Related Articles

5 value-for-money luxury PI cars of 2019 (so far)

Mercedes-Benz completes its lineup with GLA-Class

Redesigned Mercedes-Benz GLA arrives in Singapore

Mercedes-Benz Singapore launches the new GLA-Class

COE renewal - bank loan or in-house loan?


spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
13 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
4/5
8 out of 13 (61.5%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer

13 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Hyperstar
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Jan-2002
Almost there can be better  Posted on 13 Oct 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Own this little SUV after hopping on the bandwagon of the Compact SUV segment. I would say this is a fun car to drive but not a luxurious one especially for someone taller.

What I like
- Small but perky engine under the hood able to deliver the punch when needed.
- The Vroom sounds good
- Looks cool enough
- Good solid built
- Ability to custom your drive style and feel

What I do not like
- Small vehicle but turning radius is like a van
- Cheap interior material and is not a complete leather seat
- Big blind spot especially for taller drivers
- Handling at high speeds needs does not give me confidence with stock setup ( Go Zheng your ride if needed )
- Not a smooth 7 speed transmission but an improvement to the Pre-FL model
- No touch screen

samengmg
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Jul-2020
Test Drive  Posted on 13 Jul 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Review
Went for the MCF brunch and test drove the GLA250 on the PIE. The car looks good. My wife sits at the back and she's happy with the amount of headspace and legroom. Interior quality is what you would expect from the 3-point start - superb and sporty. However, at a high price of $200k, consumers may be paying too high a premium for a car that seldom goes off-road.

What I like
-Styling
-Interior quality
-Straight line speed
-Smooth gear changes
-Safety features
-Steering wheel, air con vents
"><H1>Test</h1>
What I do not like
-Throttle response is weird (It does not move off when the brakes has been let go. The SE said this is due to hill-assist, fine, but when I step on the accelerator, there is again no response until the pedal has been depressed halfway. After which, the power comes quite suddenly. This will really take time to get used to)
-Pricey
-No push start button
-No air-con vents at the back
-4WD comes as an option
-Suspension a bit on the hard side

siauyong79
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 14-Feb-2018
Most sporty SUV I have ever owned!  Posted on 08 Aug 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Just collected my white GLA180 end July 2019. I am loving it as it was the most sleek , nicely curved and elegant SUV i have owned so far. The promotional package by C&C was excellent and was fortunate enough to be served by a very professional and patient salesperson in MB. I like the fact that there are electric/memory seats to provide convenience for regular passengers, the interior furnishing is sufficiently posh and well designed with much thoughts put in from driver's and passengers' perspective. Performance of car was decent enough but more importantly, it is smooth and doesn't cause any sudden jerks for passengers which makes it a comfortable ride at all times. Boot space is smaller than my previous japanese car but sufficient enough for a small family's usage. All in all, i did not regret buying this car!

What I like
-electric seats with memory
-smooth ride with decent insulation from outside
-higher commanding position compared to usual sedan
-passenger and driver's sporty seat
-ambience light in the car
-decent pickup of car even at lights
-easy adjustment of car boot door height
-service standards by C&C

What I do not like
-no keyless option included
-no auto tailgate open with leg

yunk99
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 24-Jan-2019
Facelifted GLA - Sporty Looking Baby SUV  Posted on 24 Jan 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Test drive the GLA 180 facelift version. Drive is comfort, handling is good and the car is responsive as well. The interior design and exterior styling of the face-lifted GLA are stunning. Interior is neat and exterior looks sporty and good. At the price range and the feature package , it should be one of the best and most valued for money car in the current market.

What I like
+ Keyless Start
+ Driver and Passenger Electric Seats with Memory Function
+ Auto Tail Gate
+ Apple Car Play & Android Interface Ready
+ Excellent Interior & Exterior Quality
+ Made in Germany
+ Auto Hold Brake
+ Safety Features
+ Nice Front Engine Grilles
+ Comfort Driver & Passenger Front Seats

What I do not like
- No Keyless Entry
- No Kick Boot Opening

BobbyTan_74287
4th Gear
2 reviews
739 points
715 forum posts Joined on 09-Apr-2015
Very beautiful and reliable small SUV red car  Posted on 24 Dec 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Collected my new GLA180 today instead of late Jan 2019. C&C was very efficient. The nob control are different from my old car touch screen control and without GPS. However the radio stations can shift easily while driving as the controls on steering wheel. The Apple CarPlay is great as I used the Apple app wave as GPS.

