Related Articles

10 iconic race cars from BTCC'S 60-year history

Audi A4 Black Edition back by popular demand

Audi recalls 1.27 million cars worldwide

Vehicle sales and transfers to go online


This car has been nominated as Compact Executive Sedan

Nominated car
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Audi A4 2.0 TFSI S tronic (A)
01 Jun 2018  |  Audi Reviews
The Audi A4 2.0 TFSI, with its innovative 'B-cycle process', aims to deliver a balanced combination of performance and added efficiency.
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Audi A4 2.0 TFSI S-tronic Design vs Lexus IS Turbo IS200t 2.0 Executive
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Audi A4 Sedan
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
22 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4.5/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
4/5
21 out of 22 (95.5%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

22 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Brownbeard
Premium User Brownbeard
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
2 forum posts Joined on 06-Aug-2018
Excellent but can be even better  Posted on 14 Nov 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Pros:
VC is really a game changer
Good quality interior and comfortable
2.0T really gives you the boost when you need it
Handsome car that is not overly flashy
All-around good car

Cons:
No Audi connect - this is a very good feature and I cannot comprehend why SG doesn’T have this.
No memory seats! Don’T understand why they can make this standard.
Slightly too high, can be lowered
No electronic tailgate,
16in rims that come as standard really don’T flatter the car
Auto start-stop cannot be turned off by default

Brownbeard
Premium User Brownbeard
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
2 forum posts Joined on 06-Aug-2018
Excellent but can be even better  Posted on 14 Nov 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Pros:
VC is really a game changer
Good quality interior and comfortable
2.0T really gives you the boost when you need it
Handsome car that is not overly flashy
All-around good car

Cons:
No Audi connect - this is a very good feature and I cannot comprehend why SG doesn’T have this.
No memory seats! Don’T understand why they can make this standard.
Slightly too high, can be lowered
No electronic tailgate,
16in rims that come as standard really don’T flatter the car
Auto start-stop cannot be turned off by default

Dekit
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
14 points
2 forum posts Joined on 07-Sep-2018
My first Audi  Posted on 26 Sep 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Good price for the power it delivers. Disappointing as it does not include memory seats at the front.

What I like
The power it delivers.
The interior is cosy.
The gadgets including the VC is interesting.
Back row has air conditioning.

What I do not like
The centre piece at back row is too high.
Driving position is a bit Low coming from an SUV driver previously.

Addats
1st Gear
2 reviews
75 points
49 forum posts Joined on 08-Apr-2010
Fuel efficient for a 2L car  Posted on 05 Jul 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Coming from Volvo, this 2L car has a 10km/L consumption compare to my 2L Volvo which is only getting 8km/L. Although on paper is is about 200BHP, its pickup is comparable to Volvo probably because Volvo is heavier

I like the way the gear stick is design for you to rest your hand and the buttons to navigate the user interface.

The Virtual Cockpit is nice, good for finding your way by having a top view of the area so that i can divert out of traffic jam easily

What I like
- fuel consumption
- power
- Virtual Cockpit

What I do not like
- keyless entry sometime required many press to lock/unlock
- cannot permanent disable start/stop engine (as with most Conti car)

Hackjazz
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
9 points
6 forum posts Joined on 23-Nov-2003
Good FC but poor handling  Posted on 20 Jun 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 1/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Have driven this 1.4 car for 10,000km before giving up to another car. Generally, the car is on par with camry if you will to compete on comfort level. Due to the high suspension, driver will need to pay extra precaution when driving in high speed. Car will tend to drift left and right. Auto tilt down mirror when put on reverse gear did not work well as the angle was not tilt to max low where you can see the parking white line. The rear will tend to skid away when perform U-turn, not sure if this is factory design issue. Have send to premium for check but no defect found. Sold it away due to safety reason.

What I like
Console design
Auto wheel lock when stop at traffic light
spacious space and boot
MMI - one of best entertainment
seamless link between your iphone
Good FC
Engine roar when you turn drive select to dynamic mode

What I do not like
Car vibrate when traveling in low speed
no memory seat
no virtual cockpit
Can feel car roll
Poor handling especially it skid abit when U turn.

