Related Articles

Sheer driving pleasure at BMW Performance Fest

BMW X1 stands up to the Audi Q3

GKN expands electrical all-wheel drive programme

Vehicle sales and transfers to go online


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - BMW X1 sDrive18i X Line (A)
25 Nov 2016  |  BMW Reviews
Even though space and styling is the same, is the cheaper, less powerful sDrive18i X Line variant of the BMW X1 worth a look? Let's find out.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of BMW X1
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
11 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
8 out of 11 (72.7%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

11 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Mervynwm
3rd Gear
114 reviews
278 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
A 3-cylinder FWD Beemer.  Posted on 19 Mar 2019
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Test drive this small suv from BMW sometime back, from its first looks, a typical suv look whereas it's immediate sibling,the X2, who shares the same 3 cylinder engine is a sportier exterior look.

Interior was a dated design when it's told as a latest look. Dun recall seeing a sunroof or a moonroof. The rest let's not go there.

The drive off is not that smooth, perhaps due to 3 cylinder engine capabilities only and a FWD. And Underpowered too.

Overall, if you are a BMW and suv lover but due to Budget constrain, then can consider this.

What I like
Not much

What I do not like
No electric tailgate
3 cylinder fwd
Underpowered
Noisy when revved
Price

A_patche
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Jul-2010
Perfect car for small family  Posted on 27 Mar 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Bought this last year, loving it! The features are minimal but that makes it easy to drive. Engine is more than powerful enough for Singapore driving. Size is just nice, not too small (no bullying on the road) or too big (difficult to park!). Interior is soooo spacious, unlike Mercedes GLA.

What I like
- Spacious interior
- Simple and classy design (will not be outdated over time)

What I do not like
- Unfortunately no Apple OS (small thing really)

Inlinefour
2Fast2Furious
3 reviews
21,049 points
3279 forum posts Joined on 03-Nov-2012
SDrive20i  Posted on 13 Apr 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
LCI version looks much nicer than the last gen one

Rims are better looking too

Auto kick boot is very practical for shopping of groceries

Steering is light and sharp

Driver has to very good view around car...Very safe with not much blind spot

Engine power is not too bad although it is FWD

What I like
iDrive 6 touchscreen

Touch iDrive Knob

Pull handles for folding seats

Auto Tailgate

Spacious Seats

What I do not like
Doors are very light

Sensatec Leather Dash no luxury feel

Cabin sound insulation not so good

leecheesiong
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Mar-2018
Subcompact SUV with huge interior cabin and great driving experience  Posted on 07 Mar 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
X1 offers distinctly BMW-like driving fun. Responsive steering and a firm ride make tossing it around Singapore roads a joy. The 2.0-liter turbo four-cylinder makes 192 hp with the front through an eight-speed automatic which the reason for my purchase for 2L model

Infotainment display and Bluetooth is standard with nav and is very user friendly. The front and rear compartment that surprises and delights me and can easily accommodate 5 adult passengers comfortably. This car ride higher than before, with a better view of their surroundings thanks to the X1’s sensible beltline.

What I like
1) Passenger cabin space is great. Rear headroom and legroom is close to 2017 X3
2) Distinctly BMW-like driving fun
3) Excellent steering wheel system providing great driving experience
4) Good boot storage space with and without storage extension
5) Sporty exterior SUV design and practical cabin for family daily usage
6) Ambient lighting make the car feel luxury

What I do not like
Run flat tyre induced cabin noise. Fitted with non run flat tyre, cabin noise reduced greatly.

baml2010
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
9 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Feb-2018
Smart Efficient Luxury  Posted on 05 Mar 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Seems BMW really upped their game to capture back some market share. Very impressed with the X1. Cant say enough good things about it. Good timing to buy now after a couple years of refinements and improvements of the 2nd gen, still relatively new model yet enough time to benefit from upgrades and re-tuning since official launch. Perhaps the best compact suv now.

Opulent look and feel on the surface but proves to be a very functional everyday suv. It has enough of the gadgetry as well. It also ticks all the boxes for any sensible driver; 5 star safety ratings, peace of mind on reliability with the 5 year warranty, good for a family of 5 with the interior space, and can parallel park on its own!
The drive is fluid and polished enough, agree with most of the reviews about decent fuel efficiency. BMW improved the base engine sdrive18i with the upgraded transmission which makes it more efficient, better performance, and smoother with faster gear shifts unlike the old six speed torque converter.

