Related Articles

Mercedes-Benz B-Class undergoes facelift

Mercedes B-Class keeps up with the competition

Mercedes previews new B200 and A 35 AMG in Majorca

Dip in COE supply for November to January


Past Car
Models no longer being sold by local distributors.
Model unavailable since Apr 2019
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Mercedes-Benz B-Class B200 BlueEfficiency Sport (A)
03 Oct 2012  |  Mercedes-Benz Reviews
Known for being mom's taxi, the new B-Class is made for people who want something bigger than the A-Class than can bring them around in style.
spacer
Facelift

The Mercedes-Benz B-Class was facelifted on Jun 2015. Read more

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mercedes-Benz B-Class
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
20 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
4.5/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
17 out of 20 (85%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

20 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Mind_fighters
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
11 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Very Solid Family Car  Posted on 06 Jun 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Just collected my car after 3 months of waiting and I would say I never regretted changing to it. The drive is generally very steady (although pick up is slower than previous car). Lots of space for people sitting behind. The ambient light is what I like most, albeit a small thing for most people..

What I like
Space
Ambient Light
Steady Drive

What I do not like
Slow pick up

Anglerso
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
7 points
0 forum posts Joined on 24-Mar-2010
Entry level but still Good  Posted on 06 Jun 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Own for 2 yrs. Some hickup of sensors but overall good driving. Same category car will not get both front seat with electric with memory seats. Reverse cam is good. Seen a "N' jap car reverse cam really lots of different. Spacious seats and headroom. Powerful pickup in this category. The collision brake assist real work well, save few times from hitting front car even at slow speed. FC is not bad, achieve 5.4l/100km on highway. FC mixed around 9km/100km.

What I like
pickup
spacious
all round sensors
collision brake assist
Auto parallel parking
car essential package is good, car still look new even after 2 years.

What I do not like
design
paintwork get scratch off easily
brake dust but seems all conti are similar
service center service not as good
car servicing minimum 0.5 days, any special issue minimum 2 days! hope new center in Sinming will help ease the service time.
collect and return booking is not good at all, ,most of the time are fully book.
free type patch never use at all since car come with RFT.
sound insulation not that good
no auto tailgate

Choco1980
2nd Gear
4 reviews
108 points
113 forum posts Joined on 22-Jul-2013
Decent Ride I've owned  Posted on 17 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Driven this B180 for a while already. W246.

like the soft touch materials and ambient led interior lightings which can change many colors depending on driver choice.

Nutshell - does not act like a sporty car but it provides a comfortable drive for an MPV

I just hope cycle carriage don't fail me in the warranty claims for the gearbox oil leakage as I like this ride a lot.

What I like
1) Space Space and more interior space.
2) Relaxing drive
3) all the usual creature comforts
4) all the usual safety features
5) Active Parking Assist
6) LED headlights and taillights
7) decent fuel economy
8) drive mode select
9) good driving views/angles

What I do not like
1) slightly jerky 7-DCT gearbox when low speed range.
2) I had transmission oil leak which till now have yet to be settled by cycle carriage pandan. sent in for the 2nd time already within a month.

MB2015
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
5 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Apr-2017
Poor service provided by the service centres  Posted on 15 Apr 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have been driving for 17 years, a previous owner of a few new cars. This is the first time I bought a Mercedes Benz car.

I shall share my experience from the second servicing with Mercedes at Alexandra Service Centre. I requested to check on my car battery as I suspect there is a need to do so. I asked the centre to do a battery test but there was no indication of problem with the battery on paper. However, within 2 months, my car broke down due to battery problem and had to be towed back. I had my doubts on the paperwork (the tests) that was done on the battery. I am not sure if it is because my car battery is under two years warranty thus the centre does not see the need to replace my car battery. This episode of car breaking down and being towed away causes me inconvenience for a couple of days as the workshop is closed over that weekend.

One the third servicing, I feedback to a particular Service advisor J in Alexandra on the noise when I am driving. I suspect it is the shock absorber that needs to be replaced based on my driving experiences. He told me he will replace the rear shock absorbers (2 of them) but when i collected my car , I realised the noise is still around. It took me about 3 days for the servicing and replacement of absorbers.

It has been about a month and I have not heard anything from the service centre. How long does this service recovery process take?

The service advisor J told me that he will book a replacement car for me so that I can send my car for repair after the recent "Servicing". Until now there is no date given to me.