Stegosaurus
Premium User Stegosaurus
Clutched
1 reviews
45 points
36 forum posts Joined on 15-Jan-2018
Excellent continental compact executive sedan  Posted on 09 Apr 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Bought the Audi A4 B9 2.0 TFSI. After PA ceased bringing in the 1.4, the 2.0 became the entry level A4 model hence the price dropped (or so I thought). COE was also slipping hence the A4 was priced very competitively for a continental compact executive sedan.

The engine is sufficiently punchy and drive is smooth. Gear change is also seamless without hiccups. Sweeping dynamic indicators are attention grabbing and for good reason because other drivers would be aware of your signalling.

Virtual cockpit is very cool. It does serve a practical function apart from "Wowing" Passengers. Using the maps on the virtual cockpit allows the driver to keep his hands on the wheel and prevents him from fiddling with or looking away too much at the centre MMI screen. Voice command is also receptive to the Singaporean accent unlike first generation Siri or Garmin where a more western accent is needed. The virtual cockpit is powered by a powerful Nvidia processor hence it does not lag when you scroll around and use the various functions.

Keyless locking/unlocking and opening of the boot may seem unnatural but becomes second nature after a while.

Overall this is an excellent and value for money continental compact executive sedan.

What I like
- Strong engine and smooth ride
- Cool technology i.e. virtual cockpit, sweeping dynamic indicator, keyless entry and voice command
- Good choice of colours

What I do not like
Door handle is not ergonomic. Opening the door requires some strength.

Dilemma
Premium User Dilemma
4th Gear
1 reviews
653 points
208 forum posts Joined on 02-Apr-2007
High Tech Car with great drivability  Posted on 07 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Bought the car about 3 months back with the optional feature of the virtual cockpit. I would say this is one of the most outstanding feature of the mid size sedan market.

Have been driving the A4 1.4 for almost 2 months and I'm still enjoying every moment with the car from the power of the car and also the features. Comes with navigation and voice control which is easy to navigate.

The ride comes with 16" Rims which is a tad small for it size and I never regretted upsizing the rims to 18". Comfort level is about the same and road noise isn't an issue with the ride. Lastly the fuel consumption is respectable at about 13-15km/l for every tank that I filled with.

Overall the virtual cockpit with all the features is the main reason that attracted me to buy the vehicle.

What I like
- Virtual cock pit (LED screen for the speedo)
- 0-100km/h in 8.5 Sec
- Navigation
- Good fuel consumption
- Handling
- Large boot space and knock down seats
- 3 Zone Air Conditioning

What I do not like
- Large wheel gap
- No spare tyre
- Clicking sound at 40km/h
- No legal aftermarket exhaust to mod

Rockaphonics
4th Gear
1 reviews
529 points
461 forum posts Joined on 17-Aug-2009
Best all rounder  Posted on 21 Jun 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
If you are in the market looking for a car that has good interior quality and design, smooth gear changes and brisk acceleration with very good fuel economy, comfortable ride with little cabin noise, good rear seating and boot space at a relatively attractive price, then the A4 is for you.
Other than FC and interior built, the A4 may not be the best in the other aspects in its class, but it does everything else really well and that makes it a good all rounded package.

What I like
For its selling price, the A4 is the best among its competitors.

What I do not like
Pretty bare options at the base price ( not even reverse cam ).
16 inch wheels look out of place.
handling cannot match a jaguar xe but better than a c class IMO.
reliability still has to be monitored, audi hasnt been famous for it reliability lately.

Wolfverine
Premium User Wolfverine
NOS-ed
10 reviews
16,712 points
692 forum posts Joined on 03-Dec-2005
Value for money amongst its competitors  Posted on 25 Feb 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The interior is the most refreshing amongst its competitors and although features are not as comprehensive (non-Design model), the standard items are sufficiently good for a car of this level. I am not too hung up with what some say about the FWD of this vehicle as to me, this car takes cornering relatively well compared to my RWD F06 - this might not be the case at higher speed but then again, obviously someone must be speeding to make such comments! The 1.4TFSI is very decent and is by no means underpowered.

Only gripe I have is the exterior styling although this can be improved with a few mods.

What I like
- Value for $
- Refreshing interior
- 1.4TFSI - economical yet decent power is there is needed

What I do not like
Exterior styling

Phil
Premium User Phil
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
22 points
21 forum posts Joined on 09-Sep-2004
An understated German brand  Posted on 26 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Having test driven the popular 3 amigos (318/C180/A4), the A4 is definitely a hidden gem.

