Related Categories

Featured Products

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Techron D Concentrate Plus
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
30 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Features
4/5 Performance
4/5
spacer
Design
4/5 Price
3/5
spacer
29 out of 30 (96.7%) reviewers said they would recommend this product to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 2 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

30 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Dannnn
2nd Gear
1 reviews
180 points
311 forum posts Joined on 25-Jun-2017
Techron D  Posted on 29 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 3/5 Performance 3/5
Design 4/5 Price 2/5
spacer

I installed this on
Renault Megane

Review
Cute bottles, handle design. Initially thought will have problem pouring in my fuel tank as mine is the metal flap kind, was surprise able to do it without any issue.

Can feel that the engine is quieter, nothing much so far. To be honest Caltex diesel i always felt not so powerful compared to others, but it is definitely smooth.

What I like
Design
Its techron which makes engine clean!

What I do not like
Price maybe, as i dont feel any big effect thus not sure if worth to buy it for occasionally use.

cmmerc
Premium User cmmerc
2nd Gear
1 reviews
194 points
34 forum posts Joined on 01-Feb-2017
Slight improvement in smoothness and FC  Posted on 29 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Mercedes-Benz E220

Review
My 12 months old E220D @ 20K is relatively smooth. Hence there was no significant improvement in smoothness or noise. I do travel up north often, and had been using Euro 5 diesel there from various brands, some good, and some really terrible, with immediate effect of ride and noise. The techcron seems to level the field so I guess the effect is probably best with lower grade diesel fuel.

I use a benchmark round trip from north east area to the airport ( i do this regularly ) where at best I have ever clocked consistently was 3.5l/100 km. After Techcron, my best was 3.3l/100km, so there is an improvement in FC.

I just replaced the fuel filter during my 20K service, right after 1 full tank with Techcron, and the filter was relatively dirty. There were black patches on the filter. Maybe the Techcron did clean up my fuel system and deposited the muck on the filter. But I dont know since this is the first time I ever replaced the filter.

Filling it into the fuel tank was easy, even though my car has this device that seems to block the intake area except when the correct nozzle is inserted. I just go slow on pouring the Techcron in and it seems to go in with no fuss.

I will be benchmarking this with liqui moly diesel purge after another 10K and check out the differences.

What I like
Easy to use

What I do not like
Seems to be more expensive than the proven competitors. If it performs better then it's fair game. I dont know that yet.

sarathin
Premium User sarathin
2nd Gear
1 reviews
190 points
50 forum posts Joined on 08-Apr-2016
Difference you can feel  Posted on 18 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Renault Fluence

Review
The engine is a lot quieter on idle and acceleration is considerably smoother as well. And it doesn't end with one tank. The perception continues into my second fill-up. The FC is also more consistent, so it doesn't dip too much during start-stop traffic.

Application is a cinch - love the nozzle-like design which makes it easy to add every drop easily into the tank.

I mostly fill up at one of the non-Big-4 pumps, and adding this indeed gives a Techron D feel.

I would continue to use this every 3-4 fill-ups or so as it helps strike the right balance between economy and care for the engine.

What I like
Helps reduce and smoothen engine sound even while idle.
Easy to apply
Smoother acceleration
Can fill cheaper diesel without worrying about potential issues with engine

What I do not like
Nothing yet. Hopefully not too pricey.

Etnt
Premium User Etnt
6th Gear
1 reviews
2,640 points
1534 forum posts Joined on 17-Jun-2003
Smooth as silk  Posted on 18 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 5/5
spacer

I installed this on
BMW 116i

Review
This was used on a 116d. The engine is significantly quieter immediately after adding it to a full tank of diesel.

Acceleration appears to be smoother. FC remains the same.

The effects continue for another 2 tanks.

There's an offer now at Caltex stations for 50% Off the 2nd bottle till end Jan and I've stock up on another few more bottles.

