Related Articles

Peppy MINI One takes on polished Volkswagen Golf

Updated MINI One is creamier and more stylish

The MINI One Carnaby Edition now in Singapore

Shrinkage of COE quota: What you need to know


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Facelift - MINI One 5-Door 1.5 (A)
03 Jul 2018  |  MINI Reviews
Subtle styling updates and a creamy new powertrain make the five-door MINI One an even stronger contender in the family hatchback segment.
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
MINI One 5-Door 1.5 vs Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI DSG
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of MINI One 5-Door
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
6 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4.5/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
5 out of 6 (83.3%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

6 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
pierre76
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 23-Nov-2018
Fun car with good personality  Posted on 10 Oct 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I collected my MINI One 5-Doors since May 2019, after 5 months driving reach almost 10K millege, I would like to say: I am a very happy driver with this ride!

I drove my first MINI since 2010 which 1st Gen Clubman, I let go it in 2013 when the arrival of my new family member. I miss it very much when I changed to sedan car to suit family needs. Till last May, I drive this ride and very satisfy with it!

What I like
First, I impressed with it's latest technology compared with my 1st MINI!
The new LCD screen providing useful information & media function on the go.

The 5 doors version add the practical part for small family, it's easy access from the little rear doors no issue for my parents and my little one who turn 6 now, 4 adults plus 1 kid just perfect for this ride. The room for back passengers definitely not as big as sedan but it is decent, acceptable, because it's MINI! The flexibility to fold down the back seats for bigger items is a plus point as well.

This car with 1.5 litres turbo, 102hp, of course not as fast as the big brother Cooper or Cooper S variant, but surprisingly it's not slow but "quite " powerful especially when switch the driving mode to "Sport"! It's decent for my daily usage. The ride is very comfort if compared with my first MINI in 2010, the handling is as excellent as my previous MINI which I believe handling always is one of the MINI's selling point.

It's exterior made me fall in love immediately when I first saw it from MINI roadshow. It is most updated & face lift MINI One, especially the Union Jack rear tail lights, they are so beautiful. The full ring headlights enhanced the perfection of it's exterior look.

Look forward to have a pleasant experience with this 2019 MINI One.

What I do not like
Not much, I drove to Malaysia once with the new ride, it's not powerful enough to overtake other cars in high speed of expressway.

MINI One short of some features like keyless entry, center armrest, reverse camera. However I think I shouldn't expect more as MINI One is the entry level car of MINI family, with it's more affordable price tag to own a MINI, it's value for money!

Singfun
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Sep-2018
Do NOT buy Mini One - multiple problems exist beneath nice exterior  Posted on 08 Sep 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
I collected my Mini One 12 months ago.

Problem 1 - water ingress in car boot within 3 months.
Within 3 months there was strong mouldy smell from aircon. Later realised the car boot was filled with water. (I hadnt need to use use car boot so didnt notice water ingress issue earlier). Mini technical side said the lining of car boot cracked, which caused water seepage when it rained, which in turn caused awful smell in aircon. Issues fixed.

Problem 2 - continued foul smell from aircon.
In the following months, the aircon continued to emit foul smell. I sent in car two more times for aircon filter cleaning and software upgrades. Mini could not pinpoint exact issue except to say they had fedback to manufacturer. Naturally, i was increasingly frustrated with inconvenience. Very disappointed.

Problem 3 - car reversed in drive gear!
The last straw came when serious transmission problems occurred.
First the car did not slide forward when put in drive mode (it is auto). Have to step on accelerator couple of times to move.
Then next day, the monitor indicated neutral gear when in dive mode, i.E. Could not move off at all. Other times, drive gear could not be engaged. Worst, the car went into reverse when put in drive gear.

I wonder who will be responsible if i had not stopped the car reversing in time and hit someone or damaged something. Mini or me?

Mini 's initial diagnosis was it was a battery problem (!).
After they sent it back, i told them problems were unresolved.
They took it back again. Then they changed the gearstick and control unit.
Technician said hot weather likely caused elctronics issue. Nobody checked if it was gearbox problem.

By now i am bitterly disappointed.
I have asked Mini to give me permanent replacement car. Expectedly, they said no.
I asked them to give me the best deal for upgrade to their flagship Cooper.
They came back with the normal listed price and market rate trade in value with free Mri anf msi.

