Related Articles

All new Honda City arrives in Singapore

Honda City Mugen for Philippines

Honda to make lighter cars

Milking your dying car for maximum cash


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Honda City 1.5 i-VTEC (A)
14 Jul 2014  |  Honda Reviews
Honda's all new City feels more premium than before and comes with an extensive list of standard equipment - all set to lead its segment.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Honda City
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
17 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
4/5
15 out of 17 (88.2%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

17 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
KiaraSanger
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
4 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-Oct-2017
The perfect Sedan  Posted on 09 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Pros:
Best-in-class mileage
Spacious cabin
Fun to drive on city roads as well as highways

Cons:
Front fascia looks quite identical to the old version
Diesel engine could have been more refined
Ride quality could be improved

For more visit: https://autoportal.Com/newcars/honda/city/

What I like
Fun to drive on city roads as well as highways

What I do not like
Front fascia looks quite identical to the old version

shield_racer
Premium User shield_racer
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
10 points
1 forum posts Joined on 24-Feb-2017
Value for money and sporty look!  Posted on 24 Mar 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Just gotten my key and am proud and happy to be a Honda City 1.5SV owner!

Following is my humble opinion:
Drive and handling pretty comfortable. Good at turning. Good fuel consumption too.
City is light. Hence pick up is fast and sprints easily.

I would like to compliment one of your SE, Glady Teo, from Alexandra showroom. Excellent customer service, prompt and patient. She is someone who is willing to goes extra miles to ensure we are happy! THUMBS UP for her great service!

Definitely value for money given the price tag at SGD$92,999 and fuel economical. No regrets!

What I like
- Excellent FC
- Cold Aircon
- good rear legroom and boot size
- remote keyless entry and boot entry
- knocked down rear seats
- cruise control and paddle shift
- Bluetooth, HDMI and USB connections all available.
- reverse camera.

What I do not like
- Side view mirrors are not auto folding
- no auto climate
- no day light
- no electric brake.

TEELEAVES
2nd Gear
1 reviews
102 points
40 forum posts Joined on 13-Nov-2009
Bang for buck, VFM buy with honda reliability  Posted on 21 Mar 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Been a proud and happy Honda City 1.5SV owner since late January 2017. Since I have been driving it for the past 2 months and over 4,000 km clocked, I thought I would be able to provide an humble opinion on it.

Drive/ Handling
Drive and handling is pretty average (about 7/10). Coming from a previous 205/55 R16 ride to the city's current 185/55 R16, City's handling feels adequate, but cornering is rather compromised. Spiral turns (some exits from expressways) with my previous ride could handle at 60km/h, the City only track at 50km/h at best. City at 1,096kg, is one of the lightest in its class, and it sprints forward readily and easily at will.

Road comfort
Becos of the rear Axel Torsion Beam suspension, City feels every bump and crack on the road. The minimal insulation material (lack of), also translated to every audible sound noise thru the cabin. I would rate it (6/10).

Fuel consumption
For a NA (Naturally Aspirated) engine, the City returns 16km/l, on 80% Highway 20% Urban driving. I rate its fuel consumption as excellent (9/10). Easily one of the most economical and fuel efficient NA engines out in the market. Also able to run on RON 92 petrol, since it is Thai-assembled and that Thai and Malaysian mid tiered RON petrol is rated 91.

Value for Money (VFM)
At prevailing market px SGD$92,999 (as of Mar 17), the City SV is easily one of the most economical and VFM car out there. Honda frequently tops the engine reliability charts (1 failure out of 344 engines) - shows the odds are in your favour to own a Honda. I have no regrets in owning the City and look to many more good years of service from the Honda badge :)

What I like
- excellent FC, frugally driven, it can deliver 17-20km/l on local roads.
- Honda reliability, peace of mind on the roads.
- Cold Aircon
- Zero problems with the SOHC engines, wats wrong with saving fuel?
- 16inch sized rubber, save money during tyre changes!
- awesome sized rear legroom and boot.
- remote keyless entry and boot entry..
- knocked down rear seats.. Awesome.
- spare tyre available, versus inflatable kit, which is useless if tyre sidewall is damaged.

What I do not like
- road bumps, noise and poor insulation is evident.
- side view mirrors are not auto folding and requires you to press a button each time when u park, before u disable the engine. The 2017 City will come with autofold sideview mirrors as standard.

Mervynwm
Premium User Mervynwm
2nd Gear
100 reviews
170 points
39 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
A TOO Simple City.  Posted on 05 Mar 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Went to try out this sedan.

First looks, the styling has changed from a box liked car to a more curving one and comes only 1 variant the SV which has many cosmetic and a 16 inches rims from factory while headlamps are still halogen than option or standard as LED.