The twin power turbo sdrive18i is also underrated and bow's advances with this engine dont get enough recognition. If I can get pseudo technical for a second, but this engine powertrain has a combination of rotational balance, thermal & space efficiency, and suitability for turbocharging. It also has much less second order vibration than 20i. The efficiency of the 18i with the same swept volume means you lose less energy , and because of fewer exhaust pulses per crankshaft revolution, both the turbocharging and cooling are also easier. So the efficiency gains of this set up can be made on several fronts, yet with enough power and torque. Very very smart. For our city/state where speed limit 90k and cars are only used for 10 years at most, dont really need anything more.

During my new car hunt, was exploring the likes of Land rover disco sport & evoke, merc glc, Audi q3 & q5, and Volvo xc40 & 60... When you take account what you get for the price you pay, BMW X1 is worth every dollar. Just right for the savvy consumer.

What I like
very well spec'd and fairly loaded
touchscreen idrive system
quiet and comfortable cabin
convenience package equipment
cavernous interior
iconic bmw daytime running lights, compliments the sporty powerful stance
innovative and efficient power delivery
handing is composed, sharp and tidy

What I do not like
not much else at this price point

suvdriveps
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 03-Feb-2018
X1 sDrive 18i - A quality product  Posted on 03 Feb 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
A good balance of sublime yet subtle touches inside and out as a competitive luxury crossover. Also a fun drive with the responsive steering. Well rounded for the stop go traffic during rush hour or the long run on the express way home. It runs surprisingly zippy and smooth transmission. Im glad waited for the latest version that has the DCT steptronic 7speed which adds another 4-5hp from last version. There is a bit of tire roar but its because of the run-flat tires which is a must have nowadays. Also creates more space for the already spacious boot. The interior trim is premium. But if you can go for the two toned beige & black interior, its more more plush than the all black interior which looks it a bit dull. And a big plus is PML’S 5yr warranty/servicing…. Just blew away the Japanese options.

What I like
Great exterior with winning body design, awesome kidney grills

Headlights/LED daytime design and functions

Spacious rear seats and boot space

Luxury interior with all the bells and whistles, great dashboard layout

Sensors and safety features

Ambient LED on doors and dash

iDrive infotaiment has a lot of features and very intuitive

FWD architecture and engine is indeed fuel efficient

Responsive BMW handling

Comfort, Sport and Eco modes

Pricing is attractive. 5yr warranty and 5yr free service!

What I do not like
Can slightly hear the tire roar due to run flat tires

Exterior tends to get confused with the 2016 X3

champ88
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Jan-2018
Surpassed expectations. A well thought out package at a reasonable price.  Posted on 31 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Recently bought the 2018 X1. If you don't plan to drive like an F1 driver, this compact SUV is more than sufficient for Singapore driving. The engine/twin turbo is efficient and a perfect fit with the seven speed dual clutch transmission. The interior space is just as roomy(if not roomier) as the previous X3 and the finish is excellent. It has all the features of a modern BMW.

The exterior is quintessential BMW X design. Its body and structure design along with its safety features earned it top crash test ratings from various agencies, EuroNCAP, IIHS, NHTSA, ANCAP etc. (safety first!)

Other compact SUVs we short listed were the GLC, GLA, Harrier, NX and CRV. The X1 fell right in the middle of the curve and is right on the relative value sweet spot.

I can also see why it was ranked #1 in surveys and US/Euro based awards as a class leader. Its a no brainer and a practical choice.

What I like
-Steptronic dual clutch transmission seven speed
-Fuel efficient and low CO2 emissions
-Surprisingly generous interior space, bigger than the X2 and similar to X3.
-Quality interior finish, love the ambient lights package
-Drive/park assist and easy to use infotainment system/touch screen
-Exterior good looks and LED/headlights package
-Versatile for small families.
-Top safety ratings and award winning, recently won Car & Drivers 2018 best lux compact suv award in US and best in-class in Germany.

