Related Articles

Silken Sonata takes on polished Passat

MCF enjoys a night with Volkswagen's finest

An automotive journey from boy to man

Seven important tips about hybrid car maintenance


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Volkswagen Passat 2.0 TSI R-Line (A)
22 Jul 2016  |  Volkswagen Reviews
You can now purchase the Volkswagen Passat sans Variant with the turbocharged 2.0-litre motor also used in the Golf GTI. We find out just how good this one is.
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Hyundai Sonata VIII 2.0 GLS Sunroof vs Volkswagen Passat 1.8 TSI Highline
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Volkswagen Passat
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
12 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
4/5
9 out of 12 (75%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

12 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
jj29
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 27-Feb-2014
My family dream car  Posted on 08 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
A car every family should look out for and have when it comes to comfort and safety. -Family of six. :) :) :) :) :) :)

micjenn
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Apr-2017
Great car to drive!  Posted on 06 Apr 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Got my first VW Passat 1.8 highline last week. Great car to drive. Fast acceleration. Very spacious interior and nice interior lighting ambience at night. Interior finish is nice with clean design. Sunroof added a spacious feel. Nice infotainment system which includes GPS, Carplay support, Auto Android and Bluetooth for mobile. Massage and memory function available at driver seat. Spacious boot. Back seats fully foldable. Exterior design is simple and clean look. LED head lights with daylights LED. 5 years warranty!
Not sure why there are negative comments about Passat. But price wise, this car provide more values as compared to XE, 318, A4 and C180.

What I like
Nice interior finishes
Nice ambience lighting during night
Sunroof
Massage function at driver seat
Parking Assist sensors to aid parking
Spacious back seats
Spacious boot space
Foldable back seats
Good infotainment system with Carplay and GPS support
Fast and stable car
5 years warranty

What I do not like
Maps update must be done at VW at a cost
VW carnet service not available in Singapore

tanyb678
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
2 forum posts Joined on 20-Feb-2017
No value for the money  Posted on 20 Feb 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
No value for what you pay!
testing car sound insulation is good. But delivered one is different. May be tires, engine oil, tuning are different.

What I like
ventilating function seats
leather steering wheel

What I do not like
weak GPS system.
Rims are ugly
Park Distance Control sensors are out of order. It may warn you without blocked object, it won't warn you with a block object sometimes. it is better to go with PDC.
vw customer care, then don't try to understand your problem. Just keep you in and out of workshop. Waste your time.

NoMore
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
6 points
3 forum posts Joined on 15-Feb-2017
Horrible services!  Posted on 15 Feb 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Own this car few months. Engine is good. Nice Space. Have some issues and went back to workshop many times already.

What I like
1. powerful car.
2. fast acceleration
3. features

What I do not like
1. Sunroof Noise, steeling wheel Noise. Workshop can't fix them.
2. Acceleration is quick but not smooth at lower gear. Jerk! Jerk! Jerk!
3. Limited safety features.
4. Dynaudio speaker exists in name only.
5. Discuss with other owners at workshop. Please think thrice before you purchase VW. Even after DSG incident, emissions scandal, Supplier dispute,i don't feel any service improvement.
6. Afraid this review to be deleted can't say more.

Tiramisususu
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Nov-2016
Bang for bucks!  Posted on 08 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Finally it was time for an upgrade to the continental segment after years of being thrifty! A competition between the Audi A4, BMW 3 Series and Mercedes Benz C Class was the popular consideration back then, but i believe a new dark horse is chasing up. The Volkswagen Passat 1.8 TSI has impressed many with it's performance, built quality, interior spaces and needless to say, it's good looks.

As most of us Car Enthusiast will already know, the Passat is actually on the same platform as the Audi A4. With the similar TSI/TFSI Engine(2015 A4 Model), 7 speed DSG gearbox and the same Chassis platform as well. The interior cabin space has made many heads turn towards the New Passat as it is very much comparable to the A6 instead. Built quality of the interior is surrounded with soft leather and up to Techs with the Highline version. Lastly, if moolahs($$) is the main buying factor, in which will apply to most of us Singaporean. The Passat is having a depreciation of only $14k/annual as compared to A4's $16k/annual. Or you desperately want a Luxury Continental Passat, you can go for Volkswagen's pre-owned department for it's management units like me, who gotten mine at a depreciation of only $11k-13k/annual.

What I like
-Turbocharged 1.8L/2.0L Engine
-Interior Built Quality
-Cabin and Boot Space
-Size of the vehicle
-Value for money

What I do not like
Only ExclusiveLine version have electric tailgate, other than that, all met my expectation.

BMWX1
Premium User BMWX1
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
23 points
5 forum posts Joined on 10-Oct-2016
VW Passat 1.8  Posted on 11 Oct 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove this car few months ago and general feeling is a stable car with reasonable nice interior. Sale rep told me the trimming is comparable to Merc E class but after viewing C class I beg to differ.

