Toyota Harrier

   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Toyota Harrier 2.0 Premium (A)
06 Jun 2014  |  Toyota Reviews
Our colleague gets up close and personal with the latest Toyota Harrier. Hear what he has to say, as he takes the once wildly successful car out for a drive.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota Harrier
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
22 Reviewers
4.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
4.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
4/5
22 out of 22 (100%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review

22 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Micko8
Premium User Micko8
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
14 points
0 forum posts Joined on 10-Aug-2005
Nice and Spacious Car  Posted on 02 Dec 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
After driving past 3 Korean cars, I decided to switch to a Japanese car and I would say it's the best car I have driven so far. I was deciding whether to go back to Korean cars and after comparing size and price, it was almost the same and decided to switch. The first look at the car when I visited the PI showroom was very tempting. The car was huge and spacious which was comparable to the size of the Hyundai Sonata which I was driving. After reading the reviews in this forum, I decided to go ahead and buy it. Driving was easy for me as I was already driving a car of such size.

What I like
1. Very spacious.
2. Back seats with aircon.
3. Beautiful interior and exterior.
4. Good pick up compared to my previous car.
5. The 2017 model comes with spare tyre.

What I do not like
1. The smart Start/Stop is quite a nuisance and have to disable it whenever the car starts.
2. Manual and console all Japanese.
3. No GSP navigator, have to buy a add-on.

Dxyong
Premium User Dxyong
3rd Gear
1 reviews
490 points
86 forum posts Joined on 03-Jul-2007
Stylist SUV, very refined  Posted on 20 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Just got my car yesterday and driven for a few hours. I am very happy with my purchase. Just feel pity that Toyota hasn't been able to offer this fine car to the mass, they have a spade 2 (if you play Chor Dai Di) but refuse to dis out, at the end they are loosing a lot of market share in this segment. BM do not understand the Singapore market, Singaporean want style, comfort and luxury, not raw engine, in this case RAV4 and NX is definitely the wrong choice they have chosen. Just look at their present on the road vs Harrier despite the risks that we have to go through with PI, people still take the plunge and it's rewarding if the deal gone through smoothly.

What I like
It is very well put together car. The ride quality is definitely better than my previous Wish, cornering is firm although not as agile, cabin is so much more silence. The shocks absorb the bump and pot holes very well that on numerous occasions, I purposely ramp through them just to validate :p The passenger definitely benefited more in this car.

Although they share similar engine (Harrier has valvematic, the BM 2.0 Wish still doesn't at that time), their output characteristics is very different. That probably due to the iCVT vs the 4 speed torque converter. Pickup is slower(the Wish is much more responsive, something like drive by wire :lol:), need to change my driving behaviour too, e.g. let the car move a second or 2 slower when gets off traffic light. I am still running in the engine and haven't ramp them beyond 2500rpm though, so it could be very different until my next oil change. Also the car is very frugal despite weighted almost 300kg more. From the trip computer, I got about 14km+/L on 70% city driving, the Wish usually managed 12km+

What I do not like
Blind spot due to bigger A pillar, need to be more careful when making turn. Too many electronics and buttons that I am still getting use to. Older people like my dad will be overwhelmed and I don't think he can even start the car and get it going :lol: Oh, the Stop start is super annoying, I barely driven from Ubi, Thomson, Balestier and Bukit Timah, already cannot take it. Definitely need to disable it in order to enjoy the car properly.

Flying_genie
5th Gear
1 reviews
1,591 points
600 forum posts Joined on 10-Feb-2007
Comfortable, steady drive  Posted on 08 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Having driven over 6000km on the Harrier, there is still a feeling of satisfaction. Great interior with a sense of luxury. Steady, graceful drive with 3 engine power modes to choose from : Eco, Normal, Power. It's the perfect car for someone looking for a sense of comfort and grace. Wrong car if looking for power and torque.

What I like
Luxurious interior. Beautiful lines.

What I do not like
Large door opening to enable entry/exit. Difficulty in opening door in tight space.

EagleSG
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
23 points
0 forum posts Joined on 09-Jul-2016
Most stylish and luxurious SUV in its class with Toyota reliability  Posted on 12 Oct 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
After driving it for 2 months, I would say that the Harrier is excellent. There is ample power for pick up even though the engine is only 2.0L, and the ECO mode saves lots of fuel when I am on the expressway. The exterior is stylish and sleek, without being too sharp like the Lexus NX. The interior is beautifully crafted with side doors and dashboard wrapped in leather, seats are soft with stylish fabric and comfortable. The steering is also very easy to manoeuvre. The height is just nice, giving a clear view of the road yet not being too high for elderly to get in. The tail light is very beautiful and looks like Audi's. The Harrier is definitely value for money.
The Elegance is good enough for me as I do not need power tailgate and Lane Departure Assist (Premium).

