Recommended for you

Subaru shatters Mt. Washington hillclimb record

No STI for current generation Subaru WRX

Ken Block back in a Subaru for 2021 rally season

Heat protection tips for HDB open-air carparks


This is an old car model that is no longer for sale by the local distributor since May 2021.
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Subaru WRX 2.0 (A)
11 Jul 2014  |  Subaru Reviews
The Subaru WRX has written a remarkable chapter in automotive folklore during its 20-year reign. Can it regain its iconic status with the latest iteration?
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Subaru WRX
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
6 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
4.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

6 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Turboflat4
Supersonic
2 reviews
54,438 points
21735 forum posts Joined on 06-Jul-2009
Rally-inspired pocket rocket  Posted on 24 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I have had a couple different models of this car, but one thing I love about the WRX is that it has stayed true to its rally-inspired roots. And the basic formula has remained unchanged - put a small but well-balanced flat 4-pot into the front of a smallish to mid-sized sedan, put a snail on it, add AWD into the mix and watch magic happen. Its closest rival in the segment, the mighty Evo, has sadly gone the way of the dodo, leaving the Subaru triumphant by default among the rally-inspired AWD road rockets. On a price to performance basis, the car remains unbeatable. Needless to say, it is most rewarding with a proper manual transmission. Even thought the AWD makes it a competent drag car, dumped-clutch launches are a no-no (unless you basically have an unlimited repair budget). Similarly, eschew handbrake turns, as cool as they may be to execute, if you value the health of your differential. But even with those compromises, this car remains a practically unbeatable performance bargain.

What I like
The AWD gives massive grip. The chassis gives a firm but still comfortable ride (if you want a much more confidence-inspiring drive, go for the STI, obviously). The manual transmission makes for great fun. The boxer exhaust note is unmistakable. Ultimately, by now, pretty much everyone on the road recognises this car for what it's worth, and it still "has it".

What I do not like
The interior is rather cheap-feeling. First gear has always been a bit hit-and-miss in the car. While I personally love the boxer engine note (actually the rumble comes about because of unequal headers), it is a bit of an acquired taste. Fuel economy can be bad if you're "on it" all the time. And regrettably, it still has the aura of a "beng car" if you care about such things (I, personally, do not).

Savagetosh
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
2 points
59 forum posts Joined on 25-Jun-2011
Powerful and affordable sedan!  Posted on 11 Feb 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This new Subaru WRX handles better, looks better, and the interior feels better than the previous generation WRX.

What I like
Powerful engine.
Looks good.
Handles very nicely.
Nice and nimble exhaust sound.
Has everything a WRX needs.
Torquey, especially at the low end.
Improved fuel consumption of the FA20DIT as compared to the older EJ25 engine.

What I do not like
Availability in CVT. (What??? CVT on a WRX???)

DerrickD
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Jan-2016
Best all rounder  Posted on 16 Aug 2016
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Checklist

Price - Check
Power - Check
Torque - Check
Handling - Check Check
Body Styling - Check
Japan Made - Check
LED Light - Check
Safety Rating - Check Check Check Check Check

What I like
What's there not to like?
Handling, Power, Torque.
Consistently high rating by IIHS, EuroNCAP.

What I do not like
Audio system could be better....
but I'll just enjoy the rumble of the engine for now.

S4vtec
3rd Gear
1 reviews
403 points
1306 forum posts Joined on 30-Jul-2005
A BUDGET POCKET ROCKET  Posted on 20 Aug 2014
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Car was biought used with 130k on the clock in stock condition. Athough a 2.5, the fuel consumption was reasonable at 9-9.5km/l with 70 % HW and 30 % city.

Car did not fail for the next 80k km that was owned

What I like
Power, underdog image. somewhat exclusive

What I do not like
Must use 98 Ron , ( A problem when you travel to Malaysia)
Spare parts costs is higher than most other Japanese brands
Insurance costs is high

Sirp
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 24-Jun-2006
Same Subaru with improved interior quality and more fuel efficient  Posted on 27 Jul 2014
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Just got this car for 2 weeks. Feels similar to my old S-GT yet more refine. For a start it has more features like bluetooth, a multi function display that has boost gauge and reverse camera. Space is bigger all round with sexy light cluster. It still has cheap parts but it is no longer the bare minimum car that we have to come know it. The new FA20 packs similar punch like the older EJ20 but it is now more fuel efficient. The quick steer pinon is 2.5 turns lock to lock meaning u can do a u turn on 2 lanes road finally. (it has traces of toyota GT86 or BRZ here and there) Am loving it! found driving joy again after ditching my problematic V40. its new so i wun rate its reliability yet.

What I like
Powerful engine that is fuel efficient. (avg 8.5km/L after 2 tanks of petrol) with alot of city driving, Nice styling. Much better handling and did i say u can u turn with 2 lanes? Feature pack with rain sensor, light sensor, bluetooth, boost gauge, SI drive, pedal shifter, AWD, traction control, push start and keyless entry. almost as good as continental cars without being showly. C light is subtle, nice yet not glaring unlike the likes of Audi, Merz, BMW and their wanabes.

What I do not like
Poor stereo, Suspension is a little harsh but its for handling. not for comfort. Brakes.... must be upgraded. bengish rims.

Jerryong
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
-19 points
12 forum posts Joined on 01-Apr-2009
Test Drive  Posted on 15 May 2014
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The rally-inspired WRX has always been an Impreza on steroids, but this year Subaru has turned up the dosage. The new structure is stronger, and the suspension is retuned with spring rates that are stiffer all around. The 268-hp turbo four and six-speed manual are capable of quicker 0–60 times than the STI; a CVT is offered, but the manual is more rewarding to drive. Cornering is heavenly, but the ride is harsh.

What I like
I feel the need. the need of speed

What I do not like
I feel the pocket very big hole. the hole for money....

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Subaru WRX
4 stars - based on 6 reviews