Outlook
The car initial outlook impression seems dated, which looks almost identical to the outgoing B8 model. But the surprised elements were abound once you get into the "Aircraft" Cabin - simplistic but high tech. The interior has aluminium trimming, sensory touch button, frame-less rear view mirror, "Top Gun" Gear throttle, and the optioned Virtual Cockpit which all of these shout Ironman tech wizardry!

Drive
Surprised that the initial move off was brisk and quiet for a 1.4L potter. Comfort is well balance with the new multi link suspension. Leather steering is luxurious and nice to hold, but seats are slightly firm as with all German brand. The 150bhp/250Nm turbo here is more than adequate for the executives on our road.

What I like
Understated look
Wonderful cockpit
Quiet and comfortable ride
3 Zone climate control

What I do not like
No memory seats - seriously?
Virtual cockpit is optional
16" wheels only in these class segment
Rear beeping parking sensor with no visual aid

Cutepooh2
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
11 points
1 forum posts Joined on 28-Jan-2011
Young Executive's dream car!  Posted on 28 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Upon the launch of the all new Audi A4, it is a big step from it’S predecessor model. Exterior and Interior looks were revamped at the same time retaining features of the Audi Brand. Spotting the A4 from a distance or from your rear view mirror would not be difficult due to its distinct front and rear LED lights.
The exterior of the A4 allows one to feel that it has been lengthen to provide for room for rear passengers. Styling makes one feel that it will not be outdated in the near future.
Entering the driver’S seat, I felt that it was more exclusive than what I could have imagined. The “Cockpit” Of the A4 resembles an aircraft and made me feel I was like a kid again. The gear shifter is what I would call the “Throttle control of the aircraft”. Instrumental Panel on the A4 is futuristic and informative, with many information available. I felt similar to operating an aircraft with the informative description of the machine you are operating
The integrated multimedia interface has the apple play feature, which is a thumbs up to iPhone users and it is not difficult to navigate between the radio stations / MP3. Air vents on the dashboard is proportional and feels solid, rather than hollow and plastic. What caught my eye was the wood trim where u can actually feel a little of the grooves of the wood.
Angle of the rear seats are pretty upright and not comfortable for long journeys, especially one who is tall, however, it offers decent leg room
The drive of the A4 was superb! The quick acceleration caught me by surprise for a vehicle for its class. Steering was light and low speeds and became firmer at high speeds. Despite the weight reduction, the A4 was stable at highway speed.
I will describe the A4 as a vehicle where you can have fun driving(sportiness and engagement), at the same time getting you home in a smooth and relaxing drive after a long day at work.
The A4 offers by far the most comprehensive comfort and driving experience for a young executive looking to own a vehicle.

What I like
Exterior Styling of the A4
LED Lights
Fun driving experience, can have fun and drive smoothly, the car will suit your needs.
Awesome interior and dashboard
Attractive Dashboard
Superb sound system

What I do not like
16 inch rims comes as standard
Angle of rear seats too upright, uncomfortable for long journeys
Push Start button located at a very weird location
Boot space insufficient for 2 golf bags

Sdf4786k
Premium User Sdf4786k
Turbocharged
3 reviews
9,768 points
4205 forum posts Joined on 26-Dec-2007
Audi A4 Rebooted  Posted on 16 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
If you do with you always did, you get what you always got. This is true for Audi A4. Its layout is different from the plain Jane Passat MQB platform as the A4 engine is place longitudinal and gains a fair bit in driving pleasure.

The 4WD haldex gain a 5th gen updates while the interior with the virtual cockpit looks as good as its functional and would not be out of place from a futuristic movie.

Drive wise has improve and the engine from the 2.0 feels nothing like a 2.0. Must have being the IHI turbo adopted .

Interior and door shut lines are reassuring for a conti car. When it comes to your hard earn money spend, A4 is a compelling choice.

What I like
build and finish. Improvement over last generations

What I do not like
expensive customized options and long wait

CarbonFalcon
Premium User CarbonFalcon
1st Gear
32 reviews
77 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Nov-2012
NASA's little cousin  Posted on 14 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
A retired Astronaut grinning again by showing how a drive in the Audi R8 brings back the exhilaration of a rocket launch was absolute brilliance. I would love to test drive the R8; But by no means could I afford one. The alternate A4, which by common man standards, felt like the best executive entry car I could get my hands on. Although not as timeless as the Saab 9-5 Vector and its affiliation to fighter planes, the A4's LED lights, the elegant cockpit interiors and a pretty powerful 1.4 TSFI engine make it worthy of rocketeering connections.

