This is a past / unavailable model
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Road Test - Nissan Teana 250XV
16 Dec 2008  |  Nissan Reviews
Does the Nissan Teana deserve all the cold looks it gets sometimes for being an unhip, "uncle's car"? Now, we haven't gone insane, but we think it's rather cool.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Nissan Teana
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
13 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
4/5
9 out of 13 (69.2%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

13 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Suppdude
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Nov-2014
Very Disappointed with this car  Posted on 07 Nov 2014
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
I am facing oil leaking problem right after the warranty expired. Is just three years and I was told that there is problems with my oil cooler. I do service my car on time in Nissan Service Center on time and my driving mileage is below 96k. I didn't expect these to happen for a luxury car like this! Besides that, there is sound coming out from the car steering which makes me so annoyed. This car is not worth for the value of money at all. A luxurious car with under performance spec.

RedEmber
1st Gear
1 reviews
98 points
73 forum posts Joined on 18-Mar-2010
Teana 2.5XV  Posted on 11 Oct 2012
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Bought this car used @70k km and has since owned this car for the past 6months. Have clocked in additional 15,000km on it since then. Smooth V6 + CVT, quiet & comfortable especially when driven sedately at up to 140kph on the North South Expressway.However engine does make itself heard if Sport mode is engaged and driven hard. On a 50% 50% city highway, i can easily clock 9.2 - 9.5km/l. On the expressway when driven at a constant 130kph, FC is around 12km/l. Not bad for a gigantic car like this. Due to the V6 layout, 80% of max torque is available with the engine just above 1.5krpm. CVT programming will always keep the rpm low for max fuel efficiency.Ample power is available when the accelerator is floored, without the jerkiness of those conventional gearboxes. Due to the smoothness of the V6 + CVT combo, full throttle accelerations feels slower than it actually is. A quick glance at the speedo will show you that the needle will swing north very rapidly if the pedal hits the metal.

What I like
Ventilated seats, huge boot, ample legroom front and rear, comfy sofa-like chairs. HID headlamps with headlamp washer. Rear powered sunshade to sheild my baby when he is sleeping. Very cold air conditioning c/w Sharp Plasmacluster. Reasonable FC for a 2.5L V6. Huge 70L petrol tank! Front pasenger seat comes with electric ottoman adjustment.

Parts are cheap for such a big car if you know where to hunt for them. Low maintenance costs & very reliable.

What I do not like
Beige interior stains ultra easily. Its a PIA to maintain properly. Lots of funny interior noises which requires time and effort to troubleshoot and isolate. Very common to have leaking shock absorbers after 50k km. (luckily only rear shocks are affected and costs are quite low). Ugly GPS interface and fonts (by AsiaGIS SG). Huge turning radius, must be very careful when performing U turns.

Mervynwm
Premium User Mervynwm
Clutched
66 reviews
33 points
12 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Not so good as a LUXURY car.  Posted on 13 Feb 2012
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Tried the 2.5L version...

The exterior looks appealing and had a bit of the Infinity look.

Boot space is adequate but no electric tailgate option at all, even 3.5L

Drive was ok on straight road but engine is pretty loud when rev, despite similar engine with Murano.

Gear change not that smooth compared to Murano despite same gearbox of X-Tronic CVT....not sure why the difference.

Features are pretty basic too...not as much you can see, other makes should have more to give in this category.

Overall, too basic for a car that is categorised as luxury model.

What I like
Cozy interior feel
Smooth drive on straight road
Electric seats given for front passengers (only 2.5L and 3.5L)

What I do not like
Engine Noisy when throttle
No choices of interior as only one type
Most luxury add on are found in the 3.5L (i.e. Sunroof)
High FC
No electric tailgate for all ranges
Auto rain sensor or Auto headlights as only one is given

Dtctan
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-May-2007
One of the best car i owned  Posted on 05 Jan 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Had my Teana 2.5 for 3 weeks will hitting the 1000 km soon. So far nothing much to complian about the car, the ride is soft, engine is smooth, sound insulation is great and with all the built in features is definately worth to own it.

don't think further, go for it.

What I like
1. Ventilation Seat,
2. Soft Leather Seat
3. Push Start/Stop Button
4. Reserve Camera
5. Good Respone in pick up
6. Nice tail lamp
7. Great noise insulation
8. Built in GPRS
9. Keyless entry
10.Foldable side mirror

What I do not like
1. Interior leather, get dirty easily
2. Poor sound system
3. FC @ 7.5 L

SGCMBond007
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
1 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
I like my uncle car "Teana"  Posted on 20 Oct 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
The reason I choose Teana to Honda Accord is because Accord's price is too high & the boot is too small, and it is made in Thailand. For Toyota Camry, their sales reps are too "ya Ya",and the model is too old. Furthermore, it is made in Thailand. Teana is a new model and it is made in Japan. Its price is also cheaper.
I have been driving the Teana 2.0XL since 2008 Dec. I got the car at a very reasonable price, As everyone refers the Teana as a "UNCLE CAR", I like it because i'm an UNCLE too haha.
I can say that Teana is the most beautiful car in Nissan history, except GTR, 200SX...
I like this car for its large interior space and especially the back tail lamp. But the interior is too simple. As I always travel highway 90% and city 10%, FC is ard 11.6KM/L. For a 2 lit car this is ok for me, but abit under power.
i dont like the agent's after sales svs. When i got a car after a week, my steering wheel made some sound. I went to 2 svs centre to check and ended up it took me a mth to settle, so after the warranty, I went to outside repair shop for servicing and the price and servicing are much better than them.
For Teana owners, i recommend u all to buy the original spare parts from BKK, CHINA, TAIWAN NISSAN dealer, the price is much cheaper than local.

