Related Categories

Featured Products

   Editor's Review
spacer
spacer
RaceChip Ultimate - Performance improvement as easy as 1,2,3
26-07-2013  |  's Review
RaceChip Ultimate gives your vehicle that added dose of performance and, at the same time, provides convenience with its plug and play function. Drivers can also see an increase of up to 31 percent of power and 26 percent of torque as well as increased fuel savings of up to 1L/100km. Read More »
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of RaceChip Ultimate
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
8 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Features
4/5 Performance
4/5
spacer
Design
3.5/5 Price
3/5
spacer
7 out of 8 (87.5%) reviewers said they would recommend this product to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 2 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

8 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Savagetosh
Premium User Savagetosh
1st Gear
3 reviews
91 points
59 forum posts Joined on 25-Jun-2011
Bette getting a custom ECU remap or a tune  Posted on 11 Feb 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 1/5 Performance 1/5
Design 4/5 Price 1/5
spacer

I installed this on
Subaru Forester

Review
Bought this to try out on my FXT, as I wanted more power out of my car but wasn't willing to do anything fun that would compromise my warranty with the dealer. Immediately after install, my throttle response was weird- there'll be an initial lag, followed by a strong surge(perhaps done this way to "stimulate the increase in power".

My 0-100 timing did not increase, nothing happened except for slow initial acceleration, followed by the usual surge in power. Returned the product.
Better of getting a proper tune.

What I like
It's marketing

What I do not like
Everything about it.
This product does nothing to increase power.

Deathstalker
Premium User Deathstalker
3rd Gear
1 reviews
274 points
141 forum posts Joined on 19-Jul-2007
Decent power increase with little worries  Posted on 28 Jan 2016
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Volkswagen Golf

Review
Although I cannot prove it, there is an increase of torque at the low end, and can feel the power surge coming at a lower rpm. As for the FC, hard to pin down but the day is still early for a conclusive verdict.

More importantly, the installers were pretty decent and honest in their product, that they will test drive the vehicle after installation, so that it gives you the confidence of mind.

What I like
For the price, it's a value for money product; the power increase can feel and it does not touch the original ECU.

More importantly, the customer service is good.

What I do not like
Hard to pin down the exact power increase, and even if it does, may not be as significant as it advertise. Have to remove before AD service, so it means have to go down to them for uninstall, and re-install after service.

RaceLover
Clutched
1 reviews
26 points
38 forum posts Joined on 09-Sep-2015
A good mod to compliment factory settings  Posted on 01 Oct 2015
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Volvo S60

Review
I have decided to install this after a terrible experience with custom tuning. The optimised settings provided for my vehicle is great. The lag on initial acceleration has been covered by the RaceChip resulting in much smoother pickup.

What I like
Simple to install. Plug and play and doesn't not mess up factory settings.

What I do not like
Durability of the wiring and potential heating issues

Watwheels
Premium User Watwheels
2Fast2Furious
2 reviews
48,321 points
24578 forum posts Joined on 21-May-2006
Safe Modding. I install this on a Chevy Orlando. The list here is not up to date.  Posted on 23 Oct 2014
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Chevrolet Cruze

Review
A very clever device that fits a lot of car models if they share the same engine. Since my car's engine is a GM 1.4L turbo the models that can use the same device are Astra, Zafira, Cruze & Orlando. It's a easy plug & play device that does not require complicated installation. I bought it online in the official German website and have it shipped to Sgp, in just 3 working days, UPS was at my doorstep. I bought the Ultimate, the one with the fastest processor. Why I say safe is becoz it does not bypass the engine safety/protection in the factory settings. I have tried the highest setting and CEL came on. Error code was the boost was too high and the engine protection setting kicked in to cut the boost. The car feels like there's no boost. So it's best to leave the default setting. I have a OBDII device to clear the CEL.
The plug and play is at the MAP(Mass Air Pressure) sensor, at the intercooler after the air has been cooled, before it enters the throttle body. Just have to disconnect and plug in the wire harness provided and plug in the Racechip, if you have noticed it "sits" in between the MAP sensor. What it does is likely that it manipulates the MAP sensor to give more boost. Just make sure all electrical devices are off in your car, engine off, including the interior lightings, close all the doors before you install. Instruction manual with pictures are provided.
I did not buy from any of the local distributor coz they only hold popular car brands. I can't be bothered to contact them. Instead I checked with the German tech support via email. The engineer replied ok and I went ahead.
I even got a suitable mounting steel plate from Daiso. I only needed to enlarge one hole and bolt in place with suitable washers, bolts & nuts. No messy cable ties.
The application is only for turbocharged petrol & turbocharged diesel engines. Vans with turbocharged diesel can rejoice. LoL...
Go to the http://www.racechip.com/ you will more choices to suit your budget.

What I like
Easy to plug & play that doesn't require complicated installation. Can be easy removed when going for servicing. Boost for my car is about 29percent increase for both Torque and bhp. Slightly better fuel economy.

What I do not like
The local dealers. They do not have the entire range for all the turbocharged cars available here.
Go to the official website instead. http://www.racechip.com/
It only takes about 3 working days to reach Sgp.

