Related Categories

Featured Products

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Motul 8100 X-cess 5W40
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
8 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Features
4/5 Performance
4/5
spacer
Design
4/5 Price
3.5/5
spacer
8 out of 8 (100%) reviewers said they would recommend this product to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 2 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

8 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Sdf4786k
Premium User Sdf4786k
5th Gear
5 reviews
2,478 points
1349 forum posts Joined on 26-Dec-2007
As good and better then the rest.  Posted on 16 Apr 2017
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 3/5 Performance 3/5
Design 3/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Renault Megane

Review
Needed a oil to use for a 9 year oil car.

Car was already using the usual oil recommended from the agent. Since it would probably be the last oil change, wanted to try something different.

Seem a huge improvement overall.

What I like
better then most oil as can feel the difference

What I do not like
price a tad more ex but worth it

Imac
Premium User Imac
5th Gear
1 reviews
1,258 points
560 forum posts Joined on 06-Jun-2005
[MCF GIVEAWAY] Motul Engine Oil  Posted on 09 Apr 2017
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 5/5
spacer

I installed this on
Mercedes-Benz E200

Review
[MCF GIVEAWAY] Motul Engine Oil

Previous Oil
Shell Helix Ultra 5W-40
Petrol used – Shell Fuel Power 95 – Pump 60 Litre
Mileage till Red Light up – 570KM per 60L.
Traffic Pattern (60% Highway, 40% Normal road)

Motul Oil
8100 X-cess 5W-40, oil changed on Jan 17 at my regular workshop
(Also changed new original air filter, orignal spark plug, orignal oil filter)
Petrol used – Shell Fuel Power 95 – Top up to full after Oil Change
Average Mileage Calculated based on 3 months - 630KM per 60L.

About 10% More vs Shell, will update if different
Traffic Pattern (60% Highway, 40% Normal road)

Initial Feel driving off from workshop was smooth & light, better than Shell.

For morning cold start, the start up is more responsive and idling slightly better compared to Shell when new.

Low speed driving and power is about the same as Shell.

Revving to higher speed and about 100KM, the engine is more stable & lively.

Overall slight improvement from Shell.

What I like
Smooth, better fuel consumption, lively acceleration & car feel much lighter.

What I do not like
Nil

2 Review Photo(s)

spacer spacer
Victorco
Premium User Victorco
4th Gear
1 reviews
971 points
962 forum posts Joined on 25-Aug-2003
Review  Posted on 01 Mar 2017
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Honda Stream

Review
Few cents review.

Thanks the event org for creating the event. Workshop I went to were commenting "How come use such expensive oil this round?" Because I always stick to OEM Honda Oil for it's cheap and good.

Just changed my oil to Motul 8100 X-Cess 5W40 last week drive feel the same nothing different, only driving for 1K the engine felt smoother and more responsive to throttle input maybe the cleaning agent is doing it job.

Engine feel more willing and rev more easily doesn't sound rough or sluggish like some EO when rev even new. Mileage still monitoring already 3 tanks already but there isn't any change could be because driving pattern was already heavy foot to start with, plus with 2 pax mostly during the drive and 60% City 40% HW could be another factor.

Previously used few different type of EO arranged according to most to least prefer EO .

1. Honda Orignal EO (OEM Idemitsu)
2. Mobil Gold
3. Bardahl
4. Redline
5. Turtle Logo EO
6. Shell

Btw I am driving a 08' Honda Stream with mileage currently 155K already so there maybe some horse dead over the mileage that why engine more responsive but mileage never improve.

Janling3
Premium User Janling3
6th Gear
10 reviews
3,509 points
840 forum posts Joined on 08-Feb-2009
New engine oil  Posted on 09 Jan 2017
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 3/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Honda Stream

Review
I did the regular 10K engine oil servicing in early December 2016.
After observing for the first 500KM, here is my feedback:
1. Performance. The most pleasing effect is the acceleration, the feel of sudden boost of power is obvious. As this car is nearing its 8th year, I have come to term to accept that it is getting more sluggish over the years.
2. Fuel consumption. The fuel efficiency has not taken effect on my car. It remains the same as before, around 10-11km/litre. I always monitor this every time I refuel it.

What I like
the acceleration. the car feel much lighter.

