Related Articles

All new BMW 3 Series premieres in Paris

BMW 3 Series International media presentation

Last BMW 3 Series Sedan rolls off Rosslyn plant

Paint the town red with Motul's Specific range


spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of BMW 3 Series Sedan
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
21 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
3/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
15 out of 21 (71.4%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

21 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
biogenie
Premium User biogenie
Clutched
2 reviews
46 points
21 forum posts Joined on 05-Nov-2015
3 18 Sporting Line.  Posted on 29 Mar 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I really like the 318i. It was the car that I grew up with and the evolution is not too shabby at all. The styling on the exterior is in my opinion pretty good. When you sit in, the glare of the headlights that tilt up is pretty awesome. Lets you know that you are in for a ride almost.

I like the interior of the sports package. The black interior with red stitching, although commonly seen now, really sits in well with the overall theme. The accents of ambient lighting gives it glow just enough to let you know where everything is.

The drive is pretty good. I recommend turning off the start stop if you have a guest. It can be pretty harsh. Otherwise, the handling is BMW; And it handles through the ups and downs of a road like it should.

There is ample and i really mean AMPLE booth space at the back. While it is not tall, it would fit 2 big ol' luggage just fine along.

All in all, a pretty good package from the Bavarians.

What I like
Great Drive;
Styling (Sports Package);
Comfortable Seats;

What I do not like
Lacks features which are deemed basic now *Ahem check the koreans / japs*;
No reverse camera;
No park assist for the front;
Lack updates to the ICE system.

KennyLee83
Premium User KennyLee83
2nd Gear
5 reviews
228 points
229 forum posts Joined on 13-Jul-2010
Smooth drive, powerful engine but dull looks and interior  Posted on 19 Feb 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This ride packs a punch but fails at the looks department both exterior and interior.

The boot space and rear passenger seats were much smaller than one would expect.

good for small family

What I like
power and stability

What I do not like
small boot and cramp passengers at the back

Byteslurve
Premium User Byteslurve
2Fast2Furious
4 reviews
70,252 points
7042 forum posts Joined on 08-Dec-2007
Readiness to share  Posted on 14 Dec 2015
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
From my personal opinion, nothing against BMW drivers. Been having this BMW 318 for few years ago, hasn't been driving much due to the performance and comfort, which did not really tempt me to drive it.

What I like
- Headlight probably the only thing good about this car

What I do not like
- Interior with angles, not much comfort be it passenger or driver, when driving, no hand rest area which one can place the hand comfortable
- Interior lighting really a turn off with the dark orange meters and radio panels
- Horns, you have to move your hand right into the middle just to press the horn, and yes, they are very hard to press
- Wipers, totally opposite direction pushing up to on instead of a one time swipe
- Gears, also on the opposite side, pushing up to up gears instead of down
- Steering, hard when you try on the three point turns
- Seating with little leg room
- Exterior, totally spend no efforts in redesigning for normal model
- Control panels, same in zero effort of redesigning

Weez911
Premium User Weez911
2Fast2Furious
2 reviews
27,969 points
2197 forum posts Joined on 04-Nov-2011
Fantastic 2 years with this car!  Posted on 15 Nov 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I have driven my F30 320i for more than 2 years before changing to a 528i. My previous car was a Jetta Sports. My 320i was the basic version and there was no navigation, poor sound system and normal seats. Other than these, this car was brilliant in many ways! The engine, although only 181bhp, has good torque and I have never felt inadequate driving on our local roads. The 8 speed auto was silky smooth and didn't have the jerkiness of the VW box. Last but not least, the handling is epic! All in all, a very good buy!

What I like
Engine
Gearbox
Exterior styling
Interior layout
Handling

What I do not like
Sound system
Lack of navigation
Dakota Leather seats

Jimmy1978
Premium User Jimmy1978
1st Gear
16 reviews
56 points
10 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Most wanted car  Posted on 04 Nov 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The following car , with not much features. Not worth the value been paid for. But is one of the most wanted car by all.

