Related Articles

Choice picks among the newest compact sedans

The Jaguar XE gets a welcome update

Jaguar unveils Reims Edition XE

COE renewal - bank loan or in-house loan?


This car has been nominated as best Compact Executive Sedan

Nominated car
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Jaguar XE 2.0 Prestige (A)
06 Nov 2015  |  Jaguar Reviews
Taking on the BMW 3 Series and the Mercedes-Benz C-Class, can the spanking new Jaguar XE be a convincing alternative to these segment leaders?
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Audi A4 vs Jaguar XE vs Volvo S60
spacer
spacer
Facelift

The Jaguar XE was facelifted on Jan 2020. Read more

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Jaguar XE
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
13 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
11 out of 13 (84.6%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer

13 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Gary2008
1st Gear
1 reviews
22 points
22 forum posts Joined on 24-Apr-2008
Powerful and reliable car  Posted on 22 Nov 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Jaguar XE is powerful, sexy look, safety and reliable car, value for money and service is tip top and handling is perfect

nicedake
1st Gear
1 reviews
44 points
20 forum posts Joined on 24-May-2018
Most exciting easy to handle car I've owned!  Posted on 02 Jan 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The Jaguar XE sport sedan I bought in March 2019 give me a very exciting drive experience which I consider it as a worth buying as it is very easy to handle for the very dynamic drive and quick flexible control of the speed and steering wheel.

What I like
-exterior design
-power level
-nice 18" rims
-comfortable seats
-floating gear knob
-the great promo price

What I do not like
-simple multi media,looks cheap
-cramped rear seats
-some road noise intrusion
-limited interior trimming
-basic safety features
-sceptical about reliability

Dkyl77
Clutched
4 reviews
11 points
13 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Best sport sedan i have owned  Posted on 09 Nov 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The drive is excellent. Powerful and superb handling compared to my previous C class. At 200 PS and 320 Nm torque, the power deliver is smooth and super exciting on the highway. I have to let go my foot on the accelerator to keep to the speed limit or else I may hit the top speed easily ðŸ'ªðŸ˜. Is a pleasure driving the XE. Very comfortable and posh seats. Engine sounds like V6.

What I like
Sporty design
Memory seats, steering and mirror position
Gesture boot lid
Electric tailgate
The rear is not so cramp actually, can fit a tall guy because of the full size posh seat.
Great discount

What I do not like
No virtual cockpit for the current model (2020 model arriving next year)
No tyre pressure monitoring system
No blind spot monitoring for such a price I pay for this car

DdCarReviewerSG
Neutral Newbie
21 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Sep-2018
Would Definitely Consider This Car On My To Buy Car List  Posted on 14 Jan 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Went to the Car Show held on the 10th to 13th JANUARY 2019. Was attracted by the affordable pricing as well as lifetime servicing. Hence, First booth visited was the Jaguar booth by Wearnes. First Impression, Wide but Compact Saloon Car. When I stepped in, I was wowed. Below are the Reasons....Would have booked a unit if I had not bought the Audi SQ5 less than a year ago along with the Honda Fit hybrid and Grace Hybrid that I registered 2 weeks ago. Was really tempted to book a unit but had to pull handbrake due to Financial reasons. Would probably book the unit during the next car show.

What I like
Firstly, Being one who likes saloon cars, this car definitely caught my attention. This car has many sleek and elegant details lining the doors. Furthermore, the taillight does bring out some elegance as it looks luxury and commanding.
I do not like stick gearshifts, hence the idea of a knob gearshift really attracted me.
The infotainment unit is big enough for me and has enough functions for me to explore and play with.
As the car comes with Electric tailgate, I do not need to close the tailgate myself. I do not know why but I have always had a fear of closing tailgates too hard.

What I do not like
The space at the back is comfortable however can be a little squeezy for tall adults. Being a compact saloon, may be a little difficult for those with long legs to exit the car.
This car could have been better with the panoramic sunroof or moonroof. Seriously woulod make the car look better. ( Just personal Preference)

Gabdat
4th Gear
22 reviews
554 points
253 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Powerful and planted  Posted on 15 Oct 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
When up to wearnes last month to test this out.Sleek exterior but very small for rear passengers.Power comes spooling out easily with the 2.0 petrol turbo and performed around bends at buona vista curvy road was impressive.Planted and responsive engine.Nice road handling.Engine note was musical

What I like
-exterior design
-powerplant
-nice 18" rims
-comfortable seats
-raging drive
-the promo price
-RWD
-comfort oriented suspension setting

What I do not like
-ugly dashboard
-simple multi media,looks cheap
-cramped rear seats
-some road noise intrusion
-floating gear knob. james bond gone wrong
-limited interior trimming
-basic safety features
-sceptical about reliability

Solar
Turbocharged
2 reviews
10,531 points
7018 forum posts Joined on 13-Sep-2005
XE Diesel  Posted on 02 May 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Attracted by the promo and went ahead with a test drive.
It was impressive, not only the looks, also the performance and handling.

