Related Articles

Mazda wins Northern Ireland Car of the Year Awards

New Mazda2 Sport Black

The cars we have grown to love in 2015

The Land Rover Discovery is a beautiful beast


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Mazda2 Hatchback 1.5 Deluxe (A)
16 Mar 2015  |  Mazda Reviews
Mazda's new compact hatcback aims to take on the rest of the superminis with its good looks, a solid interior as well as a fun and easy drive.
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Mazda2 Hatchback 1.5 Deluxe (A) vs Nissan Note 1.2 DIG-S (A)
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mazda 2 Hatchback
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
8 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3/5 Reliability
3/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3/5
6 out of 8 (75%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

8 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
TangoJazze
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
13 points
3 forum posts Joined on 09-Jun-2015
Decent Point A-B Car.  Posted on 06 Apr 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Bought the standard model in 2016. Have been driving it for slightly more then 6 months. A decent point A to point B car. What I love most about the car is its fuel economy. At 60/40 highway/city driving, I get an average f 17km/l,which translate to a lower petrol cost. The seats are slightly small for an average height man, but it fits my petite wife well. Be prepared for the passengers at the back to have problems with foot space. Officially in paper the vehicle is a 4 seater car, thus, the center seat at the back is pretty tiny. Soundproofing is obviously lacking, and it's not due to the tyres. You can hear the distinct sound of the car/motorcyle moving past you.

End of the day, it's a great car used daily if you are not concern about all the other premium features you can find.

What I like
Great Fuel Economy
Sporty Looks

What I do not like
Compact seats
Soundproofing

isaiahyap
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-Nov-2016
Mazda 2 HB 2016  Posted on 17 Mar 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
One of the lowest Depreciation and price Made in Japan car in the market. The others being Mit Lancer.

An pretty much Point A to B car with no frills features. Made in Japan for its reliability.

The car can pretty much be used for day to day driving, and can comfortably sit 4 adults (include driver). The car is small and nimble and can park anywhere easily.

Power to weight ratio is good and the best part is the fuel economy.

However, travelling up North to KL or further, this might not be the best car to consider.

What I like
Punchy and good FC
advance engine
interior styling

What I do not like
$5,000 for the delux which does not comes with the best value for money upgrade
This car could do a little more with leg room and boot space just like the Attrage.

Mazatlan
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 10-May-2016
Dont buy if you wan problems  Posted on 10 May 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 3/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Own for 9 mth alrdy.

before purchase, no doubt, the looks is good, led headlight and taillight, good styling. Interior like audi. Previous car I drive all Honda and Toyota, mazda is a lot better in interior styling. So I decided to purchase 2 instead of 3, cos h/p same but 400kg lighter and better fuel consump. Some more styling for 2 is a lot better than 3.

after I buy, I drive 1 mth..2mth...All no problem, then suddenly problem come:

1) air con not cold anymore, cold air become warm air
2) I-stop spoil, sometime activate sometime don't
3) lcd screen spoil, whole screen blank, (wiring problem maybe?)
4) whole care so shaky and bumpy (spring issue?)
5) car vibrate badly whenever idle

I drive alone, non-heavy footer, alwys take care car, but not sure why hav this problems.

I go service center must wait so long schedule, till now no fix problem, hopefully can fix, if not I will change car. Disappoting bcos good looking car but have all these issues, or maybe only I unlucky get this issue.

What I like
headlight very bright.

parking very easy.

sport button useful sometime.

What I do not like
the problem I state above.

dcb
Premium User dcb
NOS-ed
1 reviews
16,783 points
2712 forum posts Joined on 01-Sep-2015
As good as a conti ride  Posted on 25 Nov 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was attracted by the looks of this hot hatch the first time i saw it in SG Car Mart. Went to Trans Eurokars and took a look at it and i was sold. The features of this ride is much better then some bread and butter conti rides which cost more.

What I like
Features, handling, looks

What I do not like
Rear leg room a bit small.