Boot space is bigger than before and can hold many bags as shown by sales.

Inside, the leather is from factory too and comes with a 7 inches screen display but still with no climate aircon where keyless and paddle shifters are given now as standard.

The drive off was kinda jerky as its comes with SOHC engine to pair with 7-speed gearbox. Gear changes are smooth but seems too much to pair with this engine, perhaps 5 speed is more than enough.

Tried using paddle shifts, jerking effect when change gears and gets noisy seems like overclocking the engine at times where its not meant to "Cheong" Or dash off where it kinds of forcing the engine which eventually the paddle shifts might be just a display or white elephant.

Parking comes with reverse camera as standard and IPAS which is good to have.

Overall, if this is a DOHC engine with the 7 speed CVT, it will be a worth getting one but seems some impairment of the SOHC and 7-speed is there that might hinder buyers to consider it and look at Jazz (a hatchback) which is a DOHC instead or even other makes that are of similar budget concerns.

What I like
Paddle shift
More spacious than before
16 inches rims
Reverse camera comes with IPAS

What I do not like
SOHC engine
Halogen lights
No dual zone auto aircon

Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 05-Feb-2017
Value for $ option  Posted on 05 Feb 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Summary: This car may lose out to Korean counterparts in terms of features, but if you are looking for a long term value for $ (i.E. Low maintenance & petrol cost) & decent performance (i.E. Drive & pick-up) sedan, do consider the Honda City SV.

Compared and test drove the Honda Civic 1.6L, 1.5T and this car (SV version).

Initially never considered this car at all due to the perception that it is a very basic no-frills and "Uncle" Car.

After taking a closer look at it at the showroom plus test drive, felt that it is a better deal to me than the Honda Civic even though the Civic looks better and sportier to me.

Main advantages over the Civic 1.6L:
- At least $1k less depreciation a year (I got a good deal, depreciation only $8.6k a year compared to Civic's $10.1k when I bought)
- Better pick-up
- Lighter by around 150kg

Main advantage over Civic 1.5T:
- Much much cheaper, price difference is about $30k aka more than 30% Pricier.

(Side note: If I got alot of extra cash to spare, i will go for Civic 1.5T but bear in the mind its depreciation is ard $11k a year which is $2.5k more than this car each year)

Bought this car in Dec 16 and was delivered in abt 1 month's time. So far so good very happy with the buy :) Look for Darren Too for a friendly and experienced SE to serve you!

What I like
Good FC (around 15km/L, 80% highway & 20% city)
Electronic touchscreen with Bluetooth connectivity & many charging ports
Good pick-up, better than current Honda Civic 1.6L (bearing in mind this is a 1.5L N.A. engine mated to CVT)
Big boot space
Good legroom
Cruise control + paddle shifters
Quiet drive
Keyless entry & drive (just touch door handle can open door with key in pocket)
Option for brown leather seats (which i got)

What I do not like
Quite a fair bit of hard plastics in the interior
No ventilated seats (unlike Korean competitors in the same segment)
SOHC engine when other models already using DOHC engines (more powerful)

Buadongdong
Premium User Buadongdong
NOS-ed
1 reviews
17,325 points
2211 forum posts Joined on 22-Nov-2013
Great Smooth reliable car for everyday drive with occasional thrills.  Posted on 23 Aug 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Have been driving it for almost a month now and it still surprises me on my everyday driving and I look forward to driving it everyday. This latest City has got far better looks than its older siblings and styled nicely for a compact sedan. The interior is super spacious and my wife have been loving it since she sits at the back taking car of our child. There are also plenty of charging points in the car for gadgets intensive society nowadays. The AD support has been great so far with good follow ups.

The pick-up is good and can feel the pull at only 2000rpm even with a full load in the car. Its also a very reactive car and accelerates fast (with minimal lag) when traffic light turns yellow. My former suzuki would not have been able to do that. CVT is dull when accelerating from rest but its fine thereafter.

What I like
Default Reverse camera
Fog lights
Cruise control
Paddle shifter
8-speaker sound system
Push start button + keyless access
Spacious interior and big boot
Sporty exterior look (after bodykit)
Good acceleration for chionging traffic light
A lot of charging ports

What I do not like
Drum brakes (dislike only the aesthetics, not the function)
Not able to achieve the stated FC. Can only manage 13km/L
Car chassis a bit too high leaving a big lobang underneath
No rear Aircon
No built in GPS
CVT slightly dull
Fuel tank too small. Need to top up often for those who travels a lot.

r1der
Premium User r1der
5th Gear
1 reviews
1,078 points
204 forum posts Joined on 08-May-2016
My first Honda car  Posted on 17 Jun 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Previously my ride was Nissan Latio. I've been driving this Honda City for a week, and here's my review:

Exterior:
Two words; Modern and stylish. I like the sporty look of the front bumper which reminds me of the Type-R look. Side of the car could have looked dull due to short length and tall height (it's a compact car after all) but this has been compensated with nice curve line across the side of the car, making it looks lower and unique. Rear of the car looks great. I like the so called BMW rear light which is a good copycat. However, the rear looks like a 'duck rear' when view at certain angle.

