Related Articles

Mitsubishi Space Star is a fuss-free car to drive

Five best buys at the Singapore Motor Show

Get rid of your 3-5 years old cars now!

» Go to articles

   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Mitsubishi Space Star 1.2 (A)
02 May 2017  |  Mitsubishi Reviews
The Mitsubishi Space Star revels in narrow carparks, small streets and tight parking spaces - thanks to its compact size and good turning radius.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mitsubishi Space Star
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
6 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
2.5/5
5 out of 6 (83.3%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

6 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Mengster
1st Gear
3 reviews
53 points
36 forum posts Joined on 21-Jan-2019
Value! Value! Value!  Posted on 09 Jul 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 2/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Went for a test drive of the vehicle and was pleasantly surprised by the space in the tiny package. This however also emphasized the spartan state of the interior. When they said it was fuss-free.. It really means it's not for the fussy.

Moving off I had the biggest revelation. Being almost agricultural, the vibrations and idol and drone from the engine makes for a very un-enthusiastic and strained start. Almost felt like I was hurting the engine trying to push it over the speed hump. Maybe a tad bit of exaggeration there but it really is quite a stark contrast with a similar vehicle that I tried earlier that day.

On the upside, 6 airbags. Which is quite the assurance needed considering the vibe from the vehicle. Think it was hard not to reconsider the vehicle especially for those on a keen budget or looking to downsize. However can't help but look over at the Attrage at the showroom floor. Awkward boot aside, it has that added space for when needed.

What I like
Value for money, slightly spunky looks. Almost sporty. Turns on a dime.

What I do not like
Noise, Vibrations, Strain from gutless engine.

Itachino
Clutched
2 reviews
36 points
22 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Fuel saving and economy car that suitable for Singaporean  Posted on 16 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
A small Japanese car affordable and economy to your wallet , most importantly Mitsubishi is a well known market brand that you can stick to

Brass
5th Gear
5 reviews
1,992 points
864 forum posts Joined on 07-Nov-2017
If you want practicality on a budget, then this car is for you.  Posted on 09 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Caveat-never tested this car before so I gave average for handling and engine performance.
I came upon this car during the Cars@Expo.
Before I sat into the car, I was told that this is a very spartan and basic car.
However, I was pleasantly surprised as this car was not at all spartan as it has many features that are not supposed to be found on budget cars like this.

What I like
Features
Start stop system,keyless entry and auto air conditioning
Should be fuel efficient
Safe when compared to cars of this size
Brand name for assurance (depends)
Built quality(as compared to some other car of its same size.)
Practicality

What I do not like
Small centre armrest
Plasticky interior(expected)
Exposed screws( expected)
Front door handles are chromed plastic but back door handles are just black plastic?

Tay86
Clutched
14 reviews
46 points
6 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2015
Affordable and stylish  Posted on 26 Apr 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The design of the Space Star immediately caught my eye in the showroom. It has LED lights and looks so much better than the Attrage.

Fuel economy is incredible on this thing and it is easy to park. One of the many advantages of getting a small car over a big one.

I also love the car's strong air con. This could be due to its size but I can get into the car on a hot afternoon and cool down within minutes. Great bang for the buck.

What I like
Strong aircon
Looks better than the Attrage
Fuel economy
Easy to park

What I do not like
Don't expect to go all Fast and Furious in this thing

Mervynwm
3rd Gear
114 reviews
278 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
A disappointment drive...  Posted on 24 Feb 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 2/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Test driven this after its body shape and LED lights caught my attention.

First looks is quite ok compared to its side sibling, where its a hatch that comes with lesser legroom and boot space than Attage.

Inside comes with both auto headlights and rain sensors which other models do not have.

The drive....Start engine is keyless but is noisy, hearing from sales that is only 3-cylinder engine....Faint.

At move off, it has a jerking feel and gear changes are not smooth despite having a CVT. Need to release bit of throttle and step again to "Feel" The gear changes.

The engine is relatively noisy and can be pretty disturbing when reving it.

Align the drive, you can hear the engine "Struggling" To keep up.

For the price of S$ 79k (as of 23rd Feb 2017), you can either see other models like Honda Grace (Pi), Suzuki Swift or even Toyota Vios.

What I like
- LED headlights
- Auto headlight
- Auto rain sensors
- Small and compact look
- Keyless push start button

What I do not like
- 3 cylinder engine
- Inadequate power needed when throttle
- Noisy engine
- Noisy gear change
- Some cranky sound when moving
- Gear change not responsive

mazdafever
Clutched
10 reviews
30 points
2 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2011
Spacious for its size, low running costs  Posted on 16 Feb 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The Mitsubishi Space Star looks like it belongs in the 80s, it vibrates a lot, has a noisy cabin and its steering lacks feedback but there are a few things that make up for its drawbacks.

Space in the rear is phenomenal for its compact size and can easily accommodate taller adults.

It's also pretty cheap to run. Fuel economy is great thanks to its small engine.

What I like
Cheap to run
Spacious rear

What I do not like
Outdated cabin

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Mitsubishi Space Star
3.5 stars - based on 6 reviews