Related Articles

Fastest test time fuels Honda BTCC hopes

Honda BTCC title bid gains momentum

Updated Honda Civic continues to impress

MCF checks out the Infiniti QX50


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Honda Civic 1.6 i-VTEC (A)
26 Sep 2016  |  Honda Reviews
With its combination of comfort, practicality, daily usability and sweet driveability, the new Civic 1.6 hopes to recapture the hearts of Singapore drivers.
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Honda Civic 1.6 i-VTEC LX (A) vs Skoda Octavia 1.0 TSI Ambition Plus (A)
spacer
spacer
Facelift

The Honda Civic was facelifted on Jan 2019. Read more

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Honda Civic
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
46 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
3/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
37 out of 46 (80.4%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

46 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Philipkee
NOS-ed
5 reviews
18,016 points
2504 forum posts Joined on 25-Oct-2009
Low slung car  Posted on 08 Sep 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I have sat inside the civic and felt it move before. It is a very sporty car and stable one. But I will never buy it for myself cos everytime I get into the car it's like I fall into the car as opposed to get it. That's what I meant by low slung. Too low for my liking.

What I like
Stable feeling

What I do not like
Too low slung. It's like falling into a car rather than getting into it.

AnandVijayakumar
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Aug-2019
Ok car but could be way better  Posted on 19 Aug 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the civic on 12 august. Car was decent with good enough engine power, response, space inside and would make a very good point to point car. Comparing with it's peers it lacks in many areas. Most of its peers have 5/7 airbags while it has only2. Apple car play or android auto would have been greatly useful. In car entertainment system could have been better. Interior quality felt cheap. Though i wanted to go for the civic, i didn't as there were many better options available at the same price point

What I like
Honda branding, name and resale value
spacious interiors and boot
smooth engine & drive

What I do not like
customer service was only average - even though we had booked an appointment it took 10-15 mins for them to identify someone to help us
interior looked very cheap and poorly made

Wasteland
Neutral Newbie
13 reviews
12 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Jul-2019
Potential car for a 1.5t engine  Posted on 14 Jul 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Owned this car for 2 years, a comfortable car with large space at the rearseats and boot.

Quite stable at high speed, able to over take easily with the turbo engine.

Very reliable,no problem for the past 2 years. Tuned the car with fully stock parts, able to get 33nm of torque on wheels. After tune able to compete with most 2 L turbo cars.

What I like
-Nice look, especially after changing to Type R bumpers
- Larger rear seats and boot space, can put in children bike and a e scooter,quite amazed by it
- Engine quite sporty at stock setup
-Cvt transmission seamless gear change, very silent and no jerking during gear change
- Left Blind spot camera is very useful, don't even need to move my head, if only there is right side camera as well
- Potential car for tuning to make it over 190whp and 330nm torque
- Lots of modifications available for the body kit

What I do not like
-lots of cheap plastic parts
- at the price it could have come with more safety features
-Sound insulation could be better
- default setup does not give a good confidence when going through a bend at high speed
- lousy paint work
- lousy battery that dies in 1 year
- For the price, can consider paying 7 to 9k more for a more powerfull car, skoda rs. Consider that with the tuning , modification of springs, strut bars, rims, wheels bbk, air intake etc, it will easily add up to more than 10k

Ahronron
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
4 points
1 forum posts Joined on 24-Feb-2011
Review for 1.5T for a almost 2 year owner  Posted on 17 Apr 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
As a previous owner of Honda (Jazz), the ride has not failed to live up to its hype. It is great looking, powerful (speaking from the angle of 1.5T) and a fun ride (with some enhancements done, e.G. Tuning / sound proofing). With the above, the ride has always give me a face full of smiles when driving it.

What I like
Almost everything! (the imperfections are listed under "What i do not like")

What I do not like
1. The LOUSY paint quality finishing.
2. The loose sunroof that produces knocking/vibrating sound when on the move

Tun86
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 01-Apr-2019
One of the best cars I have driven  Posted on 01 Apr 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I have been owning this car for about 7 months now. It is true that its acceleration in D mode is not tht responsive compare to its older generation, but you can drive in S mode if u want faster response. Even in D, its performance is more than enough for the city drive. I like both exterior and interior looks. For FC, I am getting abt 15.2km/l which is better than expected. Quite a spacious car and good infotainment system. I believe those are complaining about higher FC in civic have very heavy foot. Civic is designed for faster response and if u have a heavy foot, the FC will confirm go high (I have tried that).
So far not even trivial problem has been encountered.

