Related Articles

Celebrate this festive season with Orchard Credit

Camry twins with different characters

2018 Toyota Camry undergoes a total evolution

Paint the town red with Motul's Specific range


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Facelift - Toyota Camry 2.0 (A)
28 May 2015  |  Toyota Reviews
The refreshed Toyota Camry looks good in and out. But is it capable of attracting potential buyers of competitors? Julian finds out...
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Insignia 1.6 Turbo (A) vs Camry 2.5 (A) vs Passat 1.8 TSI (A)
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota Camry
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
11 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
9 out of 11 (81.8%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

11 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
CFJoccer
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
18 points
2 forum posts Joined on 25-Oct-2018
Most reliable car ever!!  Posted on 25 Oct 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The new Camry offers sleeker styling, but it's the improved fuel economy and handling, plus standard advanced safety systems, that distinguish it among the crowd of mid sized sedans. The Camry has long held the distinction as a competent, well-rounded and pleasant family sedan. However, it gets a bad rap among critics as unexciting.

What I like
Gorgeous interior, good handling, smooth, and very reliable.

Mr_LTH
1st Gear
2 reviews
58 points
22 forum posts Joined on 07-Jan-2018
Smooth and comfortable cruiser.  Posted on 23 Sep 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The car is really smooth and quiet even when you floor it on the highway. Fuel consumption and boot space are not bad as well. I personally think it's quite smart looking as well. The 2.5 L engine is more than sufficient in Singapore and overall it's a good ride.

What I like
- Spacious rear room, generous legroom.
- Smooth and quiet when driving
- Seats are comfortable
- 2.5 L engine is more than enough for me.
- 7 Airbags
- Ventilated Seats
- All round parking sensors
- LED DRL & HID headlights
- Power and memory seats
- Rear windscreen power sunshade
- Doors auto lock when moving off
- Keyless entry and keyless start stop engine
- Toyota's reliability

What I do not like
- Radio/music will stop when reversing
- Cannot set GPS while moving due to safety reasons
- Won't be exciting to drive but nobody buys this car to speed. Hence, it serves it's purpose of being a comfortable cruiser.

trongpham
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 18-Jan-2018
Car interior design very good  Posted on 24 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The cabin look at the Camry is still an elegant and elegant space, with the 2.5Q version using a brown seat design to deliver a classy interior. . Although a young person like me is not very impressive and like the youth like the Mazda 6, but it must be that old car owners will be very "Tolerant" Interior style that Toyota created.
Seat covered seats with front seats and front seats in front of the power adjustment in 10 directions and 8 directions are standard equipment in Camry, in which the highest level version adds memory function two positions. Feeling very comfortable with the spine, back, thighs and hips are lifted a little.

What I like
Everything

What I do not like
Nothing

Navy831
Neutral Newbie
5 reviews
4 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
As usual, a retrograde step by the Japs  Posted on 19 May 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Brand loyalty made my wife decide on this. I would have tried the Accord. The previous model 2006 till 2015, mine was registered in Jan 2007 had virtually the same features but for one major difference.The interior; The. Urgent model's ergonomics is a nightmare. Just take a look at the gauges; Puny, no clarity , almost no contrast. Can you see where the red line starts?Actually this is a non issue for all Camry users since nobody revs past 4k rpm. Why have meters then, don't have them , since no self respecting Camry drivers need them. Ugly! The previous models gauges were , while not the best, fantastic . Nice in fact.
Singaporeans are easily duped by car adverts or reports by the local reviewers(who do not want to antagonize the agents) and buy cars. Much was said by the central display on this car. Probably leftover displays from an iPhone 4 factory. It has useless information and it too small to read at a glance.

What I like
Nothing new to report.

What I do not like
Dreadful interior layout.
Nightmare instrument display.
No transmission dipstick! What for ? Most Camry owners do not know what a transmission is anyway and that it needs a liquid call ATF.
Ugly engine bay.
Dim witted 6 speed transmission.

