Recommended for you

Kia Rio 1.4 (A) Review

Watch out for these hazardous road surfaces if you don't want to get into an accident!

» Go to articles

This is an old car model that is no longer for sale by the local distributor since Jan 2011.
Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Kia Rio 1.4 (A) Review
28 Apr 2010  |  Kia Reviews
Kia has been providing the world's market with affordable and relatively well-built cars for as long as we can remember. Now the Korean manufacturer is back again with a facelift for one of their most popular models.
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Kia Rio Hatchback
spacer
3.5
 
8 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
4.0 Reliability
3.5
spacer
Handling
3.5 Features
3.5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.0 Interior Design
3.0
spacer
Value for money
4.5 Engine Performance
3.5

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
bb21
Clutched
3 reviews
7 points
11 forum posts Joined on 09-Aug-2015
Most economical car I've owned!  Posted on 08 Aug 2015
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 3.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 2.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
I bought a used 2007 Kia Rio with only one previous owner. The exterior was well maintained as well as the interior.
Since this is the Sport Trim level, it offers a bucket style leather seats fro both front seats and a normal leather back seats.
The interior has a funny styling with fat bulge on sides and the centre console.
The exterior has an ugly look with black rubber on all sides. The newer models (2011 onwards) don't have such things anymore.

Its very easy to maintain what's under the hood! All parts are reliable and come cheap with quite a variety of choice, as it can also use Hyundai's parts.

Seats at the back are foldable. Boot space are adequate to put some pails (if you was your own car) and hose pipe, together with all the stuffs you need to maintain that vehicle.

Driving wise, can't expect much. As this is a front wheel drive car, handling is not so good at high speeds with "Floating" Feeling. I have a 16 inch rims btw. Nevertheless, it does the job.

Fuel? Don't talk about that... So economical. Even with it's "Not so big" Tank, full tank can give you a week of short travelling (approx. 380-400KM).

Overall, it's a good car to drive from point A to point B with good stability and pick up speed on city roads. Long highway routes should be avoided especially when you are not confident at high speeds.

What I like
Fuel consumption (380-400KM;full tank)
Easy to maintain
Reliability
Easy to find parts

What I do not like
Exterior styling
Interior dash design
Handling at high speeds
Engine noise (like a truck)
Leg room at the back when front seats are all the way back.
Small leg room for the front passenger bcz of the bulging dash styling


Madza_navy22
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
3 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
My Little Blue Monster-to-be  Posted on 26 May 2010
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Bought my ride last year aug and waited until nov then arrived, but it's worth it. Because it is a new model! Price was reasonable after including my leather seats and sports rim. pickup wise was generally okay. If you guys are looking for a budget and mid-size HB, the new rio hb would be just perfect. Whenever i need the power i got it.

What I like
Fc - Around 15km/litre
Exterior & Interior - upgraded plus new facelift (was very pleased)

What I do not like
So far nothing to complain about.


Muzaffar
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
I just got the Kia Rio  Posted on 29 Apr 2009
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Well to be honest, reading some of the very "smart" reviews, people in Singapore i suppose do not even know what are bore strokes and whats a mc pherson strut or an axle or cv joints.

They are ignorant and experiential in what they buy, if it feels good then they buy, i guess all they know is to turn on the engine of their Kia's and drive and perhaps try and make a statement, which does not make any sense, really if anyone checks what they've written up there.

You have to know your engine and its capability before making comments like exterior interior, if you wanted all that, mates, get a bloody house or a Bentley.

Well to me the Rio is fC and i believe since i repair my own car, it is also excellent value for the price and besides by American times- this car is voted to have the least problems. The pick up is gd if you know how to drive :) and not strain your drive belts. It is a car that essentially Korean to its essence and a fav in Aussie, for Aussies. I feeli have made a wise choice. Cheers.

What I like
Full body Kit
Keyless Entry
Kenwood Stereo
Reverse sensors
GPS
rims
DOCH engines
its compression ratio

What I do not like
Upholstry.


Asromaddict
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
value for money  Posted on 20 Jun 2008
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 3.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Just got this 1.4L Auto Rio 5DR 2 months ago.
Nice exterior (very european), comfortable interior (just nice for family of 4).
Good enough for commuting in SG city roads. Fuel consumption reasonable.

What I like
The exterior look. Especially with the full body kit installed.

What I do not like
The beige colored boot interior.
might get dirty easily if not maintained well.


Jerrytcl
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Never Regret to Own her  Posted on 19 Jun 2008
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Smooth 1.6L engine and power is adequate for its size. It has been 2 years with me and i m still loving her.

What I like
her smooth engine, 2 color interior (black and beige), euro and sporty look, big interior for its price.

What I do not like
plastic interior and steering wheel, feel good after wrapping the steering with leather.


Whitemetal
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Value for money  Posted on 20 Apr 2008
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Nice design

What I like
Spacious

What I do not like
Beige interior color
Steering can't be adjusted


Liangjinxi
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Its a reliable car I can said  Posted on 28 Feb 2008
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Its a good choice for first time buyer..When the engine is warn up it's idles very quietly so time its hard to tell if the car is even running & the external body look very sporty with the body-kid install.


Anonymous
Neutral Newbie
23 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Good budget vehicle  Posted on 14 Jan 2008
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 2.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 2.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Not too bad a budget vehicle, but noisy engine and plasticly interior spoils everything

Kia Rio Hatchback
3.5 stars - based on 8 reviews