What I like
Everything

What I do not like
- no auto folding of side view mirrors

ArthurChan
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 23-Feb-2019
ZC31S swift sport  Posted on 23 Feb 2019
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 2/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Totally agreed with the previous fellow that give a sincere review.
I was totally attracted to its exterior and interior outlook of the 1.6 FC during test drive that i did not pay much attention to its performance.

Collected the new car and been driving for a while.
Seriously, CVT transmission is slow response n sloggish...Even suzuki ditch the CVT on ZC32...Yet honda still using it.

Fuel consumption is worse than a 2007 technology 4gear car that i previously drive.

Super regret buying 1.6NA at this price...This is the price of other continent with turbo engine and better FC.
Buy this if u like the looks, dont mind the slowness and huge FC consumption.

What I like
Outlook and interior.
New dashboard layout.

What I do not like
Super slow car
Very bad FC

MarkerPen
1st Gear
15 reviews
54 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Aug-2011
Great looks but CVT gearbox and high fuel consumption is a let-down  Posted on 17 Feb 2019
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
I have been driving the naturally aspirated 2017 Civic 1.6 VTi for the past year and a half. Firstly, it looks great, possibly one of the best-looking sedans in it's class. The car is relatively spacious and has great Honda build quality. The interior design looks nice and futuristic too.

Sadly, the 1.6L engine is a carry over from the previous generation and has no significant improvements in terms of performance and efficiency. The CVT gearbox does not help its case along either. The usual rubber-band effect can be felt when accelerating hard and the drone of the gearbox is pretty loud. The biggest letdown however is the poor fuel consumption - I was getting around 7-8km/l or around 330km per full tank. The ECON switch is just for show as it did not save any fuel. The overall stance of the car is rather low slung too which may prove difficult for older folks to get into the car. It also costs more than its competitors in this class.

What I like
- Honda build quality and reliability
- Great looks inside and out
- Spacious and practical interior

What I do not like
- High fuel consumption (7-8km/l)
- CVT gearbox is sluggish and noisy
- Inefficient engine from old model
- Can feel under-powered for quick overtaking
- Low-slung body can prove to be difficult for older folk to enter cabin

CFJoccer
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
18 points
2 forum posts Joined on 25-Oct-2018
2006 Honda Civic Ex  Posted on 27 Oct 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I bought this car my senior year of high school and truly would go back and do it all over again. For my daily commute and how much i drove, the MPG and reliability were great! I get anywhere from 350 to 500 miles to the tank depending upon where i drive(city/highway) or how had on the pedal i am. I bought the car with 80,000 on the clock and now has 152,000 and have had zero issues other then regular/routine maintenance. I love this car and would recommend it to friends and family or for someone's first car! I am a pretty tall guy and was a little disappointed when i first saw the car but when i got in and realized how much room i had and how comfortable it was i was amazed.

What I like
Comfortable, and easy to drive.

What I do not like
Pricey; poor exterior design.

KimHwee
1st Gear
1 reviews
63 points
49 forum posts Joined on 31-Jul-2018
First car I've purchased and loving it thus far!  Posted on 12 Sep 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Was deciding between the Toyota Altis Elegance model and the Honda Civic 1.6NA and decided to get the Civic as it looks sportier and fiercer compared to the Altis.

I understand that this is the first time that the Civic models were fitted with CVT gearboxes by Honda and this was really apparent from the 'rubber-band' effect whenever the car changes shift, be it up or down. It is quite a big difference from the Altis as I used to drive my parent's Altis and their CVT did not exhibit this kind of behaviour. Other than that, there also seems to be this subtle 'jerk back' feeling whenever I let go of the accelerator at around the 70 km/h speed. Most fellow drivers also share that they experience these same things but Kah Motors' response was that everything is normal.

Moving on from the minor dislikes, on to the nice stuff. The Civic handles very well especially during corners and it is a bonus that it looks mean and fierce on the roads. There is also ample leg space for backseat passengers although the middle hump could be a turn off for some. Rear air condition vents are a nice bonus as well for passengers seated at the back seats. Steering feels agile and very responsive. The boot space is also very large and generous. As a Civic fan since young, can't really find anything else to dislike about the car.