Ma-rilyn
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
12 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Oct-2016
Overall Not A Suitable Car  Posted on 17 Oct 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 1/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
I wanted to get a second car for the family and Camry which initially look good is not suitable after some examination.

This mid-size sedan keeps the same look year after year and probably forever. It is very squarish and looks like a tank. It does not have the modern and sleek look. It is very dull to drive.

The good side may also not be too good. There is too much obvious room space inside the car making it looks like an empty shell. The 2.5L car which I have tested has a back seat handle for the old folks. I think this is the only car that we know to have such a design apart from those vans for handicaps and people with disabilities. The worst sight is the very straight down dashboard and the green digital display clock that looks like my grandfathers' calculator. Terrible design.

This car is too high and I think it is the highest car in the market like a lorry. In fact, the older edition seems a lot more like a car compared to this.

Well, there are many other better car than this one currently.

Thanks anyway for the test drive.

What I like
- Comfort
- Quiet
- Soft
- Simple

What I do not like
- Lack styling
- Lack Quality
- Lack Features
- No Start-Stop function
- Outdated Technologies
- Price too high
- Lack Fuel Efficiency

Chivanloh
Premium User Chivanloh
Clutched
2 reviews
25 points
27 forum posts Joined on 05-May-2009
Finally, it's a Camry!  Posted on 12 Jun 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Didn't thought much about the Camry when deciding to change our current ride. They did a road show at Vivo and went to see see look look. Didn't choose a Camry for our last 2 cars.

The Camry is a very predictable car. It's like a school children who is not a bad kid, but he is also not particularly bright.

When driving it, it gives a sedated drive. Passenger loves it. Drivers, it ok. The 2.5L gives more than sufficient power for day to day driving.

What I like
The 2.5L power. More than enough for daily commute.
It's a NA engine. Easy to maintain. No drinking of engine oil. No turbo problem.
The features. Ventilated seats is so so good in our humid weather.
It's a passenger car. Passager loves it. It's comfortable and spacious.
It's "cheap" as compared to Lexus and/or a European made "same category" cars.
It's a Toyota. Name for reliability.

After driving this for 3 weeks. No regrets.

What I do not like
It's not a driver's car. You don't get the "Joy of Driving" in this. It's true.
It's so predicated driving this car.
You will not get stares while driving this. It's strange that driving some car makes will make your friends/colleagues/people say "wow". Driving this. NO. It's Singapore.

Little_prince
Premium User Little_prince
2Fast2Furious
13 reviews
49,101 points
19542 forum posts Joined on 20-Jan-2009
Everything you expect from a camry  Posted on 02 Dec 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove this vs the Accord and Teana

the camry outshines it's competition in almost every category.

Spacewise, the cabin is large and airy and comfortable. Neck and neck with Teana. But definitely better than the Accord.

Drive wise, its more of a driver's car than the previous camry. With stiffer suspension giving it more character but perhaps a bit lacking comfort wise compared to Teana

What I like
great FC

Drive is good. power when you need it. Comfortable when crusing.

Cabin space and layout is excellent.

What I do not like
The suspension is a bit stiffer compared to previous camry. so not as comfortable. but generally still well above average

toyotapower
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
24 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2015
The new camry is a very nice upgrade  Posted on 28 Aug 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Went down to test drive the new Camry 2.5L yesterday, was overall really pleased with the experience.

The new camry drives really well, engine is powerful and smooth, never feel lacking in power. The ride is also really comfortable, smooths over any bumps in the road. Sitting in the car is very comfortable, the inside feels extremely composed and well done. Yes there are still lots of plastic bits but its not a BMW or Audi, nor does it claim to be, so that's fine by me. No real complains on the interior styling. I actually really like the electronic dash, looks very cool and race car-ish.

The new camry sports a new facelift, and whilst it definitely looks more sporty and cool, similar to its more expensive lexus counterparts, personally i find the huge front grill a little bit excessive. But that's just me, i prefer my car a little more understated.

its a car that i will quite seriously consider, hopefully COE will drop some more.

