Related Articles

Honda Civic Type R sets new lap record

Civic Type R sets third lap record at Silverstone

Powered by Honda on track and on the road

Motul celebrates 165 years of excellence


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Honda Civic 1.6 i-VTEC (A)
26 Sep 2016  |  Honda Reviews
With its combination of comfort, practicality, daily usability and sweet driveability, the new Civic 1.6 hopes to recapture the hearts of Singapore drivers.
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Honda Civic 1.6 i-VTEC vs Toyota Corolla Altis 1.6 Elegance
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Honda Civic
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
37 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
30 out of 37 (81.1%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

37 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
HappyGuy
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 19-Mar-2018
My review after driving close to one year  Posted on 19 Mar 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I've driven the 1.6L Honda Civic 10 Gen for almost one year. The noise insulation is much better than the rest of the Japanese cars of the same category. My average fuel consumption is 8.9L/100km (Mostly highway driving). The acceleration is not very good therefore i have to be extra careful to ensure that more than sufficient distance for me to drive into another lane. Once the pick up is there, the car runs pretty well. The sport mode is extremely fun and engaging it would solve the slow acceleration issue. The eco button doesn't save much fuel. Engaging the eco mode significantly decreases car performance. Big boot space and comfortable passenger space. The only issue is the car cannot start properly everyday therefore i've have to use the jump starter cable to jump start the car every morning before i drive. Asked Kah Motor technician to come down to check but they also use jump starter and say its a common issue with this car. A bit of hassle before i drive every morning otherwise its a really good car.

What I like
Sporty exterior
Good fuel efficiency
Fun to drive
Good suspension
Big boot space
Comfortable space for passengers

What I do not like
Cannot start the car properly. System goes haywire and blinking all over before it dies so have to use jump starter cable to jump start the car, otherwise should be ok. Need to invest in a good jump starter.

EadricWui
Premium User EadricWui
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
14 points
20 forum posts Joined on 18-Oct-2017
Significant upgrade from FD3  Posted on 05 Mar 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Had been driving the 1.6NA for close to a month and clocking mileage of 1500km.

When deciding to get a car to replace my COE due FD, was looking at Altis, Qashqai, City and Civic. Decided to test drive both City and Civic and was completely sold to it.

What I like
1) Sporty design
2) comfort and great handling
3) good mileage :- had been achieving around 7.5l/100km consistently for the past 3 pumps.60% city 40% highway.
4) nice interior design which have the continental car feel
5) spacious cabin space
6) thoughtful design of all the sockets and USB ports.
7) keyless entry and engine start/stop

What I do not like
1) the head unit : limited apps for CarPlay. Unable to install any GPS navigation apps even though there is GPS antenna in the HU.
2) Plastic parts on some of the dashboard and side panels which easily scratch if you have long fingernails.
3) paintwork feels thin at the edges of the door.
4) Headlight is yellow halogen bulb while DRL is white. Looks a bit weird at night when you turn on the headlights.

Julio369
Premium User Julio369
Clutched
1 reviews
39 points
37 forum posts Joined on 31-Oct-2017
So Far So Good!  Posted on 26 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have driven the 1.6 NA for 8000 KM. So far overall experience is good, except for some minor issues. The handling is good, I feel it is better than the previous 1.8 FD, especially cornering. Power steering is motorized, so the feedback is not as good as hydraulic.

Good for normal driving. The 1.6 NA takes a bit of effort to achieve fast accelerate (CVT?), but if push it hard enough (drink more petrol), should be able to merge expressway fast & overtaking cars with ease, or get the 1.5T.

Petrol consumption is average, about 12 KM/ litre, 50/50. One reviewer mentioned about CVT gearbox jerking during engine braking or pressing the gas after engine braking, which I have also encountered, but can live with it.

The signal light stick switching are a bit rough, need a little more force to switch left or right signal.

The OEM wiper blades not very smooth, jugger & squeak, even under heavy rain. Tried cleaning the blades & windscreen with glass cleaner, but won't last.

