Related Articles

Volvo Cars to eliminate diesel from new S60 sedan

Volvo S60 and V60 Business Edition Lux variant

Volvo S60 plug-in hybrid sells out in 39 minutes

Vehicle sales and transfers to go online


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Volvo S60 T5 Drive-E (A)
09 Mar 2015  |  Volvo Reviews
Volvo may not be best-known for making serious drivers' sports cars, but the latest S60 T5 proves to be a good remedy for the family man in need for speed.
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Jaguar XE 2.0 (A) vs Lexus IS250 2.5 (A) vs Volvo S60 T5 Drive-E (A)
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Volvo S60
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
15 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
4/5
11 out of 15 (73.3%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

15 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Rlim
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
20 points
10 forum posts Joined on 19-Jul-2018
Most Unrealiable & Frustrating Car I ever Own! Volvo S60  Posted on 19 Jul 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Speaking as a Volvo user, a S60 T4, the car has been extremely unreliable. Nightmare driving it.

My car in the 4th year, had a major engine breakdown & needed replacement. Before that, there were cases of engine oil leaks, changes of gaskets etc.

After the engine was replaced, immediately, the clutch totally failed and needed total replacement.

And shortly after, the gearbox failed and needed total replacement, all within a short 1.5 years!

Basically, I went back around 10 times and the longest that I have to leave the car there is around One to one and half months.

It was a nightmare, totally painful.

ledestin
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Jun-2018
You would buy it for the T5 engine .  Posted on 07 Jun 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Having owned cars for the past 15 years and having my last car as a Lexus , I found this car after trying out 10 cars in the market with budget of $150K to $180K.

What I like
The volvo auto brake safety feature .
The excellent interior space compared to a Jaguar XE, BMW 3 series, Mercedes C class or Lexus IS.
Car insulation is good ( coming from an ex owner of Lexus)
The seats are comfortable.
The T5 engine is sweet.

What I do not like
The car switch turning signal sound is a bit loud.
The interior has quite a bit of hard plastic assembly.
Weak aircon; need to switch to 22 degrees with fan switch at 3 stripes to feel okay.

Mind_fighters
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
11 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
I could find better choices  Posted on 03 Jun 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
My wife and myself are looking to get a new car to replace our VW Jetta. Thus we chance upon S60. The drive is smooth, but the space within the car is not the most spacious compared to other cars. However, having said that, the car is generally quiet when driving on the road. Personally would not recommend this car for Family oriented people.

petrolpump
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Apr-2018
Big hopes but disappointing  Posted on 02 May 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 2/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the T2 and car seemed very dated in terms of exterior and interior design. The only thing that looked with the times was a single strip of DRL lights other than that, it looked plain boring as everything was incandescent.

Same boring language was carried into the cabin with yellow incandescent bulbs and the rocker switch was super ancient that made lots of noise just to switch on the lights.

What really appalled me was how unrefined the ride was. As soon as I wanted to accelerate or overtake, the car juddered back and forth quite noticeably before it started to accelerate. Car seemed either under-powered and was struggling to keep-up with its weight or the gears were not tuned to a saloon car rather than it seemed like I was driving a overweight lorry. Gear changes were very obvious and unnerving. I had test drove easily about 15 cars during my search but by far the ride quality was the worst for T2. Had high hopes. Then again, could possibly be that the test car had probs but SE said that's natural..?

What I liked about the car was the rear-pillar aircon vents, MEMORY SEATS (a must have in this day and age) and well cushioned seats. And my compliments stopped there.

Did not try the T5 as I was in a hurry but I hope, its not as bad as the T2 judging from other reviews. SE was accommodating and polite.

Hope, that Volvo will up their game in this segment and bring about the awaited updates that this car so desperately needs.

Price wise, rather steep for something that seems dated with poor ride quality.

What I like
Seats
Rear aircon vents on side pillar
MEMORY SEATS!
Attentive SE

What I do not like
Ride quality (juddery when accelerating)
Interior + Exterior design (very dated)
Steep pricing

Sharpeindex
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
12 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Sturdy and reliable.  Posted on 22 Apr 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Got a second hand R Design XC60. The best drive. Pick up is decent from 0 to 40. From 40 to 80,XC60 performed admirably.

Seats are very comfortable and safety features are pretty solid, considering that my model is 2014 made.