What I like
- car rides and handles very well
- engine is really smooth, accelerates very nicely.
- interior is nice and comfortable

What I do not like
- personally, not a fan of the huge grill, but i can understand the restyling to make it look more modern and sporty
- i also dont like the overly cluttered steering wheels. just too many buttons for me.

Power_Torque
Premium User Power_Torque
1st Gear
7 reviews
69 points
12 forum posts Joined on 06-Aug-2014
Ugly Duckling  Posted on 04 Jul 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I don't like the way the new Camry looks. Most of the face-liftings are done on the outside, with new front and rear bumpers together with new head and tail lights.
The pre-facelift model has been blamed for its boring "Uncle" Look, with the "Super-big" Chrome grille and a very conventional-looking head lamps. As such, Toyota has replaced the entire front with a new headlamps that comes with LED daytime running lights (finally), but the main beams are still HID instead of LED. The upper grille is now slimmer but the lower grille is being enlarged, so large that it is able to house the number plate and the fog lights. Yea, it may now get the new design concept which was first seen in the Vios and Corolla Altis, but unlike them, the design look rather out of place. Similar case at the back, Toyota "De-chrome" The rear ganish (now body coloured with a very slim chrome bar running across" And the rear bumper and tail lights look like those that come from an aftermarket store.
So, is there still any reason to buy this car? Yes. It may be ugly on the outside, but is a totally different story on the inside. Plenty of headroom and legroom available in the car. The faux wood trims are now darker and classier, unlike the more brownish one in the pre-facelift model. The new model also comes with a new instrumental cluster with a 4.2" TFT color display. The graphics is definitely clearer and nicer to the eyes. The new Toyota InTouch telematic system is also available in the Camry. This infortainment system works like your usual smartphones and tablets whereby you can download your favourite apps from its app store. GPS navigation system, reverse camera, Bluetooth connectivity, air gesture and voice commands - some of the features this system is equipped with.
There is also a new 2.0l engine which is more powerful yet less thirsty. Combining with a new 6-speed gearbox, the century sprint has been significantly reduced by 2 seconds. Toyota has also improved on the suspension to provide an even better comfort and handling.
Ugly on the outside, but refined in the inside. This car will still be my choice of D-segment sedan, due to its interior and engine refinements. Probably, getting a new set of rims and a rear boot lid will improve the way it looks.

What I like
Generous interior space
Improved engine performance
More fuel efficient
New Infortainment system

What I do not like
Missing LED main beam
Front and rear bumper designs
16" rims in the 2.0l model

Sforester
2nd Gear
3 reviews
223 points
210 forum posts Joined on 20-Dec-2006
Test drove it.. Very comfy car but ...  Posted on 10 Jun 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The interior and dash seriously needs to improve.. I seriously don't understand why the dash design is so outdated and lifeless.. The buttons, the trim, they felt like a throwback to the 80s.. The ride, however, is really comfy and cruisey.. Pretty much the same 2.5 engine used in the the non-V6 Lexus cars..

Axeman24
Premium User Axeman24
3rd Gear
3 reviews
255 points
214 forum posts Joined on 27-Apr-2005
New look, better interior and smoother ride  Posted on 05 May 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
When to the show room and test drove the 2.5L version. I would say with the new 6 speed gear box it is much better now. Exterior looks wise with the change of the front grille it does not looks so "Uncle" Now. The rest of the interior is very much the same but the feel is not so "Plasticky" Compared to the last version. Overall feel it looks good and feel good. The 2.5L is pack with a lot of features which is pretty cool. I am monitoring the COE for now and if it drops a bit more, this will definitely be the car that I will get.

What I like
- The exterior redesign
- Better features
- smoother ride
- More feature but 5K more than 2L

What I do not like
- Boot seems small compare to the 2011 model
- Price of the car

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Toyota Camry
3.5 stars - based on 11 reviews