Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Road Test - Proton Exora 1.6 (A)
14 Nov 2009  |  Proton Reviews
We’ve driven the Exora before but only briefly back in August. It left our editor with a positive first impression but will the extended time spent with it on local roads change those good vibes?
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Proton Exora
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
11 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
3/5
11 out of 11 (100%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

11 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Kalvinder
Premium User Kalvinder
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 04-May-2012
Practical family car.  Posted on 20 Dec 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I was in KL recently with my family for casual gathering with my relative. I was amaze at the Proton Exore that was driven by my sister in law. It was spacious has i am 1.75m tall & 110 kg sit at the 3rd row together with my 13 years old son. The leg room is reasonable compare to Wish or Steam that i have tried. There was 8 of us including 2 kids age 6 year. The rear aircon is also a plus factor.

What I like
1. Spacious
2. All row air con ventalation
3. Easy foldable seats
4. Legroom for 3rd row passanger.

What I do not like
1. 1.6L engine should have 1.8L or 2.0L
2. Plastic Interior
3. Rim too basic
4. Simple outlook
5. Choice of color

Mustang
4th Gear
33 reviews
593 points
708 forum posts Joined on 25-Oct-2005
Exora bold manual should be brought in too  Posted on 11 May 2013
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
After owning both the Exora Bold CFE and Preve CFE I find the Exora CFE is adequate for full load mpv.Though there's room for improvement Proton should consider push start button for the Exora.Although pick up can do a lot better I can't complain much as its only a light turbo single from a 1561cc engine.Body weight is also heavy at 1471kg for a 1.6 mpv.You only notice the powerband when the car is above 1900-2100 rpm.Driving from 70-120kmh is such an ease with no problem at overtaking from speed suchs as 100kmh.Dashboard can do much better.Only hiccup is the fanbelt which is only considered a sub standard.Theres no engine bay flooring to protect belting from water.My advice is to buy those belt spray and use it only if u hear a squeaking sound during warm up.

What I like
Space,reverse cam and comfy for long journey.

What I do not like
Lack of power full load when car accelerate,Power only kicks in after 1900-2100rpm.Should have use conventional 5 or 6 speed auto rather than cvt.Overall quite happy as I also bought the Preve CFE.My friend go for dyno and quite surprised when the torque can achieve more than 225nm.Its the punch cvt3 gearbox that have restrict to 220nm.

Coolpica
Premium User Coolpica
5th Gear
9 reviews
1,572 points
1144 forum posts Joined on 26-Sep-2005
A Great Car  Posted on 27 Apr 2013
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
It is more spacious than its peers, such as Wish or Stream. It costs much less than WIsh and Stream. Being cheaper doesnt't mean the Exora's quality is below par. I would rate it on par with its competitor.

What I like
Spaciousness
Availabilit of Rear AIrcon
Good legroom for 3rd row passengers

What I do not like
Slow pickup
More insulation would be good

MrCarFan
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 26-Mar-2013
A trusty good car.  Posted on 26 Mar 2013
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I few months ago I test drive my brother Proton Exora in Malaysia. His car was the previous generation but it was a good car. Took it on the highway and the car was very stable at speed. Back in Singapore I went to look out for a good deal for an Proton Exora. I wanted this new generation but a few months ago COE was high. I decided to look at the second-hand market. I traded in my 2006 Vios for an 2009 Exora. It was a great deal. It was a basic car, which I like, my 2 kids like the car. It was spacious and now we can buy more things in Ikea or Courts. With the 3rd row seats down to me is a good amount of space unlike some people. I installed a touch-screen head unit and a DVD Player mounted on the top of the car. The car is also great for a long journey drive. Drove from Singapore to Ipoh for 6 hours. I have to admit I needed to top-up fuel on the way but only 1 time. The leather seat makes it very comfortable and the high-seat position. May be a struggle when carrying 7/8 passenger. I noticed that the car engine was too weak to bring 7 or 8 people. I guess if I was driving from Singapore to KL with 7 or 8 passenger on board I have to stop for petrol for about 2 to 3 times? The Puny 15 inch rims have to go. I change to 18 inch rims with Continental tire. Overall, the car is great for long journey if you are carrying only 4 people including driver and both rear passenger and passenger. The air corn in the car is cold and space is great with the dual glove box. Recommend this car to anyone who is trying to find a cheap good MPV for a cheap price.

What I like
1) Leather Seat.
2) Cheap maintenance.
3) High seat position.
4) Good at cornering.
5) Cheap price to buy.
6) Nice for long journey if not more than 6 passenger.
7) Cheap road tax if OPC like my car.
8) A reasonable boot space.
9) Double glove box.
10) Very spacious in car.

