Past Car
Models no longer being sold by local distributors.
Model unavailable since Jul 2011
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Proton Persona
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
14 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
13 out of 14 (92.9%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

14 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Adrifebri
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Feb-2011
best bang for the hard-earned buck !  Posted on 13 Feb 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I bought a second-hand Persona Hi-line AT several months earlier at a very good bargain price. For such price, this automobile gives me quality, condition and features. It comes standard with ABS, EBD, disc brakes on all wheels, dual airbag, audio switch on steering wheel, remote trunk opening, alarm, auto door lock, good quality audio system (made by Blaupunkt).
Spare parts are also affordable. I agree that boot space is spacious.
Performance is quite good for me. Accelerate to 130 km/h is relatively easy, and cruising is very stable at that speed. Handling and cornering is good.
In a nutshell, I don't complain for all I've got in this car for that price !
As far as after sales service goes, some improvements must be made when it comes to quality of work in major Proton Edar Indonesia workshop.

What I like
Features, price,

What I do not like
NONE

FiatMan
Neutral Newbie
22 reviews
1 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Oct-2010
Great Time to Buy!  Posted on 13 Feb 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I Brought it in Singapore, During the Low COE and the Proton Exora. Only the Exora is weekend. The Proton Persona Is Great brought it Manual Transmission Previously Owned a Proton Gen-2 Which is Like the Same of this Car but.

This Car is Much Better I Drove this to Work Every WeekDays. Fetch my Wife From Work All. Even when i drove midnight is Safe for me in a 1.6M Proton. The Boot is big. I Was Late for Work In Friday I Drove like 120km Is Stable. I Drove this to KL Most of the Time to meet my Brother In Law Drove it to 160Km Which Is Stable. Fetch My Kids From School and they Don't Complain about this Car. It's A Budget Family Car. My Son which is 21years old. He Drove my Car to Buy Food and Fetch My Little 9 and 10years old kids.

What I like
Everything.

What I do not like
Nothing.

BoiExora
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2010
Above average sedan car under 1.6  Posted on 29 Jun 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Recently Proton MY just released their facelift Persona Elegance with different grills, fog lights, rear LED type lights, minor upgrade interior, 2 din blaupunkt audio with integrated bluetooth, USB and ipod connection to the car. The side mirror also spotted with indicators to keep up with trend. However we've yet to see in SG, But anyway i've drive my friend's Persona H-Line 1.6AT as a co-driver during our inaugral trip to Pahang recently along with 1 Exora and a Honda Fit 1.3. What i can say the handling is superb compared to Wira or Waja. On a certain extend i push the car to almost 145kmh on our way there. Comfort wise i give 4.5 stars for a Malaysian made car that totally change my perception towards Malaysian car that is Proton. However there's room for more improvement and i notice SG Proton is slacking in bringing more facelift models suchs as the black roof GEN2 CPS/Satria Neo CPS/Saga SE/ or even H-line Exora, C'mon in current COE prices there's need to upgrade more accessories for buyer to consider buy! BTW Persona is a good buy if you're searching for no frills sedan.

What I like
Comfort, Handling, Boot space. Auto cruise for Auto. ABS is very effective

What I do not like
Pricing, lack of accessories. With the current crap COE prices its wiser for SG Proton to upgrade the car with 16 inch rims, Audio with bluetooth/ipod connection/GPS. Rear lights should consider LED just like the aftermarket ones.

Easyas123
Neutral Newbie
5 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 05-Jan-2010
Value for money car and feels good too.  Posted on 25 Jan 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Proton persona is the improved version both mechanically and physically of the proton GEN2 by the consumer's feedbacks.
The persona has curves and body shape which is reasonably sized. It has an engine with good response and is very good on the highway.
Actually, it has good looks.
Good lotus suspension.
This car has many competitors such as the nissan sunny, kia cerato forte and hyundai avante. All offers good value for money. but persona has lotus suspension that the others dont have and has unique looks.

What I like
Lotus suspension (the cheapest brand new lotus car cost well over 200 thousand singapore dollars)

Unique looks that sets you thinking about what car design is really like

hydraulic boot hinges for more luggage space.

Improved version of proton's Gen2 from the feedbacks of customers.

good handling and steering feel

good fuel efficiency.

Silver is a nice colour.

Good air intake camPRO engine developed by PROTON company itself with 110 bhp.

Small car category with big car feel.

Front wheel drive, easy to do handbrake manouvers without damaging the car.

Very reliable. Spare parts just across the custom.

still has 3 year warranty(as of now)

What I do not like
nothing.

