Recommended for you

The Volvo V40 gets a bigger heart

The game-changing Volvo V40 T2

V40 Carbon first to receive Polestar optimisation

Car Club is now bigger and better than ever


Past Car
Models no longer being sold by local distributors.
Model unavailable since Aug 2019
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Volvo V40 T4 R-Design (A)
24 Aug 2018  |  Volkswagen Reviews
The Volvo V40 is a stylish and mighty quick hatchback, thanks to a bigger 2.0-litre engine and the R-Design trim package.
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Audi A3 Sportback 1.4 (A) vs Peugeot 308 1.2 (A) vs Volvo V40 T2 (A)
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Volvo V40
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
8 Reviewers
3 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3/5 Reliability
3/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
2.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3/5 Interior Design
2.5/5
spacer
Value for money
2.5/5 Engine Performance
3/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

8 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Mrdolphin
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Sep-2009
Low Quality, Poorly Made Car at a high price point  Posted on 27 Apr 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 1/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
- Engine is rusty and jerky. Totally not smooth.
- The interior trimming of the car feels cheap and dated.
- The aircon is poorly made, able to hear "Water" Sounds flowing when its turned on, its shocking.
- Handling, comfort is rough.
- Didn't expect these from such a high priced compact car.

Joeblack77
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 31-Aug-2018
Old model trying to package as new  Posted on 31 Aug 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 2/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
The V40 was launched in 2012 and after 6 years they are still trying to package as a new model. The only thing new is the engine and headlights. The exterior is so passé and the interior still has number pad buttons which makes it look like a dinosaur. They are trying to get rid of old stock. It's like paying the price of a new model and getting an old model instead.

What I like
Good for those who like old school looks

What I do not like
There are so many V40 on the road since 2012 and it does not look like a new model unless you go near and see the Thor headlights.
The number pad is like an old mobile phone sitting in the console of a new car.
Not worth paying so much for a Swedish car.

blackgt
Clutched
1 reviews
9 points
3 forum posts Joined on 20-Mar-2018
Good car bad service  Posted on 20 Mar 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I have drove this T2 for 2 years and i enjoy my ride, no complaints on the car.
However i had a bad experience yesterday and it has changed my view on the brand totally.

What I like
Handling
Responsiveness
Road feedback
Ease of drive
Comfort

What I do not like
The Service Team.
Just sharing to all Volvo owners:

Hi to all Volvo owners, just an advice from my own bad experience.

Get your battery changed when its weak before 2 years. Do not let them charge it cos it may last few months longer and after the 2 year warranty you have to pay for it $320.


Goodluck.

andrealcolon
Neutral Newbie
18 reviews
1 points
5 forum posts Joined on 04-Jan-2018
The Premium & Hi-tech Hatchback  Posted on 31 Jan 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The Volvo V40 luxury hatchback is essentially the V40 Cross Country sans the rugged styling features. Thus, it ditches the SUV cosmetic features to adopt a hatchback visual, while the ground clearance is reduced as well. The Swedish car comes with great looks and features to win hearts of buyers.

What I like
+Striking looks
+Best-in-class safety
+Plush Interiors

What I do not like
-Brand Image vis-a-vis competition
-Less service outlets
-Low in space

aboycalledloy
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 03-Jan-2017
Surprisingly good  Posted on 22 Jan 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I own the diesel model and driven the petrol variant (1.5 t2). On paper it doesn't look fast. 120 horses in a Swedish tank doesn't sound particularly fast. But numbers are numbers. It's more than quick enough for Singapore although it doesn't feel as punchy as my diesel. Fuel economy is as solid as it's build quality. Although it doesn't have as much nice materials or equipment as the German offering, (and wearnes really skimped on equipment) it makes up for it in terms of quality. Every interior panel is well screwed together like it'll last decades. It's big enough for a small family. If you're vertically challenged you'll find silver linings in being short, in this car (I'm 185cm tall and I fit comfortably, barely). Volvo's legendary safety is very much evident in this car. And you really feel like they don't cut costs manufacturing this car. The seats designed by a orthopedic give my spine a treat. It seats low so it handles very well, no body roll no understeer. Having the car for 2 and a half years at 80k milage it has suffered from nothing.

