Recommended for you

5 most established Parallel Importers in the East

Enter the new GLC Coupe and Mercedes-AMG C43

One Motoring digital services guide

» Go to articles

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
9 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

9 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Jcsh21
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
1 forum posts Joined on 08-Jan-2013
Best in its class  Posted on 08 Sep 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Tested many other brands at the same class like X3, F-Pace, Land-Rover and NX before I bought the new facelift GCL200.

For instant a close friend of mine bought X3 at the same time, his first comment when set in the cabin was one notch higher in term of quality and quietness.

Great product and proven for many years.

Love this car!

What I like
Great outlook
High quality built from external to internal
Responsive Engine
Smoooth gear swift
Mercedes Apps on the handphone

What I do not like
Higher price than competitor
No navigation
No wireless Apple and Google Car play

Silvermerc
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
4 forum posts Joined on 07-Nov-2009
Super loud aircon fan & warm cabin  Posted on 27 Jun 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Bought the facelifted GLC200 model. The aircon fan noise was super loud in which my friend who drove in another car in front of me can heard it. The cabin temperature was warm after drove and parked under sheltered. Disappointed with the quantity of this GLC.

What I like
Compact
Easy to drive
C/w side steps

What I do not like
Loud fan noise
Warm cabin
No navigation

Fattytey
1st Gear
7 reviews
70 points
64 forum posts Joined on 21-Apr-2010
It's either this or the new X3  Posted on 14 May 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Been a fan of this car since it's launch in 15 and has been contemplating to change to it. Main reason not doing so is the same as many others. Old car loan still a big factor...

Finally the W212 is reaching it's 7th year and loan coming to an end. It's time to start looking for an SUV as the E class is starting to croak. And I am not young anymore as climbing in and out of a saloon is starting to strain my knees.

Went for a few test drives among the SUV models and it all a fair fight between this car and the new X3...Would love to buy an MACAN, CAYENNE or even better the URUS. But realistically, my pockets is quite shallow.

The X3 is quieter, more powerful and NEW.. With LED dashboard all in etc... The GLC200 facelift model will take some time before coming to our shores but it gives me a good sense of reliability, which is important to me as it will be driven by the missus.

All in all, had a chat with my CFO and she gave the green light on the GLC200.. Thus will be waiting for it's delivery around July... Any longer I will have no car to drive cos Road tax and Insurance due in July...

What I like
Reliability- my 4th Merc and they didn't give me much of an issue
Spacious- Definitely bigger than my E.. sans the boot
light footed- Light on the gas though its huge
last but not least, I've been eyeing to get once since...

What I do not like
Loud- Engine is slightly loud but I can live with that
Look- a bit dated but the new facelight model looks stunning
Time line- Though it's an old model, Delivery still have to wait for 3-4 months...

JamesWong_305692
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 10-Apr-2019
Brand new GLC sent to workshop twice in less than a month!  Posted on 10 Apr 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
After viewing a few continental SUV, I finally settled for the GLC and bought it from C&C and was delivered to me in March'19.
It seems like I've made a bad choice.
After 1 week my car stalled and had to be tow back to workshop. I was informed that the "Accelerator module" Was faulty and need to be replaced.
After 2 weeks out from the workshop, my car engine vibrate and engine warning signal showed up. Car was again towed back to workshop.
Guess my expectation on MB reliability has dropped significantly.

mistergoh
2nd Gear
2 reviews
189 points
164 forum posts Joined on 06-Jun-2018
Good car despite her selling price GLC250 Coupe  Posted on 06 Mar 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove this year end 2018. Took it out for the usual route. Car looks big but visibility is quite bad for rear view. Small windows decrease your visibility.

Car is heavy for stability, cornering is good, and the inside looks up to date. Car hit legal speed limit without much pushing and it is a breeze to be the driver (the same cannot be said for rear passenger).

OVerall, a good car to own, but at their price (was 230k thereabout), and with the new x3 launch at 220k and the ever reliability of lexus RX at 210k... Still a tough fight.

What I like
New design (though there will be a FL in 2019), especially AMG kitted
Coupe design is nice
Merc reliability
Good noise insulation
A lot of PIs bringing in, so C&Cs has to do something on their selling price.

