Hyundai Elantra

   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Hyundai Elantra 1.6 GLS Elite (A)
03 Jun 2016  |  Hyundai Reviews
The all new Hyundai Elantra boasts an impressive spec sheet, and has its sights set on becoming the best-selling model in Singapore.
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Chevrolet Cruze 1.6 vs Hyundai Elantra 1.6 vs Nissan Sylphy 1.6
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Hyundai Elantra
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
15 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
14 out of 15 (93.3%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review

15 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
thesiger
Premium User thesiger
Clutched
1 reviews
42 points
35 forum posts Joined on 09-Jun-2015
Value for money car  Posted on 20 Oct 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Have been driving this car for 2 weeks now. Here are my personal opinions of the vehicle having drove a Toyota Altis and a Honda Civic before. Bought a Hyundai this time to try and because the package offered was extremely attractive.

What I like
1. Auto side mirrors and door handle lights as you approach the vehicle
2. Apple Car Play
3. Spacious cabin to sit 3 full grown adults at the back
4. Price & package from Komoco Motors (warranty and servicing)
5. Vanity mirrors come with lights (driver and front passenger)
6. Smart Trunk
7. You only need very minimum effort to close the trunk
8. Rear passengers aircon

What I do not like
1. Drove the car out on Day 1 and there was a very loud mechanical sound when I was on the slope and trying to accelerate upwards.
2. Halogen headlight and halogen fog lights. It made the car look superbly ugly
3. Brake Dust which accumulates on the front tires.
4. The Apple Carplay hung on me a few times. Thank God that there was bluetooth audio (as a backup)
5. Door pockets were very small. unable to fit a normal size organiser.
6. Fuel efficiency. I am a very light footer and I could only clock about 12km/l.
7. Squeaking sound as your windscreen wipers wipe your screen
8. Aircon is not as cold as a Toyota or a Honda
9. Plastic dashboards and the sides of the door.

Hondao
Clutched
1 reviews
37 points
58 forum posts Joined on 19-May-2002
Quiet and comfort ride but Hope FC is better  Posted on 12 Aug 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Own this car for abt 3month and the model I owned is Elite which is the last batch and comes with blind spot detection, ventilated seat. Initially, intend to go for Kia K3 sport but honestly, what attracts me to this car mainly is because of the low-interest rate(1.98%) and additional trade in value for my COE car which all other dealers only give me based on paper value.

This car comes with almost everything smart boot, BSD, cruise control, colored cluster, auto dimming rear view mirror, keyless entry but wish that it could come with paddle shifter, sunroof and an infotainment which support android auto and carplay.
The HU that comes with this car is not very stable but the speaker come with good bass and clarity but you'll need to play with the equalizer setting to fully bring out the effect.

Do not expect a good FC for this car because it's a very heavy car. Average FC is from 10km/l to 11.5km/l. My driving condition is 80% City and 20%HW.

What I like
1. Driving feel
2. Packed feature
3. Quiet
4. Keyless entry

What I do not like
1. FC is poor 10km/l to 11.5Km/l
2. Power of the car
3. People will ask you why you bought this car
4. Unstable HU and doesn't come with AA or carplay
5. Halogen light, should come with HID
6. No sunroof, paddle shifter

Pocus
NOS-ed
15 reviews
12,380 points
4939 forum posts Joined on 30-Aug-2004
Best budget Car  Posted on 07 Jul 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 2/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Usually when you look into Korean car, you have budget in mind as Korean cars like Hyundai and kia usually caters for the car owners how are more prudent. Having said, Korean cars are not all about budget and no frills as their higher spec models like the Veloster or Tucson have proven to be quality products. Having lesson learnt from many generations or models, Hyundai have earned itself a place among the top Japanese makers in terms of quality.

But we are not compare it with the Japanese this time. My review is for the budget in mind and more importantly, how it fairs against it's sportier looking sibling, the Kia K3.

