Related Articles

BMW is Official Car for Singapore Airshow

Sheer driving pleasure at BMW Performance Fest

How does VES affect your car-buying decision?

Run-flat technology tyres myths busted


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - BMW 5 Series Sedan 520i Luxury (A)
15 Jan 2018  |  BMW Reviews
The base model BMW 520i offers everything a buyer could want from a 5 Series - plush comfort, handsome styling, generous space and a premium badge.
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
BMW 5 Series Sedan 530i vs Lexus GS Turbo GS200t vs Volvo S90 T5
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of BMW 5 Series Sedan
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
12 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
2.5/5 Engine Performance
4/5
9 out of 12 (75%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

12 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
brocks
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
7 points
2 forum posts Joined on 28-Jun-2019
Technology, luxury, stateliness.  Posted on 26 Aug 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This is my daily driver and I simply love it.

The quality of the interior is much better than its competitors, with soft touch materials on almost every surface, and the interior design closely resembling that of the 7 series. Idrive 6.0 is also much easier to use, along with the epic 360 degree camera system, gesture control, and the convenient BMW connected drive app. The display key also makes it stand out from its competitors as it is unique and it tells you useful information about the car.

The styling of the car is modern and very handsome (looks more elegant and stately with the Luxury Line, and it looks more sporty and aggressive with the M sport trim.) However, the rear can resemble the previous generation F10 from a distance away due to the similarly shaped 'L' tail lights and silhouette. But overall BMW did a fantastic job updating the car's styling and giving it a very modern look. I found the F10 looking quite dated when next to the G30 on the road.

The car is extremely compliant over bumps and has just the right amount of firmness for a slightly sporty drive, yet it still manages to be comfortable.
Power delivery from the 2L I4 engine is great, as the high torque figures help with acceleration and the engine is also very refined.

Gear changes are smooth and barely noticeable in automatic mode, the ZF 8 speed gearbox is fantastic.

What I like
Technology

Appearance

Tranmission

Refined 2L I4

What I do not like
Prices are steep, so PI might be more popular for some people

Rear might look like an F10 from a distance away

Wasteland
Neutral Newbie
13 reviews
12 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Jul-2019
Test drive review  Posted on 18 Jul 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the 530i, it's a very capable car with very good stability, comfort, quietness and power.

I am especially impressed by the quiet drive and the power it excerts when you need it for lane mergering and over taking.

What I like
-Spacious
- exterior looks very nice
- interior finishing is good
- powerful engine
- 360 full camera for easier parking
- soft closing
- seat belt will tighten after fastening

What I do not like
-Reliability of BMW, well known for issues and high cost of repairs
- Fat profit margins for BMW Asia and PML
- PML post service support capability

bo rui
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 19-Nov-2013
Smart Executive Sedan with many high tech features  Posted on 17 Nov 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This car is a highly capable executive saloon that's sportier than a Mercedes E-Class and comes with more high-tech features compared to its rivals such as Audi A6. In conclusion, the 5 Series offers a better mix of practicality, efficiency, comfort and techy features than almost any other saloon on the market

What I like
The smart exterior styling can also be seen in its cabin. It does not seem as elegant as an E-Class' magnificent interior but everything feels plush, solid and upmarket although the only cheap plastics are found deep in the door bins.

From the very comfortable driver's seat you can easily reach all the key controls and BMW's latest iDrive infotainment system really is the best in the business. It comes with satellite-navigation as standard and now sports a second digital display for the driver instead of old-fashioned dials.

It's quick and easy to navigate your way through its numerous menus using the knob on the centre console, and you can also use voice and gesture control features. The latter might be a bit gimmicky but overall the system itself is far easier to use than what you'll get in either an E-Class or A6.

There's loads of headroom in the front and enough seat adjustment for six-footers to get comfortable. Unfortunately, lumbar support for the driver and passenger will set you back £225, even on top-spec cars.

Space in the back is nearly as generous as in the front. Your passengers get a decent amount of headroom and plenty of knee and legroom - even for tall people. There's more shoulder room for carrying three abreast than you'll find in an E-Class but the BMW's rather hard, raised middle seat and huge lump in the floor mean the Mercedes will still be more comfortable with three in the back.

