Related Articles

Turbocharged Harrier faces strong competition

2018 Mazda CX-9 receives a host of upgrades

Mazda CX-5 ups the ante

Goodyear's all-rounder - the Asymmetric 5


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Mazda CX-5 2.5 Super Luxury (A)
13 Sep 2017  |  Mazda Reviews
The Mazda CX-5 holds its own against more premium rivals, thanks to a refined cabin and a host of driver assistance features.
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Mazda CX-5 2.5 vs Toyota Harrier 2.0 vs Volkswagen Tiguan 2.0
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mazda CX-5
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
8 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4.5/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
8 out of 8 (100%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

8 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
qiming89
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Jun-2016
Best bang for bucks  Posted on 01 Jun 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Car comes with Android auto and auto carplay, 2L engine more than sufficient for urban driving. Interior is equivalent to Europeon cars. No complains.

What I like
Premium interior
Best looking exterior
Does not cost as much as common looking harrier and low powered CRV , not to mention Euro cars
Bose sound system
HUD
Android auto , apple carplay
Reverse cam
Great handling in corners
Accor member with 1 free night stay

What I do not like
FC
A paranomic roof will be nice

Superflyguy63
3rd Gear
1 reviews
280 points
27 forum posts Joined on 07-Feb-2019
Great Car  Posted on 07 Feb 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Took delivery early December. Chock full of features and interior has the luxury feel,and I have driven 3 Merc and a Bimmer,and not to manteion other continent broads before,this one is a definite value for money in terms of luxe feel and features( mine's a 2.0 Premium) Handles well and rides comfortably for my family of 4. Only drawback I can tell is the boot space or the shortfall of it. Ohhhh....And one more thing, personally I think it's the handsomest SUV in the market......That's why I bought it! :-)

qiming89
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Jun-2016
Almost Premium  Posted on 26 Jan 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Have been driving the CX-5 2.0 Premium for a month now. The entire car gives a premium feel compared to most cars in it's class.

What I like
Premium feel all around
Good handling
Exterior styling outshine most cars in same segment
Get so much more (electric tailgate, HUD, etc) compared to an entry level Audi/BMW/Merc

What I do not like
Gear change timing
Brake can be sharper

jabsmat
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
1 forum posts Joined on 26-Dec-2018
Upmarket Jap car that won't break the bank!  Posted on 23 Jan 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Recently took delivery on a 2.0 Premium in November, and have been driving it for a while.

Ride is stable, but usual SUV feel. Soft suspension to cushion some bumps, but results in quite abit of body roll, when pushing car into a corner. Brakes also do not bite as well, might need to upgrade to aftermarket ones for a better feel.

Interior is plush, seats in Mazda fashion are thick and comfortable, but results in slightly less space as compared to other mainstream jap cars. Rear seats are more of a 2+1 seat rather than 3 seats. Significant raised middle block in the rear results in less space for middle passenger even though this is a 2WD.
Infotainment system is easy to use and has no lag. Buttons are plush and feel premium.

What I like
Interior design and comfort
Infotainment ease of use
Exterior design

What I do not like
Soft suspension
Brakes not as strong

0wnage
3rd Gear
2 reviews
443 points
357 forum posts Joined on 31-Aug-2011
Most exciting SUV to drive in its class  Posted on 08 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Mazda's new KODO design language has been around for some time and it looks great on the 2nd generation CX-5 especially in this new Red colour! Having driven the 1st generation CX-5 myself, this CX-5 is still as engaging and responsive to drive with an improvement in NVH. It's handling is also known to be one of the best amount similar class of SUVs. Only downside is its lack of power (no turbo) unlike the Harrier and CRV. The CX-5 will definitely be my next car although I hope a turbo variant will be available then.

Trent895
2nd Gear
6 reviews
108 points
12 forum posts Joined on 08-May-2016
Very good built but expensive  Posted on 04 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I test drove the 2.5 top version and the build of this car reaches entry luxury standard. Very impressive indeed. The cabin is a wonderful place to be in, although leg space is slightly tight. The engine is ok, but it needs to rev to get going. Can feel tiring listening to the engine zoom zoom all the time.

What I like
Beautifully appointed cabin and overall looks.

What I do not like
Top-spec version price also reaches entry luxury car price level. A turbo charged engine will suit the car better.

Mervynwm
3rd Gear
114 reviews
278 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
The simple and refined CX5.  Posted on 02 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Tested the 2.0L Premium sometime ago.

From the exterior looks, nothing to shout about or even make a head turner to this as the design is plain simple and looks the same small size suv or cross over like the qashqai or niro type.

Interior is the premium feel that Mazda gives to almost all the models they offer here. The refinement of the leather and the gadgets in it. All placements are easily accessible and user friendly.

The drive....Moving off is slightly slow compared to harrier (agent and pi), x-trail and the non turbo forester.

Gear changes are ok and smooth but when you engaged sports mode (I tried twice) was slow in reacting like “Huh am I in sports mode ?”. First time in traffic light stop to engage before move off and another during drive and engage.

I must say Mazda’S handling is good if you forgo the sports mode slowness and the nimbleness of it as a crossovers or suv too.

The gadgets like land depart assist and blind sport assist are common in makes nowadays which I shall not go further too.

Overall if you are the one looking for usual drive and ok to part with $150k, then get the premium one than the standard model which I do see the price and the necessity to have a 2.5L is not there which you have other larger size suv at 2.0L to consider than this.

What I like
Premium interior feel
Electric tailgate in premium
Good handling

What I do not like
Price
Slowness in sports mode
At times slow gear changes

ilovetoyotacars
Clutched
12 reviews
30 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2015
Good looking, improved handling and interior  Posted on 04 Aug 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The CX-5 is a handsome crossover and doesn't look like a typical 'unker' SUV. But on top of that, it's got some things going for it on the inside as well.

The interior isn't as spacious as before but cabin design looks way more modern. It also feels more refined and build quality is decent.

The SUV handles itself pretty well and is quite fun to drive. However, it might feel a little lacklustre at times.

What I like
Handsome styling
Modern interior
Decent handling

What I do not like
Could do with a bit more punch

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Mazda CX-5
4 stars - based on 8 reviews