Exterior
========
In this incarnation, Hyundai maintains it's reserved and more mature looks. Compared to it's older MD lines, the current Elantra projects a classy aura that hints that it's all grown up. It follows a different direction from the K3, which maintain it's youthful and angular looks to project a sportier look for a sedan. It really depends on your character and what you look in a car.

Interior
========
As both cars same the same platform, the interior size and dimension between the Elantra and K3 are fairly similar. The cabin is fair large and the rear have quite a legroom, although the roof feels abit low as with many sedans. I do not see much difference in the leather quality of the seats. The dashboard design of both car is in-line with their exterior, the Elantra being classy and luxurious while the Kia looks sporty and rugged. However don't expect too much from the feel as most trims are just fabricated hard plastic instead of their leathery or carbon fibre look.

What I like
Drive
=====
When you hit the wheels, thats where there are differences. Although both cars uses the same engine and gearbox of the same specs, I believe they are tuned differently.

The K3 feels more loud and rugged. The grunt of the engine sound sportier, although not as fast as it sounds. You can feel that the car is stiffing and handling is more tuned to sportiness. However there seems to be a flat spot mid rev where the engine drone is the loudest. This can be annoying to some as the mid rev is quite a common rev point during acceleration. You have to get used to that engine drone.

The Elantra is quieter and felt more refined. The engine grunt is reduced and I dun feel a sustantial flat spot mid rev like the Kia, however the engine tend to be less urgent at high rev. The handling of the car is softer to suit a low pace journey. In others words it is a boring drive with a steering that has average feedback. One thing that annoys me is the accelerator being too sensitive for my liking. Not I don't mean its more responsive, rather the pedal seems to confuse the gearbox to downshift too often thinking I want to go into a race when I simply only want to speed up abit. We have to get used to that.

On the whole, with that budget, it is an adequate b&b car I really can't complain since I have budget in mind.

What I do not like
Conlusion
=========
Both the Kia and Hyundai have their pros and cons so their are evenly matched. Usually in this case it is how the authorized dealer package the deal. For those who know me in the forum will know I'm not a car dealer and do not endorse any companies. The below comments are my own opinions at my personal capacity.

As of July 2017, Komoco beats C&C hands down in terms of overall package.

1) Do not let the list price of KIA deceive you, it is list around 4 to 5k below its Hyundai counterpart simply because it's a NON-GUARANTEED COE bidding as compared Hyundai's GUARANTEED COE bidding. If you ask Komoco for a NON-GURANTEED bidding, the Elantra will be equally priced as the K3.

2) KIA's listed price assumes you have a car to trade-in, so a trade-in discount is included. If you are a new car buyer you have to fork out a few Ks more. Hyundai's list price is NETT! Trade-in or not. New car buyers or not, that's the price you are getting.

3) In order to enjoy the listed price of the KIA, you have forced to take at least 50k loan for 6 yrs at 2.48%. If you don't take loan for take lower loan, they will add a few Ks to the price. For Hyundai, there is not loan limit. You can take 1 yr or 10k or even pay full cash, the price remains. If you take loan, at 1st week July 2017 there is a promo of 1.98% for 50k or more and 2.19% for loans less than 50k. It's still cheaper to take loans with Komoco

4) Both offer same 5 yrs warranty, KIA offer addition 5yrs engine warranty though.

5) K3 comes with 2 airbags and no ESP for it's cheaper trims, Elantra offers 6 airbags and ESP for all it's trims.

So it's no brainer which dealer is out there to carrot you and which is more sincere. For the Budget in mind it's no wonder I see fewer KIAs than Hyundais on the road.

fng72
Premium User fng72
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Aug-2014
Fantastic drive  Posted on 24 May 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The last Hyundai car I drove was an Accent, that was 10 years ago. Today I test drove the Elantra S. I was surprised. What a great difference. The drive was great. Powerful, responsive and stable. Back row airconditioning. Plus the seats have air conditioning!

What I like
Smooth drive, ventilated seats, good leg rooms.