What I like
-Stylish and sleek exterior
-Luxurious interior with cool blue ambient lightning
-Ample power
-Good fuel consumption for its size
-Toyota reliability
-Plenty of space at the back and in the boot
-Bright LED headlights, beautiful LED tail lights
-Smooth steering, with just the right weight
-Modern wood trim, unlike Camry's old-fashioned wood trim
-Controls are easy to operate
-Ample features

What I do not like
-Not very good sound insulation
-Poor stock audio system
-Small 17" stock rims (Elegance)
-Piano black panels are dust magnets
-Touch panel controls a little too sensitive
-No rain sensing wipers
-Irritating Smart Stop system
-Air-con not cold enough to cool the big cabin, rear air-con is too weak
-Empty side panels if you do not install the Alpine entertainment system

willy7300
Premium User willy7300
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 04-Oct-2016
Impressive car!  Posted on 04 Oct 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Collected the car last week. First time that I own a SUV and have been enjoying the comfort and smooth drive. The eco mode saves on fuel while switching to power mode packs in a punch to the speed! Highly recommend to anyone who is thinking of buying a SUV.

Was very cautious while selecting the PI. Finally decided on ABWIN, very happy to be served by Alan who is excellent in his service, integrity and follow up in satisfying the customer's expectations. Car was delivered on the date as promised.

What I like
- steady and comfort ride
- fuel consumption
- luxury look of interior
- Moon roof
- spacious boot
- auto sensor lock/unlock

What I do not like
- Dust is more prominent on the black interior
- No special holder/compartment for sunglasses and coins

JoeWongFong
Clutched
1 reviews
25 points
3 forum posts Joined on 16-Jun-2016
What a beauty, power and comfort!  Posted on 20 Jun 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have been driving SUV for 9+ years. First time own a Harrier and it exceeds my expectation of an SUV in many ways. Comfort, safety, luxe, design and features. Love the steady and strong feel yet very maneuverable. Large and spacious yet does not appear bulky.

Like the ECO mod, very efficient petrol consumption though a little lack on the pick up. There is a Power mode to save the day should you need safe and clear overtaking.

Parallel Importer: Bought from ABWIN CAR, I faced some challenges as there were resignations in the company and my deal was not looked after appropriately. Received sub-standard accessories installation on many areas and when I asked for rectification work they did not respond. So beware which PI you choose to buy from.

What I like
> Design
> Comfortable and quiet cabin
> Electric seat
> Features i.e. eco mode, power mode, cruise control
> Petrol Efficiency
> Pano roof
> Powerful and efficient engine
> Spacious boot space

What I do not like
> No spare tyre
> Jap language dashboard display
> Not much compartment to place items in the cabin

kingken
Premium User kingken
2nd Gear
1 reviews
122 points
117 forum posts Joined on 28-Mar-2016
1st Luxury car i owned!!  Posted on 15 Jun 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
1st time owing and driving a SUV and it is very comfortable feeling as compared to my previous civic.
Though the size is bigger, driving it is rather easy and the steering is very light.
Yet to try eco and power mode as just collected last weekend.

What I like
Nice interior and the insulation is good with keyless, auto tailgate and full leather sit.

What I do not like
Should have more compartments and No panorama car camera to aid parking,

coldiee
Premium User coldiee
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 05-May-2016
Premium Japanese SUV  Posted on 08 May 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Just collected the car 2 days ago for my dad who's overseas. Made use of this time to test drive the new car around during the weekend lol. The ride is indeed really comfortable as per many new harrier owners have reviewed. Although the doors still feels lighter than other conti cars, however within the cabin, the experience is totally different in a very nice way. Although too early to say, the FC really does seem economical based on the travelling and the km/l shown on the screen.
ECO mode does feel really slow but it's actually ok if you're totally not in a rush and just wanna cruise around and smell the flowers.
Normal mode feels just nice for an everyday drive IMO.
Power Mode does rev up the RPM effortlessly when tested. (as the car is still running in, i did not want to test it further and only tested it up to 3000rpm)

What I like
- Comfortable and premium ride (i think the passengers would enjoy it even more)
- Interior has a very premium feel all around.
- Gear change is really smooth and cabin is quiet however you can still hear the tyre roll depending on how rough the road is
- The relatively large boot space (no problem with 3 - 4 golf bags)
- The sound system provided is definitely above average and well balanced - with nice strong bass and non harsh tweeters.
- Air con is really cold and cools the car quickly.
- Electric tailgate.
- Automatic windows all around.
- Safety features as well as other additional bells and whistles that came with it.

