Mercedes-Benz E-Class Saloon

   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Mercedes-Benz E-Class Saloon E63 S AMG 4MATIC (A)
30 Nov 2017  |  Mercedes-Benz Reviews
Despite its eye-watering power figures, the Merecdes-AMG E63 S impresses the most with its refinement, usability and all-around enjoyment.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mercedes-Benz E-Class Saloon
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
16 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3/5 Engine Performance
4/5
13 out of 16 (81.3%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review

16 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
mistergoh
2nd Gear
2 reviews
192 points
161 forum posts Joined on 07-Jun-2018
Reliable and comfortable  Posted on 20 Mar 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
My family owned this car for a year and I am lucky enough to take it for a spin occasionally. Here is my overdue review...

car owned: E200 Exclusive

I was told the exclusive model comes with better leather trim and my family took this variant.

Comfortable ride, generous seating space, especially 2nd row (I am 1.8M tall), quiet engine when cruising.

What I like
The design
the brand and the comfort
better resale value
good trade in price from C&Cs
Service Credit and perks such as polishing, free drop off and pick up etc

What I do not like
C-Class/S-Class make no difference in design
Some PHVs are using this model
Engine sound rough when push hard

motoent
Clutched
2 reviews
32 points
65 forum posts Joined on 24-Nov-2018
Mercedes E200 (W212)  Posted on 08 Jan 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Mercedes is still the no. 1 German brand when it comes to comfort. The car is roomy and practical with beautiful interior, including the cockpit and instruments, which are also very intuitive in operation. Everything is always well in view and reachable; Even the windows hardly fog up when it rains. The engine performs well with a top speed of over 230 km/h and a very good 80-120 km/h overtake factor for a four-cylinder base model. The W212 (before the 2013 facelift) also has in my opinion the best exterior design of recent Mercedes E classes, before the headlights were integrated again and before the introduction of the "Diamond" Grille.

What I like
- Interior design
- User interface
- Exterior design
- Practicability
- Comfort
- Perfection/detail

What I do not like
The suspension is a bit too soft for going through high speed (wide) turns at over 200 km/h. That's the price to pay for the driving comfort and probably not relevant unless driving on the German Autobahn.

psanjeev
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Sep-2018
Excellent drive  Posted on 24 Nov 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Done huge changes in recent model. I love the interior fully digital panel, very good steering control. Easy to dribe. Only thing I miss is the sunroof..

psanjeev
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Sep-2018
Excellent drivd  Posted on 24 Nov 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Done huge changes in recent model. I love the interior fully digital panel, very good steering control. Easy to dribe. Only thing I miss is the sunroof..

DrBala
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 27-Aug-2018
Best looking Merc ever inside out.  Posted on 18 Nov 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the E-Class W213. For a big car, the controls were light and it was a comfortable drive. Exquisite cabin styling with practical features such as soft door close and kick boot opening. Ample leg and headroom in the back and a large 540L boot. 4 cylinder engine a little noisy on idle from outside but packs enough power for our SG roads. Didn't quite like the noise from run-flat tyres. Overall a very elegant car to own.

Gabdat
4th Gear
19 reviews
668 points
251 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Cover the badge and you would think it's worse than korean  Posted on 15 Oct 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 2/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the E200 avantgarde about a month ago.Not as spacious as expected. 9gtronic sounds something from NASA but its not.Nothing spectacular,to say the least about the car.Design looks dated.Interior too cliche.Typically,air con was not cold enough.Boring and simple drive.

What I like
-front seats are very comfortable
-car is always ready to shoot once you floor it
-anti front collision system
-interior ambient lights though its just for cosmetics and serves no purpose
-good turning radius
-high ARF

What I do not like
-start/stop feels like a lorry
-braking felt cheap
-shaky and hunting gearbox,especially at low speed
-jerky at times
-vibrates a lot during idling
-surprisingly,engine noise intrudes loudly.very loud
-upgrade needed for additional safety features
-probably will give me nightmares after warranty is over
-6 airbags.$70k KIA cerato is offering 7.

DrBala
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 27-Aug-2018
E200, 2017 model, W213, M274 engine. Most eye-catching Merc ever!  Posted on 27 Aug 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Before I test drove the E200 Avantgarde, I was considering the Jaguar XE or XF. Test drove the Jaguar XF and E200 on the same day. I found the Jaguar XF a bit heavier in handling. Very surprisingly the E200 was quite light for a big car. The interior is simply mind-blowing. Good power from the 4-cylinder inline M274 turbo-charged engineand the new 9G-Tronic transmission was smooth. Good turning radius for a big car. The E200 also comes with many standard features which was extra on the Jag. Finally booked the E200 after having my wife test drive it as well. Reliability... Well only time will tell, but the torque delivery through the power train should be more than adequate for SG roads. Checked on safety such as European NCAP crash-test rating and this car is 5-star rated and also a good US IIHS rating. Safety features include brake assist and Pre-Safe, though blind spot assist came with an extra $2.1K. The car comes with Eco, Comfort, Sport and Sports plus modes. Some downsides, the run-flat tyres do create some undercarriage noise on the highway, but no wind noise. Other than that the cabin was pretty quiet. The rims could have been more sporty looking. Overall this is one car that has swayed my decision towards Merc... Finally!.