Purplexus
2nd Gear
13 reviews
220 points
65 forum posts Joined on 08-Aug-2009
Packaged with high end options  Posted on 04 Apr 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
When looking for a replacement for a car we decided to use the 100K mark as the budget. The Elantra Elite fell in that range and I must say I like the shape and the features it offered from ventilated seats, BLIS, 6 airbags, all the safety software. However I did not like the look of the leather or its feel and the mickey mouse rims and nasty tires. The drive was adequate - not the most refined and the ride a little wallowy and hollow, but should be OK for smooth and well maintained SGP roads. However the features rival high end large sedans and for that it can be a possible option. Just need to change the rims and tires and add some sound proof material in doors and floor panels and I think the drive may be better.

What I like
Packed with relevant features.

6 airbags and safety features

Great styling

What I do not like
Stock wheels and tyres.

Leather rather rough and feels cheap.

Rather "tinny" body as compared to Japanese rivals.

SiLangKia
Premium User SiLangKia
2Fast2Furious
3 reviews
24,799 points
441 forum posts Joined on 25-Mar-2015
Pretty Decent BnB Car  Posted on 03 Feb 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was curious after reading so much about it and went down to take a look & testdrive

First impressions: Love the new design (subjective), feel that it looks quite well proportioned and styled. Interior wise, less stylish than than the exterior and pretty conventional in design but overall material quality is quite good for this class (other than non soft touch upper door panels, which I feel is obvious cost cutting).

Features: This is where this car really has a pull factor cos it's pretty much loaded to the gills, only missing HID / LED headlights and the safety assist systems (Lane assist etc) available overseas.

Price: You can get it lower than what is advertised as they have different pricing tiers and various discounts so while it isn't cheaper than the competition (depending on what you go for), it does come with alot of features that most don't have, like heated/ventilated seats, memory (and not just power operated) driver's seat and blind spot assist.

Drive: Different drive modes to choose that affect the steering and accelerator response as well as transmission. Overall, not a significant difference felt between the modes. Steering is pretty light with weighting in the sport setting feeling just nice for me, without being too light. The steering on center feel was abit dead though, and the weighting felt abit artificial but it's stuff you can overlook in a BnB car.

Acceleration is fine if you're not comparing with the turbovharged competition, pretty responsive (though the test route wasn't that long so then again, not really a comprehensive evaluation). Handling was surprisingly decent with little body roll when taking corners and a surefootedness in the way it steers. Ride was quite comfortable.

What I like
Features
Design
Improved Quality compared to the past
Decent driving performance

What I do not like
Cost cutting seen in obvious places like the door panel trim
lack of HID/LED headlights
Standard leather quality didn't feel very premum
Small 16 inch rims even on Elite trim

Daniu82
Premium User Daniu82
3rd Gear
1 reviews
406 points
398 forum posts Joined on 07-Oct-2004
Car well worth the money  Posted on 05 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I got my Hyundai Elantra Elite for 1 month, so would like to provide a personal review of this car. The look of the car both interior and exterior is great! The stability and handling are to my expectations. The features that comes with the car are a lot and very conti-like. Pick up is good and FC is about 13 - 14 km/L. Just that the road noise is slightly loud on some parts of SG roads and my car got a wind sound that is coming from the driver side mirror which KMC is unable to completely solve for me after the 1k servicing, will be going back again and hope they can solve this problem. Another issue is the slow response of the GPS when leaving an underground carpark or MSCP.

What I like
- Styling of the car (interior and exterior)
- Handling and stability
- FC
- Features like blind spot warning, reverse camera, auto headlights, seat "air con"

What I do not like
- Slightly loud road noise
- Slight imperfections like wind whistling sound at driver side mirror and slow response of GPS

Leoeve
Premium User Leoeve
Clutched
1 reviews
48 points
78 forum posts Joined on 11-Nov-2012
Most spacious car in class  Posted on 03 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
One of the most value for money car in the market currently. Second ride own so far.The design is quite similar to i40 own by taxi, could be sportier to made a different.