What I do not like
- Could have more compartments within the car.
- Long nose and weird front grille.
- No spare tyre, but it does comes with a tyre repair kit. This in turn however allows for more barang barang to be thrown into the spare tyre compartment as it adds to quite a bulk of additional boot space.
- Tonneau cover does not come as standard.
- Centre console is fingerprint and dust magnet.
- Driver console in Japanese.
- Unable to open all windows with remote control (unless i'm doing it wrong)
- Car has to be unlocked first before the remote can open the tailgate, and while tailgate is opened, remote is unable to lock the doors.

Jq1988
Premium User Jq1988
5th Gear
1 reviews
1,241 points
783 forum posts Joined on 09-Aug-2011
Marvelous yet unbelievable SUV on the road  Posted on 22 Mar 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Been driving many Japanese cars and contis for the passed 20 years. This is the first time owning SUV. The feeling was anxious and disturb when deciding to switch from sedan to SUV...Never regret since driving it, wonderful and safer feel when hit down the road, especially going up North. This SUV is going to stay long, bro!

What I like
Reliable engine and insulation. Awesome and fierce interior and exterior look. Updated gadget and technology.

What I do not like
Speed limiter...no more!

stickymud
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
4 points
4 forum posts Joined on 18-Jan-2016
Beautiful car with quality functions  Posted on 29 Jan 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Owned the premium style mauve for a week now. Was driving honda fit before. Overall an excellent ride.

Size difference is significant. Exterior is well designed. The car commands a certain presence of authority on the road. The front is rather lengthy as compared to my previous car, need a bit of getting used to.

Driving experience is superb, the insulation is extremely well done, can barely hear anything on the outside. Suspension superb, partly because its new. The car offers 3 modes, eco, normal & power mode. Eco mode will provide slightly better FC, however acceleration can be rather sluggish. Chose to stuck with normal mode after awhile, FC not much difference. Lane detection feature is fun to have but not necessary. Auto start-stop system is enabled everytime the car is turned on. Cant disable it to be OFF everytime I start the car.

Interior looks luxurious with lots of leather stitching. Materials and design quite similar to toyota camry, overall look is very classy. Compartments behind the gearbox could have been done better though, quite hard to access the space infront of the armrest compartment. Prefer the vezel arrangement of the compartments. Driver & passenger seats are very spacious, so is the boot. Auto tailgate is a plus. Luggage can slide around in the boot however, due to some plastic materials, hence had to get a boot mat.

Dashboard is in Japanese with very few basic english words. Just have to get by..

Overall, its an excellent ride.

What I like
- Fuel consumption
- Sound insulation
- Spacious & smooth ride
- Keyless feature
- Auto-tailgate
- Beautiful exterior
- 2 Memory seat

What I do not like
- Positioning of interior compartments could be better
- Cant disable auto start-stop during startup
- Dashboard in Japanese
- Sunroof play awhile quite pointless
- 2 stock rear passenger windows need change to fit requirement
- No panorama car camera to aid parking

BenChoo69
Premium User BenChoo69
3rd Gear
1 reviews
266 points
515 forum posts Joined on 25-Jul-2014
My 3Rd Harrier Premium Leather  Posted on 05 Nov 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
My previous 2 gen Harriers are 2.4 GL . And now my 3rd gen Harrier is beautiful. Interior so much different from the previous 2 gens. Dash 2 tones and stands out. With so many features like the sonar cruise - pre crash , LDA , full front and rear sensors , memory seat and many more.
Ride was as smooth as previous Harriers . The most spacious SUV in it's class. As ample legroom enough if front seats are pushed all the way back.
Boot space too spacious, you can put in a few luggage without problem.
Trusted the Harriers and that is why from the first generation till today the 3rd generation.

What I like
The Fc was so much better than the previous 2.4 Harrier. With my 19 inch I still managed to get about 13km/l
Air-con control and rest of the features are mostly touch screen.
Auto dim on rear mirror a +
The front grille too a +
The surround senors a + too ( indicators on screen )

What I do not like
Panaroof cant be open fully like previous 2nd gen Harrier.
Do not comes with original Head Unit.

alym
Premium User alym
1st Gear
12 reviews
90 points
5 forum posts Joined on 08-Dec-2013
Luxury Japanese SUV on the road  Posted on 17 Oct 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Stable, firm and comfortable SUV that is spacious and business class leg room. Even without aircon, the noise level of car is well insulated.

