Past Car
Models no longer being sold by local distributors.
Model unavailable since Dec 2013
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Road Test - Toyota Corolla Altis 1.6 (A)
07 Oct 2010  |  Toyota Reviews
Are the minor changes to the Altis good enough to improve its drive? Join us as we find out more.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota Corolla Altis
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
76 Reviewers
3 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3/5 Features
3/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
3/5 Engine Performance
3/5
40 out of 76 (52.6%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

76 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 5 6 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Nitrogen
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 31-Jul-2011
A Good Car.  Posted on 20 Jun 2013
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I bought one made in 2008, last year.

It is an extreme difference compare to my previous 2006 Altis.

It is so much easlier to handle and the pick up is almost on par with my TX2.

Gear change is unnoticeable and also stable when cornering a flyover gradual bent with decent speed.

Aircon is damn bloody cold when temp at 23 or 24 under a hot sunny day even after parking for hours. I am a guy who still need a fan in an aircon room.

Parking is now a lot easier than the previous generation Altis which was quite like driving a Samara - zero power steering wheel.

The headroom is okay but the only pity about this car is that the designer had it too low. I have knocked my head several times. Maybe I am not use to it.

Everything in this car fits well towards me when driving and equal to say that both myself and the car have blended into one.

It would be perfect if the Body is half or quarter of a size larger.

Another good piece of art from the Japs.

Looking forward to latest 2014 Corolla Altis again.

What I like
- Responsive Pick up
- Powerful Aircon
- Unnoticeable Gear change
- Stability
- Perfect Power Steering wheel
- Decent Sporty Design
- Easy to wash

What I do not like
- Height too low
- FC is slightly below moderate.

Brightstar2211
Neutral Newbie
5 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 04-Feb-2010
Quite a good car  Posted on 27 Apr 2013
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Another best car I driven so far. The fuel consumption is not that high. The car exterior and interior looks like a Lexus IS250. The Toyota Elegance version have more in built luxury such as touch screen stereo systems, fog lights and larger rims.

What I like
Reliable
5yrs unlimited mileage warranty
Pretty large car to drive in the Mid size sedan category
Pretty large bootspace as I can put 2 to 3 bags of golf equipments
Easy to drive
Built in GPS with touch screen stereo system
Backlit speedometer
Sufficient space for the front and back passenger
Handling of the car is quite good

What I do not like
None

Toyobaru
Clutched
1 reviews
42 points
55 forum posts Joined on 04-Nov-2012
Our first car, our pride in a job well done.  Posted on 12 Jan 2013
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This is a bland portrait of a car. A reliable, easy to use and affordable car. We can augment the interior, can bling or dress it up. We love the KISS principle.
Utilitarian.
Not fancy like the drop head phantom rolls.
Not racy like the LFA
Not cute like the cube
Just reliable like your trusted friend.
We just love looking at it,
We just enjoy going around in it. Quiet, good stereo.
Not everyone has a trusted friend who is David Beckham or F1 Racer.
We just got our new best trusted friend from Thailand who is ethnic Japanese.
And we LIKE what we get.

What I like
Nice dignified poise.
Good handling.
Relative enjoyable factory sound.
Relative quiet engine.
Not a heavy drinker

What I do not like
Brakes a bit sluggish.

CarbonFalcon
Premium User CarbonFalcon
1st Gear
21 reviews
50 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Nov-2012
Indestructible  Posted on 09 Jan 2013
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
It's true that nobody respects a Corolla, atleast in Singapore. However, many have forgotten that this is the birthplace of the AE86, and even the FT-86 to an extent. A truly reliable car that would run for years and years with no breakdowns or letdowns. The 1.8A is perfect with its 7 Speed CVT delivering enough cruising power for North trips. A good upgrade for the Vios driver who needs more speed and comfort. Thankfully it's got a misunderstood image and hence a cheaper price tag... perfect for the motoring enthusiast who knows this beauty's place. Kia or Hyundai sedans break down rather easily and I'm glad to have bought this.

