Recommended for you

Five things P-plate drivers in Singapore should keep in mind immediately after passing

» Go to articles

This is an old car model that is no longer for sale by the local distributor since Apr 2012.
Click here for the new model Honda Civic that is currently for sale.
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Honda Civic
spacer
4.0
 
41 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
4.0 Reliability
4.0
spacer
Handling
4.0 Features
3.5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.0 Interior Design
4.0
spacer
Value for money
3.0 Engine Performance
4.0

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
VictorTQT
2nd Gear
1 reviews
228 points
44 forum posts Joined on 21-Nov-2018
Compromise best in term of performance, value and comfort  Posted on 07 Jan 2019
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
I used to drove a Honda Civic 2.0AT 2006 when I was in Vietnam before. Recently I has just bought my first car in Singapore and I wanted to choose a close to 10 year car for COE renewal. Although had a headache between choosing between Toyota Altis or Honda Civic, I finally decided to go with the Honda Civic 1.6AT. Found a good car from the direct owner, mileage of 87000 km only. Surprisingly, I found the exterior design of Honda Civic after 10 years of manufacture is still quite stylish and not out of date. Interior design still looks fascinating. Handling is good, steering feel quite realistic and gear change is quite smooth. From my past experience with Honda Civic and with this one, I think the reliability of Honda is among the highest. The noisy on the road, lack of rear aircon are consider minor issues with it only.

What I like
1/ Dashboard design
2/ Sporty exterior
3/ Reliability
4/ Fuel consumption
5/ Pickup is good

What I do not like
1/ Noise insulation is not very good, especially on rough roads
2/ No rear aircon, so the aircon need to be set strong to make the rear passengers cool. But then the front driver is frozen.


SiLangKia
Supersonic
3 reviews
69,575 points
3012 forum posts Joined on 25-Mar-2015
FD1 Civic  Posted on 18 Jan 2017
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Thought I'd do my car justice and give it a review after owning it for 2 years.
Bought the FD1 second hand in 2015 (2006 car) and recently renewed the COE to continue driving cos I really like the drive

Reliability is there , like what most ppl expect from a japanese car, though I have to admit that this FD required a few more wear and tear parts compared to my previous altis (suspension mostly), but it's to be expected as the suspension design is more complicated compared to the altis, hence, more parts + more potential wear & tear

Drive: Fairly responsive and good acceleration from a NA engine (can't compare to VW TSI but not too far off either). Engine is fairly muted and makes a nice growl when you pile on the revs, doesn't sound coarse or strained!

Handling: Little body roll and quick , well weighted steering (though I'd appreciate a bit more feel). Suspensions errs towards the firmer side (not uncomfortable though) but the tradeoff is getting better body control which I can appreciate

Exterior: Wasn't love at first sight but the design kinda grows on you

Interior: Design still looks fresh today and it's quite nicely styled with quality materials. Space wise, felt that rear legroom could be better (improved with the current FC Civic)

Fuel Economy: Getting around 10.6-11.2 km/l on 80% City 20 % Highway (Based on calculations after refuelling). Didn't have very high ecpectations on this so it's acceptable to me

What I like
Performance
Handling
Interior Design
Reliability

What I do not like
Rear Space
Replacement parts are slightly more expensice compared to other jap brands
The slightly Ah Beng Vibe it gives off


Piauster
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
13 forum posts Joined on 02-Feb-2009
Best Car In the Segment  Posted on 12 Apr 2011
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 3.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
I drive the Civic FD2 and it's coming to 1 year 4 months now. I love it and I am findiing it hard to look for a replacement for this in the same car segment.

What I like
1. Smooth revving engine. Very easily hit 4000 - 5000 rpm.
2. 5 gears. Shifts very smoothly.
3. Large cabin space.
4. Flat rear floor and large leg space.

What I do not like
1. Car is noisy at crusing speed of above 110km/h.
2. Road noise and tyre roar is very loud.
3. No trip info display.


Mugen85
1st Gear
1 reviews
17 points
514 forum posts Joined on 29-Jan-2010
Most reliable car! You get what you pay for!  Posted on 24 Mar 2011
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Bought the 1.8 VTI-S when it was around $70k+.
Travelled 80k and ZERO problem with the car so far. Reliability is top class! Very fuel efficient if you are doing mostly highway. Can be quite a drinker if doing mostly city driving.
One of the most powerful car in its class and very responsive.
Certainly a drivers car as it handles very well.
Ample space for 5 adults to be seated comfortably.
Both the interior and exterior design of this car is gonna last your eyes for a very long time. One of the best looking car around.

What I like
Reliability
Fuel-Efficient
Powerful
Responsive
Great handling
Comfortable
Big cabin with rear flat flooring
Beautiful & futuristic Interior and Exterior design

What I do not like
Lousy sound proofing especially on the roof when it rains and road noise.
Car vibrate when aircon kicks in.
Price abit on the high side.


Aaronlim_1
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
7 forum posts Joined on 10-Nov-2010
My dream car  Posted on 21 Nov 2010
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 2.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Stylish modern and sporty, unlike its older brothers. The FD2 is not so beng-ish... very nice and reliable car to own.


Devlin
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 10-Jul-2010
Most value and highest quality per cost/dollar spent  Posted on 10 Jul 2010
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Honda Civic provided most value and highest quality per dollar that is spent (including maintenance costs)


Akiyo
Clutched
4 reviews
6 points
67 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Still going strong  Posted on 23 Apr 2010
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Been driving the civic FD close to 2 years now... Frankly, I am still enjoying every moment of it. The engine is one of the best and sweetest revving engine and is also reliable too.