Turboflat4
Premium User Turboflat4
2Fast2Furious
2 reviews
43,069 points
13897 forum posts Joined on 06-Jul-2009
The best bang for the buck for your performance car  Posted on 06 Aug 2014
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
BMW 135i

Review
"Mods!"

Yup, the word that inspires fervour, skepticism, disdain and but most consistently, fear (of the LTA) depending on whom you're speaking to. It's plainly obvious that Singapore is not a mod-friendly place. If it isn't the ever-present bogeyman of the authorities waiting to nab us "innocent" modsters, it's the worry that we're going to have our precious warranties and insurance policies declared null and void by gloating, faceless bean-counting corporatocrats.

So we go small and stealthy to avoid all these issues. And the most bang for the buck you can get for your factory FI (forced induction) car is almost undoubtedly a piggyback ECU. Exhaust systems - if they're LTA legal - will make for barely a scratch in your dyno graph and they'll leave you unsatisfied unless you're all about the 'roar' without the 'go'. Swapping out a bigger turbo may lead to compromises with turbo lag low down in the revs.

No, tweaking the ECU is definitely the way to go, at least as a first line. Reflashes are great too, but there's something awfully "permanent" about them, which can again cause jitters when contemplating warranty coverage and resale value. Using a piggyback allows the sensitive engine parameters to be tweaked to your satisfaction while basically retaining the intrinsic character of the car.

And I'm happy to report that the RaceChip Ultimate does an exemplary job of it. The actual model I've put this on (my car) is the M135i (which, for some reason, is missing from the options above). This is already a heck of a car. I can quote figures from the brochure at you, but here's the bottom line: when you first take this baby out for a spin, you'll have a big grin on your face from all the low-end torque the twin-scroll turbo generates. You have the ability to overtake at will, and I'm speaking quite literally.

The RaceChip Ultimate simply enhances the already bonkers character of the car. You will now have GOBS of low end torque without any noticeable increase in lag. The power delivery also remains consistent and strong across the power band. Your already-big grin will now become a Cheshire cat-worthy sh*t eating grin.

If you love your car and love spirited driving, then getting this is a no-brainer. It takes what's already great about your car and just turns the dial up to 11. Now if that isn't the the "Ultimate" mod, I don't know what is!

What I like
Simplicity, elegance, stealthy nature (ability to demod and remod safely and quickly).

Adjustable settings.

Preserves the intrinsic character of the car while adding more power and torque.

What I do not like
The price is a little high.

Unless you're very handy and confident with cars, you still need to go to your workshop to uninstall/reinstall the device before going for warranty servicing. If you're worried about that sort of thing, that is.

BarryCade
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
12 points
0 forum posts Joined on 14-Aug-2013
Driving more fun now after installed this!  Posted on 10 Jan 2014
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 5/5
Design 1/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
MINI Cooper

Review
Seems to work perfectly fine. Quick install and a significant power gain! It's really exactly what I was looking for! Everytime I drive, I will always say WOW. It has really unleashed the beast in my Mini Cooper. I can feel the power gain in every gear. It has increased drastically and very smoothly. I have not been disappointed. I really did see the results in my own car when I drive it hard. It makes me enjoy driving now and is a whole lot more fun to drive now!

What I like
The power gain in every gear has increased drastically.

What I do not like
Maybe the design can be a little cool.

Motorfart
Neutral Newbie
14 reviews
8 points
0 forum posts Joined on 19-Aug-2013
Experience the differences...  Posted on 13 Dec 2013
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 2/5 Price 2/5
spacer

I installed this on
BMW 320i

Review
Read the information on sgcarmart and also car forums which stir my interests on getting this tuning device onto my ride. Called and arrange installation with one of the workshops and experience better power and torque. Will not say that is will boost the performance of my ride to a speed machine. But it did increase by about a benchmark of 15%, in which I am quite happy with. Fuel consumption wise, have yet to see the difference.

What I like
Better performance and fuel saving

What I do not like
May need to get better intercooler for better engine cooling.

Mrfamashammmmmmm
Neutral Newbie
8 reviews
16 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Aug-2013
Mind blowing performance boost!  Posted on 27 Aug 2013
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 4/5 Price 3/5
spacer

Review
Had my RaceChip installed few weeks ago. My car hasn't blown up, doesn't surge, no engine lights - it is just running/pulling harder, and is an all around blast to drive. Plus it now sounds great upon hitting the ignition. The difference i got was that both the horsepower and torque lines were smoother and extended out without the bumps, fluctuations as compared to that I had without the chip. The air/fuel mix was also smoother and more consistent. The automatic transmission had definitely kept my wife happy. The trans would shift too early to allow max of the potential hp and torque gains. Would I do it again, you bet. Do I have any regrets? Only that I can't mess with the auto trans to get the extra RPMs. Now I gotta go to the nearest track and enjoy the blasting power of this RaceChip Ultimate.

What I like
Mind blowing performance boost! From power enhancement to smoother gear transmission, this ECU is marvellous.

What I do not like
Doesn't perform a perfect job with automatic transmission cars.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page

Recommended for you

1-6 of 18