Interior:
Also two words; Spacious and comfortable. Rear boot and leg room at rear passenger seat are humongous. But the headroom is a bit low especially if you are > 1.8m tall. In terms of width, this car somehow feels wider than Latio although the spec is the about the same which is 1695mm. 3 adults can sit at the rear seat comfortably without any issue. Next, the seat feels plush with enough back support which is suitable for long journey. There are also plenty of storage compartments such as at front dashboard, side doors albeit at smaller capacity compared to my previous Latio.

Driving Experience:
The steering wheel feels light which is alright as it's useful when driving around the city. In terms on handling, the car feels stable when cornering at sharp corner at 60 - 70km/hr speed which is great compared to other similar compact car category. CVT gearbox is a bit dull, but this can be compensated by utilising the paddle shift function. Overall, I think the driving experience is the best among its competitor. Although it's still a bread and butter car, at least it has the comfort and sportiness level that my family and myself can appreciate.

Conclusion:
Before buying this car, I have considered other models such as Vezel, Civic, Altis, Sylphy, Axio, Mazda 3. In the end, I decided to buy City as it's from AD (safer buy), lower depreciation (~ 8.8k per year), better options (such as traction control, entertainment system) and last but not least, it's a Honda!

What I like
Traction Control
Fog lights
Paddle shifter
8-speaker sound system
7" responsive touch screen display
Push start button + keyless access from both side front passenger doors
Spacious cabin and boot
Sporty exterior look
Sporty handling but at the same time comfortable ride

What I do not like
No HID or LED headlights or rear lights
Should be 6 airbags instead of 2 airbags only
No auto climate control
No rear aircon ventilation
No auto retractable side mirrors when locking/ unlocking the car
No built in GPS
Non adjustable timer wiper (Even my old Latio has it!)

chiefdale
Premium User chiefdale
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
24 points
49 forum posts Joined on 05-May-2016
Compact Sedan - Family Car  Posted on 05 May 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Gd handling especially at bends, car still feel stable at moderate speeds.
Normal mode used mainly during hotter days as aircon cools down the car at a faster rate then econ mode. Acceleration feels the same with both modes. Mainly driving a mix of city and highway, fuel consumption stands at about 13.4km/l for econ driving with a heavy foot, hits 14.6km/l with lighter foot at econ mode. Roomy back seat area ensures your family members feel comfortable as you cruise your vehicle.

What I like
Aircon that can make me shiver during a sunny day.
Easy bluetooth connectivity for mobile to engage.
Roomy backseats even with both front seats leaning back.
Multi function steering wheel.
Reverse camera.

What I do not like
Lack climate control.
Lack GPS system.
Not able to achieve the high fuel consumption as stated.

2021honeybee
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
-27 points
1 forum posts Joined on 07-Jan-2016
This is a car with excellent manoeuvring capability  Posted on 08 Jan 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The feel of the steering is extremely stable at swerving, it does not have the kind of very light feeling of other cars. At normal mode, response of engine is fast at both low torque and high speed. At Econ mode, drag is expected but peddle shift comes into handy. Manually shifting up the gear eliminates the draggy feeling and accelerates faster, it is useful for overtaking.

I use cruise control as frequent as I hit highway, it helps to achieve fuel efficiency as high as 23km/l on a smooth traffic for 20km of distance travelled. However, it only manages 12.4km/l on average for a mix of high way and city roads. I'm not satisfied with this result as I expect it to achieve at least 14km/l as the spec mentions 17.5km/l (or 5.7L/100km) (12.4km/l seems to be only 71% Of the advertised spec...).

Hill Start Assist supposed to help in fuel economy as I no need to keep pressing accelerator at the slope of car park entry :) . Even though I'm not sure how much it contributes to fuel saving, it is a convenient feature at the very least.

As it names suggests (Honda City), it is a comfortable car for smooth city ride as its torque and power curves are flatter compared to other sporty model such as Civic. Honda packs many features focuses on performance and manoeuvring, I guess that is the main reason why it lacks GPS, maps and climatic control taking the price into consideration.

