Related Articles

Nine timeless cars you can still find in Singapore

The new 2016 Mitsubishi Lancer

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution says goodbye

Car workshops with servicing deals below $70


Past Car
Models no longer being sold by local distributors.
Model unavailable since Dec 2008
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mitsubishi Lancer
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
33 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
30 out of 33 (90.9%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

33 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
IsaacAng
Premium User IsaacAng
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
6 points
2 forum posts Joined on 15-Jan-2018
The best 1.6 (M)  Posted on 03 Feb 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Driven this for 5 years, third owner already. The engine is still good after I let the workshop to evaluate whether is good for renew. Therefore already to decided to renew the COE as no money for down payment :/

What I like
Ride is smooth, good pick up. good fuel economy even though it hit it's 10 year mark, I still can get average 10 - 11 km/L.

Handling wise is okay, as mine is all stock, no mod

What I do not like
so far no prob, just old car have their standard old issues. fix it and it will be good as new again!

Eclipse1
Premium User Eclipse1
3rd Gear
7 reviews
298 points
204 forum posts Joined on 03-May-2006
Reliable and easy to use daily driver  Posted on 07 Jan 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Drive for 1 year and 20K km as an OPC.

FC is good and can do 14km/L on a light foot. Car is light and can move off fast if you know how to handle the light clutch.

mine had SSCUS seats and manual gearbox, light mods to handling but no suspension changes. No big problem within the 1 year of usage and running about. Can do 150kmh easily if pushed. Not a turbo car but a good daily driver.

What I like
Simple car to maintain.
Mods can be done easily to enhance how the engine goes

more available aftermarket parts and common parts easily found in Malaysia too

What I do not like
sound insulation

Hydra
Premium User Hydra
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
14 points
7 forum posts Joined on 26-Dec-2011
Used it for Uber & Grab and it's still solid!  Posted on 26 Sep 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I drive a 07' Lancer 1.6A Sports model for Uber & Grab everyday . I bought it in Jan of 2016 with a year left of coe . The previous owner lowered it and chanhed the hood . Other than that the car is stock and for a stock car it's very good looking! It's a really reliable and worth renewing the coe for another 10 years!

What I like
Same Interior Parts as Evo 7/8/9 and can install evo seats , speedometer and etc.
Beautiful Dashboard.
More of an "atas" interior than other cars of the same value and segment.
Easy and Cheap to find parts and mods.
Good looking already stock for the sports model.
Bulitproof 4g18 engine.

What I do not like
So far it's the body roll as i'be changed back to the oem suspension after my coilovers blew.
No rear disc brake . I know the russian version offers disc brake.
No Manual Mode/ TipTronic for the Automatic.

Elessar
Premium User Elessar
2nd Gear
1 reviews
145 points
53 forum posts Joined on 27-Feb-2011
Reliable and economical car  Posted on 13 Dec 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
My 1st car was a used CS3 (2 years old car registered in 2005) and I drove it from 2007 till 2015 and clocked 165, 000 km. A workhorse, it had no major issues throughout the eight years except for a cracked radiator which left me stranded on the road once. Fuel consumption was approximately 12 km/l.

What I like
Value for money: one of the least expensive MIJ C-segment car
Reliable with low maintenance cost
Reasonably good handling
Stable even at high speed of 140 km/h
Rear seats can be folded down to make space for bulky items

What I do not like
Plain interior
Stock cabin sound insulation was inadequate: loud engine and road noise
Only 1 airbag at driver’s side

LYC
Premium User LYC
3rd Gear
9 reviews
365 points
194 forum posts Joined on 11-Jan-2012
Mit Lancer 1.8 Ralliart Turbo (A)  Posted on 07 Oct 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Driving this car as a courtesy car for the past month. Car is currently about 8.5 yrs old with about 104k milage on it. Clocked about 5k milage on it so far. Found that the sound insulation is very poor. Engine performance is quite decent on spore roads. However, fuel consumption is very high.

What I like
Decent handling
Engine performance
Factory fitted HID

What I do not like
Petrol grade: Can only pump 98 or above

Petrol consumption: with a 50L tank, max can only clock about high 300km until the fuel light lights up. (About 60 city, 40 highway)

Bad sound insulation (comparing to latio / vios / civic etc)

jcksnjoel
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 27-Jun-2015
My CS3 & engine whinning sound  Posted on 27 Jun 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have owned my CS3 manual for about 7 years. There are occasional whining sounds(eee.. Sound) produce from the direction of engine or front brake when moving off from stationary at gear 1 since the car was about 3 years old. Since it is only occasionally, C&C is not able to rectify the issue. Recently, it is more often, especially after driving long distance non-stop. It is almost every time when I return from Malaysia trip at "Stop and go" Situation as the car inched towards Singapore 's immigration custom. Can I check if anyone has the same problem and provide solutions if possible?

What I like
Nice looking car at affordable price

What I do not like
the above mentioned problem.

Nirmal
Premium User Nirmal
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Jul-2012
Simple car with no headache  Posted on 20 Feb 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I owned a manual cs3 with sunroof for 3 years, while i heard about people going in and out of workshop, I didn't have to. Boot space is big enough for me and FC is great even with 17 inch rims. A great first car in my opinion.

What I like
-FC
-Boot Space
-So many variety of Body kits to choose from

What I do not like
-Brake kit is bad
-Interior could have been much better

Romuli70
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-Dec-2002
Nothing good & Nothing bad  Posted on 06 Jan 2010
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Have driven the Auto(CVT) for the past 4.5 yrs. The car is still in original condition without mod. It is quite a reliable and cheap to maintain and really value for money. The downside is the engine is noisy, gearbox whining & inefficient, fuel economy is also poor(compare to current rating) at 10.5-11.5km/l.

