Recommended for you

Subaru debuts the new 2024 Impreza

Win a limited edition watch by reviewing a Subaru

Look out for these offerings at the SG Motor Show

Car features you didn't learn in driving school


This is an old car model that is no longer for sale by the local distributor since Dec 2011.
Click here for the new model Subaru Impreza 5D that is currently for sale.
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Subaru Impreza 5D
spacer
3.0
 
15 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
3.5 Reliability
3.0
spacer
Handling
4.0 Features
2.5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.0 Interior Design
2.5
spacer
Value for money
3.0 Engine Performance
2.5

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Ka_kia
1st Gear
3 reviews
72 points
124 forum posts Joined on 09-May-2019
Value for money ride  Posted on 06 Jun 2019
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Has owned this 2.0 liter RS version since 2015 as a 2nd hand owner. Renewed COE in 2018 for about $17k and forfeit PARF value of about $7.7K. About $5k depreciation per yr for this one.

There are still a couple left in car mart as 2nd hand/coe renewed vehicle.

The handling around bends with AWD is good and stable. It is also pretty reliable so long you know the common issues associated with this ride. Aesthetically, I find the hatchback to look quite sexy and it is not too difficult to park as it is not a very long vehicle.

Ride comfort is not exactly very comfy as over the uneven roads and humps makes the ride bumpy. (Perhaps mine is a stock set up)

Pick up is not exactly fast in 2019 standards but when pushed, it can be quite niffy.

Cabin is not exactly filled with plush leather/lining and your arms will be in contact with a lot of hard plastic.

Cabin insulation is not exactly very ideal as it can be quite noisy with the road and engine noise.

However it is decently reliable though i have suffered 2 breakdowns from 2015 to 2019
1) Using metal air intake. When chocked, the car just refused to start
2) Leakage of radiator pipes

For the price point, there is value in getting one as it offers AWD and fairly decent horsepower and torque.

What I like
1) Handing and stability at corners/high speed
2) Curvy design (Hatchback)
3) Affordable asking price
4) Decent horsepower and torque
5) Fairly reliable
6) Easy access dials and on steering wheel

What I do not like
1) FC at about 9-10km per litre
2) very loud engine noise at high speed (as if the engine cannot take it)
3) Hard plastics all around cabin


LuYiLeito
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-Sep-2018
It's a mediocre car  Posted on 30 Sep 2018
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2.0 Reliability 2.0
Handling 5.0 Features 2.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 2.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Alright so this is the car for all those YPs and all those max tune N*ggas. Seriously this car. The 1.5L model's acceleration is mediocre at best, you gotta rev the living crap out of this little 1.5L motor to even get any usable power. The only one you should be looking at is the 2.0L version.
The interior, I don't even wanna start on that, it feels like a perodua or something like that, hard plastics everywhere. The dashboard have a monochrome odometer/gear selector display in the same ring of display as the speedo meter. This screams "I am cheap" It feels like looking at a calculator. The display on the top, the one the Mazda 3 also has have the sole purpose of being a clock. Other than that it's useless.

The wind and road noise is also high. Idk may be I'm too sensitive, but it sounds like a jet engine roaring in the cabin with a symphony of chipmunks singing A cappella in the engine bay .

The fuel consumption is also bad, it's gets no where near the advertised figures. The 1.5L can get about 9~11km/L depends on your driving style. The 2.0L version can get you 7~9km/L.

The maintenance cost. If you're gonna buy this car, prepare $3000 put aside first for repairing. You can't even replace the spark plugs on this car without performing some hand aerobatics and dismantling half of the car. Due to it's inherent design of the boxer engine. Also if your Impreza burns oil, hoseh liao. Just top up another $1000 the the $3000.

And on top of all it's damn expensive, which is the 2.0L version, the only usable one. Which also suffers from high insurance costs. You can get the 1.5L version, but if you wanna get the 1.5L, I'd rather you get a Honda fit or Mazda 3 or smth like that, unless you insists on AWD.

What I like
AWD
Stability at high speed
high cornering speed
2.0L has enough power
Cheapest AWD you can get
great handling
After some modification it looks sick AF yo, on the outside though, although you can add 10 different meters and a whole array of LEDs on the inside. Like all the ah bengs and matreps that own this model.

What I do not like
1.5L version is pretty much useless.
Burns so much gasoline, that you can almost buy another car with it's fuel costs.
Bad Noise insulation
High insurance cost
High maintenance cost
outdated interior design


Vince_noxx
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
5 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Still loving it .... Impreza 1.5 Sedan  Posted on 03 Oct 2011
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
In the last 3 years, I have moved from a Mazda 3, Grand Vitara and now the Scooby. Among the 3, I love the feel of the Impreza best. The handling is super. I was just back from the North and the car easily hit 150km/h without you feeling it.