What I do not like
1) Be better if have more horsepower as it will be smooth with more than 6 passengers int he car.
2) Rival is Honda Stream which has more horsepower and better fuel economy than Exora if carrying a lot of passenger.
3) Be better with a turbo like the new one. And if anyone is planning to buy a Exora Bold get the CFE as it got Turbo.
4) Interior Plastic could be improved
5) Puny 15 inch rims.( Be better if standard have 16 inch)

Mandrew
Premium User Mandrew
2nd Gear
1 reviews
151 points
143 forum posts Joined on 22-Mar-2011
Comfortable and Value for Money  Posted on 07 Dec 2012
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was driving the Exora CPS for 1.5yrs and traded in for New Exora CFE (Bold).
Very stable vehicle with good space.
Made few comfortable trips to KL. Trip also include to Genting and Cameroon with 5 members. The seating positions are very comfortable and doesn't feel any tiredness.
The lack of power in CPS engine is overcomed by the CFE engine which kicks in Turbo at 2000RPM and with CVT gear box (engine redesigned with the help of Lotus).
Able to get 100km for 8.7 to 9.3 liters (based on the Car fuel calculator).
Comes in 16in tyres with all Disc brakes.
Good room space for 7 members (the 3rd row not for fully grown ups, but better than Toyota Wish or other 1.8 liters).
Overall, the Exora CFE(BOLD) is a good all rounder in that category and moreover value for money.

What I like
The price.
The ride in SAT mode.
Good Handling.
Seating positions and comfortability.
Inbuilt roof DVD and 3rd row A/c vent.
Built in Reverse Camera LCD in Rear view.

What I do not like
The plastic interiors.
Average Sound proofing (improved compared to old CPS version).
The front design.

FiatMan
Neutral Newbie
22 reviews
1 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Oct-2010
Great Car!  Posted on 13 Feb 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Last Week, During Chinese New Year I Drove to Cameron Highlands in Malaysia Traffic Jam In 1st Link. After A few Hours I Reach there. I went there for a Holiday And waiting my bro to bring me to his home. I waited about Half and Hour which is thirty Minutes. He told me that His Going to drive his Wira. Which He Brought 10years ago. He told me if i can drive his Exora. I Took out all my Bags. My Family Shift in the Exora. Start to On the car. The FC is Good. When i drove 120km in The Exora It was Great That A 1.6A Exora drove 120km With it's Small Tyre. The Car is Stable like my Fiat Punto. I Drove to Kuala Lumpur Which is Quite Far. I Overtook Many Cars. I Even Managed to reach 180km, Decide to Slow down and Stop in One Destination Where i Can Have a Tea. My Siblings came there. I know that 1.6 Is like to Small for Big Seven seat like this. The Car is Great. Even when i'm driving up Genting Highland i don't even need to bring to 3. I Planning to buy it in Singapore, planning to Trade in my 2005 Toyota Camry. Which is Worthless now. People Rather Buy Golf VW.

What I like
Everything.

What I do not like
Using Campro engine and The Small Pathetic Tyre.

Panhard
Premium User Panhard
4th Gear
1 reviews
870 points
829 forum posts Joined on 13-Jul-2009
Value & Reliable MPV Packed With Features  Posted on 14 Sep 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Have already owned the exora auto for 6 mths now.

Very pleased with it so far. value for money mpv that is packed with features both safety, comfort & anti-theft.

Have already clocked 12k mileage & done 3 services with no major problems & complains.

Driven it up north on full load a couple of times averaging around 8.0l to 8.5l of petrol per 100km.

The Campro cps engine is responsive & lively together with the smooth shift of the auto gearbox.

Highly recommended for those who dont want to spend too much on a mpv that has everything, especially space.

No regrets getting this car at all!

What I like
-space

-features

-stability

-price

What I do not like
NONE.

Just need to look pass the badge to love this car.

Ahmad67ibrahim
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Great MPV with a smaller price  Posted on 05 Jun 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 2/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Test driven this MPV and finally made my purchase. Never regretted. Value for money. Capable of moving on a full load basis with full capacity. Overall full of features. Recommended for all budget conscious buyers who thinking of getting a big family around altogether but with a smaller budget. A good and safe buy from a normal saloon, advisable to get this MPV as the saying goes: ( one size fits all).

What I like
Everything... from price to features... and the individual aircon duct for the 2nd and last row. My children dont complain anymore unlike my last car the Toy Wish.

