Related Articles

Firm faces court case over undelivered car

12 affordable ways to zhng your Honda Vezel

Hybrid cars gaining popularity in Singapore

Six car mod regulations that make no sense


spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Honda Vezel Hybrid Trust Motoring Edition
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
7 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
4/5
6 out of 7 (85.7%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

7 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Ian1
Premium User Ian1
2nd Gear
4 reviews
175 points
138 forum posts Joined on 23-Apr-2013
Own the Z Hybrid Latest Facelift Version. Needs a 2.0L Engine For a More Enjoyable And Peaceful Ride  Posted on 09 Sep 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 2/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
This is the first car I purchased that is below 2,000cc. Previous rides had been a RX300, Harrier 2.4, Odyssey 2.4 and a BMW 7-series 3 litre.

Based on power to weight ratio, this Hybrid is by no means a sloth, thus the reason I had expected a lot more out of it. At 150BHP for a small car 1,300kg versus 160BHP on my 2.4 Odyssey and Harrier at 1,680kg.

Very unfortunate that the car kicks up a huge fuss when pushed hard. Engine is rough and noisy and penetrates the carbin all too easily probably due to the small displacement and super thin metal.

Japanese really lacks behind the Europeans when it comes to building small CC cars with decent refinement and handling. On the larger cars like Accords and Camry, Japanese do give the conti a good run for the money.

If you are changing cars from either a continental or driving an above 2,000cc to this Hybrid, fair warning you won't be happy unless you set aside at least $3,000 to do proper and good soundproofing and insulation against outside road noise, tire noise and the engine's cry for help.

What I like
1. Fuel economy is decent at 16km/L to 18km/L

2. Rear legroom is very decent for a 1.5L

3. Cheap to maintain and service

4. Can bring to any workshop as its touted the National Car of Singapore, like the way Proton use to be for M'sia

5. Endless and loads of aftermarket accessories

What I do not like
1. Car is extremely hollow like an empty tin can

2. Engine is very coarse, rough and noisy. A 2.0L engine would probably have been better for the car

3. Feels like a mini earthquake is happening inside the car when going over rough tarmac / road

4. Road and tire noise is unbearable if you have never driven 1.5L car before.

5. Because of the tiny engine, based on the sound, the car seems to be struggling and out of breath when pushed hard.

6. Fuel tank is way too small at 40L capacity. 50L to 55L capacity would be much better.

7. Its quite difficult to keep this car on EV (electrical) 9mode unless you want to be horn by cars behind.

vbchia
1st Gear
2 reviews
95 points
53 forum posts Joined on 26-Mar-2015
First Brand New Japanese Car I've ever owned  Posted on 12 Sep 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Bought the RS Hybrid in June 2017. Previously was driving an Audi A3 1.4T. IN comparison, there's a lot of differences;

1. Ride and handling is that of a SUV with a higher centre of gravity, thus don't expect it to drive like a hot hatch.
2. Higher view of the road in front, makes for easier ingress and egress out of parking lots.
3. Does not have the same european suspension where it can be perceived as "Hard". Heard a lot about the hard suspension of the Vezel but after taking delivery of the RS, found it surpringly a good ride provided you have good tyres with the right pressure.
4. NVH is decent and surprisingly competitive with the A3 I used to own. This car is relatively comfortable to be in.
5. Excellent fuel economy.
6. Lower cost for maintenance
7. With Honda sensing pack, makes for a much safer car.

However to be honest, if I need to get a second car, I'll still buy a continental car. No regrets in getting this but purchasing fromn PI did not allow me to have a test drive. Hence went in with fingers crossed and lots of research!

