Related Articles

How does VES affect your car-buying decision?

Run around in Honda's hip new HR-V

New Honda CR-V scores five-star Euro NCAP rating

5 dangerous driving habits you shouldn't pick up


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Facelift - Honda HR-V 1.5 LX (A)
05 Oct 2016  |  Honda Reviews
The Honda HR-V is smooth and capable for most normal driving duties - even if it is not responsive enough to feel exciting, it feels easy and entertaining.
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Honda HR-V 1.5 vs Skoda Karoq 1.5 vs Subaru XV 2.0i-S
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Honda HR-V
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
24 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
19 out of 24 (79.2%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

24 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Stalk3r
Premium User Stalk3r
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
18 points
11 forum posts Joined on 28-Feb-2019
Great ride for first time owner  Posted on 09 May 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Settled in the DX trim instead of LX. The additions for another $6k are not really necessary for me. The new 2019 FL looked better than previous gens IMO.

What I like
- New midnight blue color looks gorgeous.
- LED lights. Although fogs r still halogen.
- 60/40 backseats & boot space.. I'm 190, but the fits into the drivers seat comfortably without needing pull back all the way and the person sitting behind me doesn't feel cramped.
- electronic brakes.
- keyless entry

What I do not like
- crappy speakers. Easy fix though.
- no CarPlay / android auto. Honestly, in this day and age, this should have been default.
- no auto dimming rear view mirror.
- no auto-tilting left side mirror. The car is tall, the tilt could have helped when parking.

Gohsj89
Premium User Gohsj89
4th Gear
2 reviews
680 points
663 forum posts Joined on 13-Mar-2010
It have everything I want  Posted on 25 Oct 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Gotten the 2018 FL DX model. Only exterior difference on the front (big chrome grill). The rear only a chrome stripe. That's about it.

My first brand new car after driving a Toyota Vios for 10 years.
Ride is not as grounded as my previous car, but that's how a SUV lose out to a Sedan. You get the look and driving height.

Switching from a Sedan to SUV, takes a bit of time to be used to it, especially parking angle turning and the blind corner at the lower part of the car.

However, this vehicle has everything I wanted. No regret buying.

Chose this DX model over the LX model which cost a few thousands more, not getting the following as I don't find the need to have it.

-6 piece of speaker in LX. I have my own setup to install. The original 4 piece speaker in DX sounds horrible though.

-Basic headunit with bluetooth, vs Touchscreen. I installed my Pioneer CarPlay.

-6 airbags vs 2 airbags.

-LX has one tone exterior, DX has grey bumper and side skirt. Not important to me.

-LX has roof stripe / rack, DX don't have. Not important to me.

What I like
LED Headlamp

LED DRL

LED Signal (Non sequential as compared to CHR. Wasted)

Digital A/C

Steering wheel audio & phone control

Versatile rear chair setting to accommodate bulky items

Able to lock car even from the boot

Speedo colour (ring) can change colour

Headlight can turn on when you press the unlock button (When light switch is set to Auto & car in dark environment) & turn off 20 seconds after you lock.

The rear passenger space is really spacious

Tweeter speaker cover so I need not expose my tweeter and use tweeter pod

The Honda engine sound

Quite powerful considering it's only a 1.5 engine. Not as powerful as Altis but feels better than Mazda 3.

Auto brake hold

What I do not like
Fog Lamp no LED

Arm Rest console too small to keep big items.

Reflective headlamp as compared to Projector headlamp of the Pre FL.

Door have very small storage space, only a bottle and that is about it.

FC is 11 to 12km/l for 100% city driving.

Ride is really bumpy. But expressway not too bad.

Getting in and out of rear seat will hit backside with the wheel arc.

Boot is not that big but functional and practical.

Was given a net-type tonneau cover by Kah Motor. Cannot even support an umbrella.

Door is really hollow.

Remote key gets scratches really easily.

Sound proofing sound from engine. But I like the engine sound though.

DRL no option to turn it off.

Rear seat no aircon vent but the front air con is strong enough.

No auto mirror fold and tilt.

Right side mirror too small to see kerb while doing parallel parking. Right side one can see everything.

No Ioniser as compared to Vezel.

No CTBA / Land Departure as compared to Vezel.

Richardchia
Premium User Richardchia
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Nov-2010
Sporty looking car  Posted on 08 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This car have a sporty outlook and it's Honda so can't go wrong with the reliability although it seems a bit underpower at times especially during the pickup.