What I like
Nil

What I do not like
Nil

user50
Clutched
5 reviews
32 points
40 forum posts Joined on 22-Apr-2015
Handsome car  Posted on 25 Apr 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Tried the 320 and a 6mth old 316 i feel both are similar with obviously the 320 being more powerful. Very surprised by the cabin sound and the road noise although the interior is good quality. A decent family car with enough leg room and boot space.

What I like
much more space than the old 3 series
looks bigger on the exterior and better looking too
320 feel nicely powered but not impressive

What I do not like
noisy ride by bmw standards

carma1965
1st Gear
11 reviews
50 points
35 forum posts Joined on 20-Apr-2015
Overall a good car  Posted on 20 Apr 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the 316 and found it an overall good car but a little short of the BMW benchmark. No comment on the engine reliability as ive not seen any 1.6L turbo worked out well on the engine lifespan. Very lttle signs of the renowned cabin wind noise. Sound insulation as expected for a Beemer of this range.

What I like
-handling
- good interior space
- simple layout
- nice transmission, very smooth

What I do not like
- a little more roll than usual for 3 series?
- engine struggles a little when pushed
- interior quality not as great as before?

Newbie26
2Fast2Furious
11 reviews
78,500 points
1570 forum posts Joined on 18-Feb-2015
Car with great handling  Posted on 18 Apr 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Tested the 316i on normal and winding roads.

It has great handling compatible with its BMW badge. The new model has stylish exterior. Thought the engine is a tad noisy during acceleration.
Good boot and rear space. Its interior could be better, as it looks dated.
For business model, its only comes with synthetic leather. Seats are so-so.

What I like
great handling
stylish exterior
good rear and boot space
BMW badge

What I do not like
dated interior
noisy on acceleration
price on the high side for an entry model
synthetic leather

Pulsar
Premium User Pulsar
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
24 points
8 forum posts Joined on 19-Apr-2002
Satisfied after 1.5years...  Posted on 27 Oct 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
changed to 19" rim on day 1. changed to washable air filter. stock for all else. reasonable price for a 1.6 litre.

What I like
Things I like:
1) Great Fuel Consumption - 14.2 km/lit average on the iDrive chart
2) good looking - front & side views (back view - ordinary)
3) Safety features- eg. engine auto off if I leave car; cannot reverse car if door not closed.
4) excellent handling
5) good power on higher gears

What I do not like
Dislikes:
1) High rear hump at back seat
2) no GPS, no rear view cam, no HUD
3) lots of brake dust
4) slightly slow pick up.
5) After start car, always have to press twice to Eco Pro, press twice A/C to M

Byteslurve
Premium User Byteslurve
2Fast2Furious
4 reviews
70,252 points
7042 forum posts Joined on 08-Dec-2007
My humble feedback  Posted on 16 Oct 2014
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
BMW 3 series, a car which I will only recommend for people who needs transportation, not to extreme comfort and performance.

What I like
Lighting, sleek eyes with alluring rings
Stability, hard steering suitable for straight and wet roads

What I do not like
Exterior, seriously, for years BMW did not change much with their boring overview
Interior, square and "straight" design, uncomfortable for bigger bodied
Power, not much of a temptation
Features, after 5 years and the only addition to the car is the LCD screen

qwertul
Premium User qwertul
1st Gear
6 reviews
54 points
0 forum posts Joined on 09-Oct-2014
Most fun to drive in its class  Posted on 09 Oct 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the 320i. Same engine as the 520i but immediately feels a lot more at home pulling the smaller car around. Engine doesn't feel underpowered as compared to being in the 5. Quick and responsive steering, but not much feel as expected from electric power steering. Almost no body roll in the corners, feels very nimble when switching lanes. Chassis feel tights and well balanced which you can feel if you u-turn quickly. Wheel base is longer than the E90 but still feels easily manageable in terms of the size of the car. Handles well, accelerates well but the interior could be better as with all BMWs.