Although it's a big car, the BMW 5 Series is easy to drive. You get a surprisingly good view out through its large windows

What I do not like
There isn't a hint of cost-cutting anywhere in the BMW 5 Series' smart, businesslike cabin but it can't match the E-Class's interior for outright desirability

The only annoying blind spot is where the windscreen meets the front door.

feliciaaa
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
4 points
1 forum posts Joined on 17-Apr-2018
Bmw f10  Posted on 17 Apr 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Best car i ever owned . The boot is spacious and the handling is prefect.. . It never disappoint for someone who likes speed

What I like
the stability is more than words

Rronnie
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
12 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-Jul-2006
Crazy prices and crazy spreads  Posted on 18 Sep 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
While there is nothing wrong with the car itself, the price that PML is charging for a 2L entry level 5-series is outrageous. While it has been rebranded as 530, the engine is no more powerful than the 528 it replaces.
there is a 60% Premium over the basic cost of the car. And in times of falling COE, I believe that there is a big disparity between the price paid and the "Car" Itself.
Having said that, it seems be the trend nowadays. The big boys are all charging 60-70% Premium over the basic cost. Don't believe me, check the pricing sheet for yourself.

What I like
The engine, the cabin space, the exterior design

What I do not like
The PRICE, the PRICE and the PREMIUM PML is charging

edmundho22
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 09-Sep-2015
BMW  Posted on 16 Sep 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The new BMW have problem with I DRIVE map posted code in singapore the whole screen with black out when key the some location . BMW cant give me the answer when can they fix the I DRIVE

What I like
the drive

What I do not like
I DRIVE

VinW
Clutched
11 reviews
35 points
3 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2015
Hugely impressive all-rounder  Posted on 31 Aug 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I test drove the top-spec 540i model, with M Sport body kit. It actually looks quite aggressive, but still subtle enough to be discreet and not too sporty looking.

The interior is seriously impressive. Has almost all the features of the 7 Series, including Gesture Control and Remote Parking function, which is very cool.

Like almost all BMWs, the new 5 Series is very nice to drive. The car is quite big but it handles very well, quite nimble and light-footed in fact.

What I like
Impressive spec and features
Very nice to drive for an executive sedan
Subtle but aggressive looks with the M Sport kit

What I do not like
Starting to become a bit too common on the roads

Destiny_Benyhaha
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
17 points
2 forum posts Joined on 01-Apr-2011
AD has gone mad  Posted on 18 Jul 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Its a good car, but fug me dead, 280 for the base model. Has the ad really gone mad, that is ridiculously priced. 30 more than the merc

What I like
bold pricing, really bold

asiaroadwarrior
Clutched
3 reviews
38 points
17 forum posts Joined on 13-Jan-2015
The best 5 Series yet  Posted on 15 May 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Ive had 530i M-Sport on the road for a few weeks now. It takes some time to get accustomed to a new car, so I gave it some time to settle in.

It is really a drivers car. I looked at the E-Class, A6 before choosing. I didn't like to E-Class. The A6 is a stunning car but it's almost end of life and definitely needs a refresh.

Although I paid too much, I settled for the new 5 Series. I thought this will last me for at least 5 or 6 years now, so getting the G30 now gives this car some life.

I love the front end of this car. Great looking car. The back end is somewhat boring to me., I felt they could have made it look a little more different to the previous 5 Series. Although I do like the LED lights and their design.

The M-Sport has a lovely interior. I think the seats are very comfortable and although the interior is extremely high quality, I think its does need to be refreshed. It's updated from the previous version but it is already looking a bit 'dated'.

The M-Sport has some nice additions especially the wheels, Head up Display and improved sound system. Not essential but nice additions and seeing I am paying so much anyway, a little more for the things I like isn't too bad. I have become very used to a Head Up display.

The iDrive V6 (latest version) is very nice too. I really like how configurable it is and the layout and different ways of doing the input is great. The BMW Connect drive is also very useful. Locations can be searched on line which makes the GPS very useful compared to previous BMW GPS version. Finally full post code lookup with live traffic.

