Recommended for you

Mazda CX-5 2.0 Luxury (A) vs Volkswagen Tiguan 1.4 TSI (A)

CX-5 2.0 (A) vs Qashqai 2.0 Premium (A) vs Tiguan 1.4 TSI (A)

Mazda CX5 2.0 Luxury (A) Review

Here are the best deals you could splurge on at Singapore Motor Show 2023 (aside from a new car)!


This is an old car model that is no longer for sale by the local distributor since Jul 2017.
Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
CX-5 2.0 (A) vs Qashqai 2.0 Premium (A) vs Tiguan 1.4 TSI (A)
01 Sep 2014  |  Nissan Reviews
Each of these vehicles is eyeing the compact crossover crown. We find out what it takes to get there.
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mazda CX-5
spacer
3.5
 
7 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
3.5 Reliability
3.5
spacer
Handling
3.5 Features
3.0
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.0 Interior Design
3.5
spacer
Value for money
3.0 Engine Performance
3.0

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
bb16
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 19-Sep-2016
A great compact SUV  Posted on 19 Sep 2016
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 3.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
I test drove the Jaguar F Pace before this car and I kid you not, the Mazda experience was more pleasant.

The car rides well, not too much body roll for an SUV, the transmission was smooth, no jerky take offs or awkward engine braking.

The car was comfortable and very user friendly. About the only negative was the small boot.

I also thought that they could have squeezed more power out if they had turbocharged a smaller engine.

Skyactiv is interesting in that it runs petrol motors at diesel compression ratios but the end result is unremarkable.

What I like
Exterior styling is excellent. The new Kodo Design philosophy is changing the way Mazda's are designed and look across models. The car has an aggressive stance with high haunches and an alert stance.

Interior styling is also excellent in a car in this price range.

The engine was pretty punchy and while the official number for the 0-100 sprint was 9.2 seconds, it felt faster than that. Light controls and a spritelyu engine made the sprint feel faster than it was.

The car is pretty quiet for a 2.5 liter 4 cylinder.

The price was right.

What I do not like
Boot space was small compared to competitors.

Skyactiv is an interesting concept but does more for manufacturing than for the user. Turbocharging a much smaller engine would have made more sense but I guess it would have taken up the cost of the car.


X5actor
4th Gear
1 reviews
655 points
478 forum posts Joined on 14-Sep-2015
Relishing a fun-to-drive CUV  Posted on 31 Dec 2015
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
The Mazda CX-5 was an unintended choice when I was looking around to change my ride about 6 months ago. I wanted to change to a SUV/CUV then, and had test-driven several models - Subaru Forester 2.0L & XT, Nissan X-trail, Hyundai Tucson, Mitsubishi Outlander & ASX, among others. The CX-5 was never in my considerations mainly because of its price. But then when I accompanied some friends to Mazda to test drive the Mazda 5, I tried out the CX-5. The rest is history.

As I had driven a few sedans and hatchbacks, and my previous ride being also another sedan, I was a little worried that I may not get used to driving a CUV. The CX-5 made the transition rather smoothly. In addition, the CX-5 gives me more of what I was looking for humbly for my new ride:

a. Good-looking CUV
b. Luxurious interior styling
c. Spacious cabin
d. Easy & smooth drive & ride
e. Good fuel efficiency

I only wish it could be less expensive.

What I like
- Easy, fun-to-drive;
- Fuel economical;
- Simple to use infotainment functions;
- Elegant dash, luxurious feel;
- Wide comfortable seats, spacious cabin;
- Good head & legroom;
- Easy folding rear seats, large rear cabin space;
- Smooth auto transmission & drive;
- Light & nimble steering;
- Push-button parking brake;
- Driver memory sear; and
- Quieter cabin.

What I do not like
- No choice of electric tailgate;
- Lack of rear aircon vents;
- Small center console box;
- No door auto-lock; and
- Small 17" stock wheels.


Racer
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
28 forum posts Joined on 24-Oct-2003
Review of CX-5 after 6 month  Posted on 17 Dec 2015
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Have shortlisted a few car before the decision to buy the CX-5. The reference are Nissan QashQai, X-trail, Vezel, Harrier and even S60.

The best comparison is actually Qashqai, was comparing the feature in the 2.0 and 1.2T which there is huge diff in accessories but do not like the high gear stick and interior of the car, externally it is not bad. The key rejection is actually CVT transmission which i have been worrying about.

Vezel is not bad but key issue is support from PI which i cannot come to term. Harrier is too expensive then and also support from PI plus japanese wording.

S60 is because it is Diesel power which make road trip northward challenging. Even they mention can use the diesel but might need to service the car earlier which did not get any confirmation from them.

Finally CX5 which is a looker, 6speed AT transmission and good interior space.

What I like
-Externally attractive and a looker
-Nearest "Continental" for a Japanese make
-Excellent Fuel Consumption of 12-13km for SUV that is 1.5 Ton!
-Great drive and nice Dynamic
-Dual aircon control for front passenger and driver - which i can turn high and wife aircon lower
-Cruise Control comes with as basic which harrier have to buy premium to have this.