What I do not like
it is 5-quartz package is kind of waste for my car engine oil capacity. It will be good if it come in 1 quartz package

Robin
Premium User Robin
NOS-ed
2 reviews
17,077 points
16881 forum posts Joined on 06-Sep-2004
[MCF GIVEAWAY] Motul 8100 X-cess 5W40  Posted on 19 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Audi A3

Review
I did my 30k servicing last Fri 9 Dec and replace the existing Castrol Edge 5W-40 with Motul 8100 X-cess 5W40 in my Audi A3. I was quite surprised that Motul used a 5L packaging which suits me as my car used up around 4.5L of engine oil.

I have used many brands of engine oil and I find Motul comparable with the best. The engine felt smooth and responsive after the change. Engine was quiet at idle. X-cess does its job as all good engine oil should; Without fuss.

As my recommended oil change interval is every 15k, it would be interesting to see its sheer stability as the mileage adds up.

One thing I did find different was that X-cess seems to warm up slightly faster compared to Edge when I started the car the next morning, which might help fuel efficiency.

My typical travel patter is somewhat 70% Expressways and 30% Normal roads. After 1 petrol refill, my fuel efficiency maintained at around 14-16km/l.

What I like
5L packaging
Smooth and quiet

What I do not like
Nothing in particular

1 Review Photo(s)

spacer
bleahx
Premium User bleahx
1st Gear
2 reviews
70 points
32 forum posts Joined on 23-Sep-2015
Quality is what you pay for  Posted on 22 Jan 2017
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 5/5
Design 4/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Nissan Qashqai

Review
You just have to try it. I have been using this engine oil for a couple for days now, but this is the first oil that I have used that there was an immediate difference. I noticed how much quieter the engine idles right away. I feel that acceleration is smoother too. Fuel economy is about the same though.

Although its slightly more expensive than other premium engine oil, I think its worth the money if you want the best oil for your car.

What I like
Good performance
Less engine oil
Piece of mind that it has all the required additives for turbo engines

What I do not like
Price
Ease of availability as some workshops do not carry this brand

Gti2323
Premium User Gti2323
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
4 points
17 forum posts Joined on 08-Nov-2014
Motul 8100 X-cess 5W40  Posted on 05 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Mercedes-Benz C180

Review
Got this eo from the promotions feel abit smoother than texas 5W40 from optima werkz n mobil 1 5W40 which i use alternately. Car feel more eager from start n can feel more power.

What I like
smoothness
more power

What I do not like
nil

Dkcm888
Premium User Dkcm888
Clutched
1 reviews
45 points
34 forum posts Joined on 09-Oct-2005
[MCF GIVEAWAY] Motul Engine Oil  Posted on 05 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this product to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 5/5
spacer

I installed this on
Volkswagen Touran

Review
[MCF GIVEAWAY] Motul Engine Oil

Previous Oil
Castrol Edge 5W-40
Petrol used – Shell Fuel Power 98 – Pump 50 Litre(Full Tank), about $120
Mileage till Red Light up – 510KM
Traffic Pattern (70% Highway, 30% Normal road)

Motul Oil
8100 X-cess 5W-40, oil changed on Friday 2nd December at Godspeed AutoTechnik (Cleaned my Air Filter for me and used original VW Oil Filter)
Petrol used – Shell Fuel Power 98 – Top up to full after Oil Change
Mileage till ½ Tank – 330KM
Expected Mileage till full tank will be about 530-550 based on previous experience. From ½ Tank meter to Red light is 220-280KM. About 10% More vs Castrol, will update if different
Traffic Pattern (70% Highway, 30% Normal road)
Petrol consumption test performed as above. Was using the Recommended 5w-40 Castrol Edge Titanium (VW/Audi Spec 502.00 505.00 oil).

Changed on Dec 2nd with Motul 5w-40 X-cess(VW/Audi Spec 502.00 505.00 oil), drove around quite a bit on the weekend including on Saturday on Scotts road where the road was Jammed due to road closure.

Initial Feel driving off from workshop was smooth, similar to Castrol. Next day morning start engine when cold, the start up more responsive and idling slightly better compared to Castrol when new. Low speed driving and power is about the same as Castrol. Revving to higher speed and about 100KM, the engine is more stable. Overall slight improvement from Castrol and will monitor the mileage and if Motul really gives up to 10% More constantly over a few full tanks.

What I like
Smooth, Fuel Consumption

What I do not like
Nil

2 Review Photo(s)

spacer spacer
  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page

Recommended for you

1-6 of 18