Windscreen quality like not very good, I have noticed a very fine line scratch, probably from sand/ particles rubbing between the wiper & windscreen. This I never encounter before from my previous cars ownership. Glass should be quite hard.

Exterior is sporty & futuristic, lower, longer, wider (but parking will be tighter).
Front & Rear looks great & fierce.

Interior design is clean & good looking, but some area are very plastic. I don't really like the matt surface of the plastic area & the steering wheel cover. Would prefer glossy surface, well...
Electronic hand brake lagging, still prefer mechanical type.

Paint works is lousy, the door's edge paint chip off easily, even a light knock will dent it and paint came off. Advise to stick door guard.

Overall is a good car to drive.

What I like
- Sporty Looks
- Crab Claw Rear lights
- Proven old but smooth engine
- Neat & Sleek interior design
- Brake hold function
- Paddle Shift
- Spacious interior & boot
- Rear AC
- Keyless Start/ Stop

What I do not like
- OEM Wiper blades
- Windscreen seems easily scratched
- Lagging Electronic Handbrake
- Thin paint works
- Price, Thailand made, MIJ Pricing
- Plastic interior, Cheap leather feel
- CVT gear box
- Halogen Lights

Mach23
Premium User Mach23
3rd Gear
10 reviews
321 points
265 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Like meeting an old friend a decade later  Posted on 16 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
As you have guessed from my headline, this friend of mine has grown up and his family needs feature rather high on his list of consideration.

Comfort - checked
Fuel efficiency - checked
Driver's aids - checked
Handling - checked
Reliability - checked
Resale value - checked

A large, comfortable sedan that can accommodate 5 passengers and do it with gusto of a turbo charged DOHC VTEC engine.

But don't expect a sports coupe performance (look to Civic Type R instead) and this fine example should give you years of trouble free motoring and happy memories that you can share with good old friends over beer.

What I like
1. Adequate VTEC DOHC engine for daily travel
2. Feature rich - electric hand brake, auto head lights, auto wipers, anti-glare rear mirror
3. Size - adequate for family of five
4. Huge trunk
5. Space saver spare tyre

What I do not like
1. CVT - whine so loud you can barely hear any vtec roar now
2. Electric power steering - somehow robs the feel on the road
3. Sound insulation could be better
4. Leather seats lacks luxury free, not to mention lack of choice of color (reminds me of Henry Ford: you can choose any color as long as it is black)

DrJasonTan
Premium User DrJasonTan
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Nov-2017
Top car in this category.  Posted on 15 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Tested Honda Civic 1.6 against Toyota Corolla Altis & Nissan Sylphy. The Civic came out top in terms of driveability, comfort, exterior and interior looks.

What I like
Modern sporty exterior and well-designed interior. Smooth and responsive engine. Soft and comfortable seats plus quiet cabin.

What I do not like
Rear lights a little too modern and not-the-common looks. Takes some time to get used to it.

OptimusG1
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Nov-2017
Amazing interior build quality and feel  Posted on 08 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
There are a lot of interesting things that are implemented into the new civic the version which i am reviewing if of course the 1.5 turbo one of these new things would be the switch to a turbo engine. The turbo engine while it has "Vtec" Is actually not vtec the further you look into it but rather has vtc(like vvti) and therefore there isnt any "Vtec kicked in" Experince towards the redline which is in my mind for a honda pretty low at 6500rpm other than that the lanewatch is of slight use at night as it can be quite blurr .
Also to note the interior of the car feels very germanish with the exception that the lights dont feel very atas to me amd it felt as if they cheaped out on the interior lighting system in exchange for the mostly soft touch plastic dash.
I would also like to emphasize on the interior storage. For intsance the front doorbins could have been slightly bigger as there is alot of unused space for the front doors. Rear doorbins are more acceptable as passengers usually dont use the doorbins much.
For comfort wise i would say this car is on the rather okok side as the rear seat centre armrest has no strap to pull it out and it is rather low for my liking. Another thing that could be improved is that if they moved the door armrests higher and added grab handles (like those found in Volkswagens). Overall the car is pretty comfortable in its nature with minor nitpicks on the armrests