The interior looks great and nice and the back seat leg room is spacious enough for 3 adults. The car is quiet when on the move as I can easily hear the radio. The seats are very comfortable and I like the 3 memory seats for driver and front driver seat.

The car is powerful and pickup is quick and easily move upslope and overtake without problem. Gear is next to the steering wheel which made is handy. The hand brake is next to the right of the steering wheel and made it very easy to engage hand brake. You will not have the risk of driving with hand brake on as once accelerate, the hand brake automatically off.

Very safety features in the car, likes when you open the doors, the parking brake will auto on. If you drive too near some cars, there is warning signal and sound to warn you.

The thinkwave dash cam is great and can wirelessly connect to my HP and I can view from handphone. The reverse parking camera very clear.

What I like
Auto headlight.
Memory driver seats and front passenger seats.
Thinkwave dash cam.
Many safety features.

What I do not like
No keyless entry.

titustaro
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 03-Sep-2018
Twice towed away in the first 3 years  Posted on 03 Sep 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 5/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Utterly disappointed after my GLA180 being towed away the second time, which is just 3 days after my 45000km servicing. This time, the `Coolant - Stop Vehicle - Turn off Engine' message appears and the temperature shoots up to the max on the meter. And this happens after 8 hours of non-usage when I left the car parked at my workplace. The roadside assistant engineer checked and confirmed the coolant was full, he said it would likely be the fan or some other faults. Bought it in Jan 2016....Terrible reliability. Got the car in Feb 2016 and it's already malfunctioning here and there. Side sensor always buzz when it rains.

Tanyachua88
2nd Gear
17 reviews
120 points
38 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Affordable premium crossover  Posted on 20 Oct 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Recently test drove the facelifted version of the GLA. Changes are not really major, just some slight redesign of the front grille and a few extra lines. Otherwise looks quite similar to the pre-facelift one.

Interior is also almost unchanged. The base GLA 180 is not too bad actually, and overall the atmosphere is nice.

Although the GLA 180 is the base model, it is still quite sprightly to drive. There is decent performance and can even be a bit entertaining when pushed.

What I like
Nice interior ambience
Rugged looks
Decent performance

What I do not like
GLA 180 lacks some premium features

Maxkiah
Neutral Newbie
6 reviews
0 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Stylo SUV  Posted on 02 Feb 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
After trying my friend previous GLA version decide to go showroom test drive .

The drier seat is definitely one of the comfortable 1 in the market .The 1.6l turbo engine is enough to make do with sudden acceleration.Power seem more refine compare to my "Lemon" Which is also running on a 1,6l turbo.

If the back seat could be of same comfort as my lemon this car will be great

What I like
interior styling and exterior fierce looking
good fuel consumption

What I do not like
abit too small stretch abit will be better for leg room

alym
Neutral Newbie
12 reviews
1 points
5 forum posts Joined on 07-Dec-2013
Neither here nor there SUV.... or semi Sedan ?  Posted on 03 Aug 2014
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Not sure what segment GLA is targeting it's car on, but it's neither a full fledge SUV, nor it looks like a sedan externally, let's just call it a "A-Class with Steriods"

What I like
- excellent attractive exterior design with it's curve and build
- in build with latest mercedes benz technology and features
- if you looking for a somewhat sportier car outlook externally, and have a bigger budget than A class, GLA is your choice
- beauty on the road for the exterior curve and design
- great LED lighting
- fine performance when driving, nothing fancy

What I do not like
- neither here nor there SUV for the size, as it is slightly bigger than A Class, however the spaciously is not deliberate built
- cannot really compare with BWM X series, as not sure if it make sense to benchmark X1, X3 etc ?
- quite confuse which target segment of customer GLA is reaching out to, somewhat if ML class stands out much better in this manner
- Not a high car considering it is SUV, more like a sedan height
- for the ~ $30k you pay to get GLA over A Class, I'd say it's not worth it as other than it's nice exterior and curves you are getting externally, the rest of the features are pretty much alike A, B class

Rezorn86
3rd Gear
4 reviews
407 points
1369 forum posts Joined on 28-Sep-2011
Test Driven  Posted on 01 Aug 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Very impressive on its outlook, my fav is the dct gearbox with paddles. It drive like a manual transmission as it will do the engine brake.