It is also important to note the following for 1.6NA model as they may be a deal breaker for some:

1) No electronic driver's seat
2) No LED, only Halogen headlights
3) Only has 2 airbags
4) No automated lane assist

What I like
Fierce and mean exterior
Large boot space
Responsiveness to steering
Superb handling
Excellent price point for a Japanese brand (although assembled in Thailand)
Fun to drive

What I do not like
Rubber band like CVT gear transmission
Random 'jerking' when letting go of accelerator
Not the best Fuel Economy (I am getting at best 12.5 km/l with very gentle driving)
No LED headlights
Pick up speed from stop is quite slow unless you rev the engine harder

HappyGuy
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 19-Mar-2018
My review after driving close to one year  Posted on 19 Mar 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I've driven the 1.6L Honda Civic 10 Gen for almost one year. The noise insulation is much better than the rest of the Japanese cars of the same category. My average fuel consumption is 8.9L/100km (Mostly highway driving). The acceleration is not very good therefore i have to be extra careful to ensure that more than sufficient distance for me to drive into another lane. Once the pick up is there, the car runs pretty well. The sport mode is extremely fun and engaging it would solve the slow acceleration issue. The eco button doesn't save much fuel. Engaging the eco mode significantly decreases car performance. Big boot space and comfortable passenger space. The only issue is the car cannot start properly everyday therefore i've have to use the jump starter cable to jump start the car every morning before i drive. Asked Kah Motor technician to come down to check but they also use jump starter and say its a common issue with this car. A bit of hassle before i drive every morning otherwise its a really good car.

What I like
Sporty exterior
Good fuel efficiency
Fun to drive
Good suspension
Big boot space
Comfortable space for passengers

What I do not like
Cannot start the car properly. System goes haywire and blinking all over before it dies so have to use jump starter cable to jump start the car, otherwise should be ok. Need to invest in a good jump starter.

EadricWui
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
15 points
20 forum posts Joined on 18-Oct-2017
Significant upgrade from FD3  Posted on 05 Mar 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Had been driving the 1.6NA for close to a month and clocking mileage of 1500km.

When deciding to get a car to replace my COE due FD, was looking at Altis, Qashqai, City and Civic. Decided to test drive both City and Civic and was completely sold to it.

What I like
1) Sporty design
2) comfort and great handling
3) good mileage :- had been achieving around 7.5l/100km consistently for the past 3 pumps.60% city 40% highway.
4) nice interior design which have the continental car feel
5) spacious cabin space
6) thoughtful design of all the sockets and USB ports.
7) keyless entry and engine start/stop

What I do not like
1) the head unit : limited apps for CarPlay. Unable to install any GPS navigation apps even though there is GPS antenna in the HU.
2) Plastic parts on some of the dashboard and side panels which easily scratch if you have long fingernails.
3) paintwork feels thin at the edges of the door.
4) Headlight is yellow halogen bulb while DRL is white. Looks a bit weird at night when you turn on the headlights.

Julio369
1st Gear
1 reviews
73 points
65 forum posts Joined on 31-Oct-2017
So Far So Good!  Posted on 26 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have driven the 1.6 NA for 8000 KM. So far overall experience is good, except for some minor issues. The handling is good, I feel it is better than the previous 1.8 FD, especially cornering. Power steering is motorized, so the feedback is not as good as hydraulic.

Good for normal driving. The 1.6 NA takes a bit of effort to achieve fast accelerate (CVT?), but if push it hard enough (drink more petrol), should be able to merge expressway fast & overtaking cars with ease, or get the 1.5T.

Petrol consumption is average, about 12 KM/ litre, 50/50. One reviewer mentioned about CVT gearbox jerking during engine braking or pressing the gas after engine braking, which I have also encountered, but can live with it.

The signal light stick switching are a bit rough, need a little more force to switch left or right signal.

The OEM wiper blades not very smooth, jugger & squeak, even under heavy rain. Tried cleaning the blades & windscreen with glass cleaner, but won't last.

Windscreen quality like not very good, I have noticed a very fine line scratch, probably from sand/ particles rubbing between the wiper & windscreen. This I never encounter before from my previous cars ownership. Glass should be quite hard.

Exterior is sporty & futuristic, lower, longer, wider (but parking will be tighter).
Front & Rear looks great & fierce.

Interior design is clean & good looking, but some area are very plastic. I don't really like the matt surface of the plastic area & the steering wheel cover. Would prefer glossy surface, well...
Electronic hand brake lagging, still prefer mechanical type.