Mustang
4th Gear
33 reviews
593 points
708 forum posts Joined on 25-Oct-2005
Buy the Persona IAFM  Posted on 15 Oct 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Rent my Uncle 1 month old Persona IAFM yesterday. Drove to SG to Pontian through and fro. FC is simply superb better than the first batch w/o IAFM i pressume. Use 6.6 litres for 100km(auto) of journey with just K&N drop in filter and 16 Enkei inch rims. Driving position is slightly better. Comfort wise is above average. Pick up a bit better than the previous one.

What I like
FC for a 1.6cc sedan. Comfort especially on long journeys.

What I do not like
Engine still using the old campro with just IAFM enhancement. Should upgrade to CPS one.

Mccpfocus
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Aug-2009
Reliable family of five car i've seen  Posted on 17 Sep 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
While driving, i can stretch my leg if im on long journey. Relax is what i can describe when driving Pesona. Not much of extra function but easier to manage and handle.

What I like
Spacious boot!
Arm rest with compartment
Radio/Cd control button at steering wheel
Child safety lock

What I do not like
No GPS
Aircon outlet do not have open/close valve.
Height little low for taller person ( especially front passenger and driver )

Mccpfocus
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Aug-2009
Simple and friendly car  Posted on 22 Aug 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
i had bought the Pesona car in July 09. So my experienced for now is that this car is easy to maintain. The feature is very simple and straight forward so i didnt take long to adjust to the system. So far, i had drove up to 120km/h. It steering does wobbling when i reach that level but the car are very stable.For a family of five including myself, this is generally the suitable car i can see in the market. With big spacious booth and room for my leg, i enjoy driving as i can feel the comfort especially long journey. Simple yet afforable typical family car.

What I like
Simple car so nothing to mentioned. I like what it have now.

What I do not like
The aircon outlet does not have open and close door. So when you feel cold, you have to shift the outlet to other direction and still feeling cold.

Mustang
4th Gear
33 reviews
593 points
708 forum posts Joined on 25-Oct-2005
Spacious Gen2 Sedan with larger Boot  Posted on 30 Jun 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Just recommend my bro in law to this car. At first glance he thought its a Gen2 but after much consideration he find it very practical with boot storage, Comfort and even tons of cheap spare parts across causeway. His list of choice include Toyota Vios 1.5G, Kia Cerato Forte 1.5, Toyota Corolla Axio 1.6 and even a few others make where pricing, Parts are not in his favour. He frequently travel to JB as my in law stays there.After a few test drive he is very convinced that this car fulfill his expectation. Never mind the critics have to say about Proton. So far not a bad car to consider.

What I like
On behalf of my bro in law he likes the grand boot space, Driving position which is much taller than Gen2. The leg room. Tons of spare parts in JB.

What I do not like
The price must be slightly lower in order to compete with other China, Korean makes. Still its worth it if you buy the OPC ones. The fabric seats should make it PVC or leather by Proton SG!

WALIDHAROUN
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
Most features and value for money car  Posted on 23 Apr 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I love Persona

What I like
Options, motor, battery

What I do not like
Not wide enough.

SGCMBasiccar
Neutral Newbie
10 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
Best budget 1.6 litre sedan  Posted on 11 Feb 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I write on behalf of my uncle who is a proud owner of this car. Overall wise is okay. Should have import the special edition with leather seats, GPS, Leather wrap steering and gear stick, Bright speedo and 16 inch sport rims. From my POV its better to fit LED lights as standard.

What I like
A sedan GEN2 i should say. Lucky comes with IAFM unit.

What I do not like
No LED nor GPS

DRideHard
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
5 points
5 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Terpesona (Enchanted) @ 1st sight  Posted on 05 Feb 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
- Handling, steering much better than Gen2.
- FC for a 1.6 is ok, soso for performance. What would u expect, Racing? Nonsense!!
- Interior & exterior design & styling can do better.

What I like
- Worth buying @ current trend.
- Sales exec is fairly good & sincere, look for ----- Miss Anna.

What I do not like
- In house insurance package, poor service.

Mustang
4th Gear
33 reviews
593 points
708 forum posts Joined on 25-Oct-2005
Another typical Malaysian car  Posted on 05 Nov 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Everything is ok except why Proton had to copy from the current Gen2 to make it sedan? Anyway i feel Proton should include GPS touchscreen as a standard items with the pricetag. Not bad for a 1.6 sedan.

What I like
Handling, Comfort

What I do not like
Typical copycat from Gen2. Should call it Gen2 sedan rather than Persona

Suharto
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
 Posted on 15 Feb 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer
Laserjet
3rd Gear
10 reviews
493 points
541 forum posts Joined on 28-Aug-2006
A average car - Typically Malaysia style  Posted on 17 Jan 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
A very average car. Poor build quality, noisy engine.

Saving point is the price. Howevre, whether the maintenance cost will higher than the cost savings is something that will only be known few years down the road.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Proton Persona
3.5 stars - based on 14 reviews