What I like
Interior and exterior styling. Safety features come as standard. Comfortable, light handing. Large 12.3 inch infotainment screen. Electric tailgate, electric seats with memory settings. Good room in the back seats. Large (540L) boot space.

What I do not like
Run-flat tyres causing rolling noise at higher speeds. Digital instrument display not included as standard.

DrJasonTan
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Nov-2017
Top car in this category  Posted on 10 Jun 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Tested this car against Lexus GS & ES, Volvo S90, Jaguar XJ. I did not include the BMW 5 series due to bad experience with a brand new 5 series which I owned for a year due to high frequency of sending it back to workshop for repairs. Factors important to me are comfort, brand, reliability, exterior, interior and performance. The Lexus GS & ES does not have significant improvements over my last car GS300. The Volvo S90 is very attractively priced and is larger with good features but reliability may be doubtful. I am also not satisfied with the driveability. The Jaguar XJ belongs to another class but I tested it because I was offered a very attractive price close to the Mercedes E class. In my humble opinion, the XJ is a very good luxury car but the current model is coming to the end of its cycle and I am also doubtful of its reliability. In short, the Mercedes E class met all my criteria and it feels most comfortable for me as a driver.

What I like
Comfort, luxurious and modern interior especially the ambient light ( my friends commented that it looked like sitting in a cockpit of a plane), modern exterior, good features, strong branding and solid performance. Although the 0-100 took 7.7s compared to the Lexus's 7.2s, the actual feeling when you use the Sports+ mode feels that it is almost as fast. This is adequate for Singapore's road condition.

What I do not like
The sound system does not come with a CD player which is a pity because the recommended connection through thumb drive or handphone is unable to reach the high quality as compared to a CD. Sound system also lacked bass which I solved by instaling an active subwoofer.

Nivlek96
Clutched
10 reviews
28 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Mercedes-Benz E200 W213  Posted on 04 Oct 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Decided on buying the new Mercedes E200 W213 after looking and trying both the E200 and new BMW 5 Series M-Sport. Driving experience and handling not as good as the BMW but the E200 is extremely comfortable and your family will love its comfortable interior and ride. It looks awesome both inside and outside and the exterior curves are super sexy. The parking pilot function is good and you do not have to pay extra for it, unlike the BMW 5 Series. If you are single and want the ultimate driving experience for yourself, go for the BMW 5 Series. If you have a family and want them to enjoy highest levels of comfort and class, go for the Mercedes E200.

Rocky35
Clutched
1 reviews
27 points
21 forum posts Joined on 23-Jun-2011
E200 Exclusive - loud idle, some gearbox jerks at low speeds  Posted on 06 Sep 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This is a review of a mid-2017 E200 Exclusive from Cycle & Carriage.

The infotainment system and NAV is generally annoying to use, because of the lag, UI, knob and thumb swipe controls on steering wheel.

The engine noise level, heard inside and outside, are both quite bad for a luxury car in 2017.

The "9G-tronic" Is also not impressive, given the shift jerks that it sometimes causes at low speeds.

I'd say this car is for people who like the looks, and want a "Luxury" Car that condo security guards would more likely raise the barrier for, without asking questions.

What I like
- 360 cameras
- comfortable suspension
- exterior looks
- interior looks

What I do not like
- the two thumb swipe controls on the steering wheel are dumb gimmick that are a step backwards from traditional 4-directional buttons.
- the standard screen included with E200 Exc is non-touch
- Infotainment control using the big knob and thumb swipes are laggy
- Nav is quite useless compared to smartphone apps
- Bluetooth link with smartphone is glitchy
- Gearbox shifts at 20-40 km/h sometimes causes jerks
- At idle, engine noise in cabin and outside, are both worse than what a luxury car should be.
- No good places to car-mount a smartphone.
- Blindspot monitoring, Distronic, DrivePilot are not included.

sla
sla
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 26-Nov-2016
Review of E-class: E-class avant garde sedan or GLC250 SUV  Posted on 25 Dec 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Tested both the E class and GLC. Previously I wanted to get the E class but I changed my mind after testing the GLC. I bought the GLC over the E class with any hesitation. E-class does not look like a luxury sedan. The looks are conservative. Even the external body of the new camry looks more grandiose than the E-class.
Interior: GLC has a bigger cabin , faster, stronger with its 4WD and larger storage space when compared to the basic E class avant garde model. The new E-class design only reinforces the heresay that it is a car for the "Ah Pek" Wielding the gold rolex watch.

What I like
The new safety features and the 9 gears which help conserve fuel.
The motor is technically advanced. The motor uses the RON 95 because of its advanced engineering which gives a 9.8 compression ratio. Using RON 95 on a luxury car is an achievement.