What I do not like
-No sunroof for this version

GGTT
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Sep-2017
The worst car I had gotten after owning more than 10 car brands!  Posted on 19 Oct 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 1/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Car broke down and could not start just after 2 days of ownership and had to be sent back to PML. Diagnosed with faulty starter and had to be replaced. Tons of sensor issues after 2 months of ownership with the boot door behaving erratically by opening and closing on its own. Imagine the boot door opened on its own at the traffic junction! Sent the car back to PML but was informed they can't diagnose the problem and could only perform software reset. After some escalation, the Service Manager (A..Y) finally updated that the new sensor module has arrived but PML refused to take ownership if the problem still persists after the fix and maintain they are just the authorised dealer although all their correspondences made reference to BMW. I will proceed with legal action if the problems still do not go away.

Please see the following videos for 3 problems I am having now:

1. Faulty starter on the 2nd day of ownership - https://youtu.Be/_FNzr_1BmZ4

2. Boot door closed by itself although both feet firm on the ground and did not activate the kick sensor - https://youtu.Be/sQjmsFlWhFY

3. Car door relocked after unlocking - https://youtu.Be/uYAQ0nYqLvA

What I like
None!

What I do not like
No faith in the quality and reliability of this brand!

Maxkiah
1st Gear
6 reviews
57 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
3 cylinder wonders  Posted on 02 Feb 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
I would said that for a 3 cylinder engine it is rather smooth to drive .Only draw back is that the body seem a bit to heavy for the 1.5l turbo engine if it is the diesel then should be fun to drive.

it is an entry level X series.

Was surprise with the spacious boot space after rear seat folded down

What I like
exterior trimming

What I do not like
interior trimming too boring

BMWX1
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
23 points
5 forum posts Joined on 10-Oct-2016
BMW X1 S18i  Posted on 10 Oct 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Got my car for 2 weeks and overall we are happy with the ride. We bought BMW X1 after visiting authorised dealers and parallel importers of Audi A4 & Q3, VW passat & golf, Merc C200 AMG & Volvo V40. We finally settled on our needs and wants of a young family. X1 fits in our bills of sportiness, practical space in car, easy to drive for wife, good safety features, good acceleration and comfortable interior.

1. Good and confident handling.
2. Overtaking is smooth and fast.
3. Lots of features like GPS, tailgate, remote app services, park assist & etc.
4. Roomy and comfortable.
5. Memory driver seat, electric passenger seat, adjustable rear seat.
6. Exterior is beautiful especially the LED running daylight.
7. Safety features like speed limiter, speed warning, fog front & rear lights.
8. Quiet and comfortable drive.
9. Reasonably good sound system.
10. Big boot with 2 layers of storage space.
11. Sporty, young and handsome exterior styling.
12. BMW Connected Drive service is a good service feature to have.
13. Clear telephone sound system.

What I like
1. Turbo engine is responsive and quick during acceleration and overtaking.
2. Auto rain sensor and headlight are nice features to have.
3. Key fob design is nice with good remote control features and easy to use with only 3 buttons.
4. Remote App services are excellent service provided by BMW.
5. Roomy and comfortable interior with ambience light setting feature.
6. Sporty styling

What I do not like
1. Road noise from run flat tyres.

Richard_8289
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
18 points
11 forum posts Joined on 29-May-2015
X1 S 18DRIVE, a Surprisingly good drive!  Posted on 06 Oct 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Got mine for 1 week plus now. Car is reasonably responsive and comfortable to drive around in city. Even though low HP but the torque compensates well for it. You woudlnt feel like it is a 1.5 L car.

mine got quite a lot of LUX features as standard and better then other similar cars in the same price range overall.

Only a tag noisy with the engine in idle and driving around time but not as loud as the diesels . Auto start stop is a major nuisance but got to live with it.

What I like
interior is classy and luxury for a entry model BM
drive is generally good
high torque is good for city driving
packed full of features that is only avail in higher range cars - auto tail gate, auto folding side mirrors, interior mood light, rear passenger space is very good
its a BMW
Connected drive is full of funny things to play with but dont call the concierge too frequent ! which is whjat i did as was figurely out what is this and that and ended alwasy dialing the concierge unknowingly
Fuel consumption is about 10.0+ KM / L . reasonable for a SUV.

What I do not like
engine a bit noisy
sound system not too good but can make do
Connected drive takes a while to setup
Fuel consumption over stated in brochure 17KM / L !! i have not even come close yet
GOT a funny emergency button that got to be careful your child dont press ... lol

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
BMW X1
3.5 stars - based on 11 reviews