What I like
Exterior design looks robust and muscular.
Safety features simply world class.
Pricing is reasonable for resale cars.
Reliable and dependable.
Strong torque.
Comfortable seating.

What I do not like
Dated interior
New car priced ridiculously.
service package is priced out of the market.

Davetanwk
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Apr-2018
Never regret buying this car.  Posted on 21 Apr 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was looking around quite a lot as Wife and I are buying our first car. Was thinking of hybrid cars like Vezel and chr. One day we down to visit Volvo roadshow in a shopping center. That was the first time we saw the Volvo cars. Initially I was there for v40, and not far from it is the S60. The price difference is not much. We like the exterior look and interior feel of it. I’m quite big size and I do not have difficulty getting in and out of the car. There is enough leg space for passengers sitting at the back. The Driver’s seat is comfortable.

What I like
The Driver’s seat is comfortable. Pick up can be strong when the turbo kicks in and it helps in changing lanes too. The exterior looks class. Design don’t look old at all. Safety features is good. The car is able to ebrake in times of emergency. Boot space is okie. I do a lot of shopping and buying food back for family. There are enough space internally. in the middle there are 2 cup holders. You can leave your bottles or drinks there. Recently I upgraded my tyres to 17 inch. The cornering is better. The car is heavy but it’s not slow at all.

What I do not like
There is a pull out cover to hide the cup holders. I find the material cheap. The fuel consumption is about 9.4km per litre.

kellydallasa
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
5 forum posts Joined on 23-Feb-2018
The Swede Dream Sedan  Posted on 23 Feb 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The Volvo S60 represents the famous bus maker in the premium sedan segment. Volvo maintains quite a low profile in terms of car is mainly known for its buses but the German automobile maker is now slowly expanding in this domain too. With BMW and Mercedes leading the war in this zone, making a place for itself seems a tough call for Volvo. Yet the car maker is here with its premium sedan that gives a direct competition to BMW 330i, Audi A4, and a few others. Volvo S60 is a beefed up car that carries ample of muscle along with its own style statement.

For more visit: https://autoportal.Com/newcars/volvo/s60/

What I like
+Powerful and efficient engines
+Strong brakes and smart all-wheel-drive system with T6 petrol engine
+Superb crash test scores

What I do not like
-Smaller-than-average back seat
-Some outdated features
-The 6-Speed automatic gearbox is smooth but seems relaxed and a tad unresponsive

gryphonmonster
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Jan-2018
Sturdy as it is  Posted on 11 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I was torn between the Nisaan Qashqai and the Volvo S60, however decided to purchase the S60 with safety as the reason and also the lady doesn't like asian makes :| I have driven the car for a month now, and my previous driving experiences are mostly on japanese cars so a lot of the comparisons are relative to that. The current Volvos all look sleek unlike its predecessors, plus they are one of the lesser seen cars on the road which makes it a plus point. The S60 is not big on features as compared to the other cars in the market, but they give very good quality to enhance your driving experience. The infotainment system uses the old school dials rather than touch screen. Apparently all these are designed such that you can use the functions even with gloves on. The car seat come with lumbar support and a high head rest which makes driving really comfortable. While the S60 makes a comfortable drive for the driver, the space at the back may be slightly lacking to some cars in its class. The Harmon Kardon sound system omg was crisp and clear! It makes my drive all the more enjoyable in the morning. A reviewer talked about the air-conditioning. I believe it isn't the problem with the air con per se but the automatic start/stop which switches the air-con off but maintains the blower. My 1.5l turbo is definitely much better than my chevy cruze. Launch it into sports mode and it makes filtering right a breeze. Reminds me of the 1.8l Civic. However, it seems like it take more turns to park and u-turn as compared to my previous cars. Fuel consumption defnitely cannot compare to Jap cars.. I got 8.8km/lit at a 80% City drive and 10km/lit on a 70% City drive. However, the cylinder is about 67 litres , i can just leave refuelling to the weekends. If there are 2 words to sum the S60, it will be comfort and safety. All in all, i'm really happy with the S60.