Paint works is lousy, the door's edge paint chip off easily, even a light knock will dent it and paint came off. Advise to stick door guard.

Overall is a good car to drive.

What I like
- Sporty Looks
- Crab Claw Rear lights
- Proven old but smooth engine
- Neat & Sleek interior design
- Brake hold function
- Paddle Shift
- Spacious interior & boot
- Rear AC
- Keyless Start/ Stop

What I do not like
- OEM Wiper blades
- Windscreen seems easily scratched
- Lagging Electronic Handbrake
- Thin paint works
- Price, Thailand made, MIJ Pricing
- Plastic interior, Cheap leather feel
- CVT gear box
- Halogen Lights

Mach23
3rd Gear
11 reviews
339 points
263 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Like meeting an old friend a decade later  Posted on 16 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
As you have guessed from my headline, this friend of mine has grown up and his family needs feature rather high on his list of consideration.

Comfort - checked
Fuel efficiency - checked
Driver's aids - checked
Handling - checked
Reliability - checked
Resale value - checked

A large, comfortable sedan that can accommodate 5 passengers and do it with gusto of a turbo charged DOHC VTEC engine.

But don't expect a sports coupe performance (look to Civic Type R instead) and this fine example should give you years of trouble free motoring and happy memories that you can share with good old friends over beer.

What I like
1. Adequate VTEC DOHC engine for daily travel
2. Feature rich - electric hand brake, auto head lights, auto wipers, anti-glare rear mirror
3. Size - adequate for family of five
4. Huge trunk
5. Space saver spare tyre

What I do not like
1. CVT - whine so loud you can barely hear any vtec roar now
2. Electric power steering - somehow robs the feel on the road
3. Sound insulation could be better
4. Leather seats lacks luxury free, not to mention lack of choice of color (reminds me of Henry Ford: you can choose any color as long as it is black)

DrJasonTan
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Nov-2017
Top car in this category.  Posted on 15 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Tested Honda Civic 1.6 against Toyota Corolla Altis & Nissan Sylphy. The Civic came out top in terms of driveability, comfort, exterior and interior looks.

What I like
Modern sporty exterior and well-designed interior. Smooth and responsive engine. Soft and comfortable seats plus quiet cabin.

What I do not like
Rear lights a little too modern and not-the-common looks. Takes some time to get used to it.

OptimusG1
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Nov-2017
Amazing interior build quality and feel  Posted on 08 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
There are a lot of interesting things that are implemented into the new civic the version which i am reviewing if of course the 1.5 turbo one of these new things would be the switch to a turbo engine. The turbo engine while it has "Vtec" Is actually not vtec the further you look into it but rather has vtc(like vvti) and therefore there isnt any "Vtec kicked in" Experince towards the redline which is in my mind for a honda pretty low at 6500rpm other than that the lanewatch is of slight use at night as it can be quite blurr .
Also to note the interior of the car feels very germanish with the exception that the lights dont feel very atas to me amd it felt as if they cheaped out on the interior lighting system in exchange for the mostly soft touch plastic dash.
I would also like to emphasize on the interior storage. For intsance the front doorbins could have been slightly bigger as there is alot of unused space for the front doors. Rear doorbins are more acceptable as passengers usually dont use the doorbins much.
For comfort wise i would say this car is on the rather okok side as the rear seat centre armrest has no strap to pull it out and it is rather low for my liking. Another thing that could be improved is that if they moved the door armrests higher and added grab handles (like those found in Volkswagens). Overall the car is pretty comfortable in its nature with minor nitpicks on the armrests

Things i like:
-Amazing dash build quality
-powerful engine even without vtec
-good comfort
-17" Rims look nice
-exterior looks sorta agressive and sporty
-Good Legroom for rear passenger
-excellent to hear the radio as a back seat passenger due to speaker being directly behind headrests

Things i dont like:
-LCD intrument cluster is a pain on the eyes at night
-lanewatch slightly blurr at night
-All armrest height not to my liking(except centre console one)
-No grab handle on armrest(minor nitpick here as used to vw liao)
-front doorbin could have been bigger
-Front Glovebox could have been bigger (even my dad the 2007 golf GTI got bigger glove box AND have an allocated place to store the manual)
-Buttons on steering wheel dont have the atas german feel (again used to Vw)(makes the plastic tab sound)

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Honda Civic
4 stars - based on 46 reviews