What I like
Both exterior and interior design

What I do not like
A bit under power and engine a bit noisy

Bieffe
Premium User Bieffe
3rd Gear
6 reviews
481 points
524 forum posts Joined on 13-Oct-2004
Great car for local use with this budget SUV  Posted on 15 Feb 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
At this price point and this cat at the moment nothing comes close. Even if others meet the price the engine is bigger if not it cos more.
What I don't like is the ride, not very good....Roadworks is gonna make the shake like is hit by Tsunami. But on well paved roads is ok.
The 8 inch head unit is a joke....Any cheapo xiaomi phone can do more....So big but many functions removed or blocked. LX model no GPS? What lah! So only caneed take calls, BT and show u fuel consumption that's it!
Another issue is the wheels, it came with 17 when Thailand made them now become 16 both on the LX and DX.
The auto start/stop is very badly implemented. Almost all the restartS will shake to wake up. Is not seamless like some conti...This is like a project by some students. U will definitely know it's working.
Most ppl reading will wanna know how is this VS QQ. I will say QQ ride is better but engine Honda better. Both cars enuff power for 2+2.
Now what is good? Everything else is great! The flexi seats, great fuel economy, switches, drive a Honda signature all there. If u keep revs normal the cat and engine is matted well. One of the better CVT.
What if VS Toyota CHR? I will say they CHR styling is something that maybe only its mother will find is beautiful. The rear is gonna be way more cramp and small feeling due to the small rear windows. So HRV is a winner and class leader. If one is in this CAT of car you will not be wrong with her!

What I like
- good drive on well paved roads
- nice cabin at this cat & budget
- space & flexibly
- power delivery of engine at normal revs
- smooth CVT matting
- LEDs everything
- Honda DNA present

What I do not like
- dumb unless 8inch display too weak to be called a head unit
- ugly 16 wheels
- bad insulation from Rd and rain and wind noise
- bad suspension tuning for bad roads
- horrible implementation of auto start stop

RocLover
Premium User RocLover
Clutched
4 reviews
36 points
18 forum posts Joined on 04-Sep-2012
Oh that car again  Posted on 22 Nov 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I must say, this car is really good in term of value and quality.

I did a test drive for this HR-V at Honda showroom. Even at 1.5L, it does not feel under-power at low speed but due to the CVT gearbox, it does not feel as powerful as a normal 6 speed do like Mazda 3. But the best part is we can overwrite it with a manual paddle shiftier. The ride is pretty bumpy for my liking. Esp when traveling at highway speed comfort was greatly reduce. The cabin insulation are also not as good as expected. You could hear the roar of the engine when accelerating and wind noises and road noise are easily translate into the cabin.

The Exterior is one of the nicest i car design i have seen plus the usability of the interior space like magic seats and when the seat are kept it has a flat bay. Feel like it could carry almost everything. Even though from the outside it does not seem very big but when you are inside you feel like you are in a bigger car.

The interior quality is really top-notch. From Touch screen to paddle shiftier it's all included, however because of this the price of HR-V is much higher than the competition (Vezel) which is the exact same car but imported unit.

But the turn-off thing for me was that whenever you turn your head you can easily spot 1 or 2 on the road. It feel so common that it almost seem like we are looking at the taxi fleet of cars. Definitely, the value and space you are getting is top notch but if you are interested in this range of car i would suggest to look else where as there are other brands that has made comparable 1 like Nissan Qashqai or Subaru XV.

What I like
Exterior Design.
Spacious Interior.
Low Fuel Consumption
Magic seats
upgraded tech
Paddle shiftier

What I do not like
Engine Noise
CVT
Bumpy ride

magicreveal
Premium User magicreveal
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 14-Nov-2016
It is within the expectation  Posted on 14 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have been driving a continental car for years. After I switched to this car three weeks ago, I did not feel much difference although the cost of ownership is almost the half of my older car. The basic function, such as blue tooth, keyless engine start, power windows... Are all there. Although the car's power is relatively sluggish, is dependent on person driving habit also, it works fine for me in this country's roads. I have bench marked Vezel from PI, Subaru XV and Nissan Qashqai, I ended up with HR-V during their launching period. The price gap is quite marginal to that of PI's. Over all I feel it is the value for money to buy this car. Of course every car has its pros and cons.

What I like
1. Easy handling
2. FC is reasonable, I've got ~ 16Km/l with 50/50- city/highway
3. 3-year complementary service and 5-year warranty from KH motor
4. Truck size is good to load some golf bags

What I do not like
The back seat is not as comfortable as that of my old sedan, but my kid did not complain it on the way to school.

KristLim
Premium User KristLim
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
5 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Oct-2015
Well packaged car for small families  Posted on 09 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The ubiquity of the HR-V / Vezel on our roads says a lot about the car. It has a handsome design, handles well and is economical. The interior is spacious and well laid out. Ride comfort could be better as it doesn't handle uneven road surfaces well.