What I like
N20 engine feels most adequately powered in this car.
Well sorted chassis gives fantastic handling.
Good space in the cabin front and rear.
Good boot space.
Gearbox is smooth and very fast.

What I do not like
Bulbs everywhere. Compared to the c-class, the 3 series looks cheap with the brake lights and signal indicators using conventional bulbs when the c-class uses full LED set up.
Stock rims look a bit boring.
Interior is functional but not luxurious.

Maxkiah
Premium User Maxkiah
1st Gear
6 reviews
57 points
2 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Looks Good Drives Good but small cabin  Posted on 07 Oct 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The 316 do pack a punch when accelerating for overtakeing car.
Sharp looking on the front design.Basically the BMW is more of a driver car

What I like
the looks and power

What I do not like
too samll passenger cabin , lack of leg room

isjm91
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 03-Nov-2013
Excellent drivetrain and handling  Posted on 04 Nov 2013
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
the 328i's 2L turbo felt very torquey. coupled with the 8 speed auto, it was very quick on straights. the three driving modes were quite instinctive, eg. using it to suit your mood. eco when tired, sport when bored.
compared to the 335i, it was not as powerful of course but at 245bhp, not many people use it all up. exhaust note for the two were very different. both had the distinctive growl but the 3L turbo sounded much better.
handling was great, the steering light, heavier in sport.
interior was fine. seats were comfortable, dashboard with sat nav quite user friendly. only downside was the aircon wasnt quite that powerful.
interesting things to note were the colour schemes which u can pick, the auto opening boot and the suction doors( not quite sure about this feature, maybe it was on a 5er)
petrolheads should look at the 335i if budget allows

What I like
lots of power and torque
handling
8speed auto
nice interior
decent boot
eco pro mode to save petrol

What I do not like
exhaust note
the aircon sucks when the start stop function works
orange speedo, looks outdated

Coconut1
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
1 forum posts Joined on 09-Sep-2013
Beautiful  Posted on 23 Oct 2013
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Gotten the 316i business for 3 weeks now. Compared to the 5th generation 3 series, it has looks much more beautiful and sporty, especially the rear lights. The knee room for the rear passengers are also much more spacious and perhaps comparable to the 5 series or 7 series. Frankly I can't tell the difference in space when sitting in the rear seats. The boot although supposedly big (480L), I don't feel it's practicably so as it's deeper but narrower. Also the space is saved from the where the spare tire is usually kept so becomes another additional small compartment to keep things. I need to lie my stroller oblique now compared to just lying it horizontally across in my old car.

What I like
1) the sporty look
2) the leg room for the rear passengers
3) convenience access (keyless)
4) the powerful sports mode
5) many convenience features in the boot (hangers, nets, compartments)

What I do not like
1) no panic alarm (what if cannot find my car in a crowded carpark!)
2) not enough convenience compartments for front passengers compared to Japanese cars
3) fuel refiller (not sure if all pump attendants know how to open)

Johntan100
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Aug-2013
nice badge but ordinary performance  Posted on 15 Aug 2013
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
The 3 series looks OK. wasnt the most dynamic car that I have driven. Its only a 1.6 / 136HP. you have to push hard on the pedal to get it going
The price is pretty high and if you add some extras it is really expensive.
Handling was not to bad but in the wet you can loose a little traction if you push around a corner.
Styling is not that special if you copmare some of the other expensive cars that compete against the BMer.
The leather seats and the inside finish is OK but for the money I expected it to be a little better

What I like
It is a BMW after all.
pretty comfortable

What I do not like
lack of power
Doesnt have a sporty feel.
The CAT A is now as expensive as CAT B
Its not really different

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
BMW 3 Series Sedan
3.5 stars - based on 21 reviews