The auto park feature (which I seldom use anyway) is a very nice implementation. No need to even change gears, just keep a button depressed and the car will park completely by itself. Nice. The 360 degree camera is not only an amazing piece of technology but also very helpful when parking. The ability to check car status and location on line from your phone is also a feature that I didn't think I would use, but I do and I think it's great. The large display key is impressive but frankly I think it's quite useless.

The car is extremely smooth and amazingly quiet. It's got everything automatic that you can want but for the price it's laking some technology in my view.

What I like
Drive characteristics - It really is a drivers car

It's a handsome car with good looks.

It's so quiet and very smooth

Very powerful 2L engine.

Not much noticable Turbo lag

iDrive is the best in the business (I think this is V6)

It's better than the E-Class & A6 so I would say its category leading

Digital display and digital dashboard

What I do not like
Too similar to the previous 5 Series

Dated interior. By the time the G30 is at end of life this interior will be very old

For a car that is frankly over priced, some features such as adaptive cruise control and blind spot monitoring are missing. City Safety features should be mandatory in a car of this price.

Over price even for Singapore standards.

AaronMing
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-May-2017
Big car, decent power for 2L, terrible reliability  Posted on 12 May 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 2/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Coming from an 10 years old Audi A8, the technologies found in the new 5 series are cool- but are they functional?

with Japanese car design inspired AC vents, it does not feel luxurious.

It feels larger and more handsome than the previous model.

Ride quality is decent for a mid class car, but poorer than my 10 years old audi.

engine note sounds raw and unappealing, but power is good.

handling is sharp for a large car.

What I like
new technologies in the car- a lot of them still unknown to me

as large as (or even larger) than my 2006 audi a8

comfortable for a mid class car

great power and response from a tiny 2.0L engine

What I do not like
ride quality- poorer than my 10 years old audi a8 and the new e class

poor status- bmw brand is often associated with the less cultured individuals in Singapore

interior- does not come with real leather seats or dashboard. FAKE leather!

Reliability- key FOB jams from time to time.
My car seems to make a grinding metal noise upon cold start??
will get this issue looked into soon.

its only been a few days, and I am thinking of getting rid of this car

stockkid81
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
5 points
0 forum posts Joined on 29-Oct-2015
Best Car in it's class  Posted on 19 Mar 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I have test drive the G30 - 530 M Sport model and the Lux model. In the end i have decided to purchase the M sport model. Reason being the more sportier bodykit with a headsup diplay and M rim and M BBk and sports seats.

Also the M sports model allow u to choose the Bluestone colour which is a new colour.

This car also comes with an extended warrenty of 5 years which means i should be able to ride for the whole of the G30 life cycle which is about 7 years.

This car noise insulation is much better than my current car which is a F30. The connected drive make this car even better . More info on it here

http://www.Bmw-asia.Com/en/topics/fascination-bmw/connected-drive/overview.Html?Gclid=CPu2qLu44tICFYGavAod73AFrw

Overall if you are able to drive more than 5 years on this car i think this car offers some good value as you will not keep changing car as frequent. Once you have a car which is so much higher in technology versus the same class competitors it is hard to keep changing cars.

What I like
Heads up display
Connected drive - real time traffic information , remote services , road planning by 24 x 7 concierge services
nice space and cabin design
fully digital speedometer

What I do not like
the prices - (it is only worth it if you will be driving this car for more than 5 years).

Wolfverine
2Fast2Furious
10 reviews
22,488 points
797 forum posts Joined on 03-Dec-2005
Always engaging to drive a BMW  Posted on 19 Mar 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The ride and comfort level of the new G30 530 is good - planted but not overly harsh on the suspension. Cabin noise is kept to the minimal even when engine is revved hard. Handling is always a selling point for BMW and this 2l vehicle does not disappoint on this front. IMO, the styling and equipment level of the 530 will be made more complete with the M Sport variant - decent power and equipment level but not having to fork out more than $50k for an increment in OMV of only about $20k.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
BMW 5 Series Sedan
4 stars - based on 12 reviews