I am very disappointed with the service and servicing provided by the service centre.

What I like
Fuel consumption, road handling

What I do not like
Poor service at the service centre

kyo465
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
8 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Oct-2016
Good but not Excellent  Posted on 11 Oct 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Received the car in September 2016 and have been driving for a couple of weeks. Compared to my previous card (Ford Focus 2012) the interior road noise is not as good. Probably because the Ford is a Sedan. Focus also has better road feel compared to the B class.

That aside, the interior built quality is a Mercedes Benz and that is better than the Ford. But the FF Titanium has comparable features (except for park assist and collision prevention) with the addition of voice control which cost additional 10k for MB.

The engine and gear transmission is definitely more capable (hence the reason for changing car) although so far I have not reached anywhere near the mileage as stated. With 2 trips to the petrol station, I have achieved ~10km/L which is similar to my previous car. This is considering I am a light footer.

The boot space is also not spectacular given the shallow depth. Arguably smaller than my previous car. However being a small MPV retrieval of items is easier but this is no credit to the design of the car but rather the type of car.

In terms of reliability it is still early days but I have faith in the tried and tested engine of the B class who happens to share it with the A class as well.

What I like
Interior build quality
Safety Features
New Face Lift is better from the front

What I do not like
Mileage is not yet near the specifications
Bland Rear view

Trent895
2nd Gear
6 reviews
108 points
12 forum posts Joined on 08-May-2016
After 2 years  Posted on 17 May 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This car has the same capacity and horsepower as my previous car at 1.6l and 122 hp. But the performance is night and day, thanks to the turbocharging and 7 speed DCT. When I am in the mood, I manual upshift early and step hard, the car flies without the engine revving, all the 200nm torque at work. The wonder of turbocharging! The interior is nicely done without being too opulent - soft touch everywhere with ambient lighting. The ceiling is high, giving a feel of space, and the ride is generally smooth and quiet. The external lighting is all LED and very stunning, especially at night.

What I like
Space and quality interior. Engine and the DCT combination. Understated exterior and marvellous lighting. Basic reliability. Collision prevention assist is very useful.

What I do not like
DCT is clumsy at low speed and on slopes, or asleep when engine is cold.

MB-B180
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-May-2016
Mixed feelings at a premium price  Posted on 07 May 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Driven reliably 2 generations of E-class for 12 years and decided to go for a B-180; Smaller engine for economy and better seat position for ergonomics. 3+ months and 4000km later, I have mixed feelings.

Its a car suitable for a small family, light-footed drivers, in a urban setting. Comfortable ride as long as acceleration is light, cruising within 100km, gentle around bends, few humps.

Fuel economy is NOT as advertised. Managed 8-12l/100km, much like the previous E-class. Yet it can't deliver that turbo that you know, and the paddle shift won't help either.

The dealbreaker. On occasion the car surges forward as it engages gear 2 on a downslope. It feels as if the torque at gear 2 is designed very different. That doesn't affect the drive generally, but feels rather dangerous. The disappointment is when C&C isn't proactive about addressing or rectifying issues like these. I regard the after sales quite poorly now.

The rest are listed above.

Having driven MB for 15 years and short stints of others (Audi, Pergeot, Toyotas, Mazda, Vauxhall, Honda), I wonder if the 150k price tag is getting me what I expect from MB.
Its a comfortable car that suits my needs. I won't sell it but won't rave about it either.

What I like
its a merc and overall reliable
Smart features - Park assist, Collision prevention, All round proximity sensors, Auto park brake (engages on opening door, releases on acceleration)
Nice audio/ choice of media input
Handlebar- gear change
High driving position, Easy seat position to get in-out
Small turning radius

What I do not like
?Faulty gear change
(lack of) Fuel economy
Power apt for a family car
Start-stop feature does not work and can't be switched off permanently
Keyless-Go not truly keyless - does not include door handle sensors with B180
no auto boot release
Accelerator and brake pedal positions
Sound insulation just ok
Suspension stiff esp rear
Appreciable bodyroll at sharp turns
2.5 seats at rear.
Rear seats too upright; lacks recline
Poor poor after sales

Gpliu3
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
21 points
33 forum posts Joined on 14-Jan-2011
Family car with enough space & lot's of features  Posted on 20 Jan 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test driven and ordered B180 Style but haven't got it. IMHO, the car is most suitable for young couples with babies (as back seats are most suitable for kids).
Reasons:
the car's exteriors is not suitable for uncles or any business usage, but it's fine for young couples
the car's backseat is upright&narrow&short, so male adults will not feel comfortable if sit too long, but it's not a problem to kids as they'll be in car seats.
the car got many cool features(auto parking, memory seat, paddle shifter)
Car's engine performance is not fantastic but we have babies on board.