What I like
Steering and fuel economy.

What I do not like
Ride can be bumpy. Kah Motors should equip DX with same number of airbags as LX trim.

Lokitaly
Premium User Lokitaly
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
2 forum posts Joined on 01-Oct-2016
Honda HRV  Posted on 09 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Everything in the interior looks cool. Steering is good with keyless entry etc. Suitable for family.

What I like
Keyless entry, display unit, car seat

What I do not like
Engine sound probably abit noisy but still bearable.

LibbieTan
Premium User LibbieTan
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 09-Nov-2016
Stylish and reliable  Posted on 09 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I've been driving this car for almost 1 year now and I have to say that it is very fuel efficient and I love how the car looks. No issues with the car even though there was a recall for a part which I have not yet replaced at my dealer. I love my car!

What I like
The look and fuel efficiency of the car is great!

What I do not like
The paintwork for this car is very thin, have many stone chips already. Wished Honda had given this car a better paint coat.

LamHoon33
Clutched
6 reviews
38 points
54 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
A Japan Made HRV.  Posted on 07 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
It is the right timing as I was actually looking at the Jazz 1.5 RS on 30 Aug 16, the HRV made it's appearance in the showroom. The price difference is about 8K. After test driven both models, I finally settled for HRV with my Dad's advise. The ride is more firm and the driver can see more ahead as it is higher. Elder people are able to get in or out of the car easlier.
HRV is based on Jazz platform and the room space is equally well designed as the Jazz. It shared the same 1.5 Direct injection Engine as the Jazz.

What I like
Nice Looking
Nice and Well designed dashboard
Magic rear seats
Lively Engine

What I do not like
CVT may be slower
Too common as Vezel but not HRV

misterfajar
Premium User misterfajar
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
1 forum posts Joined on 17-Dec-2013
Fun and easy to drive  Posted on 04 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Collected on 18 Oct and have been driving the HR-V 1.5 DX for 2+ weeks. (LX has 6 airbags vs 2 for DX, LX has roof rails and touch screen front console, absent in DX).
Keyless entry is a standard, lock and unlock from remote, or unlock with a light touch on inside of door handle on either driver or front passenger (remote holder must be next to the door). Lock by pressing button on door handle.
Once seated, safety feature-require driver to step on brakes before starting engine by pressing red start/stop button and engaging "D". A quick press of the handbrake button, and we are off very zippy response. Compared to my previous car (Peugeot 5008), acceleration and driving feels lighter, more responsive. Although, interior finishing not as refined (more plastic finishes, way less storage space). One pet peeve is the aircon temp and fan speed on touch pad below console, driver may need to take eyes off the road momentarily just to change settings. Front passenger and driver interior LED lights are very bright almost glaring. I was momentarily blinded when switching on to tear parking coupon, hahaha. Bluetooth for phone pairing is standard and reliable with a click on the lower left part of steering wheel. Radio volume and changing stations are a breeze on the left T-bar of steering wheel, while the right T-bar has the Cruise control, activates with 2 clicks, 1st click on the "Cruise" Button then 2nd click on the set cruise (which also doubles as decrease cruise speed). Each click up/ down (is 1 mile/hr or 1.6 km/h) estimation is by looking at the speedometer, (quick tip: 4 clicks is approx 5 (4.8) km/h increase or decrease). Rear seats quite comfortable for me 1.79m (just need to adjust the headrest upwards). Managed to squeezed 4 average size ladies (wife, sis in law, 2 teenage daughters) with only slight discomfort (with one sitting on the forward edge of the middle rear seats).
Boot space is more than enough for my family, estimate can squeeze 4x 20" Suitcases without need to fold down the rear seats.
Fuel consumption (90% City driving) is about 14km per liter, quite usual for 1.5L, (A vast improvement from my 8.5km/L Peogeot 5008), full tank is 40L.
Rear Camera makes parking a breeze with 3m, 2m and 1m lines and the dotted line indicating limit of space for boot opening. Very helpful in older carparks.

What I like
Fun, responsive and easier to drive compared to Peugeot 5008.
Good FC 14km/L, save some $.
Dashboard lighted rig changes to green colour when driving more economically - further encouragement to save fuel.
Exterior front view design distinct and quite macho SUV look, hidden rear door handle quite hip.

What I do not like
Very little storage spaces at driver and passenger doors and glove compartment.
Sound proofing could be better, the road noise was very obvious - but not too annoying for me.