What I like
Affordable Elegance & Power
The power's not great at 1.8, but it's sufficient. Where the Vios lacks in speed, Altis makes up for it and gives better riding comfort.

What I do not like
Design - it is rather bland, but that's what makes it affordable. Anymore and you'll need a Camry, any less and you should get a Vios. It's also been badly criticized for no reason

Buster37
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-May-2010
Its a disappointing car  Posted on 07 Dec 2012
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I have driven this new line of Altis for 2 months. I feel its a rather pathetic car.

1. the car air-con is crappy with a max temp of only 28 degrees and the lack of heater makes it a torture to drive at night or when the weather is cold

2. the greatest irony is that corolla altis should be an established model from toyota yet only has a 4-speed gear box even Kia has 5 speed automatic gear box. where is the pleasure derived from driving??

3. BM service is crappy, car alarm was damaged to the extent i cant even unlock the car yet when the car is tow there can tell me that its cause of high voltage cable underground that disable the car alarm system. How can that happen?? to top it off they refused to change the alarm system

4. my previous vehicle a mitsubishi L200 pick-up truck is much better than the corolla altis

What I like
Nothing worth mentioning

What I do not like
everything about the car

Dchum
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
2 points
1 forum posts Joined on 12-Feb-2009
Reliable and low maintenance cost  Posted on 19 Jul 2012
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 2/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
A simple car. A car that wouldn't wow pedestrians or tun anyones head. Overly soft suspension. Reliable, low maintenance. FC is decent if you have heavy foot. Quite powerful during acceleration. Poor road holding, and too light steering. I've also tried the 2.2 L version when I was in Australia. Just more powerful, but everything else in the car make you feel that you are driving a cheap car.

What I like
Cheap and low maintenance. Good FC

What I do not like
The colours available. The design. The soft suspension. The overly light steering. Road holding.

Mjklbkldl
1st Gear
2 reviews
51 points
48 forum posts Joined on 19-Feb-2006
Simple+Reliable Bread & Butter Car  Posted on 23 Jun 2012
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Booked one delivering Aug12
Test drove it with wife. No fuss, simple, Pt A->B car.
Old tech, 4 speed auto which shifts pretty smoothly I must admit
Interior decent; acceptable
Pickup good with 4 adults + 1 kid; the tweaks to power from Dual VVTi helped a little I guess? Drove the old pre face lift model before and could feel the pickup difference.
Easy to handle and rick quality surprisingly good; not much rolling & small turning radius.

What I like
All practical reasons really ... cars are so expensive in Spore hence focus on value for $

Reliability - crank & go. Minimum concerns about giving up on you
Resale value - Toyota, will have ready buyers who ae sold by this brand.
Easy servicing (after warranty period) at external Ah Beng/Seng workshops- not rocket science
5yrs unlimited mileage warranty + first 3 years servcing thrown in
Bullet proof Toyota reliability; cannot go wrong
Pretty large bootspace for car its class. 2 strollers no issues
Rear seats have decent legroom
Easy to drive
Built in GPS with touchscreen ICE (probably budget type, but cannot complain)

What I do not like
Too common on roads; very bland & boring. Before I bought this car, everytime I see it, I yawn.
2 airbags only, but then again, this is common in Spore for this category
4 speed auto
Borneo sales person downplaying Korean brands, which I think is uncalled for. MIK cars are getting much better with more advanced technologies

Luriahs
Premium User Luriahs
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
7 points
8 forum posts Joined on 18-Sep-2011
First test drive and first car  Posted on 09 Jun 2012
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
My first test drive and my first car purchase. Bought it 6 mths ago just as COE started to hit 50K and starts going up. The exterior may look like an older model at but upon closer look one should be able to spot the differences.
Mine is a 1.6L Classic, though the engine maybe 'small' for the body, the Dual VVT-i engine sure gives me enough power to accelerate or overtake, even at high speeds with full load. Car feels stable even at high speeds. Wind noise is not so loud. Interior is simple with nothing too fancy but build quality is still very good. Leg room and headroom is good enough for someone about 1.75 m tall in driver or passenger seats. Driver's views are relatively with minimal blockade.
Its a car that can get you from point A to B just like any other car but with peace of mind on its useability and reliability in the years to come.