Things i like:
-Amazing dash build quality
-powerful engine even without vtec
-good comfort
-17" Rims look nice
-exterior looks sorta agressive and sporty
-Good Legroom for rear passenger
-excellent to hear the radio as a back seat passenger due to speaker being directly behind headrests

Things i dont like:
-LCD intrument cluster is a pain on the eyes at night
-lanewatch slightly blurr at night
-All armrest height not to my liking(except centre console one)
-No grab handle on armrest(minor nitpick here as used to vw liao)
-front doorbin could have been bigger
-Front Glovebox could have been bigger (even my dad the 2007 golf GTI got bigger glove box AND have an allocated place to store the manual)
-Buttons on steering wheel dont have the atas german feel (again used to Vw)(makes the plastic tab sound)

Incubus22
Premium User Incubus22
2nd Gear
5 reviews
146 points
63 forum posts Joined on 19-Feb-2005
Best Ever In Our Civic-lization!  Posted on 08 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The latest iteration of the well loved Honda Civic defines Honda's progress in the turbo-charged class.
For the longest time, Honda has been sticking to it's powerful and yet efficient naturally aspirated engine. But with advances in its' ever famous VTEC tagline, now it can boast the new supremacy era, the VTEC Turbo. The 1.5 turbo charged model feels comfortable and it oozes oomph when the pedal is lightly depressed. At the same time, the cabin feels quiet and well built even though there's plastics in some area.
The all new Civic has exterior styling of lines and angles, a much improvement over her dated-curvy past. Huge pentagonal grilles dominate the front and rear corners making it fierce looking without losing it's signature Honda look.
Stepping into the cabin, you'll a logical and better-assembled dash board than it's predecessor. Apple Play comes standard and it's a big welcome to everyone, even to the least tech savvy drivers.
The seating arrangements are much lower than before to make it feel sporty but overall still comfortable as there is more than sufficient room space to maneuver. The steering grip is tight, making the driver confident even in abrupt corners. However, the rear passenger floor no longer comes flat and there's a noticeable hump which makes the centre sitting passenger awkward.
Overall, the all new 10th generation Honda Civic makes an interesting entrance from the forgettable 9th. Kah Motor's decision to bring in the Thai built may dampen some loyal MIJ-Only buyers but with all the enhancements, everyone will eventually overlook this point.

What I like
Honda's reliability
Sporty and stylish exterior
Modern dashboard
Punchy engine
Apple Play

What I do not like
Pricey
Rear hump on floor
Very low seating
Not Made in Japan

CivicDrvr
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 18-Aug-2017
Worrying Quality and Reliability Issue with Civic 1.5T  Posted on 18 Aug 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Have been driving Civic 1.5T for about 3 weeks, clocking 700+ km so far. Handling is noticeably better than my previous 8th gen Civic, and the engine is responsive, capable of delivering the needed power and torque on demand with small but acceptable turbo lag. Average fuel consumption on trip computer registered about 5.8l/100km so far, better than I expected but I travelled mostly on highway (85%) and I am not heavy footed. Lane watch is helpful during day time but is almost useless during night time, arguably when it is most needed. The headlight of other cars in the lane watch video becomes blur when it's dark, and if the car/motorbike does not turn on headlight it will be impossible to see them in the video when it is poorly lit.