What I do not like
Underpowered during taking off but once you are at 60-70km/h u are ready for zoom. Some plastic dashboard.

BoiExora
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2010
Most spacious and practical small MPV ever made  Posted on 25 May 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I just purchase a whit M-Line Exora auto. After numerous trips with and without passengers i can say i'm very satisfied with the handling, Comfort and performance on the highway. However do take note its not suitable for 7 full grown adults especially those beyond 80kg. The pick up especially 1st and 2nd feel sluggish. I've ever tried 5 adults and 3 kids and the performance is so-so (acceptable) compared to 4 adults and 3 kids (excellent). Cornering is also stable as not much body roll is notice. I loved the interior so spacious and feel like that you are driving 2 litre car! The Technician recommend using only 10W-30 or at least 10W-40 fully synthetic engine oil for better performance and fuel consumption. I was browsing for 16x7 sport rims with either Bridestone or Falken 205/55 radial tyres. Gonna change to that after the 2nd service. Probably a good grade of air filters would improve the pick up. Overall i'm very happy with this MPV. Kudos to Proton for the improvement made for the 2010 models. If you're looking into budget mini MPV this is the one you should buy not consider.

What I like
Interior, Very spacious. Room for in car entertainment like roof mounted dvd, speakers etc. Comfort even for long journey. Travel to Machap with no back strain unlike previous sedan car. Pricing still acceptable even for the booming COE price. Handling for cornering is superb.

What I do not like
So far nil if yes would be the rims. 16inch for standard is okay for a big body MPV.

Kee2718
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
2 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Really not bad  Posted on 27 Oct 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Test drove Exora auto last week
the MPV design is not bad, huge body with 1.6 engine.
Interior average, material wise can see lots of improvement, plenty leg room for first and second row, surprisingly 3rd row is for adult, normally i can sit straight up in Wish, Stream, even Estima also, this Exora does, i can sit comfortably up straight. This is a true FULL SIZE 7 seater...
For engine performance, initial move from stall, engine responses, however, as i floor the pedal, the engine somehow no response for few seconds, then followed by gradually and gently accelerate, engine roared similar to diesel van, quiet loud.
Handling wise, steering weights adequate, responsive enough, brakes are also grabbing fine, need longer journey to really test out the 'LOTUS TUNED' handling.
Interior design ok with reasonably built quality accessories and dial knobs.
Good job from Proton!

What I like
reasonably priced
spacious
LED lights

What I do not like
not so easy access to 3rd row
still can feel under power.
plastic, plastic.
limited features

Mustang
4th Gear
33 reviews
593 points
708 forum posts Joined on 25-Oct-2005
Spacious budget compact MPV  Posted on 20 Jul 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
My mum in law (Malaysian) just collect her Exora M-Line auto last Friday in JB, I myself follow her to collect the car. Its quite spacious for a compact MPV i dare say plus all air con is a bonus. On the day itself my mum in law ask me to drive from Larkin to Pontian to attend a thanksgiving feast. The journey was quite smooth with 7 on board including my 78kg bro in law, My wife, My mum in law, My maid and 3 kids. The others such as my sis in law etc in another sedan car. Stop and go with full load require hard works and skills i should say. Accelerate from 1st to 2nd is indeed quite slow (maybe new engine). The best part is where the rpm reach 3.25-3.5k above and you will notice the CPS is working! On highways i maintain a speed of 90-100kmh without effort. Its a pity the M-Line doesn't come with cruise control! Going at bend with speed of 80-90kmh come with less body roll which surprise me for a MPV. Final gear ratio also diff from Gen2 or Waja which is surprising good. Rims and tyres is a joke for this MPV as it look like a supermarket trolley. Proton should consider upgrade to 16 inch on both versions. Material use is above average better than previous models. The fabric also a notch over the previous models which people may mistaken it for leather! But in my opinion leathers and fog lights should be include as standard equipment and not just for the H-Line alone. Overall i give it 7 out of 10.

What I like
Pricing for now, Hopefully will reduce after the COE shrink.
Spacious interior, Full aircons even for third row.
Good quality fabric, Smooth in cruising.
ABS/EBD even for M-Line, bluetooth.
LED signal light side mirror, LED tailight.

What I do not like
Puny 15 inch rims! Proton should consider 16inch as standard for big size MPV!
Acceleration from 0-60kmh with 7 on board. Feels like a cargo van!Should improve the torque.
Kerb weight too heavy for a 1.6.
No fog lights and leather seats for M-Line but good grade fabric covers that.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Proton Exora
3.5 stars - based on 11 reviews