For comparison's sake, pitting the entry level Audi A3 and A4, both harbor 1.4L Turbocharged engines. However the Audi A4's additional 27hp and 50Nm torque puts it in the riskier (pricier) Cat B. Other than a clear spatial advantage, most of the additional items don't add up to be 50k worth more. True that the two cars are from different segments, but the Audi A4 doesn't stand up to be as elegant as its competitors - the Jaguar XE or BMW 3 series. However where it lacks premium feel, it makes up for it by offering sophistication, performance and character.

Despite not having the RS4 namesake, the A4 offers exactly that kind of difference versus a regular performance variant Japanese car. Torn between a regular Civic and Type R? A Golf R-line vs regular? Or for one of those itchy undergraduates who spent part-time pay modifying Toyota Vios before graduating into a quick-rising employee. The A4 embodies such qualities perfectly. A hungry, different, sophisticated individual that is starting to buy his own condominium at an early age, yet staves off the uncle mobiles offered in the Bavarian and Coventry counties. Even the matt black boot lid spoiler personifies the owner's heritage.

A slightly different suspension setup, Quattro drive and drive modes allow for differing mood swings, and that's really useful. For most of the quiet days in traffic, it feels like (strangely) a hefty regular luxury sedan. Despite the lightweight claims, perhaps the steering tightens up and gives it that solid feel , boosting confidence and lane changing. Put it to S mode however and it shakes off the elegant look, allowing it to be on par with Honda S2000s rumbling at traffic.

Overall the A4 is certainly a car that's easy to lose your heart to.

What I like
Rear swoosh indicator lights alone are sufficient to buy this car

LED headlamps are very good

S mode and Quattro planted driving

Ample torque

What I do not like
Interiors on the A4 were reminiscent of the Honda Civic’s old cockpit design. Controls and the panel tend to concave lightly towards the driver such that he’s got easier access. However, there was not much to press. The whole layout was neat, elegant and exuded an auto-pilot aura. It was as if all you had to focus on was the speedo cluster and let Jarvis control the rest. Perfectly driver-focused with none of the usual Spartan sentiment.

Could have been a little more dramatic.

The price is certainly confusing.

speedlimit
Premium User speedlimit
Clutched
1 reviews
39 points
11 forum posts Joined on 04-Sep-2016
A Refined Car  Posted on 03 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Don't be fooled by the displacement of its 1.4L engine - with 150 horses under the bonnet, it runs from 0 to 100km/h in 8.5s. While not exhilarating, it is more than enough for driving on our small island state.

It is a capable car that gives a good ride comfort. The new A4 is also more aerodynamic. Its drag coefficient is only 0.23 and you can feel it glide on the roads. The DCT transmission is fast but tends to be jerky when decelerating at lower gears.

It compares well in quality and performance to the C class and 3 series. If you can afford an extra $7,500 (which you very likely are if you are seriously considering the A4), get the virtual cockpit to further the fun.

All in all, this car gives a sense of quality and refinement.

This review is for the base version 1.4L TFSI. The 2.0L quattro comes with many other goodies like head-up display, memory seats, Milano leather, and extra chrome finishings. Go for it if your heart rules your head.

What I like
Interior build and design
Quiet engine and good noise insulation
Comfortable ride
Virtual cockpit
Ambient interior lighting
Good fuel economy
Better value-for-money compared to the C class and 3 series

What I do not like
Jerky transmission at lower speeds
Mediocore sound system
Many features come as pricy options
$5k extra CEVS for Design version makes it unattractive

BMWX1
Premium User BMWX1
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
23 points
5 forum posts Joined on 10-Oct-2016
A4 is a Nice Car  Posted on 11 Oct 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Never test drove this car but mandatory fields need to be filled in so I will give an "Average" Rating on handling and engine performance.

A good car in general but somehow the console design does not give you the welcoming feel.

What I like
1. turbo engine
2. nice interior

What I do not like
1. rear leg room.
2. new console design is "hard".
3. Exterior design looks similar to predecessor.
4. rear seat cannot really comfortably sit three adults.
5. Limited features as compare to other german brands.
6. Overall package is not competitive

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Audi A4 Sedan
4 stars - based on 22 reviews