What I like
- Harmon Kardon sound system top notch
- Nappa leather car seats with lumbar support and high head rest
- Some may disagree but i think old school dials > touchscreen
- Sturdy, cabin noise very quiet
- Beautiful body. Chrome trimmings at the windows and the steering wheel.
- Feel safe: it's a Volvo
- voice recognition
- Nav shows signs and next distance to turn on the odometer
- remote has a button that tells you if the car is locked

What I do not like
- no apple car play
- no brake hold
- handling not the best around

roughrider
Clutched
1 reviews
26 points
13 forum posts Joined on 20-Mar-2017
A major let down  Posted on 23 Aug 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
We have had this car for the better part of one month. Upon taking possession of the car, almost immediately, my wife and I started knocking our heads and shoulders when getting out of the car. Space is so tight. To show you why, let’S compare the leg and shoulder rooms of the Volvo S60 4dr sedan against that of the Mazda 3 4dr sedan.
The Volvo S60 : front leg room 106.40 cm; Front shoulder room 144.80 cm; Rear leg room 85.00 cm; Rear shoulder room 140.20 cm.
The Mazda 3: front leg room 107.2 cm; Front shoulder room 145.30 cm; Rear leg room 90.95 cm; Rear shoulder room 138.20 cm.
These figures tell the story. So much has been said about how restrictive the leg room of the Mazda 3 is. It is just laughable that the Volvo S60 is worse, considering that it is 5 cm longer and 7 cm wider than the Mazda 3.

The ride is nervous and jumpy. I don’T think anything is the matter with the car, but rather that’S down to how the suspension is set up, which doesn’T go very well with the terrible condition of our roads nowadays. On flat, level roads the car rides firm and stable. Driving in unhurried fashion (50% Urban/50% Highway) will still set you back between 9 to 10 km to a litre. This is only a 1.5 litre car, turbo-charged though it is. The fuel consumption is likely, worse than most modern 2 litre cars. Part of that inefficiency probably goes towards lugging its massive weight and the inefficient gear shifting in the lower ranges. Other reviewers have also commented about these two issues.
The air conditioner is a disaster. It blows warm and cool, warm and cool, regardless of the settings of the stop/start and the air recirculation features. And both the centre air vents and the rear air vents are so weak, you always suspect that they are not working.

The seats are comfortable. The interior is just fine - nothing that turns you off, nothing that catches your attention, and well insulated from the exterior. The car is adequately powerful. It doesn’T come with a user manual though. You’Re expected to spend a few hours in the car reading the user manual off the multimedia system screen. The system makes good sound. If you drive without sipping a Starbucks, the cup holders at the centre armrest are useless, and a complete waste of space.

What I like
The brushed aluminium inlays and the large, round setting and control knobs

The motorised front seats

The relatively quiet cabin

Sound system is good in that the high frequencies are not piercing sharp, the low frequencies have definition and not fat and wobbly. That makes the system pleasant to listen to. What is lacking is in the mid frequencies.

What I do not like
Severe lack of leg room makes extended travelling very uncomfortable.
Usable space is minimal; if you are claustrophobic you’d freak out.

The dysfunctional air conditioning system.

The thin paintwork; it scratches and chips easily.

Was told and assured twice by the sales person that the car was certified Euro VI. The notice of registration from the LTA said it was certified Euro V only.

The total lack of forthrightness, pre and post sale.

The out-of-this-world interest rate of 2.80%

Once you have signed the paperwork, things get extremely trying from then on. The mobile number on the sales manager's name card wasn't even in use, and it was still being given out. Calls are not returned even if you left your name and number.

tanker17
Premium User tanker17
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 29-May-2017
Different refinement to luxury  Posted on 29 May 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I was torn between the Infiniti Q50 and Lexus IS200 initially, until extensive research on the web piqued my curiosity to check out the Volvo S60 T5.

Went down to do a test drive and boom! Was immediately sold on how immaculate and responsive the engine was.
Booked the R-design for the additional bells and whistles, though I really felt that there should be additional horses or torque for a “Sportier” Upgrade; As engine and performance wise is exactly identical to the T5. For the uninitiated, it really is a challenge to actually discern and appreciate the differences.

Have read all the comments here and can concur on most of the feedback. Yes, the seats are out of this world. It is safe to say they are comfortably (pun intended) far better than any other car I have sat in before. Am really impressed how Volvo has deconstructed the concept of safety and infused them into fine details in the car. (Ergonomics, auto braking at >50km/h speed, valet locking function, key lock checker etc).