But something was not quite right the day I picked up my car. The bonnet is misaligned with noticeable large gap and protrusion on the left side (my car groomer pointed that out too even without telling him, it is that obvious!), my car agent assured me on 1st day that this will be an easy fix and will be addressed fully on my first 1k service. 3 days later, rattling sounds started protruding through the cabin, especially when the car goes over uneven road. Initially after checking the cabin myself, I found the loose plastic panel underneath the steering wheel that seems poorly installed (and designed). I managed to fix it myself but apparently it just addressed half the problem. The rattling sound at cold start seemed to have eliminated, but the rattling and creaking sound when driving on the road still persists, albeit at lower level. In fact, the entire chassis feels like it is constantly struggling to cope when driving, and does not feel confident at all (rigidity supposed to have been increased over last generation). Perhaps I just got a lemon, this really makes me missed my previous 8th gen Civic a lot which served me 10 years without ever making any rattling/creaking sound despite the degraded suspensions in its last 2 years. Is this due to the difference in quality control between Thailand made (10th gen) and Japan made (8th gen)? Now I just hope the rattling/creaking sound is not an indication of some serious and deteriorating issues down the road, and I hope Kah Motor will be able to responsibly and competently address the issue satisfactorily. Until then, I will not recommend the car to my friends.

What I like
Responsive 1.5T engine.
Low fuel consumption for a 170hp car.
Good handling especially when cornering.
Lane watch during day time.

What I do not like
Potential quality and reliability issue (misaligned panels, constant rattling and creaking sound when car vibrates over mildly uneven road are annoying and not acceptable, especially when buyers are charged at premium!)
Useless lane watch during night time (Honda engineers fix this or couple with Blind Spot Monitoring.)
No lumbar support.
Buttons on steering wheel feel cheap and uncomfortable at touch and press (sharp edges).
Too much scratchy hard plastic in the cabin.

Tsr729
Premium User Tsr729
4th Gear
1 reviews
587 points
534 forum posts Joined on 18-Jun-2007
One of the best looking Civic  Posted on 11 Aug 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Collected ride 1 month ago and clocked 3000KM so far. Brought it to Genting last weekend to clear carbon and tested out its handling capabilities.
Changed out stock rims and tyres right after collection of vehicle therefore unable to comment on stock tyres (Hankook Noble S1).
Sound insulation is rather disappointing as I experienced wind noise penetrating through my A-pillar while driving 100km/h-ish. I had to install an additional layer of rubber door seal before my Genting trip. The stock rubber door seals are rather soft, brittle(heard of some cases of rubber cracking) and useless in keeping the wind out. Undercarriage soundproof is not fantastic too.
Engine power wise (mine's a 1.6NA) is still acceptable and sufficient for legal speed limit driving. If you are looking for neck-breaking speed and acceleration, look for the 1.5T or elsewhere
CVT gearbox has an existing bad issue whereby there are some lag in gear ratio selecting resulting in jerking and metal pinging sound during engine braking or pressing the gas after engine braking, usually happens around 73 or 96km/h. Kah motor has no solution to it so far.
Paddle shifters response time is acceptable.
Handling is very good, body roll is minimal.
Interior design is very modern but there are still empty switch spaces which are very unsightly.
Steering wheel buttons feel cheap.
Exterior design is definitely one of the biggest reason of choosing this car. The overall styling is very sleek, low, sporty yet spacious-looking.

What I like
NA engine (10k servicing interval)
Sporty look
Paddle Shifters
Handling
Keyless entry and push start
Apple carplay and Andriod auto compatible HU
Spacious cabin and rear legroom
Rear aircon vents
Huge boot space
Good brakes
Cruise control
Decent fuel consumption

What I do not like
Price (sightly pricey for a MIT model)
16 inch stock rim (very ugly in my opinion and heavy despite being 16inch)
Stock Hankook tyres
Poor sound insulation and lousy rubber door seals
CVT gearbox jerking
Too much chrome
Electronic brakes
Ugly clear side markers
Rikecool solar film given by AD (IR rejection seriously CMI)
Hidden exhaust tip
Paintwork is not fantastic

Robinsoul
Premium User Robinsoul
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
22 points
2 forum posts Joined on 23-Mar-2010
Cvt on this civic not that bad  Posted on 16 Jul 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drive on the civic turbo, the pick up not bad even on cvt gb.
maybe because the turbo kick in at around 1600rpm. Not much turbo lag when you let go and press on the pedal again.