What I like
1, CVT engine.

2, Interior space.

3, Push button start.

4, FC @ 11.6km/L

5, Nice tail lamp

What I do not like
1, After sales svs

2, If forgot to off engine,when u lock the door,engine still revving.

3, Under power.

4, When the engine is started and the air con is on, there is a foul smell.

Nobunaga83
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
1 forum posts Joined on 25-Dec-2005
A comfortable Ride for a 250XV  Posted on 25 Jul 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I was driving the J31 Cefiro 230JM 05 model comes with reserve camera only. Thats cefiro is a good car but because its a 4speed auto you should FC is high. And the suspension is very soft. Overall a good car.

For Teana its a very good car to drive and relax, many feature in it. Much better than the previsious cefiro. I have not regret buying this car. I dont think i would wan to judge other brand. I only can said i been compare Honda accord 2.4 and toyota Camry 2.4. If you considering this car go ahead.

Even my Wife love this car. (very few ladies will appericate this car)
Overall Very Good

What I like
1. Ventilation Seat,
2. Soft Leather Seat
3. Push Start/Stop Button
4. Better Reserve Camera
5. Better Respone in pick up

What I do not like
1. Interior leather color (Beige white) very easy to get dirty
2. Boot size seem to be same as before
3. Xenon head light low beam(white) High beam(yellow) Weird
4. Fog Lamp looks very small
5. CVT engine (need sometime to learn how to control)

Ironrabbit
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
1 forum posts Joined on 02-Jul-2009
Nice but not quite there yet  Posted on 03 Jul 2009
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have a 2.5L Nissan Teana and driven it for one month. I give it an overall high average score based on my experience but will not recommed to my friends to buy.

First, let me talk about the good points of the car. The exterior styling is stately and has good presence on the road. It may look boring at first sight, but the looks grows on you. The interior is spacious and has a touch of luxury. Some neat features found are such as the rear screen for back passengers and ottoman seat for front passenger. The dashboard has a Nordic, no-nonsense feel which appeals to those who like things simple and neat. The leather seats are soft and feels great - the Japanese workmanship can be felt. The 2.5L is powerful and almost silent at higher speeds. At lower revs, the engine is a bit noisy and guttural.

Now, the not-so-good points. The doors are clumsy and a tad too heavy. The front passenger seat recess too deeply inwards - making it awkward to get out for some.

The locally fitted LCD touch screen is unreliable and goes blank now and then, when that happens, my GPS and the reverse camera plus all other car indicators goes down. It can be downright dangerous when you cannot see what behind when your are reversing as the car is quite large in size. Problem still persists.

The engine is quite a fuel-guzzler. I can get about 7km per litre. The smart plasma ion aircon emits smells whenever the car starts for the first minute only.

After sales support leaves much to be desired.

For now, I will NOT recommend the Teana to anyone as there are bothersome, teething problems with the car. It will be frustrating to buy one, only to find critical features like the reverse camera, LCD touch screen etc not working properly. Spare yourself the grieve and disappointment.

It may take some time for these issues to be really sorted out. For now, for the same ball-park price, I think its other Japanese peers or a lower end Conti may be a better buy.

What I like
- Stately exterior styling
- Spacious cabin
- Luxurious leather
- Clean clear dashboard
- Ottoman chair (front passenger)
- Touch screen LCD control panel (when its working properly)
- Powerful engine

What I do not like
- Ungainly doors for driver and front passenger
- Quite a heavy drinker
- Unreliable and prone to fail touch screen LCD control panel that controls the GPS, reverse camera and other essentials
- Aircon smells at start up
- After sale support

Panelcraft_auto
1st Gear
1 reviews
72 points
70 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Big executive sedan  Posted on 22 Jun 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
In Dec 2008 I read about the Teana 250 VX being awarded Car Of The Year 2008. I knew I had to get one when my 5 yr old Mazda is due for scrap.

The main reasons why I bought this car:
1) Quality (the superior quality is very obvious compared to a Camry)

2) V6 Engine (the effortless torque at low RPM is a total winner compared to the 4 cycls on Camry and Accord)

3) Ride Comfort (I am inclined towards soft and pliant car ride, the stiffer suspension of a Mazda 6 or an Accord did not appeal to me)

4) Ventilated Seats (this is a godsend especially in singapore's hot weather)

Before putting ink on contract, I researched the new 250XE variant available through the PIs. Unfortunately the cost savings was not substantial enough to entice me. Key features like cruise control etc are not available in the XE. Overall, the VX was a more compelling package.