Overall handling is neat and tidy; The infotainment system is decent, while the crystal clear quality sound system is a pleasant surprise. Only gripes I have with the car are the rather cramped back seats and parsimonious boot space to boot. The back air-conditioning vents on the B-pillars are rather weak, and it really blows the mind that for safety being their main credo, the reverse parking sensors are very basic to the point of archaic. Would really help if they could at least throw in the reverse camera thingy.

While many compare the S60 to say a 3-Series or C-Class, Volvo holds its own with a quiet character and charm that surprises. By not giving too much away, its minimalistic exterior and interior design provides a different refinement to luxury.

P.S. Look out for many promotions dished out by Volvo, which however are only ostensibly true. I went through 3 different sales consultants before inking the papers. I would strongly suggest getting a more senior one who can throw in additional items / perks and provide you with a better discount. (Hint: look out for a star on the top right hand corner of their name card)

What I like
- Muscular looking design and sexy curves at the respective right places
- Smooth delivery of lineal power at low revs
- Volvo’s legendary seats
- Safety. It’s a Volvo isn’t it?

What I do not like
- Very little legroom at the back
- Rather weak rear air-conditioning
- No space to fit noisy kids in the boot

SvenTan
Premium User SvenTan
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Jul-2014
Muscular looking S60  Posted on 08 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Have been driving T2 for a month. Very comfortable ride, sturdy and feel very secure behind the wheel, a testament to Volvo promise of safe driving experience. Ride quality is good, sound insulation is good as well with minimal road and engine noise. Driver seat is awesome with back lumbar support and thigh support. The revamped S60 has a muscular front profile which looks good on the road.

Went to test drive a T2 thinking it will be under powered, but I was proven wrong. The engine was responsive and the torque kicked in at low rev (around 1750) making it quick of the mark. Turning radius is much improved from old S60 2.0T.

Was deciding between Harrier and S60 (similar price range), but was sold on the ride quality and engine performance.

What I like
1) Muscular front profile
2) Responsive engine
3) Overall ride quality and sound insulation
4) Driver seat is awesome with great lumbar support for long drives
5) Safe inside a tank (as what you will expect from Volvo)

What I do not like
1) Dated ICE (no Apple carplay/Android play)
2) Central cabby hole could have been designed to allow drivers to put other items (i.e. cashcard, sunglasses etc) apart from 2 cup holders.

slowpokedrive
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 14-Nov-2016
Very comfortable car  Posted on 14 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Bought the S60 T2, mainly for safety and comfort reasons for the family.
Plus I have always like Volvo as a carmaker, for their engineering, ideals and attention to safety.
The S60 appeals to me as I like its design, and the current face-lifted front end looks very nice and sharp.
Also, it is not so common on the roads vs the 3 big german brands, but of course this car is not exactly in the same price category as the big 3.

What I like
good safety features like alarms for seatbelts not buckled when car is on the move, city braking that really e-brakes for you at below 50km/h speeds if you are day dreaming or playing pokemon go.

Very comfortable seats and the leather used is super premium.

Good sound insulation and cabin materials used are top notch for this price.

Ride is firmer compared Japanese/Korea makes, but not as firm as German cars

Keyless entry works on all 4 doors and the boot as well

Rear aircon vents for passengers are mounted high on the B-pillars, which IMO is more hygienic vs the most other cars that mount is low between the 2 front seats, unless you like to smell air that has been filtered between the middle passenger's legs...

The car does not have a "new car smell" like other makes. That means you are not sniffing the chemicals that are still curing, unless that gives you a high.

Very solid build, doors close with assuring thump.

Boot has a very practical pop-up divider so you can stop your shopping bags from rolling around when you are doing your initial-D stunts.

The sound system seriously good. Not thumping bass, but just extremely clear and hi-fi quality.

Bluetooth phonecalls, music streaming are simple and fast to use.

What I do not like
The 6speed gearbox (T2 comes with 6speed) is not the most decisive gearbox I have tried for this type of car. Sometimes it just hold on to first / second gear for too long, even if I wasn't driving on inclines. So I simply tap the paddle to upshift.

The car is heavy at almost 1.6 ton, so the 1.5 turbo petrol engine at this tune (to fit under CatA COE) is only just nice for normal driving. You can rev all you want, but you will be disappointed.
However, drive it sanely and smoothly, it is refined and the high torque that kicks in at about 1600rpm makes driving it relatively stress free. Just don't expect any turbo kick as this engine is tuned for comfort.