What I like
1. stable and quiet car.
2. good level of luxury as compare to jap cars
3. fast acceleration
4. good turning radius

What I do not like
1. old school design
2. accelerator pedal is hard. General feedback feel is not responsive and need some efforts to floor it down.
3. Acceleration is fast but not really smooth. Gear drag and change are obvious as if the car is working very hard to hit the speed.
4. Limited safety features and control as compared to other german premium brands in market.
5. Target audience mostly are uncles upgrade from Jap-make-car like Toyota Camry.
6. Steering wheel design look weird.
7. Overall package offers by VW is not competitive as compared to other authorized dealers.

alex976
Premium User alex976
5th Gear
7 reviews
1,065 points
378 forum posts Joined on 24-Dec-2013
Comfort of a Audi A6 at a Discount  Posted on 08 Aug 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Went to test drive it. Been thinking of changing my Golf to something with a boot. Gave my SE a call and he recommended the Passat 2.0. Test drive it along Jervois road. The feeling was how can such a big car handle as good as the golf.

What I like
- Superb handling
- easy parking
- super comfy
- great looks
- value for $$ if you wanna get an audi but cant afford it

What I do not like
- poor resale value

Fishy
5th Gear
5 reviews
1,263 points
993 forum posts Joined on 04-Mar-2007
Luxury car at a good price  Posted on 08 Apr 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The VW Passat is beautifully designed and is a comfort to drive. Powerful and gear changes very fast / seamlessly, possibly because this is on a wet clutch as compared against its other cousin. Hence it gave me comfort to know it is more reliable.

Interior is comfortable and nicely done up. Lots of features and for that price, I think it is worth it.

Car is also roomy and bootspace is sufficient for me to put in baggages and children's pram.

What I like
Luxury feel
Nice interior
Roomy bootspace
Lots of features
Wet clutch

What I do not like
Long wait at service centre

razormustard
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
3 forum posts Joined on 13-Dec-2015
Best mid size sedan in the Category  Posted on 15 Dec 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Tested and Booked Passat Highline.

Passat is generally compared to the likes of Mazda 6, Camry and Accord, however with the current version, the Passat has definitely up-classed to Merc Bmw level.

The interior is spacious, especially with the panoramic sunroof opened, with good visibility all around.

The dash is logically laid out, buttons, console and materials used feel and look premium.

Cabin insulation is very close to C class, or even better. There is very very little tyre and wind noise.

Boot Space has a big opening, with folding rear seats for added practicality.

Leather seats are very comfortable and the massage + memory function is a welcome addition. Footwell space is roomy with a dead pedal to put your left foot.

DSG7 issue has been rectified by VW and performs flawlessly. Gear changes are smooth and there is ample power throughout the rev range. Steering is light and have sufficient feedback and with the feel of a much smaller car.

What I like
Cabin Insulation
Interior
Space
Materials
Handsome sheet metal

What I do not like
The gas pedal is top-down instead of bottom-up.

Active Info Display not offered as standard.

Ventilated seats should be standard considering hot climate.

Power_Torque
Premium User Power_Torque
1st Gear
7 reviews
69 points
12 forum posts Joined on 06-Aug-2014
Best-looking Volkswagen!  Posted on 09 Dec 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
One of the best-looking Volkswagen in town. The new Passat comes with an updated corporate profile with LED lights front and back.
Slightly longer and wider than its predecessor, the car has a stronger road presence and at the same time provides more interior spaces for the comfort of the passengers.
The updated 1.8l engine with 7-speed DSG gearbox provides a smooth and comfortable ride. When extra power is needed, the turbocharger will ensure sufficient torque and power is supplied.
The new Passat is definitely one of the best-buy executive sedan in the market.

What I like
Exterior styling.
LED headlamps and taillights.
Spacious interior.
Powerful and Torquey engine

What I do not like
Nothing much actually.

Matoonia
Premium User Matoonia
5th Gear
2 reviews
1,886 points
1348 forum posts Joined on 29-Apr-2010
Best value feature packed executive sedan  Posted on 19 Oct 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was interested by the new 2.0T 6 spd DSG Passat that arrived this week. It was my first time seeing the new passat b8 in the flesh / metal. Totally smitten by the good looks, and very luxurious interior. Rear leg space is plentiful and boot space impressive. I did not get a chance to test drive the 2.0T but test driven the 1.8T. Not disappointed at all as the road handling is good, and the 180 horses churned out a lively spirited drive. Hardly need to break a sweat from traffic light to the next.

What I like
Pretty looks
good handling with plenty of punch
power packed features
luxurious conti feel with lots of leather interior
Hard to find a comparable car with similar features at this price point

What I do not like
7spd DSG reliability is still weighing on my mind

Tanyachua88
2nd Gear
17 reviews
183 points
59 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Very enjoyable and comfortable car to drive!  Posted on 21 Aug 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Today I took the opportunity to test drive the new Passat, one of the more popular family car models around. From the get go, I was quite impressed with how the car looks, quite modern and sporty, compared to some of the older Volkswagen models.

The inside of the car was incredibly well equipped, spacious and comfortable. Everything looks pretty high-end and well constructed. Lots of tech gizmos too, with bluetooth, a pretty solid sound system and automatic headlights. Must especially point out the rear seats, which are extremely spacious.

Driving the car, it gave a me a very strong sense of confidence on the road with its solid handling, accurate steering and very, very comfortable ride. The ride quality compares very favourably to more expensive saloons like the BMWs and Mercs.

What I like
- extremely comfortable, both to drive and even just to sit in
- roomy interior is great for families, sitting in the back was like sitting in a limousine
- well equipped yet understated car

What I do not like
- fuel efficiency isn't the greatest
- not the most visually striking of cars, some might even call it rather bland, especially when comparing to some of the more flashy alternatives in its category

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Volkswagen Passat
4 stars - based on 12 reviews