What I like
pick up of this car.
Lane watch.

What I do not like
price.

BlueAndWhite
Premium User BlueAndWhite
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
4 points
13 forum posts Joined on 10-Nov-2016
One of the best decisions made  Posted on 29 May 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Having driven the 1.5T for sometime now, thought it would be apt to give a review on it.

What attracted me to this car in the first place was the exterior styling, though it would be more of the front than the back. The small sized spoiler at the back probably aided a small bit on the subjective looks of it. The icing on the cake would have to be the side marker lights, as it really adds a touch of premium feel to the car.

Getting into the driver's seat and finding the perfect driving position was an easy task thanks to the electrical operation. A pity that there is no memory seat function, but perhaps I am just nitpicking over here.

Moving off from rest, there is an initial lag where the revs climb but the speed increases quite slowly which I am not sure if it's due to the turbo lag or the CVT. After around 30-40km/h, the power comes in and overtaking manoeuvres are executed with ease. The engine sound is also audible when accelerating, and bear in mind that I am not a heavy foot driver. However, once up to cruising speed, the noise is subdued.

One thing that I am pleasantly surprised at is the fuel consumption of this engine. On average, I am getting 14.5 - 15km/l with about 70% Highway 30% City. Also, the engine speed can stay at around 1600rpm thereabouts when cruising at 90km/h.

Brake hold function works seamlessly but I have yet to get used to using it on a regular basis. Taking off my foot from the brake at the traffic lights/jams still feels weird to me. The brakes felt quite effective, but maybe it's due to the fact that my previous car had rear drum brakes, while this has all round discs.

The center armrest has a deep storage compartment, which I found to be very useful for putting various small items. However, I can't say the same for the glovebox which I felt was a little shallow. Nevertheless, there is definitely more than enough storage spaces in the front for all the necessities one would need to store in a car.

Ultimately, is it value for money? At this price point, personally I am not too sure. I do hope that this car can last a good 10 years, though the reliability of this new turbo engine can only be proven in at least a few more years time.

What I like
LED headlights
Side marker lights (personally feel that this really enhances the outlook of the car)
Sunroof gives an airy feel to the otherwise dark cabin interior
Auto door lock above certain speed
Relatively comfortable suspension
Lanewatch system camera has quite a good resolution
More than enough power for daily use
Fuel consumption is pretty decent
Very stable at highway speeds
Spacious rear seats & rear aircon vents
Apple CarPlay
Auto dimming rear view mirror
6 airbags
Paddle shifters

What I do not like
Price is high for its class (many other options available at this price point, even conti makes)
Long delivery time
Momentary lag on initial move off from stop, perhaps due to the CVT gearbox
No inbuilt GPS on headunit (have to use apple map on Apple CarPlay)
No auto folding side mirrors
Buttons on the steering wheel feel that they will come loose after a few years
Aircon controls such as fan speed and mode can only be controlled via the touch screen headunit

Mali
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
14 points
40 forum posts Joined on 23-Mar-2010
Standard Fair - Honda Quality  Posted on 23 Apr 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I currently own a FD4 for over 9 years and i am very happy with the card. Wanted to see how the new Civic 1.6 stacks up.



---------------------

Overall not a bad car.

What I like
Exterior styling is good
Car feels solid
Interior space is good
Very quite and goes over bumps without much hassle
Decent features

What I do not like
Price is always a premium
The floor hump at the passenger section. FD4 is flat. This is downgrade in comfort i would say. Makes a big difference while seating 3 people for long distance travel.
The steering wheel switches feel plasticky
some inter material feels cheap

Choco1980
Premium User Choco1980
2nd Gear
4 reviews
106 points
111 forum posts Joined on 22-Jul-2013
Honda Civic - No regrets purchase  Posted on 21 Apr 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Currently been driving the Honda Civic 1.6 since September 2016.
Never regretted. Drive feels firm. Cabin insulation is great. Reliable 1.6L engine brought over from the previous generation with a all new CVT gearbox.
Don't expect a fast furious car but a quiet worker

What I like
1) Sporty Design
2) Refined Cabin Noise
3) Smooth acceleration
4) very spacious interior
5) good handling
6) LCD dashboard
7) rear aircon vents

What I do not like
1) Feels plastic interior
2) Only the premium turbo model gets all the good stuffs like LED headlamps
3) FC is normal only.