Typical Toyota driving experience - fuss free, straight forward and no frills, yet reliable.

What I like
exterior
- exterior curve and shape appelling yet not overly done
- keyless START/STOP
- clean and sleek look on the front and back lighting

interior
- good leather fitting, as i got mine customised to the colour that i want
- excellent leg room front and back - business class alike style
- back aircon vent available
- 3 point safety belt for middle role
- huge boot space - probably can fit 3 bicycles at the same time
- display panel straight forward, no fuss
- at least the "plastic" stuff around the interior of car is not made of cheap plastic

Drive
- firm and stabile
- econony fuel consumption if ECO turn on

PI
- honest, upfront, trasparent, no frills
- yet to experience their servicing workshop hopefully good stuff too

What I do not like
exterior
- front nose of car is long, and big, but luckily it is not too disproportion from overall car size

interior
- no spare tyre
- no cruise control as i bought the basic version
- no reverse and front sensor - car quite long can be difficult to manage
- car manual japanese version
- display panel wordings in Japanese - you need to figure this out speciali if there are warning signs

Drive
- when ECO mode turn on, tapping of break for car to stop engine not so smooth

Others
- pay extra $$$ if you choose certain car colour i.e. White, etc.
- CEVS applicable wef 1 Jul 2015

PI
- no typical car show-room services experience
- no test drive allowed, see only
- not so strutured in way of handling customer i.e. delivery timeline, expectation management
- no brochure nor specs of car when you first purchase, find out from internet

Kinco135
Premium User Kinco135
Clutched
1 reviews
46 points
51 forum posts Joined on 01-Jul-2007
Most value for money and feels premium  Posted on 25 Aug 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I own a Toyota Harrier Elegance for 2 weeks. The drive is good and it's quiet. Fuel consumption is at least the same or even better then my 2005 Altis. Was rather skeptical with the fuel consumption at first. After driving for 1000km, I have both 14km/l on both pump with 60 percent highway and 40 percent normal road.

What I like
Everything. Elegance is good enough as i do not need to pre crash or lane departure.

What I do not like
Have to find the right PI with the right package. Finally found 1 which can deliver within 2 weeks without a premium on existing stock. Wonder whether the start stop on engine can last or not?

CNelson
1st Gear
1 reviews
58 points
33 forum posts Joined on 17-Mar-2015
First time owning a SUV, and already loving it  Posted on 31 Jul 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Had the new Toyota Harrier Premium Adv* for the past 4 months

This is the first time owning a SUV
And already enjoying every moment i am in this car

The look definitely is better than any other Japanese SUVs, and putting itself on par or even than many Continental SUVs
And with a reliability of a Toyoto !!

Performs like a 2.5/3.0L vehicle !! Impressive !!
And the gadgets are top notch... Sunroof, factory tinted windows Electric Seat, Auto Cruise, LDA, Sonar sensor, reverse camera and many more...

Would not hesitate to recommend this ride to anyone looking for a 2.0L SUV

What I like
Sunroof
Sonar sensor
5 person comfortably
The Height, can see further
Stability, heavy car

What I do not like
None

Allblack
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
5 points
6 forum posts Joined on 25-Feb-2004
Harrier Gs  Posted on 20 Jun 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I had just been driving my new Harrier Gs for only 8 days... And i been loving it since! Ride height is good! Driving is Firm on 19" Stock Rim, It weights disappointing at 26.3kg with tyres & 14.3kg without. It's from Enkei but too heavy for my liking that's why i'm changing. The headlamp is super bright that i'm worried that it blind the other drivers. Red colour lowered spring with TRD red brake pads on front and back. Extral Lower arm braces for stablility. This model looks slimer & trim than the Standard Harrier. I'm discovering more features everyday as i drive...

What I like
I like the Sporty body kit, it looks very Handsome! Attracts lots of attention on the road & when i stop many drivers came to ask me when am I driving as they can't tell from the front what car is it.

I like the Power mode... RPM rev easily, at traffic light can beat most NA cars. Normal mode need to get use to... pick up from stand still is slow but once the car pick up momentum on Highway it's really easy to cruise & fuel consumption is good! Economic mode... off since day 1. (Most car on Eco mode cannot pickup - Even BMW 7s)

Big interior room space! Boot space is BIG! can load several golf bags... most conti make can't at the same price range.

The Sports seat is also very comforable with lumbar support (Adjustable)

What I do not like
1. 2 Rear passenger windows has to be change to pass VITAS.
2. LED at front bumper is not bright enough.
3. Interior Lighting could be better, espicially the Gear stick and Touch panel area.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review
Toyota Harrier 4.5 stars - based on 22 reviews