I had to verify with my wife if she felt I was driving so fast. She hardly noticed due to the stability. The last 2 cars, she would ask me to slow down at 120km/h.

Yes ... pickup is a bitch but the drive is extremely good. FC is not fantastic but coming down from a Full 4X4 2.0L, I think I save a little.

What I like
The stability.

The drive experience.

The rear space.

Many poison.

What I do not like
The slow pickup.

The FC.


Zze121
3rd Gear
1 reviews
466 points
2091 forum posts Joined on 19-Sep-2006
GH7 4AT  Posted on 19 Dec 2010
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 2.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Driving a 5 dr 2L 4AT for 2 years

FC 9.8L/100km, 17" 215 45 tyre profile, stock air intake n filter, muffler, stock shock n brake.
Mod: Throttle controller, front strut bar and rear sway bar, lower spring, rear fog light change to white colour.
Oil use: Amsoil 0W30,10W30
Handling n high speed cornering is stable, only slight bumpy with stock shock.
Brake can be too weak at times, there is a need to upgrade SSBH n high performance pad.
Pickup only on 1st 2nd gear for AT, 3rd gear is too weak for 1.3 ton load.
Stock stereo is not very clear, replaced with a DVD player which need to change the panel
Thottle controller is very useful for AT car
2 yr only replace batt, tyres.
Not water temp gauge, need to install a scangauge to monitor
No ECU reflush available, only Unichip allow (did not install)
Current power is enuff for my driving style
Parts is ex. a headlight only cos $600 n a pair cost $1200
Servicing n oil change can be cheap

What I like
Good handling
Good mid end
Many poisons available
Added STI spoiler n a set of new Rims change the looks
Front seat is spacious
Projector headlight

What I do not like
Pickup can be slow, need to push harder on first 2 gears.
Stock setup is too basic
Interior parts is lousy
Boot is small
Parts costly
High insurance as 11sec car not suppose to classified as sport car
Brand is bengs


Pcatgm
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-May-2010
Don't bother yourself with the 1.5 liter engine version  Posted on 02 May 2010
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 2.0
spacer

Review
This iteration of the impreza has toned down a fair bit and lost its racerboy flair. With the 1.5L engine and 4 gears transmission, the car is struggling a fair bit. You hear the engine screaming but the car doesn't seem to be going any faster. Also there is a fair bit of road noise when cruising.

What I like
AWD handling

What I do not like
With the 1.5 liter engine, the car is seriously underpowered!!
Plastic-iky cabin
Cabin noise
High fuel consumption for a small engine


Pocus
Turbocharged
16 reviews
13,757 points
5828 forum posts Joined on 30-Aug-2004
Lost the boyracer touch yet still agressive.  Posted on 13 Nov 2009
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Compared to the previous models, the current impreza is a serious looking car that looks heavy, not in the clusmy way but it the sterdy way. On initial look it has a rather dodgy front grille but you will learn to love it in no time. The 2.0R spots a sporty looking 17i rims. Foglights and trims are standard.

Looking at the interior tells other wise. In the interior Subaru took the sporty way on furnishing the car, with fabric sports seats and a blackish dashboard designed to bring out the sporty nature. The leather stitched steering has a sporty accent with remote buttons for control the sound system. The headroom is abundant and rear seats legroom rivals the like of the Sonata Taxis.

The real letdown is the boot size. Yes it's got the length, but it has zero depth. Giving the floorboard that flushes with the bumper, you can hardly put in a small luggage, let along a pram.

It's good to know that Subaru built the Impreza with Europe market in mind, so expect a continental drive for this ride. For one the signal indicators and wipers are continentally layout. The auto gearbox have a few options for you to play with, a normal driving mode, a sports mode and a tiptronic mode. You can switch between the modes easily during the drive.

The overall drive (2.0R) is a comfortable affair. However the car does take a little effort on the pedal to move off. The handling of the car is top-notch too for its size, the steering is well-weighted and response exactly the way you wanted. However the engine noise can be a bit intruding if you ride it hard, otherwise its a rather comforatble and quiet ride.

Time to have a spirited drive. One the initial pickup it can still get abit sluggish due to the weight of the car, but one the 2nd gear the car would have gain enough momentum to pull itself further into a sprinty position, however dun expect a jerk back to your seat during the sprinting, its after all a heavy framed vehicle. If you want more control, you can switch to Tiptronic mode to control the power delivery on corners.

Overall the Impreza will please most drivers looking for a comfortable and steady ride yet have a hint of the sporty nature of all Impreza variants... But FC for this AWD is also a killer averaging around 9-10km/l in Singapore road conditions. But for owners of 2.0 car looking for a change, this Impreza is worth a 2nd and 3rd look.

What I like
- Ride Comfort
- Quiet and refined cabin
- Handling
- Loads of luxury options

What I do not like
- Slightly straining engine
- Boot too small for it's size
- front grille.