What I do not like
-slow acceleration
-cost
-Aftersales servicing very hard to book
-integrated NAV/Sound/Communicator is a problem as 1 down all down - my experience is when my communicator down and reset several times, went back Transeurokar and was told it needs 1.5 month to arrive! then kind advisor tells me 2 weeks, finally thru relentless effort and great advisor Mr Tay help, manage to get it within 1 week. Imagine no sound, no communicator for Handphone - kind of inconvenience -hopefully they should have stock for such item. When repair the communicator a few days later, when collected the car found that car can lock but no indicator light when lock- frustrated but later figure out it is front bonnet not closed! thus realise that giving 1 day this sort of thing can also happens, my previous few toyota by Borneo Motor never give me such issue. I dun think car got problem it is the servicing procedure got to improve.
-every servicing is 1 day even for 10k which Toyota can always give me in an hour. Saturday also not for big servicing above 10k.
Conclusion, After sales is a challenge to book and the time needed for spare can be a harrowing experience.


Pras1
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 16-Nov-2015
Superb SUV with all comforts  Posted on 15 Nov 2015
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Checked 3 cars. X-trail a good car but felt little under powered. Qashqai 2.0 is smooth but found little cramped at rear seats. My wife who was sitting at rear seat said it is driver car & not passenger car as spacing is not comfortable. At the end, selected CX-5. Though it is little expensive but met all our requirements.
I have been driving from last 2 weeks & It's simply awesome car. Overall very happy with it. Great look especially my selected red soulmate color, beautiful interiors, smooth driving with perfect handling. Driving elevation is perfect and with premium Bose speakers, every trip is enjoyable with my iPhone music.
Only little issue I have is iSTOP of sky active, which sometimes is irritating but you can always switch it off.
With 60-70% Highway driving, I am clocking excellent 12 to 12.5 km/l and hopefully it will improve as engines smoothens over period of time.

What I like
Great look
Comfort & space
Bose speakers
Fuel consumption

What I do not like
Of course cost


0wnage
2nd Gear
2 reviews
107 points
357 forum posts Joined on 01-Sep-2011
Great looking SUV  Posted on 02 Nov 2015
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Driving the new facelifted 2.0l CX-5 for more than a month now. The facelifted CX-5 with its new LED lights and grill definitely look way better than the pre-facelifted version.
However, road and wind noise is still evident at speeds despite Mazda claiming that improvements were made to reduce NVH.
Inside the cabin, where the front reading lights and sunglasses holder are, seems to be poorly put together and you can technically push the whole thing inwards into the headliner with average force.
The 7 inch touchscreen looks and works good and the drive is considerably comfortable.
One of the more economical 2.0l SUV around as I'm averaging 12.5km/l with about 50% City and highway driving.

What I like
Auto LED headlights with static bending lights.
Electronic parking brake.
Reasonably good fuel economy.
One of the better looking SUVs around.

What I do not like
Some parts of the cabin poorly put together.
Road and wind noise still evident at speed.
Legroom at the back is average despite a 2700mm wheelbase for someone 1.75m and above.


Yutakai
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Jan-2013
Then why was this car awarded car of the year?  Posted on 28 May 2014
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 2.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
I find it not too bad in comparison with other Japanese peers such as Forester. I liked the handling. Forester with strut bar has body rolls even more.

What I like
Slick design and tightly build
It's probably not not fair to compare vs Germans for the price, but it seems closest to a continental car out of Japan for the feel.

What I do not like
Less power (buy what to expect with better fuel consumption...)
But previous Mazda 5 was much more powerful. Where is the Mazda's "Zoom, zoom" concept in this?


Godspeed1980
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Mar-2013
Skyactiv? Mumbo Jumbo or Reality?  Posted on 25 Nov 2013
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 3.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 1.0 Interior Design 2.0
Value for money 1.0 Engine Performance 1.0
spacer

Review
Last weekend was my adventure to exorcised my devils on all the Skyactiv hypes. Indeed idealogical, to max the efficiency of gasonline based engines is always a achievement too good to be true. Mazda take on this is the Skyactiv which focused by utilizing the good ol tricks facied by most trackday hobbist, i.e. Compression ratios. And sure they went notable distant in engine designs, manifold designs. Has it work? maybe time will tell. But some figures to take home.

Consumption figures is at 6.0km/l. torque numbers of 250Nm at 3200rpms. Power at 184hp at 6krpm. Clearly the turbocharging Europeans of these days seems having more grunt and better in terms of numbers. Efficiency is in truth lacking, which on pars only to the likes of the ecoboosts and psa's 1.6 princes. Considering the length that it went on designs from ground zero.

Numbers are just numbers, the quintessential mazda should always about its ride, Sadly that doesnt work. Ride is harsh which could be due to the R19 rim size, even around the Leng Kee rd which the bumps are always minimal. An SUV of this height should always accompany with bodyrolls which isnt surprising. But what really annoying is the lack of good old fashion power is the most intriguing part. Clearly as it is always intended the compression ratio is for the efficiency; But the lack of it, alongside with the power that it produces all seems to me that the commisioning of this piece of technology is all too premature. We all fond of the idea and usually fantasazing our world with such ideaologies without the hybrid bunches. But surely Skyactiv needs more time. and more experimentalist.

I chose wisely not to be one.

What I like
Smooth gear changes a good point to note. Alongside with the ride performance of this size and height. Although still far from the likes of a DS4 or Countryman or even a Juke. It can't be helped

Mazda effort, or should I say, left with no choice, with their take on green and efficiency.

It has a sun roof.

It has a big boot.

What I do not like
Plenty to note if someone would care to finish the above-mentioned thesis of mine. Plenty of safety specs packed in a product of the same class. But not in a good package. seems all too rush too pack it up and send it out. Mazda should really pay a good visit to a standard Volvo showroom to see how it is done.

I-stop is annoying all the time. Ride is harsh and unforgiving with the Ninetines.

Spacial comfort at the back needs serious improvement.

Mazda CX-5
3.5 stars - based on 7 reviews