What I like
Quieter engine and smoother acceleration

What I do not like
None

Apple-Tree
Premium User Apple-Tree
5th Gear
1 reviews
1,815 points
1163 forum posts Joined on 08-Mar-2016
Surprisingly Good - Improve Move off and FC  Posted on 15 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Kia Carens

Review
For my Kia Carens 1.7L Diesel, moving off have been jerky, as the manual said DCT GB is like that one. So after using Techron D, it seems to have smoothen out abit, even into the second tank without the magic potion.

FC have improved from 7.5L/100km to 6.4L/100km.

ODO is 4307KM

What I like
Better FC.
Moving off is less jerky.

What I do not like
A bit expensive I heard.

alex976
Premium User alex976
4th Gear
13 reviews
913 points
328 forum posts Joined on 24-Dec-2013
Good for commercial vehicles  Posted on 13 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 2/5
spacer

I installed this on
Mitsubishi L200

Review
My colleague wanted to sent his L200 to clean his exhaust and flush the engine. Then he asked to try the techron D. So I passed him my bottle. After a few days he begin to experience better pick up and engine responsiveness.

What I like
It works

What I do not like
Price

alex976
Premium User alex976
4th Gear
13 reviews
913 points
328 forum posts Joined on 24-Dec-2013
As good as cleaning your exhaust  Posted on 12 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 2/5
spacer

I installed this on
Mitsubishi L200

Review
I was going to use it on my Dmax when my colleague at his L200 doesn't have much power. So we used the techron d on his vehicle. After 3 days, my colleague feedback that his vehicle is more responsive than before.

What I like
-it works

What I do not like
Price

SunsetSorento
Premium User SunsetSorento
2nd Gear
1 reviews
150 points
37 forum posts Joined on 15-Jun-2016
It works!  Posted on 12 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Kia Sorento

Review
I drive a 2016 Sorento which is about 1.5years old and clocked around 43,000km when i decided to give the Techron D plus (sample given by MCF) a try. I've always been skeptical about products like this as I've have tried some but only got negligible results at best.

The car drives really well and was last serviced at 40,000km. After topping up 70L of Esso fuel, imagine my pleasnt surprise! The diesel clatter was noticeable quieter and the power delivery was smoothe! Throttle response was marginally better as well. Most importantly FC inproved by 5-10%. Awesome! Kudous caltex!

What I like
Improved FC
Quieter engine
Smoother power delivery
Throttle response

What I do not like
So far none!

Try_conti
Premium User Try_conti
6th Gear
1 reviews
4,375 points
4311 forum posts Joined on 07-Jun-2006
Techron D Concentrate Plus  Posted on 08 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 3/5 Price 1/5
spacer

I installed this on
Renault Megane

Review
My Megane hatchback is about 1.5yrs old and didn't really notice any improvement in fuel consumption. However, the engine sounded relatively quieter and more refined after adding the product.

What I like
Quieter engine

What I do not like
Retail price is quite steep

Vinceng
Premium User Vinceng
NOS-ed
7 reviews
12,471 points
3673 forum posts Joined on 28-Aug-2007
Significant improvement in fuel consumption and engine refinement  Posted on 30 Dec 2017
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 5/5
Design 1/5 Price 2/5
spacer

I installed this on
Kia Sorento

Review
Immediate improvement in fuel consumption and the engine sounds more refined with less audible diesel clatter

- Design * rating is not applicable for this product

What I like
- Significant improvement in fuel economy
- Engine sounds more refined
- Engine is more willing to rev
- Less sluggish on a full load of 7 pax

What I do not like
The price - costly

Ganwb79
4th Gear
1 reviews
626 points
138 forum posts Joined on 05-Jul-2016
Immediate impact after use  Posted on 23 Dec 2017
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Renault Koleos

Review
I used a bottle of this techron D on my last topup and happy to say that I see an immediate impact on my fuel consumption on this and the next tank. A modest 1-2 more km/litre but every bit helps! Been pumping at cheaper diesel options due to the steep price increase at the stations of the major fuel companies but always try to pump Caltex Techron at least once every few topups to clean my engine. With this product I would consider just using that instead.