What I do not like
Price as compared to other competitors such as x3 or RX
Small rear, especially for tall passengers on 2nd row

baml2010
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Feb-2018
Desirable stylish suv  Posted on 19 Feb 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
In the market for compact/mid size suv and test drove the GLC 200. This is definitely more of a want than a need with the stunning exterior. Was one of our top considerations given its competitive pricing, but main issue is the interior size isnt as big as what the exterior suggested. Given that the GLC is derived from the C class, can see why its a bit tight inside for whats supposed to be a mid size suv. Its interior is not much different from other compact suvs, in fact smaller in some aspects. After comparing numbers, the BMW X1 for example has higher/more head room, more cargo volume and even higher ground clearance compared to this GLC. And with new X3 now sized up like the X5, can't even compare. Aside from that, its a smooth looking suv. Under the hood, the 2.0L engine was powerful enough and a great drive. However, the handling was average and on the unresponsive side.

What I like
Stylish exterior, scores high on looks
Luxurious interior, scores high on quality
Decent powerful engine makes a refined drive

What I do not like
Interior space is tighter than expected, lower head room
low ground clearance for an suv
Infotainment not user friendly and confusing
Gear shift and control layout has some awkward placement
Handling lacked some response.
The 6 month wait for delivery

Adamlimzg
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 14-May-2013
GLC - Grand , Luxury , Comfort!  Posted on 09 Nov 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Sporty outlook and great comfort be it the driver or passenger. It exterior design are very well thought of. The engine give the GLC a bonus for a premium mid-size SUV. Never lag of power when you needed it. Superior interior design and layout which make the driver very comfortable to navigate. The greatest design of the boot space and layout over any other rival. A definite confidence booster!

Clubace77
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Nov-2011
Performance SUV that captured my heart by chance  Posted on 12 Jul 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I have been hunting for a SUV with the joy of a newborn along the way, and running a BMW M4, my priorities were on the luxury and power that I was accustomed with which left me with the likes of the VW Tiguan R-line, Audi Q5, BMW X3 and the Jag F-pace.

Though the VW Tiguan R-line is not in the premium category, it was satisfying and undoubtedly value for money in my opinion. It was priced to sell with a lot of cool features being standard for the SG spec which are usually options in the premium German rivals.

The Audi Q5 was already unavailable brand new when I started my hunt and I wasn't prepared to wait for the new one to be released (though it did a week after i committed to the GLC). While the BMW X3 is handsome on the outside, it lacked the power-train alternatives and the interior isn't inspiring.

The Jag F-pace was handsome inside and outside with no lack of power, but strangely though a bigger car, it lacked the feel of spaciousness that is found in the German rivals. And the range-topping S variant costs a lot more than the GLC43.

It was a chance encounter with the GLC43 as I had never intended to visit C&C since the GLC's exterior was always a tad "Ugly" In my books. But I went anyway since it wasn't politically correct to leave out the 3-pointed star in the hunt and that was when I introduced to the GLC43 since the earliest delivery of the GLC250 was early 2018 and there was plenty of talk that car prices will go up due to the new VES which kicks in next year.

The GLC43 looked very nice in the metal and its interior was endowed with AMG bits that made the heart flutter. I test drove the car after much persuasion by the SE and was suitably impressed by the driving, power, comfort, and how it just made me feel while i was driving it. It surely does not have the torque of the M4, but its ride height, comfort, sound insulation, and beautiful Burmester sound system made up for all that. I painfully optioned for the Panaromic Roof (for the newborn to enjoy the view) and for HUD (which is something I am used to have in the M4) - both of which I felt should've been standard for the price quoted.

What I like
- Power and torque makes overtaking a breeze even with a light left-foot
- AMG Exterior styling
- AMG Interior styling (red seat-belts and red contrast stitching in many places makes you feel special)
- Place under the boot to store the boot cover when not needed
- Sports Steering wheel
- Air-suspension
- Drone view which can be engaged in D or reverse
- Exhaust note
- Burmester sound system with speakers which looks like an art piece
- Rear sitting space

What I do not like
Does not come with common standard features such as HUD, Panaromic Roof, Lane-keeping assist, Adaptive Cruise Control that is available in the VW Tiguan R-line which costs much less.

BabyStar
1st Gear
15 reviews
45 points
18 forum posts Joined on 03-Jul-2014
Big Merc crossover  Posted on 13 May 2016
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Tested out the Merc GLC and it is a pretty impressive package. Very big and comfortable on the inside, lots of space for the family. Interior quality is everything you expect from the company also. I'm not 100 percent sold on the looks quite yet, but there's no denying it is sharp and aggressive and quite imposing. Maybe it will grow on me.

behind the wheel, the engine is decent enough. Smooth, powerful enough, and makes driving fuss free. Ride is good, very comfortable. Cabin is well insulated, if anything a little too well insulated, as it can sometime feel like driving in a floating box. Prob the biggest issue with the car is that it feels numb and overly surgical.

What I like
- interior quality and space
- good engine
- all around refinement

What I do not like
- driving experience abit numb and unineresting

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class
3.5 stars - based on 9 reviews