What I do not like
New e-class look is very boring and does not stand out as a luxury car.
The 9 speed gear is jerky especially at the slower speeds below 50km/h. The gears in the Sport mode is unrefined and jerks the cars constantly.
For a luxury car the exterior design is a disappointment.
I would not pay about $240000 for that "Ah Pek" design.

subarus
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 04-Nov-2014
Mercedes Benz V6 E240  Posted on 14 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
A very handsome looking vehicle that need no test driving if I'm buying it. My only concern is when is the delivery of the car.

What I like
Everything.

What I do not like
I have to wait probably next 3years to afford a pre-owned unit .

Jasongcp
4th Gear
4 reviews
585 points
151 forum posts Joined on 03-Oct-2012
Great German Engineering with Stylish Appearance  Posted on 09 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Mercedes Benz E Class has always been associated with balding men with thick gold chain around their neck and a beer bellied lumping over the belt. Ask anyone in their 30-40s to choose a german luxury sedan, mostly will go for BMW or Audi, very seldom we will get a vote for the famous Tri-star, however this trend is slowly changing definitely.

From the last model, Mercedes Benz has finally decided that they need a better brain behind the designing and aesthetic division. Oh man, what a decision it has been. Mercedes Benz now look youthful, energetic and definitely appealing to the younger crowd.

Despite the interior finishing is of the higher quality giving you the sense of bang for bucks, there are tingling feel of some old crew members sitting under the new boss of the design division managing the interior aesthetic still. Nothing seems to change, even the key despite having keyless entry and start Easing yourself into the driver seat makes you feel well supported and most of the controls you are familiar with (if you are existing Mercedes Benz owner), remains where they are supposed to be. In Car Entertainment system remains punchy and delivers good sound quality, only complain is the interface which they can really help themselves by looking at BMW i-Drive system.

Although the car looks heavy, throttle response and response from the steering wheel is fantastic, the car always feels eager to please and longed to be pushed beyond the speed limit. City driving feel adequate as well as the car feels pretty nimble when negotiating tight turns and bends, especially in shopping centres car park.

The car is nice to look at, feels good to drive however if I were to be fussy about things, I can do better with a better and more modern design interior and most importantly, the auto start stop feature is really a great innovation however the jerk between the standby mode to the normal idle mode is quite stunning especially if you are not used to it.

What I like
- Exterior outlook
- Responsive engine
- Quiet and Comfortable Cabin
- Sound Quality from the inbuilt sound system
- Ease of familiarization with the control for existing benz owners
- Nimble control
- Ability to split OBC to speedometer screen
- Drive sportily

What I do not like
- Old looking interior
- Jerky Start Stop Mode
- On board entertainment control interface

Carmour
5th Gear
12 reviews
1,259 points
596 forum posts Joined on 26-Apr-2004
Needs more power  Posted on 29 Oct 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Booked the E200 Avantgarde during the launch promo at MBS.
Nett price after all the discounts, overtrade, servicing credits, etc... $240K.
Cat B COE was about $57K then.

No test drive was provided during the launch, but I booked it anyway cos my car was due for scrap and I did not want to consider the end of life cycle 5-series.

If you read on, it may sound like I have many complains about this car, but its more of my problem than the car's. I'm a born whiner. =)
This car is pretty good. But I should have waited for the S90 to compare with this.

What I like
- Good looks.

- Very comfy cabin, esp the interior lightings. Makes you feel like you are in a room rather can a car.

- Great at highway cruising.

- 360 camera view is very nifty. I can even see how far are my tyres from the curb using this function.

What I do not like
- Lack of power at move off. My previous car was a GS300. Comparing the 2, my 10-yr old GS300 is the clear winner when it comes to accelerating to 50kmh effortlessly and quickly.

- Too many gears. Thats good right? Actually not really... Each gear operates within a tight band of speeds, and so I am having problems at humps. Whenever I cross a hump, it will switch from gear 3 to 2 and the engine brake will kick in, jotting the occupants forward right at about the time I want to step on the throttle. This makes for an uncomfortable drive. I'm still trying to adjust my driving to get around this...

- Lack of features. No blind spot sensors. No lane assist. No adaptive cruise control.

- Too many buttons points to the same function. There are more buttons and knobs than there are features. For eg, the radio can be accessed via 4 separate buttons/knobs which is an overkill.

- The original rims are fugly. I traded them in with a rim/tyre shop immediately, and was offered a miserly $200. Nobody wants those fugly rims.

Mervynwm
3rd Gear
114 reviews
278 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
The EXCELLENT E Class 2016.  Posted on 21 Oct 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the NEW E Class recently.

The exterior looks a little of C and more of S class like its editorial review which is a good thing to look more like the S Class.

The interior, no more jutting out screen like the other models as its nicely blended into the dashboard. Great.

The pickup of this new saloon is better than its previous. With 9G-Tronic (previous is 7G-Tronic), more gear ratios makes it a seamless drive.

Overall, this is a good pick against its competing others like 5 series or A6.

What I like
Almost everything.

What I do not like
AMG Bodykit for additional $20k not significant enough.
Some or many features need to top up.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review
Mercedes-Benz E-Class Saloon 4 stars - based on 16 reviews