I paid $89k and collected my VX on 31 May. Above all else, my first impression is the way the car accelerates with effortless authority. My two previous cars were 4 pots, so this kind of airplane-takeoff acceleration is truly mesmerizing for me. It is not a very fast car, it covers 0-100 in 9.7secs. But it is the manner with which I achieve that which sets this car apart. I never felt rushed or a need to prove any speed in this car.

The CVT gearbox is a match-made-in-heaven. I am now wafting around from one destination to another without any more rising and falling RPMs, no gear-changes, no struggling for power in the wrong RPM bands. There is no problem finding a right ratio or down-shift/ up-shifting. The CVT works like a rubber-band and keeps me in the optimal RPM range depending on my throttle footwork. It feels like an MRT accelerating out of a station, that's how it feels.

Petrol consumption has been averaging 9.0 for me. Since collecting my car, I have chalked 2000+ KMs. No other complains about the car. Everything works like it should, and everything feels like it should.

V1nch3nz0
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Nice family car.  Posted on 28 Jan 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Although my family owns a Nissan Cefiro and does not own a Nissan Teana, I rated this car because it's very similar to a Nissan Cefiro. The difference is just the looks, quality of the seats and the dash board. Another reason I'm rating this car is because i visited the Nissan car showroom located at Ubi, and sat in the Teana. That's how i got to know about the interior.

What I like
The dashboard, steering wheel design, polished wood and the comfortable squishy seats which are much better than Cefiro's seats.

What I do not like
Legroom, i think it's quite crampy, compared to cefiro's.

Dick1234
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Great Car without a great price  Posted on 15 Nov 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Tested both 2.0 & 2.5 models, here're the conclusions:

2.0
- MR20DE engine is rough & unrefined.
- Sounds like a lawn mower.
- Handling unstable due to no VDC.
- Underpower.
- Leather seats feel inferior to 2.5.
- Go for a Honda 2.0 that's more refined in this category.

2.5
- VQ25DE V6 engine is smooth & refined.
- But once rev up, sounds like weed eater.
- Great & stable handling with VDC.
- Great leather seats with ventilation & ottoman foot rest.
- Adequate power for a 2.5 model.
- Real power comes with the 3.5 model if u got $$ to spare.

What I like
2.5
- Great vented seats & ottoman foot rest.
- Decent V6 with adequate hp & torque.
- Smooth & quiet, at par with conti specs.
- Competitively & reasonably priced.
- Nice looking back side ;p

What I do not like
2.5
- No reverse camera.
- Niggling dashboard materials.
- Real Japs made comes with Bose stereo.
- Bland looking front side ;(

Junior80
Premium User Junior80
Neutral Newbie
11 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
 Posted on 20 Oct 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer
Mcgrady1
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
A credible answer to Accord and Camry  Posted on 02 Oct 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Just taken delivery of my new 2.0 Teana. It didnt take me very long to fall for this good looker. Its longish and sleek silhouette is a winner. The car also did not disappoint in the engine department, even for the 2.0 power plant. It manages to pull along rather decently without much fuss.

What I like
Kudos to the Nissan design team cos they have certainly taken the Teana to new heights in the styling department. It makes the outgoing Cefiro (which is a nice car to begin with) looks like something from the 90s. If I have to choose, it has to be the rear tail-light design (with a C-illuminated lights) which has a Mercedes Benz written all over it (think S300). The interior fittings also did not disappoint as you immediately can feel the luxury elements once you slide into the driver's cockpit. I also like the smooth as silk engine, very fine, very quiet. The ride even out even the hardest bumps. And of course the keyless entry and Formula 1 inspired start button engine, was a bonus, features more commonly found in high end continental makes but have made it rounds in Japanese cars in recent times. Overall, the new Teana has a nice quality and luxurious feel and oozes premium and elegant appeal.

What I do not like
Was quite disappointed they dont have the volume controls on the steering, features that are basic fare even in 1.6 entry level Japanese and Korean makes. Also quite alot of options were not available in the 2.0 version such as sun-roof, 17-inch alloys, xenon headlamps and the above volume controls on steering. Was also deflated when told that the GPS (again basic feature in this day and age) is only available thru Nissan at a later time and that it is a chargeable add-on item. Also Nissan should provide more body colors (currently only 5 options) and more upholstery color options (the basic beige leather standard option is hard to maintain).

NTeana
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
My 2.0 Teana  Posted on 10 Sep 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Everything on Teana is comfort, and luxury. Overall very happy with the all new Cefiro - Teana :)

What I like
Design - Both interior and exterior

Boot - Its huge easily fit in 2 Golf Bags and still plenty of rooms for other luggage

The Seats - Very spacious and sofa like.

Handling is good for its size and really relax driving this car (great for long distance cruising)

Great Noise Insulation

Responsive 2.0L Engine for a heavy car like this

Fantastic CVT gear box - extremely smooth

What I do not like
Without HID for 2.0 model

Without Plasmacluster Air Cond for 2.0 model

Without Memory Seat for 2.0 model

Without Steering Wheel controls for 2.0 model




  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Nissan Teana
4 stars - based on 13 reviews