What I like
- Honda sensing pack gives much more confidence
- RS trimmings
- Low fuel economy
- Hybrid is a novelty to use
- Spacious interior for a 1.5
- After tuning, car became more responsive, living up to Honda's driveability
- Hybrid version relatively quiet on the road on normal driving
- Lowe cost for maintenance

What I do not like
- Sheet metal used could be thicker but that would add weight and would be too heavy for a NA car
- PI version, no English for system display on board
- Would be nice to have a european designed version, the suspension set up would be more familiar for those who prefer a more cosseting ride
- Engine is gruff when pushed hard
- Better preforming when driven sedately

BlitzStryker
Premium User BlitzStryker
1st Gear
4 reviews
85 points
61 forum posts Joined on 06-Oct-2016
Review below based on 1500km over 1.5 months of driving Hybrid X.  Posted on 22 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Comfort
For a BnB car, it is pretty average, suspension setup is abit hard, harder than my previous Subaru impreza which is quite stiff for daily usage. However insulation is pretty decent. Tried both petrol and hybrid, the latter is quieter. Size wise is pretty good for this segment, 3 adults are able to sit at the back comfortably with ample legroom and headroom, no center hump too.

Exterior styling
Looks great! Handsome front and back ends. Coupe style silhouette with hidden back door handles. Bright and functional LED headlights and LED backlights (hybrid).

Interior design
Looks great too! Front passengers are cocooned inside a comfortable space within the car, partly due to the high center console, allowing you to place your barangs barangs there. Lots of storage areas.

Features
Honda Sensing is a must! Adaptive cruise control, lane departure assistance and automatic braking to avoid collision. You can totally set your car on cruise control and your car will automatically keep its speed and distance with the front car. It will also keep you inside your own lane and brake for you when needed. There is brake hold too, useful for traffic jams where the car presses the brake for you when you stop, so that you can relax your right feet. Lots of airbags (8 for petrol and 6 for hybrid). There is also sports mode and econ mode to suit different driving styles.

Performance
Reason why I choose hybrid over petrol after testing both for 15 minutes each. Petrol has ample of performance for a basic BnB car but the hybrid has 150+ bhp, similar to a 2.0l engine. Pickup for petrol and hybrid is around 11 seconds and 8.5 seconds respectively. Power is ample and more than sufficient even when car is fully loaded with passengers. Performance on par with Civic Turbo and Swifts Sports. FC is around 16 to 17km/l for 80% Or more city driving.

What I like
Exterior and interior styling
Safety (airbags)
Honda Sensing
Lots of tech gizmo

What I do not like
Ride comfort
PARF at $2500 at the end of 10 years
Battery deterioration in future

drivinghazard
Premium User drivinghazard
3rd Gear
15 reviews
344 points
245 forum posts Joined on 08-Feb-2011
Great car for Uber  Posted on 16 Sep 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I used to drive the non-hybrid version for Uber but I recently switched to the hybrid and I'm loving it!

The fuel economy is so much better on this one and even though my rental per day is slightly higher, I am able to save on my petrol costs (which equates to more income :P).

My passengers have told me they're loving the aircon in the front seat, especially on a hot sunny afternoon. That thing blasts you with cool air and really cools you down fast.

What I like
fuel economy
strong aircon in the front
silent engine

What I do not like
rear door handle takes some getting used to

Klwong
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
3 points
2 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Feel Good and Great Hybrid Car  Posted on 25 May 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Driving for this baby for almost 3 months. The driving experience and feeling are great and no regret to get this baby at all. For exterior, I like mostly the hybrid LED tail lights; They make it look like high-end car. For interior, I like mostly the spacious back leg room and my family members are happy now to sit comfortably compared to my previous car. No doubt, with the price range I pay, the most important factors to make this Vezel Hybrid outstanding are the engine power where it equips with dual-clutch semi-automatic 7-speed gearbox (sport mode with cruise control) to provide 150bhp horse power, net torque 190Nm and acceleration of 8.1s. The bonus points are better sound proofing compared to the normal Vezel and can get 21 to 24 km/l of fuel consumption with 30% Expressways and 70% City driving. Also, today Li-ion battery technology has progressed significantly and the cost is not expensive as previous, so I not worry about the Li-ion battery reliability and maintenance cost.