Swiftgolfer
Premium User Swiftgolfer
3rd Gear
6 reviews
251 points
136 forum posts Joined on 22-Jul-2015
Modest 1.6L power of dreams  Posted on 06 Apr 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Exterior
1) looks good
2) only 1.5T has the LED headlights
3) Car is low =) definitely has that sporty look
4) side mirrors look big! But are actually normal once you sit inside.
5) pretty nice looking stock rims
6) not a fan of the tail lights but hey looks are subjective
7) 1.6L has body colored door handles which is good! Chrome ones looks tacky

Interior
1) the steering wheel has nice leather wrapping. Smooth, good size
2) Steering wheel buttons are ok, volume controls lack abit of tactile feel
3) Seats are nice, not too body hugging, However! The 1.6L has no lumbar support for the driver! Why! Why honda why??? Long drives up north will always need lumbar support.
4) rear seats are quite flat which is good for sitting 3. But the left and right side edges sort of have the seat cut off abruptly.. Big piece of plastic suddenly appears.. Sad
5) 60/40 rear folding seats don't fold flat down... Unlike the old jazz/fit. Abit disappointed.
6)Good to have rear aircon vents
7) boot space is large, big opening also makes putting stuff in easy.
8) however due to the boot also being low, you have to lift up first then pull out your barang barang. In this aspect the CRV is better as the boot floor is flatter.
9) good all around visibility
10) good rear leg room even for tall guys.

Engine
1) 1.6L with CVT is normal, wont excite you even with the paddle shifters. But will do the job for city driving
2) during the drive, it felt smooth, no vibrations
3) ride was quite quiet, for sure quieter than my old vios.

Get it for - smooth quiet engine, nice looks, roomy interior

miss it for - low boot which is not good for old uncles/aunties with back issues.
no lumbar support for the 1.6

What I like
Smooth quiet engine, roomy interior

What I do not like
no Lumbar support
not really flat rear floor when the rear seats are folded.
Low boot - not the easiest to load groceries on the weekends
because of the sudden cut-outs on the left and right for rear passengers, when sitting 3 at the back, will be slightly uncomfortable.

Jerry
Premium User Jerry
2nd Gear
1 reviews
124 points
113 forum posts Joined on 11-Sep-2005
Never Regretted buying the Civic  Posted on 17 Feb 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This car never fails to impress me after driving it for 2 months plus. Got the 1.6l model as this engine has been proved its reliability for the past ten years.

Comfort and refinement is one of the best in its class. Its a very practical car with plenty of space for passengers.

Pickup speed of the vehicle is slightly sluggish due to the CVT gearbox but once its on the move its pretty powerful for a 1.6l car.

Exterior will turn many heads in the traffic lights with the new sleek designs and curves. A hint of the Audi A7 with its coupe like rear styling.

Great service from my Sales executive ( Freddy hp: 9681 3199) who never fails to answer all my questions patiently, aftersales service provided by him was top notch as well. Recommend those considering buying to give him a call.

What I like
-Exterior Styling
-Interior spaciousness
-Futuristic dashboard with digital speedometer
-Rear Aircon to cool the rear passengers
-Can fit 3 adults at the back comfortably
-Very reliable and quiet engine
-

What I do not like
-The little rear hump in the middle of the rear leg well
-Fuel consumption is mediocre, am getting about 10-12km/h with 50% highway 50% city

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Honda Civic
4 stars - based on 37 reviews