What I like
1. nice interior & exterior
2. cheap to maintain

What I do not like
1. noisy engine
2. whining CVT gearbox

Dero
1st Gear
5 reviews
73 points
72 forum posts Joined on 12-Aug-2006
Buy the manual version  Posted on 05 Dec 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I've driven this car many times but it's always the auto version. I heard the manual version gives a better FC. The auto version drinks quite a lot.

Anyway, I feel this car is nice to drive with good pickup. Overtaking is not a problem and it has a sporty look. It is way better than its 1.5l successor which is underpowered for the big body. The engine technology is old but I guess it is very reliable and this car is made in japan!

The seats are comfy with reasonable legroom and boot space at the back.

The down side is that the radio unit is those small ones which means you can't fit those bigger ones and built in DVD player but that isnt much of a problem I guess.

Lastly, somehow I feel the brakes isnt very effective maybe because the rear brakes are drum and not disc.

What I like
- Good Price
- Sporty Look
- Made in Japan
- Powerful Engine
- Reasonable size and space
- Good Handling

What I do not like
- Small radio unit space
- High Beam and Headlights can't be flash at the same time.
- No auto fold side mirrors

Tommyboy
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Lancer GLX is my fifth car that I've owned is also one of the fastest and good road holding. Many good potential and spaces for engine aftermarket improvements.  Posted on 29 Aug 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Owned this lamcer for 2 years now, it is the fastest lancer in town without turbo. Changes after 1 year of driving which I've turn this into a powerful car to drive dispite being a 1.6 engine. The trick, changing the air intake to carbon filter, cyclone, CDI, Power coil, LTA approved exhaust and additional engine and transnission heat exchanger. The new speed record is 8 sec 0 to 100km/h. The engine roar is powerful if step on the gas hard.

What I like
Spaces for add in the engine bay and plenty of aftermarket product for exterior styling.
1) Leg room
2) Boot space
3) Make in Japan
4) Good all round clearence view due to low profile for body frame
5) Despite 10 years old model, the design is still timeless after additional makeup.
6) Good balancing & road holding if given better tires due to low profile of body.
7) Good sound insulation on the roof.

What I do not like
1) Noisy engine
2) OlD EL dial design, should have changed to a better newer one.
3) Spring too soft for factory fitted ones.
4) No Auto wing mirror

Kenway82
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Good ride to have  Posted on 02 Aug 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Been driving the Lancer GLX Sport(M) for about a mth... my 1st car. So far is performing well. Not fully run in yet but overall still ok. Clocking average of 13km/l now. Only having a slow pick up or maybe i din rev much cos still new.

What I like
Sporty outlook, especially with a 16" sports rim.
Roomy interior.

What I do not like
Slow pick up
Noisy, might need to do some soundproofing
need more strength to close the boot.

Am_krish
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Fantastic first car  Posted on 13 Jul 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This is my first car and a good car to start with. I am driving for about 2 months and enjoying every bit of it. FC is 12.5km/lit on the average. Fully Japanese made car for less than 50K

What I like
Spacious interior & boot
Value for money
Good interior & exterior styling
Cold & efficient air-con
That solid feel while closing the door
Road handling

What I do not like
Road noise insulation not that good
FC can be better

Heisakiller
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
3 forum posts Joined on 04-Apr-2007
After 3 years with CS3.  Posted on 13 Apr 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Its been a great car to start with. Reliability is good. Hardly failed on me. Styling is clean. Interior is nice except the aging speedometer.

Drive is not the most engaging but given the asking price, couldnt ask for more. Tends to understeer when push too hard.

Acceleration is sufficient. Low Range is sluggish. Mid range is good. Overtaking at expressway is easy.

Should go for the manual version.

What I like
Cheap to run. Made in Japan.

What I do not like
Speedometer. At least, way better than the ugly vios speedo.

Youngyy
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
10 points
6 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
My Seventh Car  Posted on 11 Apr 2009
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Its CVT investIII pick-up torque is bad. Interior is outdated. Yet still selling despite new models out. However the price is the only pros to pick. Shouldn't it be phasing out?

What I like
The price and roadholding.

What I do not like
Noisy engine that I had to soundproofed the entire car for over $1.2K. OMV or resale value is dissappointing, that I wanted to change another car but think thrice.

Ncw1002
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 16-Apr-2009
My 1st Car - Lancer  Posted on 08 Apr 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
COE at $2 and i decide to look out for a car. At that time, my choice include Vios, Jazz(Too expensive, far from my budget) and Latio. However, comment from friends say that Nissan car is not so fuel economical so Latio is out and Jazz is out because of price. Now left Vios and Lancer. In the end i choose lancer because heard that Vios is made in Thai and does encounter with quality matters.
Pick up my white lancer on Dec 09. Overall is quite a smooth car to go as this is my 1st car. Tested it on highway(JB - KL) and can go up to 160km/h @ 6000rpm. But the engine noise is quite loud to hit that point. One more thing i like is the service from C&C. The salesman who serve me is good as he always follow up with me and i decided to introduce him some customer also.

What I like
Nice interior and exterior design.
Good leg space and boot space.
Good fuel consumption for 1.6 car(mine can reach 14km/l)
Good customer service.
Sporty looks.

What I do not like
No auto retrach side mirror.
Need some additional work on sound proofing.
Slow acceleration.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Mitsubishi Lancer
3.5 stars - based on 33 reviews