The down side is that, there isn't any rear aircon. If there is a 122bhp it will be just nice, as it had fall into the cat b due to the bhp.

What I like
the gearbox

What I do not like
no rear aircon

Damienic
5th Gear
1 reviews
1,421 points
9157 forum posts Joined on 14-Feb-2006
A car high on looks but only moderate in performance  Posted on 25 Jul 2014
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 2/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Test drove this car during the Mercedes Benz MCF Brunch Test Drive. The car is gorgeous in looks and styling at first glance. The front has a very sporty and fierce look. The rear looks extremely stylish and it makes you feel very excited about it before the test drive.

Interior wise, the seats are comfy and the console looks pretty cool. Cabin space is average and a bit of a let down.

When it comes to the test drive, for someone who loves to do cornering at high speeds, I find the handling a tad disappointing. The pick up and throttle response is a bit lethargic as well. I need to step pretty hard on the accelerator to get it going. The engine feels pretty refined though and ride comfort fairly decent. My bro who is sitting in the car behind was telling me he found the insulation not very good and can hear pretty strong engine noise from within.

Overall, performance wise, I find it a bit disappointing as this is a premium brand at a premium price. Perhaps one may overlook these aspects for its great looks. But if you are someone with a penchant for great driving dynamics, I believe this car is not for you. Consider this only if you are someone who wants build quality, ride comfort and are willing to pay for a premium brand. Otherwise, this car is really not for you.

What I like
Great looks, both front and rear
Cool interior styling
It's a Mercedes Benz with strong pedigree and known for good reliability
Build quality feels good

What I do not like
Handling below expectations
Pretty high price for a car of this proposition
Throttle response feels below average
It's kind of in a neither here nor there segment. Too low to be a SUV and it's neither a hatch nor a sports wagon too. Doesn't exactly appeal to my needs.

Limpeh23
2nd Gear
7 reviews
141 points
200 forum posts Joined on 21-Apr-2011
Does Not Justify the Price Tag  Posted on 21 Jul 2014
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The GLA has a pretty striking exterior, and comes across looking sleek and sporty. Size wise, do not expect too much as the headroom is limited by the swooping roof, the legroom is comparable to a normal hatchback. Performance wise, it is pretty quick although the engine does not sound refined when revved and also there is a jerky sensation when the car is coming a stop at the lights. The deal-breaker for me though is the quality of materials used in the interior and the lack of features. For this price, I would have expected more premium materials to be used and also, more features as well.

What I like
-Nice sporty look
-Quite punchy engine

What I do not like
-Lack of features
-Low quality materials used
-Engine is unrefined and jerks when coming to a stop

Badieboy
1st Gear
6 reviews
58 points
46 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Striking exterior styling  Posted on 21 Jul 2014
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Went for the MCF brunch and test drove the GLA250 on the PIE. The car looks good. My wife sits at the back and she's happy with the amount of headspace and legroom. Interior quality is what you would expect from the 3-point start - superb and sporty. However, at a high price of $200k, consumers may be paying too high a premium for a car that seldom goes off-road.

What I like
-Styling
-Interior quality
-Straight line speed
-Smooth gear changes
-Safety features
-Steering wheel, air con vents

What I do not like
-Throttle response is weird (It does not move off when the brakes has been let go. The SE said this is due to hill-assist, fine, but when I step on the accelerator, there is again no response until the pedal has been depressed halfway. After which, the power comes quite suddenly. This will really take time to get used to)
-Pricey
-No push start button
-No air-con vents at the back
-4WD comes as an option
-Suspension a bit on the hard side

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class
4 stars - based on 13 reviews