What I like
Immediate improvement in fuel consumption

What I do not like
None

Jtis
Premium User Jtis
4th Gear
1 reviews
647 points
162 forum posts Joined on 14-Sep-2005
Probably good to use once in a while as preventive maintenance  Posted on 15 Dec 2017
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 3/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
BMW 535i

Review
I tested this on a 535d with a full tank of diesel. The engine has always been quite refined but i thought it was just that tiny bit smoother with the Techron D added, although that could very well just be a placebo effect. My wife couldn't tell any difference at all though, both before and after i told her i added something to the diesel......

No discernable difference in power or acceleration to me. The fuel economy seemed to improve slightly, about 0.4km/litre on the trip computer after 500km but the improvement are perhaps too marginal to fully attribute to the product.

Although I think our local stations' diesel is probably considered good quality in general, this is an affordable product to use occasionally as preventive maintenance.

But here's the downside, I had some difficulty using the product. I don't know about other cars but mine has this metal flap at the fuel filler that cannot be forced open using the bottle sprout. I can't just use the diesel pump nozzle to open it, because it snaps shut as soon as i remove the nozzle. I had to spend a fair bit of time to slowly bit by bit feed the Techron D onto the metal flap and wait for it to seep past the flap into the tank. The vehicles waiting behind me were understandably very irritated with how long i took. An adaptor or a bottle sprout in that shape of the correct diesel pump nozzle size would be a definite improvement.

What I like
- Affordable preventable maintenance
- Potential fuel economy improvements

What I do not like
- Difficult to pour into fuel tank

Imac
Premium User Imac
5th Gear
7 reviews
1,991 points
655 forum posts Joined on 06-Jun-2005
Improvement Noted in 1st Bottle  Posted on 14 Dec 2017
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Volvo V40

Review
Thanks to MCF for providing this test sample for our 2 years old V40.

I added the Techron D into the fuel tank before filling up to full tank.

Can almost immediately notices the difference, the engine become more lively during acceralation and quieter during idea.

My average milage from FULL till 1/2 tank mark was about 500km, with the Techron D, milage increased more than 550km (about 10% Increase).

What I like
- Smooth StartUp.
- Lively Engine Sound.
- Increases Milage.

What I do not like
- Nil

1 Review Photo(s)

spacer
EdmundCai
Premium User EdmundCai
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Aug-2015
Improvement in FC and Response  Posted on 20 Feb 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Volvo V40

Review
Tried this on my 2015 Volvo V40 D2, with mileage of 40k. Almost using up this tank of diesel and FC I’M getting is about 0.6km/L higher than my usual. Felt throttle response is slightly better as well, with more eager and torquey engine. On the overall good, however not sure how long this cleaned injectors effect will last.

What I like
- Improvement in FC and throttle response.
- Easy to administer.

JulianLimZhiKai
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Feb-2018
Slight performance increase in Q30  Posted on 11 Feb 2018
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Infiniti QX80

Review
The models on the website did not have a Q30 Premium, but this review is based on an Infiniti Q30 Premium.

After using Techron Concentrate, my fuel efficiency increased from a 3.8l/100km to a 3.6l/100km. Not sure if that is due to traffic conditions, but it definitely felt smoother after using the concentrate.

I have used other diesel-treating additives (STP Diesel Fuel Treatment) but hardly felt any significant changes. Granted that it may be a long-term effect.. Anyway, there are positive changes that you can immediately feel once you use the Techron Concentrate.

What I like
Easy to use, just pour into fuel tank before refuelling

What I do not like
Not too sure, this was given as a giveway prize. If it is priced similarly to STP Fuel Treatment, it will give STP a run for its money.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page

Recommended for you

1-6 of 17