What I like
-A more sporty look
-Comfortable and big interior space
-Good Fuel consumption ~14 km/L (Max achieved 14.6 km/L)
-Large boot space with 60-40 fold seats
-Steering wheel
-Bright and clear optitron display
-Reverse sensor
-Gated shift
-Leather seats
-Sport rims
-Auto-climate aircon
-Side-folding mirrors

What I do not like
-Not many features included (compared to other countries = remote boot release, bluetooth audio)
-For Classic model when I bought = No fog lamps, DVD touch screen, Reverse camera
-A bit pricy with not much features

Brightstar2211
Neutral Newbie
5 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 04-Feb-2010
Best choice.  Posted on 27 May 2012
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The best car I have driven so far. It is quite a good car compared to other type of cars. The engine is also quite powerful and the engine noise is not that loud. Gear shifts are smooth and can hardly notice. Controls on steering wheels makes it convenient for drivers. Overall, it is a very good car that is worth for money and value.

What I like
Leather seats.
Nice interior.
Nice exterior.
Quite spacious.
Big boot.
Sport rims.
Touch screen dvd player.
Optitron meters display.
Many compartments.
Bright headlamps and tail lamp.
Reverse camera.
Engine sound is quieter.

What I do not like
None.

05Altis
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-May-2012
Predecessor will eat it up...  Posted on 20 May 2012
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
It is so heavy! 100kg heavier as compared to my Altis...yet same VVT-i engine is used. It's an awesome engine but Toyota needs to know when to let it go. That engine CAN'T support the the car! There are other Altis in other parts of the world that run on the Dual VVT-i, so I thin its a cost cutting method by 'BM' instead. Can't blame Thai workmanship cost QC is done by the Japs. My car was made in Thailand also. Only experienced problems with workmanship after 4 years where the window rubber came down when the windows were wound down. Second problem was after 7 years where my air-con vents became loose. So I feel that Thai workmanship is not so much to blame. Everything else under the hood is in perfect condition and with COE prices so f-ing high, plan to drive it for the next 13 years. However, I don't think the same can be said for the new Altis. It's just way too underpowered and by the looks of the interior, CHEAP! Once, you feel the car is being underpowered, automatically everything else doesn't feel right anymore because the same confidence isn't there when driving...hope drivers will understand what I mean. If the Dual VVT-i was installed instead, it would be a much much better car as it can support the extra weight and is more powerful. Overall, I feel the my 05 Altis would eat up this car any day and if 'BM' decides to continue cutting cost don't know for what f***, its market share in Southeast Asia will dwindle and competitors like Nissan, Honda and even Hyundai would overtake it.

What I like
- The sportier look
- Stability when driving at high speed
- Toyota Branding

What I do not like
- Underpowered
- Only 4-speed
- Cheap feel
- Too many Toyota competitors
- Lack of innovative advancement
- Haha 'Old wine in new bottle'

Jonchi72
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
1 forum posts Joined on 26-Dec-2011
No other better choice available  Posted on 26 Dec 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I was looking for an upgrade for my family. Presently driving a vios, thinking of a bigger sedan or an mpv within my budget. Ever since from beginning of 2010 the coe skyrocketed and it never seems to come down... I was shopping around.
I went to the showrooms of toyota, nissan, citroen, volkswagen with these few models in mind... wish, altis, almera, slphy, lefesta, grand c4 picasso, touran, jetta
After much round of iterations with my needs, some bargain hunting, and some comparison... cat b coe of was way off my budget... with only cat a I was left with altis, almera, slphy, c4, touran, jetta
I was disappointed with the interior of volkswagen. Though, I am very impressed by the DSG, the fuel efficiency and power of the small turbocharged engines.
I was finally bought off by toyota because of the 5 years warranty, 1 year free servicing plus reverse camera n touch screen dvd audio.
Another reason is also even though toyota is no longer the no1 selling car in 2011. But it is still the at the top in the resale car market. If I do need to upgrade again... It would be easier too.