What I like
spacious, comfy seats, good FC <currently still on 1st tank, half tank had achieved 350km mileage, 80% HW>, good leg room for rear passengers, nice body kit throw in by SE.
reasonable pick up speed.

What I do not like
the radio station keep jumping off to other station, will flag out during servicing.
only 3 free labor service
nice if basic model comes with sun roof as well.

BlitzStryker
Premium User BlitzStryker
1st Gear
4 reviews
83 points
61 forum posts Joined on 06-Oct-2016
Review below based on a 15 minutes test drive and hours of research online and seeing it in the showrooms  Posted on 11 Oct 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Decent and mature exterior looks, prefer the Red or Black model as it's the most trendy looking one. Interior quality is good, very upmarket and premium with lots of soft touch. Only gripe is the center console compartment, very plastic in touch and hollow sounding, they should have use a better quality material as the center console compartment is used frequently.

However interior space is great, especially at the back seat. Transmission bump is almost non-existent at the center and legroom is pretty decent, almost to Vezel standard. Back windows are also large and airy.

Engine noise is well insulated and engine response is kinda sufficient for the car, not too sure of fuel consumption though.

What I like
Lot of tech gizmo! Bang for buck. Aircon seat is truly a gem in our weather, please try it to know how it feels. Side mirror also will tilt down when reversing and front seats will shift back automatically when exiting, making it easier to exit, very good and considerate gestures. Well done hyundai!

What I do not like
Probably FC? And maybe the design, please bring in the body kit. Saw 1 Elantra with body kit at the showroom private carpark, they have bought in for a roadshow. The body kit brings the Elantra design to a whole new level, sufficient to pit against Civic.

smurfie78
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
4 points
3 forum posts Joined on 04-Aug-2016
Heavy drinker  Posted on 12 Sep 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 1/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Normal performance but abnormal fuel consumption. Have been warned about hyundai fuel consumption but didn't expect it to be that bad. Normal driving only achieving 9~10lm/l. People claiming 14lm/l must be driving like a mouse and road road hoarding. Stereo is weak with toy speakers.. After market head unit a joke and GPS tends to hang. Salesperson promise minimal and failed to delivered minimum.
did i mention my first serving took 4 hours at komono?

What I like
looks like audi drives like hyundai

What I do not like
nothing...stuck with it and making myself love it.

mycarjunkie
Premium User mycarjunkie
Clutched
5 reviews
38 points
11 forum posts Joined on 22-Dec-2013
Unassuming car  Posted on 06 Jul 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the highest spec elantra with cruise control and blind spot monitoring. This variant cost considerably more than than the basis model (~13K). For the price, it is competing with household marquee such as Toyota and Honda. It might be better equipped than its rivals (e.G. Altis), but at a similar price point, Elantra may loss out especially when it comes to resale value.

What I like
Decent amount of legroom for rear passenger. For the highest spec model, good level of advance equipment e.g. blind spot monitoring, which is typically found in larger sedans.

What I do not like
The only 1.6 engine lacks pace and it rough and especially noisy/unrefine when revved. For lower trim, expect back to the basis.

DariusHeng
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 03-Nov-2014
An upgrade like never before  Posted on 13 May 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The new ride was smooth and the handling was superb. They have fine tuned the location of the buttons so that its more ergonomic. Although the backseat was slightly on the narrower sid compared to its competitors, it makes up in comfortable seat design. It's really a notch up from the previous Elantra and is closing up on it's gaps in terms of hi-tech gadgets. Would like to see how the Korean compete with the likes of Japan car makers in the near future. I bet it would be an exciting.

What I like
Changing of gears was somewhat improved. Smoother switch.
The handling was good, turning was a Breeze.
Comfortable front seats and rear seats.
Luxurious rear aircon.
The new backlight/break lights futuristic design.
All the control buttons are closeby.