What I like
It's a Mercs..
many features (auto parking, memory seat etc etc. Can fill up one A4 page)
plush interior (now same as A Class & C Class)
better than other Conti car reliability and good resale value
enough engine performance (Max torque arrives very early at 1250rpm)
enough backseat space & big boot for this car's size

What I do not like
no rear air con but still got air con vent!! (quite ugly and it's my biggest complaint)
additional roof costs 4700$
no navigation (heard I can use a Garmin card to integrate?)
Expensive considering its 25+K OMV

Shoelevy
2nd Gear
3 reviews
167 points
84 forum posts Joined on 02-Oct-2013
Small family car...buy if you have the money to spend  Posted on 20 Aug 2015
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
To be honest, i found the car somewhat lackluster in design and drive compared to A-class

As a bigger variant of the A class, it doesn't have the same sporty signature.
The test drive was plain...

yet, for these reasons, i can see how great it would be for a small and young family with the money to spare. I mean...The rear seats have aircraft inspired dining table...A design which i think is more relevant for children

is not for the single who wants a merc to show off
is not for older couples with two teens

What I like
Front bonnet design
Rear seats have aircraft inspired dining tables
hands-free auto parking!
small turning radius
low rpm drive = good FC
fairly good pick up when needed
big and sharp center console screen (A-class one is small and low resolution)
paddle shifters
quiet wheels

What I do not like
noisy engine
boring drive, fast gear change really doesn't help with the feeling
feel naked without E parking or hand brake lever
too many control sticks: one for wiper, one for cruise, one for signal
unconventional electronic gear stick by the side of steering wheel
small boot
no dual climate aircon...analogue aircon temperature setting...
have heard of pricey maintenance with Mercs
final reason i do not recommend this car: very pricey...

Silverkris
4th Gear
1 reviews
651 points
276 forum posts Joined on 03-Jul-2007
Very Smooth, Very Quiet Car for the Family  Posted on 23 Apr 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Has just gotten the FL version of the new B-Class Style Edition. Previously driven a Honda Accord therefore I am comparing this car with the Accord, though they are both different cars altogether.

Comfort wise, B180 is practically gliding over the road. But the car does like to be driven without rush and definitely not as a hot hatch. The view is great and the comfort of getting in and out of the car is effortless.

The handling though not as great as a sedan but it also does not encounter much understeer too.

The turbo kicks in early and that makes it great for acceleration from stand still but it just feels so out of place. The car wants you to treat it gently and it lets it known by the loud growl of the turbo when accelerating hard though it does completes its job properly.

Space inside the cabin is huge and all 5 persons can sit very comfortably with ample rooms. And if you drive normally, all the passengers will doze off soon with the quietness, comfort and nice music from its surround speakers.

Exterior looks improved a great deal from the previous W246, now it looks more like a higher C-Class from the front and side, though definitely not as sporty looking as the CLA/GLA.

Definitely a good and nice family car to own.

What I like
- Smooth ride
- Quiet ride
- Features rich
- Easy car to drive
- Huge space
- Great Looks (Subjective)
- Good Acceleration (though loud)
- Nice interior especially at night.

What I do not like
- 7GDCT gear is very hard to predict thus driving needs a little to get used to.
- No rear aircon without top up on options.

SGCMWhiteKnight
2nd Gear
1 reviews
218 points
133 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
Practical family Hatch  Posted on 27 Feb 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I had the opportunity to test drive the facelift model of the B180 Style last week. It is a 5 door hatch with a shortened back powered by a 1.6Turbo with paddle shifters(!) and a 7G-DCT transmission. With the high ceiling, it easily fits those adults of over 6' height, so getting in/out is easy. The rear only sits 2.5 adults, the centre seat is really only suitable for children. The boot is fairly large and if transporting large items, the rear seats are foldable. The design is unique because it isn't a sedan (high back), nor is it a wagon (shortened design), nor is it an MPV (seats only 4.5), nor is it a SUV, but it is a very practical family car.