What I like
5 years warranty
4 disc brakes
reverse camera
light colour leather seats(not black) cos it is too hot under the sun
the outline shape of the body
rear led lights
eco light

What I do not like
no keyless entry
no cvt
no vehicle stability control
no traction control
a bit expensive though it is made in Thailand

Limpeh23
Premium User Limpeh23
3rd Gear
7 reviews
297 points
192 forum posts Joined on 21-Apr-2011
Most Reliable Car Out There  Posted on 24 Aug 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Many have said Altis is boring and not nice to look at, but I feel that it is a very reliable car which transports me around in comfort safely. The exterior styling, while not immediately eye-catching, grew on me over time and I feel that it is a handsome car in its own right. The engine, while not extraodinarily powerful, is good enough to allow you to overtake with ease once you know how to play around with the acceleration. Gear shifts are smooth and hardly noticeable.

Handling is not one of its strengths, but that was never intended to be one of the Altis' strengths. The ride is very quiet and even at high speeds, the cabin noise is not overly loud, so you can still enjoy the radio. Of course, this is also dependent on the tyres you use. The materials used in the cabin are of decent quality and gives the feeling of entry-level luxury. Dials and controls are all laid out cleverly and easy to reach. Fuel consumption is a great strength of this car, which can hit 14-15 km/l if you are not a heavy footer.

Overall, a great car for your daily needs and one that will not let you down.

What I like
-Reliable Car
-Quiet Gearshifts
-Good Fuel Consumption
-Relatively Powerful & Responsive Engine
-Cabin is very quiet
-Comfortable interior

What I do not like
- 4 Speed Gearbox(1.6l)
-No Keyless Entry & Push Start Button
-Some features are lacking compared to models in other countries
-Exterior can be improved to be nicer
-15" rims only

Alanchensc
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Jan-2010
A good upgrade for the new Altis  Posted on 17 Apr 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Got the car on 26 March 2011. As I got another Altis in August 2010, compare with the new facelift, the car is more quiet and comes with a better response engine - dual VVTI? Design looks much better than the older version and if you change your tyres to Michelin Primacy LC, you can get a much confort and quieter ride. Overall, a no regret buy!

What I like
1) New facelift look - more sporty and nice car sensor lights
2) Fuel efficiency - 14 / 15 km per litre (City / Highway)
3) Better sound insulation - better materials used?
4) More powerful engine - faster response and pick up
5) Brighter speedometer and ECO mode

What I do not like
1) Only Elegant model comes with reverse camera and DVD touch screen audio and fog lamps
2) Cabin space still lose to a NIssan Slyphy - I have owned before
3) A bit over priced with current COE S$40k-S$45k. Selling price below S$75k will be good.

Murugesan
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
21 points
14 forum posts Joined on 22-Nov-2005
A reliable car.  Posted on 18 Mar 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
A worthwhile buy! Very stable on the road. Suspension system good. Comfortable ride! Of all the rides I had this is for sure is value for money.

What I like
Very stable on the road.
Good look.
Solid body. Huge for a 1.6
Reasonably priced.
Nice interior.
Features reasonable.
Big Boot.
Fuel consumption good.

What I do not like
Sluggish pick-up at times.
Can hear road/engine noise to some extent.
Rear sitting leg-room not that good.

SGCMcorolla
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
10 points
9 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
A Car With No Regret  Posted on 13 Dec 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have been driving Toyota Corolla since I was young. Corolla have never disappoint me in terms of reliability, performance and handling. I got my second Toyota Corolla in 2000 and a pre facelift model this year. I was quite impressed with the exterior and interior design. The handling is very good and it is very comfortable. The reliability and quality is still there although it is made in Thailand. There is some space of improvement for the features such as adding keyless entry and start stop engine. The price could be cheaper since it is made in Thailand. The engine performance is good enough for town use and I would give it a 5 star if my Altis comes with Dual-VVTi.

What I like
Everything

What I do not like
Nothing

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 5 6 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Toyota Corolla Altis
3 stars - based on 76 reviews