While the media system is responsive and simple to use, the screen is really tiny, which cheapens the feel of an otherwise up-market interior.

Boot need some strength to slam down, else it won't close properly. My wife's arms are getting more muscular ever since we had this car...

The claimed fuel economy figures are hard to attain in real life, probably due to my driving being mostly on short trips. So far only managed to hit 8.5km per liter. But the fuel tank is quite big, so frequent visits to gas station is not required, if that is a consolation (lol). Anyway, I don't buy this car solely for fuel efficiency.

B1892
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Powerful, stable, value for money  Posted on 04 Jun 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Drove S60 T5 for 5 months.

Interior looks outdated but fine with me as its still looks nice.

FC normal, 8.5 to 9.5, 70 percent city drive, normal pickup around 2-3k rpm

Test drove Subaru forestor, Audi A4, Merc GLA, Infiniti Q50, Volkswagen Jetta Sorts

What I like
Paint quality no good, easily scratch but body very tough, got a few sign of car door banging but no dent.

Pickup is very fast, but when normal speed with sudden accelaration, a bit lag. Probably my previous car is a 3 litre. Can overtake any car in the same class anytime on the road.

Went to genting, tried the corner with stock setup, cornering is sharp n accurate. Theres no need to change to aftermarket suspension unless you going track or lower for cosmetic.

Overtaking is effortless n stable.

Bucket Seat is very comfort especially for long distance drive.

What I do not like
Turning radius is wide. Have to get use to it when doing U turn n parking.

Start stop function cannot disable permanent. Irritating

Cabin a bit noisy when rev.

Overall happy with the car except buying experience from wearnes sales strategy not very pleasant. Many hidden agenda.

crazyhorse123
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 27-Feb-2014
Excellent Car  Posted on 26 Dec 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I got the keys to my Volvo T5 Drive-E on October 2015. However, just months ago, I had my mind firmly set on a CLA. One day though, I was with my friend at the VW showroom and decided to go over to Volvo to get some comparison done before i buy the CLA. While I was test driving it, I was impressed with how smooth and refined the engine can be at light throttle inputs, but responsive and eager when you decide to give it the beans.

I did not think that the S60 competes with the C class. The S60 is priced closer to the CLA but you get more engine for less money. The C class is also rear wheel driven unlike the S60 and CLA, both of which are front drivers.

See below for my comparison pointers. In the end, the Volvo won my heart because i just cant live without that engine. Test it before you buy the CLA. It might change your mind.

What I like
Reasons to buy the S60 over the CLA
-S60 feels more robust than the CLA

-The S60's interior is more spacious and luxurious. And has rear aircon vents on the B pillars, which blows more than just your passenger's precious two.

-The seats are softer and more snug than the CLA

-The S60 prevents accidents below 50kph by performing e brake for you. CLA just bongs and crosses its fingers.

-The S60 has a digital instrument cluster, which in my opinion is nicer than the CLA. This however, is subjective.

-The T5 Drive-e Engine is an absolute gem (Fuel efficient, powerful, smooth). You feel faster than most even when you keep below 3krpm. The CLA180 engine feels comparatively under-powered and unresponsive.

What I do not like
Reasons to buy the CLA over the S60
-Its a Merc.
-It just looks better, especially at night and with the AMG kit.
-Has automatic parking
-Higher re-sale value

Ntrj
Premium User Ntrj
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
15 points
13 forum posts Joined on 09-Jul-2011
30 days review  Posted on 25 Aug 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
A 30-days ownership review on the S60 T5:

Exterior: maintained the coupe-like styling, which is the best looking among Volvo saloon car range, and can better some of the other German made cars.

Interior: a bit dated, hope to see the ipad like centre console cascade down from XC90 to S60 soon!

Drive: smooth transition between gears, powerful pick up for overtaking with confidence

Built: solid built, but heavy. It could benefit from weight-loss program! :)

FC is still high, averaging 9.8km per liter due to 70% Super urban / 30% Highway.

What I like
Styling

What I do not like
The auto start/stop: it does not work beyond a temperature higher than 30 degree - which is insane for Singapore

Center console - dying for the 'iPad' like from XC90

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Volvo S60
3.5 stars - based on 15 reviews