What I like
Power 150bhp
Torque 190Nm
Acceleration 8.1s
Fuel consumption 21- 24 km/l
Engine dual-clutch semi-automatic 7-speed gearbox
Good sound proofing
Nice looking LED tail lights
Spacious back leg room
Many airbags

What I do not like
None

JJ7677
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Nov-2011
Fuel Efficient for City Driving but plenty of BHP when needed!  Posted on 11 Jun 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The ride is pliant and smooth. Engine is smooth as start off is electric and then followed by engine. For cruising and traffic acceleration, ride never sounds strained. Is quiet, too quiet in fact. Sound proofing is much better compared to model S or X of the petrol version.

Switched to sports mode and you can feel the full effect of the 150 BHP through the idcd gear set up. Tried it once only as SUV is meant for comfort cruising. You will be surprised at its acceleration.

Interior features for model Z is the highest tier you can get for the Honda Vezel range. Everything inside is poshly done up, for a budget car segment, this is as good as it gets.

I am averaging 650 - 680 km for every 37 L of fuel. 15% Expressways and 85% City driving. For that mileage, I never rev the engine hard. Just smooth cruising and within speed limits at all roads.

What I like
Fit and finish is top notch.
17 inch stock rims is nicely designed.
150 BHP engine + electric motor provides ample power on tap for Sgp driving.
DRL and headlight are LEDs.
Rear lights are Tube LEDs.
Car is nicely done up. Don't really need to get anymore body kit from taobao, daigou or from Thailand / Japan.
Stock speakers actually sounds quite ok. Maybe model Z soundproofing helps.

What I do not like
Honda paintwork is poor, they have one of the thinnest paintwork around.
Need to do PPS the moment you get it.

Hybrid motor is not widely accepted in techno un savvy Singapore but this will come to pass. Hybrid and electric cars are transport of the near future.

CarbonFalcon
Premium User CarbonFalcon
1st Gear
31 reviews
74 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Nov-2012
This one can pass IPPT  Posted on 18 Aug 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
At this price point, the Vezel Hybrid is one of the most value for money Crossover SUVs in Singapore. Nissan Qashqai, Koleos and most others don't come close. Peugeot 2008 Diesel - perhaps. However, you can't bring that to Malaysia nor can it survive long enough. Subaru XV Cross & Suzuki S Cross are cheaper, but lack the advanced interiors.

I hate 1.5L engines, especially Japanese ones. They struggle under heavier speeds and have this disgusting cry that makes you want to wash yourself off these cars, be polite to the telemarketeer who sells you credit loans and get yourself a Jaguar. It kind of reminds you of how fat you have become since NSF days - now running 2.4km in 15mins makes you so breathless.

Why do 1.5L engines seem to struggle to maintain 90km/h? My 1.8l revvs under 2000rpm at that speed and still sounds so peaceful.

Vezel Hybrid, however, is perhaps one of the top of the mind vehicles for many new car owners like me who want an unstruggling yet frugal car. It doesn't sound like a 1.5l car at all. It's quiet, it feels promising, reliable and gives you that oomph when you want to cut off a torquey taxi.

The closest vehicle I've considered prior to this was the Prius C. Now I may be a big guy loving big cars, but that tiny hatchback with its electric motors had enough torque to keep me zippy on the streets of Japan. As much as i loved it, the size just did not fit my image and that kept me away from buying. The Vezel Hybrid took care of that.. thank god.

While Honda Hybrids used to fall back behind Toyota, some of the main fallbacks were fixed in this generation of Honda Hybrids. It doesn't look dull, it wasn't made with an electric assist motor that you can fancifully call "Rex" and attach to a bmw i3, the engine actually turns off when you are slacking in traffic and finally comes with an electric A/C compressor.

A whole lot of new features also take care of nasty SUV body roll, cornering confidence,

What I like
Electric A/C compressor lets you sit in the car cooling off without having to run the engine.

Electric AWD keeps me planted even when im powering through corners - lovely stable feel and low bodyroll for a SUV.

Ample Torque to feel like you're in the cousin CRV.

Lovely seating position and advanced cabin feel.

What I do not like
Foglamps were not bright enough for Genting Fogs. Need to replace them

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Honda Vezel Hybrid Trust Motoring Edition
4 stars - based on 7 reviews