Being diesel, there is a slight noise in the cabin during acceleration, but it is rather unnoticeable. A compromise if one wants to go for a diesel car.
Comparing to other diesels, the sound proofing is good.

Although it's over 70; Aluminum, it doesn't feel flimsy. Had the flimsy feeling on C class, not this car. Drive the car hard and observe, and opening/close the doors, you'll notice it.

A real good deal compared with its peers like Mercedes and BMW.

What I like
Performance. Has high torque of 430nm making driving in our city a breeze
Looks. Sexy...
Interior is purposeful yet not cluttered
Good handling
Solid body and heavy doors
Long service interval compared to its peers, 2 years/34k km. Low running costs
Been checking out internet for feedback on this car's reliability since it's debut 2 years ago. No major complaints at all.

What I do not like
Getting in or out of the car may not be convenient for people over 1.78m.
Stock 17 inch rim is too small for the car. Go for at least 18.

Saint888
1st Gear
1 reviews
43 points
20 forum posts Joined on 17-Aug-2010
Coin hunter SA  Posted on 19 Apr 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Bought brand new XE from wearnes in 2017. Vehicle comes with 18inch rims from factory. Local AD replaced it with 17 inch rims (trying to earn pathetic extra one inch).

17 rims comes with way outdated tyres. Tyres manufactured in 2013. Uneven weas and tears spotted. Complained and they agreed to replace the tyres.

To check tyre manufacturing years must be included when u collect new car. Premium brand dealer behaving like sim lim seller nowadays.

What I like
Nothing

What I do not like
Everything

Mervynwm
1st Gear
124 reviews
76 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
A small cat that can be of consideration...  Posted on 08 Feb 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the new XE 2.0 petrol...Where its main rivals to me seems to be Mercedes C-200 Series, BMW 320i/330i Series where all are in the same 2.0L category.

First impression, almost 90% Close to its bigger sibling, XF which comes with a slightly more gadgets and more horses.

Exterior, New LED boomerang DRL is certainly makes heads turn back. And its new toned up body contouring does makes it out of the box Jag too. The standard 17 inches wheels are of reasonable fit too, though you can still look at having 18 inches or more.

Inside comes with 8 inch full color touch screen and navigation as standard. Boot space is adequate which is sufficient for stuffs that you intend to put for a sedan. The fold down or 60-40 is a flat out which lets you handle long or big items at ease. PLUS it comes standard to all Jags that electric tailgate is a standard now too. Cool ! The seats have also improved, having both electrical memory seats in front and a recline back seats for ease of your back passengers, more comfort indeed.

On the drive, the moment you START the engine, it purrs alive but pickup is kinda laggy. Along the drive, it has the conventional Jag torque (as Jag produces fast cars like the F-Type), switching to the sports mode, the suspension stiffens and with the steering tightens up makes it more fun to drive and corner and with DSC (Dynamic Stability Control) where it adjusts and counters the car for better control while having fun.

Cornering is excellent partially is due to the full aluminium body and a shorter in length consideration taken.

Overall, XE is a compact sedan that is worth considering if you are looking for a mid power size with high torque car for both fast drive (at times) as well as a comfort family drive.

What I like
Electric tailgate (finally)
8 inch touchscreen
Torque during drive
Multi driving modes

What I do not like
No soft door option
2017 Version out so soon ?
Engine noisy when rev, compare to its larger sibling XF
Power of almost 200 horses somehow is not there or so
Price a little on the high side (S$ 180k as of Feb)

mcs08
1st Gear
1 reviews
87 points
79 forum posts Joined on 25-Jan-2015
Loving How the XE Looks!  Posted on 26 Dec 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Have been car hunting for the past weeks and had test driven quite a few cars. For Jaguar, test drove the XE and XF on the same day. Overall, am pretty impressed with both of them.
Definitely, Jaguar is worth considering as it really is a good-looking car. It is not without its downs though.

What I like
- The aesthetics of the exterior, definitely! The XE is a much better looker than its competition.
- The on-the-point steering is exactly what many reviews are saying. Precise.
- The suspension setup of the XE is extremely comfortable, in comparison to other makes of similar category that I had test driven.
- The entire interior layout(not the make of it!) of the cabin is classy and smooth.
- The rarity of the vehicle on roads, an eye-turner.

What I do not like
- The engine is not powerful enough to smoothly handle its 1530kg body weight, which in turn, might be a fuel burner in the long run.
- Jaguar was supposed to come in a more powerful 237hp XE, but was told that Wearnes is not considering of importing.
- The leather looks and feels cheap, not exactly worthy of the Jaguar badge.
- The make if the cabin. Seems to be full of plastics, definitely not luxurious in any way.
- Fact that the R-Sport package, nothing more than the bodykit, 18" rims(maybe?), better leather seats & some badges cost whopping SGD30k more ~ feels very much like a ripoff when Jaguar aims to be competitively priced against bimmers & mercs!