It comes loaded with a host of creature comforts: multi-function steering wheel with paddle shifters, keyless start/stop, auto headlights/wipers, electric park brake, day running lights, reverse cam (1.6k option- ouch!). Safety ranks high on its features with 7 airbags, knock sensors and collision warning. The factory reverse cam comes with the guidelines to show you whether you will hit anything. Both front seats are powered and come with memory settings.

Driving the B180 was a pleasurable experience with the displays and nice interior lighting. Steering feel is firm though detached due to its power assist. On hard cornering, the car tends to understeer, though the turning circle is small, typical of MB. If you need power, just tap on the paddle shifter to downshift and step on the gas, it will give a decent push when required. When coming to a stop at the traffic lights, the engine will shut off (selectable). Pressing the brake further will engage the electric brake. Step on the accelerator and the brake disengages and the engine turns on automatically.

Ride is comfortable even going over speed humps, you need to slow down a bit. The cabin is quite well damped, though wheel noise is audible in the rear seats. The standard run-flat tires are firm and noisy.

On the whole, it is a fun practical car to drive, loaded with many practical and safety features which are important as a family car. For this application, the B180 shines.

What I like
Excellent set of features which makes for an enjoyable driving experience.
Good safety features.

What I do not like
Understeer and noisy tires.

Dwee
6th Gear
6 reviews
2,828 points
837 forum posts Joined on 05-Jul-2010
One Of The Most Comfortable & Spacious Car I've Drove  Posted on 06 Aug 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I was given the chance to dive this car over the weekend for 2 conservative days. I must say the design do really look stylish. The sporty, elegant design set the tone in the interior of this car. It has a huge cabin, a big boot space and a classy luxurious interior.

Space inside the car is generous. There's ample room for heads and knees wherever you're sitting, and particularly good provision for feet in the second row. I particularly liked the leather seat feel. The soft-touch interior plastics look and feel effortlessly superior to the class standard.

The Mercedes-Benz B-Class is a decent bet if you want as much space and prestige as possible from your family hatchback.

What I like
1) Well equipped with safety features
2) Nice clean look interior
3) Very smooth steering wheel

What I do not like
1) Do not have the aggressive exterior look
2) Not able to control the lighting
3) Slow acceleration
4) Pricey with the current COE and loan curb

Acemundo
2Fast2Furious
1 reviews
28,847 points
14757 forum posts Joined on 24-Nov-2002
Decent but too sedated  Posted on 01 Aug 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
My wifey likes cars with a tall stance. I have went on the Mercs GLA launch and does took the opportunity to test the B200. Inside the car, I like the dashboard and trim level. My wife, seated at the back, however, doesn't like the cheap plastics used for the tray and cup holder.

at drive off the car picks up well but lacks the punch. perhaps the test drive route is also littered with many cars that makes it difficult for me to give it a good push. ended the test drive feeling disappointed with the pick up. maybe it is because I have been used to a much higher torque.

I asked the SE if they do ECU tuning for their cars and she say they don't. hence this car is not a very attractive proposition to me.

What I like
HIgh stance, nice dashboard, decent finishing

What I do not like
Lack of torque

Vinyl
4th Gear
3 reviews
538 points
187 forum posts Joined on 06-Aug-2011
Comfortable, Quiet and Spacious  Posted on 22 Jul 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Tested the B180 Sport during the Mercedes Brunch Test Drive organised by sgCarMart. The ride was quiet and comfortable with sufficient power for overtaking. The interior is superb with huge legroom at the back for passengers.

Looks-wise, it is slightly unflattering beside the GLA but this car is not designed to look good. It is designed for practicality and space.

Overall, the built quality is excellent and looks like the ideal car for a family man.

What I like
Interior
Huge legroom
Built Quality
It's a Merc!

What I do not like
I love power and I'll opt for a B200 if the price difference isn't too great.

Mercedes2
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
4 points
2 forum posts Joined on 27-Nov-2012
Practical and reliable  Posted on 26 Jun 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
First impressions are good and after getting into the car , was amazed by the interior. Spec are also very good too

What I like
The features and the interior of the car

What I do not like
The styling of it doesn't look aggressive enough otherwise not much

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Mercedes-Benz B-Class
4 stars - based on 20 reviews