Im still in the process of deciding what to do.
Mini clearly does not think they need to compensate me for the very unfortunate experiences. I think i can hear them say 'suck it up' loud and clear.

So please to those out there, avoid Mini.
Likely not the car that can take singapore hot climate.

Be warned.

What I like
Design

What I do not like
Internal workings beneath beautiful design

Purplexus
3rd Gear
15 reviews
257 points
68 forum posts Joined on 08-Aug-2009
No more a motored roller skate  Posted on 04 Sep 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
My last experience driving a Mini was in 1978 - it was my GF's ( and now wife ! ) runabout. It was noisy, leaked when it rained, the springs on the seats could be felt on your bottom! But it was a lovely car to throw about with along manual gear stick and large thin steering wheel. An it was a faded orange and car aircons were a rare. We had this little fan that oscillated mounted on the dash.

2018 Mini is a far cry from those days! 40 years difference. Quiet drive, firm footing and very cool interior. Seat were cushy and road noise well suppressed. It has "Heft" - drives like a larger car but still small in the inside and out. Took it for a test and got to put the foot down and felt rush again but in a hush. I am sold! If I would ever get a small car to runabout - now that its only us oldies, it will be fun to relive our courting days in the right type of car!

The large ICE with special lighting had take over the speedometerl of old. The circular aircon vents look great right. Pity no Apple or Android Auto though - extra option. Otherwise a very well packaged runabout - for decent price. However its a 4 month delivery wait for a 3 door. I am terribly tempted!

What I like
The handling is fantastic - steady and sure footed and super easy to park and negotiate narrow confines. Turning radius is great and so is the noise suppression. Power is adequate and I think with high gearing and reasonable ride - will be OK for long distances - but only for 2.

What I do not like
Rear space is very tight - its basically a 2+half and half - its a Mini anyway.
Difficult getting into the back seats and more difficult getting out!
Small boot space.
Long wait for delivery.
Expensive options.
5 door option - looks like a hearse for dwarfs if painted black.

rexscooby
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 24-Aug-2018
Good ride  Posted on 24 Aug 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Got this new 2018 Mini One model using the 1.5L 3 cylinder from cooper recently and all i can say is NO regrets ! Fuel economy is as good as my previous honda vezel . Power according to the figures is 101Bhp but it conpensates with 190nm of torque which is good for move off from traffic lights . It felt pretty quick compared to my previous car . Also the front lights and the rear union jack lights are sweet !!! Ride is good to fit 4 adults and one small child boaster seat at most . Able to fit 5 small size adults if needed ( slight squeeze ) . Still running in the car currently so hopefully everything will be good in years to come . So far very happy with it .

What I like
front led lights
rear union jack lights
190nm of torque
fuel economy
interior build quality
price is also quite good for this level of build quality

What I do not like
mini connected is not friendly with android phones
spotify does not work well with mini connected on android phones
does not have carplay / android auto

Ipodee
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Frugal and stylish  Posted on 15 Apr 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I changed from a MINI 1.6 to this just recently and I must say this car performs way more powerful than its 102hp. CPupled with great torque, it gets enough power with just a little step of the accelerator. Sometimes, I even forget that it pushes out only 102hp. It is definitely more comfortable than the previous generation. The back doors and seats and greater convenience and for there's enough room, height or legroom-wise for most passengers. It is fully spec-ed up like the 1.5-litre Cooper so I got a good deal.

What I like
- Additional two doors
- Full specs like the 1.5-litre Cooper
- Larger boot
- Added comfort
- Enough horsepower for most commutes

What I do not like
- Seats only available in leather/cloth combo

jdmrockz
Clutched
14 reviews
33 points
2 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2011
More practicality for a little less fun  Posted on 03 Aug 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Fuel economy in the Mini One is better than initially expected, good enough to make potential buyers forget that it pushes out only 101bhp. It is a unique looking car for young parents who want something a little funkier than your average 5-door hatch as the appearance of the Mini One First is identical to the base Cooper.

What I like
- Improved fuel economy
- Turbocharged
- New transmission
- A more affordable Mini
- Practical Mini
- Good handling

What I do not like
- Could have a little more horsepower
- Car feels a little heavy

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
MINI One 5-Door
4 stars - based on 6 reviews