Fujitsubo123
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
4 points
7 forum posts Joined on 04-Oct-2015
Very disappointed !  Posted on 18 Nov 2015
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
I had to review after a month of ownership, and im really disappointed in the new Mazda 2.

The iStop feature is horrible. U have to deactivate it evry time u start the car. If you choose not to, it will turn off ur car when at Neutral. Even with the iStop activated, it still turns on when at Neutral after a few seconds even with the brakes fully applied.

The M2 has a serious vibration issue. I collected mine on the first day and noticed mild vibrations coming from the drivers cabin whenever engaged to neutral or park. Right now the vibrations have gotten worse and ive brought the issue to mazda and they said this is normal. They have run diagnostics on my car and said evrything is fine with no error codes. At the moment im always on D mode whenever stationary because the car vibrates and jerks whenever at N or P.

Sounds in the cabin either coming from the rear or the seats i still have yet to figure the issue while driving theres always that 'irritaing' noise.

The wheel walls for both 4 tyres esp the rear are really bad. Whenever there are road debris or stones, the whole car rattles and its so noisy. Its like they didnt bother to properly sound proof that area.

Very disappointed mazda didnt help to resolve my issue.

What I like
Fuel consumption
Acceleration aft 50km/h is punchy for a 1.5l
Features and gadgets inside are good
Handling is great

What I do not like
As stated above.

Jimmy1978
Premium User Jimmy1978
1st Gear
16 reviews
54 points
10 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Nice & compact  Posted on 04 Nov 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Nice and compact car.Design nice, shall pack abut more features. Sleek design with the cutting on the body.

What I like
Easy to drive.

What I do not like
Price too expensive.

StreetFight3r
Premium User StreetFight3r
4th Gear
10 reviews
688 points
164 forum posts Joined on 24-Jan-2014
Sexy looking car  Posted on 02 Sep 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the mazda 2, and i was really impressed with the car. First of all, i love how the car looks. I was actually quite surprised because i didnt particularly like the new styling of the mazda 6, i believe mazda has some KODO philosophy thing about their styling. But the sharp lines work on the mazda 2, and i put it down to its smaller size and shape.

inside, the car is very well done, if i didnt know better i could believe if you told me it was a continental car. Feels very well put together, materials are quality, lots of gizmos, very comfortable. The back is on the small side, its less a 5 seater and more like a 4.5 seater.

drive quality is top notch. Engine is sufficiently powerful, smooth, and in second or third gear it can really go. Its a lot of fun to work the revs on this car. Handling is composed and tidy, the ride is smooth and less bumpy than i thought it would be. The car has a 6 speed gearbox now, which is a real improvement.

all in all, i think the mazda 2 is a fantastic car, and its hard to think of another car within this price range that can really compare with it.

What I like
- love the looks
- driving experience is really something. its not the most powerful of cars, but its a lot of fun to drive. puts a smile on my face.
- interior is very impressive, very conti-feel.

What I do not like
- back seats not very spacious, will probably struggle to fit 3 adults.
- boot isnt the biggest

Mrmilktooth
Premium User Mrmilktooth
Turbocharged
3 reviews
8,803 points
4219 forum posts Joined on 11-Jan-2010
This hot hatch will have few equals!  Posted on 21 May 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the new Mazda2 and was excited thoroughly by the experience.
The latest "KODO" Design totally improved upon the previous generation's outlook. And the new skyactiv G engine has amazing fuel economy, at near 20km/l!!

The dashboard is minimalistic designed, but the leather stitching gave a luxury, conti car feel. The HUD is engaging and sport mode function for occasional racer persona should you require.

What I like
1. Good FC
2. Redesigned dashboard & HUD
3. The throttle is pretty responsive, driveability is fun
4. Engaging drive for a Japanese hatch of its class

What I do not like
1. Smallish boot, no spare tire
2. May be a bit hard to fit 3 adults in the rear seats, especially if have big sized guys

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Mazda 2 Hatchback
3.5 stars - based on 8 reviews