What I do not like
The dashboard is somewhat squarish to my liking.
They had given up the sporty futuristic interior for a luxury design. (Looks like the Sonata)
The front grille looks like the i40 design. ( People might flag you down, mistaking your car for a cab. But hey, good as UBER/Grab car.)

NewElantraOwner
Premium User NewElantraOwner
Clutched
1 reviews
42 points
100 forum posts Joined on 18-Apr-2016
Exceed Expectations  Posted on 08 May 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Collected my car less than a week I already know that I've make the right choice.
Comfort level is really good but outside noise still can be heard ( I know this is not Merc or Lexus). Reliability should be good as can see more Korean make cars on the road both old & new. This car looks elegance & it already catches some attention on the road & for the interior wise, I like the conti feel, solid door, the sound system etc... I found that the handling is better than my previous 2 jap make car & some current jap model.(I test drive 3 jap model). When features is concern, I will rate it TOP as you can't find 1 jap or conti that come close ( value for money takes into account ) Like best is the 2 ventilated seats when most would suggest hot weather, cold seats but I like it HOT as old man like me having backache, this HOT therapy is perfect for blood circulation. BSD is also good as Long as you have a good driving habit like give advance signal as sometime you might forget to check blind spot & it will alert you. Tyre pressure indication is good save you the trouble to check individually. Not forgetting the 6 airbags, cruise control etc.... And all these cant find in sub 100k Jap or Conti make. FC wise still monitoring but driving habit plays a part too. Overall I'm more that satisfied & happy to own this beauty.

What I like
Features pack
Value for money
Hot ventilated seats (2) for blood circulation
Sound systems
6 airbags
Conti feel especially when closing the door.
1 bid get Coe when it stated 6 bid non guarantee

What I do not like
No gps
No hid/led headlamps as it looks funny with the led DRL

StreetFight3r
Premium User StreetFight3r
4th Gear
10 reviews
624 points
161 forum posts Joined on 24-Jan-2014
The new Elantra is fantastic  Posted on 06 May 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Tested out the new Elantra, and was really surprised as to how good it feels. Its really packed out in features, especially some that you usually only see on more expensive cars, such as blind spot monitoring and ventilated seats. The ventilated seats is really useful here in singapore with our terrible weather. The interior feels cleaner and has a sleek feel to it, which is a real upgrade. Its fairly spacious too, and hard to find fault with it.

the car drives really nicely. Transmission left in auto is smooth, the sports mode is cool, although i'm not sure how often people would use it. Engine is revvy and torquey, and the car feels brisk. Also handles quite well.

What I like
- super well equipped, with features usually reserved for more expensive cars
- excellent drive train and driving characteristics
- well priced

What I do not like
- tiny media screen

numbintheheart
Premium User numbintheheart
2nd Gear
1 reviews
192 points
315 forum posts Joined on 13-Aug-2014
New Hyundai Elantra AD is just a great car to have!! =)  Posted on 18 Apr 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have driven the new Hyundai Elantra Elite for almost a month for now and there is nothing much that I would complain about.

From my previous ride (also a Hyundai), it is a total upgrade for me but at a much affordable price. Some features might be more towards "Gimmicky" Side (e.G. BSD, ventilated seats) but they are still useful at times and you could only find them in higher, more expensive Conti makes most of the time.

The transmission is smooth and it does provide the power when I need to accelerate. Have tried driving full load and it still gives enough power to drive the car. Definitely an affordable B2B car but still with am up-market feel.

I love my ride so far!! =)

What I like
- while its still "plasticky", its interior styling has improved (a bit Conti feel)
- ventilated seats do help to cool my sweaty back a little on a hot day
- the car definitely doesnt look "cheapish", it looks big and more up-market than before

What I do not like
- no built-in navigation system
- no Xenon/LED headlights
- no panoramic sunroof
- fuel consumption still a bit on the high side

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review
Hyundai Elantra 4 stars - based on 15 reviews