Though the price is really high for this car, but I still feel it is quite worth it. A good overall package that Civic offers and really looking forward to the 9th Generation Civic since the current one has set a high standard.

What I like
-Performance and reliability of the engine
-Style and looks of the car
-A realtively good balance between power and fuel consumption (dependent on how heavy your right foot is)
-still a leader in its class and a benchmark for others/some to follow

What I do not like
Maybe the price...


Branteo
Clutched
1 reviews
12 points
981 forum posts Joined on 28-Jan-2010
Decent car to drive - if one sees beyond the price  Posted on 12 Apr 2010
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Am driving a FD1 (1.8L, 2007 model). Design-wise, this is one of the more visually appealing Civics. However, the body seems a tad heavier than the previous versions.

Hence, pick up for my 1.8L seems a bit slow, and it is darn easy for one to rev to 2.5-3K when taking off. Have tried the 2.0L version - do go for it can you can stretch your budget a little. Even the pick up for the previous 1.7L VTI seems quicker off the line.

Once get past the initial pick up (from stop-to-go), the car does feel stable when one is cruising at 120-130km/hr.

Fuel Consumption (50% highway, 50% city) is about 9.5-10km/L - and I do have a relatively heavy right foot. (am on 215/45/17, Goodyear F1 Asymmetric)

Fuel tank capacity is 50L, but usually pumps in 42L when the last fuel indicator goes off.

Dashboard layout is appealing - kinda like the digital speedometer, rev readings, etc.

What I like
- Solid feel and built
- Design
- Dashboard
- Stability of car at 80kmh and beyond
- Accuracy of steering, and confidence of grip (dry & wet condition) - thou can be attributed to the tyres

What I do not like
- Slow off the line
- Fuel Consumption perhaps
- Price? In comparison with similar cc. rides (be it Korean, or Japanese cars - conti rides aside), the Civic is significantly pricier


JingHng_1990
Neutral Newbie
47 reviews
2 points
12 forum posts Joined on 01-Apr-2010
Great car  Posted on 31 Mar 2010
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Powerful and smooth engine. This car has a good overall and is stylish inside and out. Good car to consider

What I like
All

What I do not like
None


RomanGod
Neutral Newbie
11 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Most Reliable and Value for Money Car  Posted on 31 Dec 2009
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
100% No Regret. Cheap and Value for Money compared to the agent model. Made In Japan. Smooth Engine.

What I like
everything

What I do not like
nothing


Dinosaur
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
3 forum posts Joined on 22-Sep-2009
Great driving experience  Posted on 23 Sep 2009
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 2.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Test driven Altis, Lancer, Civic 1.8, Civic 2.0

Finally got my hands on Civic 2.0, price difference compared to 1.8 was very minimal. Get the 2.0 if you can stretch a little.

Cabin comfort can be greatly improved though... otherwise the other factors are worth commending.

What I like
Good pick up. Step on the paddle and you feel the instant responsiveness.

Rear leg room. Surprisingly... Quite spacious

Paddle Shift, Cruise control. I wonder whether I will be able to use it in Singapore context.

What I do not like
Pricey.

Comfort level in cabin can be improved. The rear seats are pretty hard.

No keyless entry.


Greenfunk
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
34 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Excellent Car! but not in Singapore.  Posted on 07 Sep 2009
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
My sister has a honda civic in australia and the entry model in australia is the 1.8l model. Great car because when travelling at high speeds on highway. It's pretty quiet. There's cruise control on it but a bit complicated. Petrol consumption is excellent, $50 a week is more than enough. Boot space is good enough for 2 golf bags and 2 mid sized luggages

What I like
Futuristic driver's cockpit.
- the blue light is da best!

POWAAAAAAAR of the car!

What I do not like
Price. Tooo expensive in SG.
Wish it was a little bigger as well.


Drive_carcar
Clutched
1 reviews
15 points
2555 forum posts Joined on 02-Mar-2008
Can't go wrong choice  Posted on 18 Aug 2009
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 3.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
I own a Civic 1.8 MT for one year now. Only regret is why I did not get a higher spec'd Civic initially.

It's a very good car, good pickup, competent handling. Very comfy for driver and passengers.

Overall, the design just cannot be faulted.

What I like
The exterior is very distinctive. The driver cockpit is very futuristic, and look absolutely cool especially at night.

Engine is very rev happy, droping down 1 or 2 gears and rev is very addictive.

Flat rear floor is an absolute gem, as many of my passengers really come to appreciate the great leg room. If only more cars have this same feature.

What I do not like
Way too many Civics on the road.


Titanolo
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Bewarn: Civic has aircon compressor problem  Posted on 05 Aug 2009
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 1.0
Handling 4.0 Features 1.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 1.0
Value for money 1.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
To all potential buyer of expensive Civic, be warn of the aircon compressor problem. The car will vibrate/shiver when the compressor kick in when the car is stationary.

When highlighted to KM during servicing, the reply is "Its normal"


Timecraze76
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
11 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Most expensive japanese car 1.6 litre  Posted on 26 Jul 2009
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 3.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 1.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Not recommended at all might as well purchase euro car more dominant. For japanese car cant expect much for interior anyway depend on individual preference. Look like the same problem do occur for Japanese car doesn't matter what model it was noisy roof top etc.

What I like
only the exterior

What I do not like
expensive for 1.6 litre japan car not worth

Honda Civic
4 stars - based on 41 reviews