Sdf4786k
Turbocharged
3 reviews
16,798 points
8821 forum posts Joined on 26-Dec-2007
Most harsh Luxury car test driven  Posted on 15 Nov 2015
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
The NHV is one of the worst. Sales was activating the start stop instead of having the car in idle mode.

Interior finish is very Korean car where the portfolio model fair a tad better

Leather seems to be more after market then the Connolly leather that everyone is expecting

If you look at the boot, its surprisingly no frills. Even an Hyundai i30 fair better

And the rear lip on the windscreen is hindering rear view

What I like
the handling is on par with a 3 series. But power is no where near a BMW or a Merc 250

What I do not like
the price, the finishing, the NHV and the wind noise, basically, will see if the facelift model would be better.

Newbie26
Hypersonic
11 reviews
79,504 points
1712 forum posts Joined on 18-Feb-2015
New Jaguar  Posted on 03 Oct 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
New engine new model certainly creates excitement and also expectations especially with good international reviews.

For exterior, frontal presentation looks excellent but not superior to competitions in its class (BMW, Merc etc). The rear is a bit underwhelming.

For Interior, the leather seats certainly feel good and superior and central area is not cluttered. The touch screen and features are great. The door somehow looks small esp the handle. Rear room somehow feels a little more crampy than the BMW 3er and Merc C

Handling is generally excellent on our straight roads but at low gear is only OK. Engine noise feels nosier and at times a little jerky. Power is better than 318i and c180.

Overall, a good car but not so sure whether it is value for money compared to competitors. To be different from what we usually see on the road, jaguar does offers a less common sight and something different

What I like
The leather seats
Non cluttered interior
New model and engine
Rarer car on the road
Good power
Jaguar badge

What I do not like
The smallish doors
Average luxury feel
a little noisy engine
long term reliability is unclear

VteckiCk
3rd Gear
10 reviews
371 points
126 forum posts Joined on 24-Jan-2014
Can the XE be better than the 3 series?  Posted on 17 Sep 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Had a brief drive in the new XE, here are some of my thoughts.

Engine power and delivery is really good and smooth, 2L turbocharged engine is more than enough power than you would ever need on singapore roads. Ride is really good, nice balance between being comfortable but not too soft. Handling is really sharp, one of the best handling cars i've driven. The only real issue i have with the drive is the auto gearbox, which seems really reluctant to drop a gear when i want to floor it a little. I guess its the whole efficiency thing, but it can be slightly frustrating.

design wise, its okay i guess. It doesnt feel as refined as some of its competitors. Exterior wise, its a little boring? I was hoping it would have a more sporty look to match its driving characteristics. Dont like the stock rims too. On the inside, its well equipped, fairly uncluttered console. I'm not a fan of the turning knob control thing, but it seems many manufacturers are headed that way, just got to accept it i guess. Interior space is not the biggest, i must admit.

considering its jaguar's first entry-model sort of car in quite awhile, i think they've done a fairly good job. It was conceived to fight with the likes of the 3 series and c-class. Can it beat out the 3 series as the best compact exec? Maybe. Quite possibly.

What I like
- driving characteristics are excellent. hard to think of a similarly specced car that compares
- interior feels luxurious enough to compare with the 3 series, the long running frontrunner in the segment
- that steering and handling, man. so good.

What I do not like
- gearbox not eager enough to downshift
- styling isnt the greatest. especially when you consider how good looking the XF and f-type are.
- space in the rear is somewhat limited

technikman
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
3 forum posts Joined on 11-Sep-2015
Test drive - 2.0L Petrol  Posted on 13 Sep 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Can't derive much from a short 20-min test drive. But here's a quick summary on the XE;

Handling is pretty on par with the BMW 3er with sharp turn in but steering feels artificially light at low speeds, though selecting Dynamic mode addresses that a little. Ride however is brilliant and the car dealt with rough surfaces perfectly.

2.0 Petrol 4cyl is smooth and unintrusive for most part, you can't really tell it's an old Ford engine. But the 8-speed ZF auto paired to it is frustratingly slow to kickdown, and when it does, the sudden surge forward is less than pleasant. The solution is to leave the rotary gearknob in "S" Mode though I suspect that has a profound effect on fuel economy. Might be a better bet to wait for the new Ingenium petrols.

Cabin feels snug and driving position is sporty due to the wide centre console and wraparound dashboard. Less space in the rear than the 3er and less classy feel than the C Class.

What I like
+ Composed ride
+ Sharp handling
+ Understated exterior design
+ Feels more special and less common than the usual 3-series/C Class

What I do not like
- Interior not as classy as a C-Class
- Rear space is smaller than a 3 Series
- Slow gearbox

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Jaguar XE
3.5 stars - based on 13 reviews