Jasontang
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
7 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Subaru is still addictive  Posted on 12 May 2009
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Had been driving the car for six month now. The new look start to grow on me and i begin to love the car outlook after some upgrade. Throw in the front lip and the rear diffusser. Upgrade to 17inch rims with F1 tyres. Upgrade to supersprint to get a bassy sound. Throw in cusco front strut and VS and the car lokks perfect to me now. In order to perform, you had no choice but to floor it to get every juice from the little 1.5 boxer to roar and handling is excellent with the AWD set up. FC still poor as expected. The interior and features is a premium compare to the old model except the cargo space in which the spare tyres took up huge space. Overall a sport family car which stand up from the crowd. Best buy.

What I like
Almost everything

What I do not like
Fuel consumption


Param
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Not a bad car after all  Posted on 23 Feb 2009
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Owned this car for a month plus. Like most of them say the pickup is a little poor. But the car peformed rather well with the A/C shut. It was rather quiet even at 3000 rpm with the A/C shut compared to A/C on. Nice interior design. Car feels bumpy at times. FC could be better. Overall a decent car and nice feel of driving it.

What I like
smooth acceleration
boxer engine
stable feel
nice interior
Design
controls on steering

What I do not like
Poor Pickup(A/C on)
Fuel consumption
4 speed auto


Guhrm
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Looks can be deceiving...  Posted on 27 Oct 2008
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 5.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 2.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Tested this car and almost immediately fell in love with the feeling of driving it. Must admit that i kinda didn't like the car's look when i first saw it. However decided to just give it a test drive since there is no obligation. In the end despite the many negative comments in forums about its looks and poor pickup, booked one and just got mine. Ordered the sports version but quite upset that the body kit got no stock, so collected the car without the extra stuff despite paying the extra money.

What I like
Stable and comfortable ride Feels very safe when i am driving the car.
Nice feeling when turning around bends at slightly higher speeds. Little body roll.
Engine is nice and quiet when inside the car.
6 CDs changer.
Affordable price.
Electric foldable windows.

What I do not like
Poor pickup. Would require to floor the accelerator pedal to get the car to move off quickly.
Cheap and plastic-ky interiors.
Very little boot space.
No keyless entry and alarm.
Little features compared to Lancer EX.
Slightly high FC (around 9-10 km/l during my first 500 km)
Low OMV


Unclebond
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
58 forum posts Joined on 10-Nov-2008
Value for money  Posted on 22 Sep 2008
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
The best car I've owned so far. 2.0 R sport.5MT.
Cheer. Well done Subaru. Keep it up

What I like
Very good road holding and handling. Engine is great, very quiet and powerful. FC is about 9.2l/100km.

What I do not like
Back seat is a bit cramp for 3 adults. Minus is the boot space. A bit shallow.


Fishnchip
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
1 points
32 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
First tested this car  Posted on 13 Aug 2008
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 5.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 1.0 Interior Design 1.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

What I like
Boxer Engine
Handling is good
Cheap
The Acceleration
The Brakes
Best 4WD car i ever seen behind landrover

What I do not like
The interior is ugly (Looks like the old model WRX)
The exterior is ugly


TerryKoh
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Pedal to the Metal and you will move an inch  Posted on 28 Jul 2008
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2.0 Reliability 2.0
Handling 3.0 Features 1.0
Exterior Styling 2.0 Interior Design 1.0
Value for money 1.0 Engine Performance 1.0
spacer

Review
Based on a heavy platform (AWD) and having a engine capacity which pushes out a mere 100+HP, there isn't much any car buyer would want to expect from this car. I stepped really hard to get the car moving. Even a Vios gets better acceleration compared to it. I drove the older version before and this to me is a step down. Should only appeal to die-hard Subaru fans.

What I like
The boot can be sat on to wear shoes. Not very possible on other vehicle due to the hatchback's flat boot.

What I do not like
1) The engine

2) The non-standard electronics which are available in other vehicles in the similar price range.


Mazbaru
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Subaru Gone Crap!  Posted on 15 Jul 2008
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 2.0
Handling 2.0 Features 1.0
Exterior Styling 1.0 Interior Design 1.0
Value for money 1.0 Engine Performance 1.0
spacer

Review
Disastrous attempt from Subaru.

What I like
Still got the Boxer engine

What I do not like
Everything else


Evonwrx
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Feb-2005
One of the ugliest jap car i've seen  Posted on 24 Mar 2008
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2.0 Reliability 2.0
Handling 2.0 Features 2.0
Exterior Styling 1.0 Interior Design 2.0
Value for money 2.0 Engine Performance 2.0
spacer

Review
One of the ugliest jap car i've seen


Anonymous
Neutral Newbie
23 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
 Posted on 15 Feb 2008
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer
Subaru Impreza 5D
3 stars - based on 15 reviews