Aftersales is orientated to the wealthier customer. Free taxi rides home and coffee as well as atas garages you see when you send your car in for servicing comes at a price. No surprises there. I service my car outside at a volvo specialist garage which is considerably cheaper but equally volvo friendly. So maintenance is not an issue.

Overall the car is very reliable, no horror stories or recalls. I used to be paranoid about being stuck with breakdowns in the future when i first bought it but I'm very confident after 2 years it'll be reliable enough to tahan our weather and start stop traffic.

What I like
Affordable for the average car buyer. Good value if you count the build quality. Cheap to run. Spacious enough for the targeted audience. Looks subtly stunning. Not shout-ey if you don't want the attention. Reliable, quiet, comfortable. Specialist garage available outside. Something not mainstream.

What I do not like
Wearnes stripped out everything man, smaller screen. Plastic trims instead of silk metal. My car doesn't have a moon roof, electric seats, door lights etc etc. Seeing the standard manufacturer version I realised mine had so much taken out to save cost/maximise profit. I guess it's a standard in Singapore how our government tax the cars worth but... How much can you save by taking out the door light come onnnnn. 1990s style rims.

Servicing at AD is expensive.

Ride is abit hard for those hdb humps. But never unbearable. Give and take la the cornering is solid.

Car is low. Scraped the bottom a few times. Sakit hati. Just take note to slow down at ramps or humps.

Antartica
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
1 forum posts Joined on 31-Mar-2009
Value for money for an entry Conti  Posted on 20 Jul 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Being Singapore with the wonderful COE system It was time for me to reset my COE clock on the family transport.
Having driven a 2010 XC60 T6 AWD (resale unit) for the last 3 years. It was only natural to transition to another Volvo.
With the price increase and still dodgy economy, it was the V40 T2 for budget and value sake.

It's a 1.5l turbo charged car. What do you expect?
Comparing apples to apples - nearly - having driven Japanese Cat A and Cat B cars. This was relatively responsive. Good feel of the road as well as handling.

During the test drive, when I had the chance with segments of open road. I floored it and, yeah, she will take off. But keep in mind - 1.5L. If you want something punchier, go for all 300 horses of a T6.

For an entry model, it's adequately comfortable and quiet in the cabin.

For the base model, it does not disappoint.

What I like
The New Headlights! WOOOOO!
In-built Safety Features
Customer sales service and support was excellent.

What I do not like
While it is a base model, its still a Volvo, available and compatible accessories from the manufacturer is way too limited. Can't even fit a reverse park assist camera into the tiny built in LCD... go figure

Entertainment / control dials could be a little more updated.

BMWX1
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
2 points
6 forum posts Joined on 10-Oct-2016
Volvo V40  Posted on 11 Oct 2016
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I never laid eyes on this car until my wife persuaded me to take a look at the showroom. Weird rear design and small LCD screen. Many button on middle console. Solid build with reasonable trimming.

To be fair, we never test drove this car. So I cannot comment on handling and engine performance but the system set it as mandatory field to be filled in. So "Average" Rating is given.

What I like
1. Small yet sporty look.

What I do not like
1. weird rear design.
2. small LCD screen.
3. Overpriced package
4. Reliability
5. car seat is made of hide cow leather. Volvo is insensitive to certain group of consumers. How many cows are killed in the process of making Volvo?

Quistation
Neutral Newbie
38 reviews
1 points
4 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Surprisingly fun Volvo  Posted on 22 Jan 2016
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Drove the new V40 variant, a 1.5L turbo engine, and i was surprised by the car.

Visually its not bad looking. More stylish and modern than the old volvos. The interior is on the more spartan side, though. Its comfortable, no doubt. But some parts feel a little on the cheaper side, like the rather tiny screen that sits weirdly in the central console.

However, the car drives really nicely. The engine is good in full auto mode. Using the paddle shifts there is some lag in changing gears, but its no deal breaker. What was most memorable is how the car handles. The steering is nice and firm, and it seems like the chassis is really well sorted because its really stable through corners. Not what i expected from a Volvo.

What I like
- good looking
- drives well
- excellent handling

What I do not like
- somewhat bare interior

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Volvo V40
3 stars - based on 8 reviews