LamHoon33
Clutched
6 reviews
38 points
54 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
HVR : Facelift from Japan  Posted on 27 Sep 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Finally, Kah Motor is able to do the right from wrong for HRV Facelift. It is from Japan with the same techical specification as the PI. The pricing is cheaper than the Thai-Made HRV. It is a good choice and it comes with a 5 year Warranty and 3 years servicing package. HRV comes in two models, LX and the Standard. The price difference is about 5K. LX has curtain airbags, roof rails , 7 inch touch screen console display etc. I booked the Standard Model. Awaiting for delivery. It is a Jazz platform.

What I like
Good Outlook Design
Affordable Crossover
Low FC.
Higher ground clearance for easy moving in/out.

What I do not like
Too common on the road.
The stock sport rim is not sporty.

Tkasun31
Premium User Tkasun31
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
9 forum posts Joined on 12-Jan-2016
Value for money  Posted on 04 Sep 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Just got the made in Japan HRV. It's actually exactly the same for the reviews for the Honda Vezel. The only big difference are the factory made leather seats and higher OMV. Paid an average of 7K more compared to PI Vezels. Ohhh, and a big major difference is the AD HRV comes in the converted English version and not Japanese words.

What I like
FC
Value for money.
Style
Space

What I do not like
Engin noise is louder for a new car compared to other Brand’s.
Too few compartments in the car.

Spectro
Premium User Spectro
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
14 forum posts Joined on 30-Dec-2005
Honda HR-V 1.5 LX - 2016 New Model (Japan Vezel).  Posted on 18 Jul 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Kah Motor

Honda HR-V 1.5 LX - 2016 New Model (Japan Vezel).

The new HR-V takes bold to new heights with a 1.5-litre Earth Dreams™ Technology i-VTEC® Engine to power your drive through the city. Equipped with Idle-stop System and stylish LED headlights, it will revolutionise SUVs all over again. With the added assurance of Kah Motor’S support, the new HR-V, branded as Vezel in Japan, gives you greater peace of mind every time you drive.

What I like
Finally, Kah Motors took Vezel.
Made in Japan.
Export model for Honda Vezel is here with Kah Motor, Honda HR-V.

This will be the best selling SUV in 2016, 2017, 2018.

Best deal for Japan made SUV.

What I do not like
Price is rather high at S112,999.

Will be buying in near future!

tanhy2000
Premium User tanhy2000
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
9 points
25 forum posts Joined on 03-Nov-2015
Most Good Looking Car I Have Owned  Posted on 09 Nov 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Honda has form here, though. Take its CR-V SUV – A clear rival for the Qashqai, Kia Sportage and Mazda CX-5, it’S noticeably larger with a roomier cabin. The HR-V then sits in the strange middle ground between Juke and Qashqai, Captur and Kadjar and CX-3 and CX-5. And with prices ranging from a sniff under £18,000 and rising to around £25,000 it's positioned neatly between these two markers.

The HR-V doesn’T follow the Tonka toy styling of the Jeep Renegade and nor does it play with cutesy lines like the Fiat 500X, instead it goes for a more high-riding sporty look. The combination of a rounded front, curved window area and arching roof line all give the HR-V a jacked-up coupe look, all helped by the pronounced crease running through the two side doors that meets up with the window line, and the hidden door handle on the two rear doors.

To the rear there’S boomerang-like lights – But they’Re only the real styling flourish on a back-end that boarders on being plain; The Mazda CX-3, Renault Captur and even larger crossovers like the Qashqai are more distinctive. Having said that, the HR-V is a world away from its larger brother’S awkward and boxy styling.

The bold outside look is continued onto the inside as well. The dashboard’S design is refreshingly upmarket – The fascia is angled towards the driver and the use of piano black trim gives the HR-V a sophisticated look. A high centre console gives a sporty feeling and the cabin has a number of nice design touches like the thin, stubby gearlever that feels really good in the palm of your hand, and a 3D-like speedowhich has an outer rim that not only can be personalised to the colour of your choice, but also glows depending upon how eco-friendly you’Re driving. A quality-feeling leather wrapped steering feel is a nice touch, as are the climate controls that are housed in a classy touch-sensitive panel just under the seven-inch touchscreen.

It’S just a shame then that the upper part of the dash is made out of scratchy hard plastic and the sat nav system is out of step with the rest of the near-premium feeling cabin. SE Navi and top-spec EX models don’T use a bespoke Honda system and instead rely on a Garmin system.

What I like
CTBA which helps prevent any accident and also protects my wallet.
Brake hold when i a traffic jam i can just release the brake instead of holding it. Last will be the design of the aircon which is first of its kind style.

What I do not like
Slightly noisy as the soundproofing is very bare.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Honda HR-V
3.5 stars - based on 24 reviews