Gear
5 reviews
65 points
61 forum posts Joined on 06-Feb-2010
One of the cheapest MPV.  Posted on 13 Jul 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Today, the test drive today is simply great. The car sales consultant told me that the engine is from Mitsubishi and it perform well throughout the test drive. At the showroom,they had displayed the V5 with full bodykit and it looks awesome. Interior features are well lay out. I like the dashboard and sunroof, it makes u feel like u are in a Japan made car. But the audio needs improvement, needs to change to a LCD touchscreen like most of the MPV's. Handling and cornering is good, only that the aircon blower is noisy when full blast.

What I like
The exterior design.
Dashboard.
Sunroof.
Bodykit (showroom car)

What I do not like
No LCD Audio System.
Aircon blower noisy wen full blast.

Hitrun1534
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Dec-2009
My Cherry Easter V5  Posted on 30 Dec 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I drive this car for 20 mths, I almost give up this car but what u expect after buying. Problem too many but can be solved, so far no major fault. Powerful car stable drive at high speed and long distant fuel consumption low. After join CE club in JB then I know how this car. http://cheryeastarclub.forumotion.com/welcome-to-chery-eastar-club-f1/. Check this CE club forum you will never regret using this MPV.

What I like
Powerful car stable on high speed. Low consumption at long distant drive.

What I do not like
Internal material easily break but can be solve on your own.

Xolqa9
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
Budget Car But Alot of Manufacturing Fault  Posted on 20 May 2009
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Great pick up. With Mitsubishi engine, smooth riding. Very spacious. The speakers are also great.

What I like
Headlight design. 1 year warranty

What I do not like
i have been going to the service centre 4 times. Mostly manufacturing fault, e.g signal light not working, aircon leaking, horn not working. Bt the way, my signal light now sometimes cannot working. The reverse sensor also not accurate, but all got is 1 year warranty. Only thing you have to keep visiting the service centre

Zazin
Clutched
1 reviews
25 points
22 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
The cheap China MPV I own  Posted on 30 Sep 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Overall is ok. But if you have the budget, buy a better one.

What I like
Its cheap, fast response and had good speakers.

What I do not like
The interior quality, the interior durability and the cream coloured leather seats.

KLIM77
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
 Posted on 26 Jan 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer
  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Chery V5
3.5 stars - based on 7 reviews