What I like
1) Steady steering control and fast engine response
2) Peddle shift
3) Cruise control
4) Fuel economy
5) Hill Start Assist

What I do not like
1) Lack of GPS and map
2) No automatic climate control
3) Restriction to project phone screen to in-car LCD

hsl118
Premium User hsl118
6th Gear
2 reviews
3,329 points
989 forum posts Joined on 05-Dec-2015
Good Fuel Economy and Reliable  Posted on 18 Dec 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
One of the rides in the family, been hogging it for coming to 18 months now:

- fuel economy figures are for real after all
- reliable drive and handling
- decent pickup for 0-80 km/h
- would prefer more torque for beyond 120 km/h
- identical engine to HRV and Mobilio, but lightest at 1.1 tonnes
- paddle shifters useful when overtaking

While the craze for continental rides continues, do take a step back and think about the agony you can avoid e.G. Faulty MCU, GB, having to burn annual leave for servicing, long queues (in months) for servicing - all while car is under warranty.

Would still choose the City all over.

What I like
- Fuel economy of 15KM/L with 50/50 highway & start-stop
- Fuel economy of 19KM/L with 80/20 ^^
- Cruise Control
- Reverse Camera
- Spacious front and back seating
- Plenty of boot room
- Powerful air-condition that makes grown men shiver

What I do not like
- Torque of 145Nm - you can feel it when you are increasing acceleration, but let's not forget you are not paying for a turbo engine
- Stain magnet panel surrounding 7" touch screen
- Stain magnet chrome front panel
- fuel tank of 40L

RickyHPutra
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 03-Nov-2015
Great fuel economy car  Posted on 03 Nov 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Just got mine and had trip to Genting Highlands. Average fuel 17 km/l, no problem taking up to genting

What I like
New dashboard look is cool and low fuel consumption

What I do not like
Old look ac panel

Sci90179
Premium User Sci90179
Clutched
11 reviews
27 points
0 forum posts Joined on 26-Jun-2012
Looks kind of old  Posted on 14 Aug 2015
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
The car has been updated but still look old. The layout is good and easy to use but
the price is not competitive hence i do not expect City to sell well.

Interior looks pretty budget.

What I like
The car is easy to drive and easy to park with the reverse camera installed as standard this make parking a breeze.

What I do not like
Still looks old fashion with no LED lights and manual aircon controls.

Mrmilktooth
Premium User Mrmilktooth
Turbocharged
3 reviews
9,082 points
4261 forum posts Joined on 11-Jan-2010
Good car to drive.. From Honda City  Posted on 26 May 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Had a test drive for this newest city and man was i wrong about my perception of this model. The new CVT gearbox is much more powerful and slight step of the throttle makes the pickup fast.

The dimensions are slightly smaller than the mazda 3 so would be easier to drive as well for ladies , who might have some difficulty adapting ..

What I like
1. New 7speed CVT gearbox is so different from the past generations!! This 1 packs a punch..
2. MOre features and gadgets
3. FC of 17.5km/l looks great on paper
4. Quite spacious and easy to drive, handling is good for Honda

What I do not like
1. The slighted dashboard may not be everyone's liking

Zenda
Premium User Zenda
2nd Gear
3 reviews
173 points
40 forum posts Joined on 31-Jan-2015
Best City of them all  Posted on 22 Feb 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test driven the new City with my wife when my Cuty DSI due for scrapped. Love the new redesigned City. Spacious interior, new smoother engine, better handling, more elegant exterior and interior and great FE with the new engine. Easily the best car of its class.

What I like
1. Great exterior look and interior space
2. Great FE with the new engine
3. Good handling
4. Quieter ride
5. New instrument penal design

What I do not like
1. Interior colour a little too dark
2. A little noisy from roof in heavy rain

BruceLee_99461
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Feb-2015
The common comment I hear from friends, BIG leg space in passenger seats!  Posted on 17 Feb 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Personally, I own a Jazz until I decided to change to this City in late Jan. Got the car from Kah Motor in 3 weeks time and in time for Chinese New Year.

So if you ask me if I would consider this car if I have not bought it? I am undecided now.

What I like
After driving for a week plus, overall, I am very satisfied with the

1) performance compared to Jazz - No horse run!
2) handling during turns is extremely stable.
3) the exterior look is remarkably sexy and sporty.

What I do not like
My gripes are
1) The chrome front panel winging out of the Honda logo gets stain easily.

2) There is no GPS map installed, and you have to pay almost $95 for a 3 year subscription and the worst part of it is that there will be cables supplied by Honda and it will be dangling everywhere on your limited cup holder area! Definitely unsightly and irritating. Not to mention that the GPS system does not work properly at all, as it keeps losing connections.

3) Compared to my old Jazz, I am now left with less compartment space - no additional cup holders in the front dashboard, the side pockets are extremely narrow, the front compartment also is small.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Honda City
4 stars - based on 17 reviews