Related Articles

Audi Singapore showcases the updated Audi A4 Sedan

Going green with the Audi A4 Sedan

Audi now offers online, interactive factory tours

The BYD T3 is an excellent electric van


Past Car
Models no longer being sold by local distributors.
Model unavailable since Sep 2020
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Video Review - Audi A4 Sedan 2.0 TFSI S tronic (A)
13 Jan 2020  |  Audi Reviews
With emphasis placed instead on ride comfort and build quality, are the Audi A4's qualities good enough to win over our reviewers?
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Audi A4 vs Mercedes-Benz C-Class vs Volvo S60
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Audi A4 Sedan
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
26 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4.5/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
4/5
25 out of 26 (96.2%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer

26 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
whl002
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Apr-2020
Giving Mercedes & BMW a run for their money.  Posted on 15 Apr 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The looks:
The huge grill with four rings dominate the front fascia is what notice at first glance. This compact executive sedan has a simple, sleek and fuss-free design. The length of the wheelbase might confuse one to believe it is bigger than it actually is while the window on the C-pillar compliments it. Overall it is handsome but seem somewhat simple compared to rivals. But one can live with it.

The Drive:
As I am cruising down the expressway I must say I quite like the soothing feeling while the car maintains a low rpm. But when it comes to pedal to the metal, it downshifts lighting fast and whisks away. The 2.0 engine and the "S-tronic" Gearbox compliments each other. Like all dual clutch transmission when traffic emerges, the "S-Tronic" Gearbox tend to jerk. Steering might feel light at low speeds but weights up when it needs to.

Money:
With Audi's Agent giving steep discounts for MY19 I would say its a really good buy compared to the ageing C-Class and the brand new 3-Series, or the Volvo S60 if you prefer Sweden.

What I like
Exterior:
LED headlight
Auto headlights
Auto wipers

Interior:
Easy to use Audi MMI system
Comfortable Seats
Virtual cockpit
Spacious interior for its class
Rear view parking camera
Three zone climate control (that includes rear passengers)


Mechanical bits:
Powerful 2.0 engine
Lightweight
Great Handling
Lightning fast gear change
Solidly Built

Miscellaneous:
5-Year unlimited Mileage warranty

What I do not like
Exterior:
Tiny 16" alloys
Lack chrome bits to make it look upmarket (without S-line package)
No electric tailgate
Front looks very similar to cheaper and smaller A3

Interior:
No memory seat
Subwoofer always on blast when seated at the rear
Lack rear curtain airbags
Again, lack chrome bits (steering wheel etc)


Mechanical bits:
Lack refinement at idle
Default Start-stop function is On
No alarm system
This engine has been around for a long time
Gearbox reliability is up for debate



Miscellaneous:
AD does not install Solar film

Guangye
1st Gear
3 reviews
66 points
23 forum posts Joined on 31-Jan-2013
A good mid sized sedan  Posted on 05 Apr 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The car is comfortable and has adequate power for daily use. Interior is very functional and look nice in my opinion. Virtual cockpit, though A4 B9 is still using the first generation, is still the best in terms of functionality and style in the industry from my point of view.
Space is sufficient for it's segment.
Though exterior is not as sporty as BMW 3 series, the overall package this car offers is the best bang for buck in it's class.

What I like
Functional and nice interior.
Good power delivery.
Comfortable drive.
Value for money.

What I do not like
Need to do slight modification to make the car look sportier if you prefer a sporty look.
No advanced safety technology and it would be difficult to spec them if you want for AD Audi models.

josephannnn
Clutched
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Jan-2018
Good executive family sedan car, not a must buy  Posted on 02 Jun 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Bought the 2019 facelift edition, whose interior is so much better than the 2018 one. Looks much more upscale as compared to last year. More chrome, and interior lighting that's classy rather than striking.

The A4 beats everyone in its class when u compare its price. Significantly cheaper than the C class and 3 series, considering u get a 2.0T engine. Its fuel economy/power ratio hands down leaves the japanese counterparts in the dust too, like mazda, toyota.

The drive is very calm and composed, for a 2.0 turbocharged engine, cruising at 1200RPM constantly: explains the fuel efficiency. Sports mode is very toned down, only keeping RPM at 2000, which is very weird andl doesn't maximise the car's potential. Paddle shifters are a must to use, if you want to maximise the car's power. No worries though, as it can overtake any car in traffic in a breeze, without even hitting 3000rpm, with its 320NM powerband from 1200rpm to 4000rpm.

The A4 is very under-provided for, for an Audi. Horrific 16 inch rims, no memory seat for a family sedan, virtual cockpit is not stock. The audi drive select is completely fake, comfort mode is redundant, no adaptive dampers or air suspensions means they can't really improve ride comfort. Dynamic mode makes the steering artificially heavy, instead of responsive with high feedback.

What I like
Price

Powertrain and comfort.

2019 New front diffuser and fake exhaust covers (that make the car look sportier)

Fuel economy taking into context the power

Great boot space and accessibility.

360 degree sensor, helps u prevent unnecessary scratches at ur bumpers

What I do not like
19.2 Km/L fuel consumption on paper, however once changed to 18 inch rims, becomes around 11-12 when travelling urban. around 14-16 if u travel on highway clear traffic

16 inch rims (a must change when u buy it)

No memory seats

Touchscreen would be much preferred, in addition to the Audi MMI panel.

Not the best steering that audi has provided. Its good enough, and much better than most cars, but expected more, with the steering feeling very light and little feedback at low speeds. High speeds makes the steering tighter but still not the best audi has made.

maxsee333
2nd Gear
2 reviews
196 points
58 forum posts Joined on 30-Nov-2018
First Audi I Own...  Posted on 07 Jan 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Bought the 2019 minor facelift 2.0L AUDI. This is the first AUDI i own. Use to drive BMW and Mercedes in the past. In terms of power, i personally feels that it has the oomph in it. Engine feels more responsive and powerful. Overtaking other vehicles seem like a breeze in the park.

What I like
- Virtual Cockpit
- Handling
- Engine power and responsiveness
- Quiet and smooth ride
- Minor change to rear exhuast pipe to keep with current time.

What I do not like
- Lack of memory seat
- 16" Alloy rim, makes the tyres look like big balloons.
- Auto Start/Stop that has to be turn off manually each time. And the fact that it is located next to traction control button, cause me to press the wrong one a couple of times.

Brownbeard
Clutched
2 reviews
6 points
2 forum posts Joined on 06-Aug-2018
Excellent but can be even better  Posted on 14 Nov 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Pros:
VC is really a game changer
Good quality interior and comfortable
2.0T really gives you the boost when you need it
Handsome car that is not overly flashy
All-around good car

Cons:
No Audi connect - this is a very good feature and I cannot comprehend why SG doesn’T have this.
No memory seats! Don’T understand why they can make this standard.
Slightly too high, can be lowered
No electronic tailgate,
16in rims that come as standard really don’T flatter the car
Auto start-stop cannot be turned off by default

Brownbeard
Clutched
2 reviews
6 points
2 forum posts Joined on 06-Aug-2018
Excellent but can be even better  Posted on 14 Nov 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Pros:
VC is really a game changer
Good quality interior and comfortable
2.0T really gives you the boost when you need it
Handsome car that is not overly flashy
All-around good car

Cons:
No Audi connect - this is a very good feature and I cannot comprehend why SG doesn’T have this.
No memory seats! Don’T understand why they can make this standard.
Slightly too high, can be lowered
No electronic tailgate,
16in rims that come as standard really don’T flatter the car
Auto start-stop cannot be turned off by default

Dekit
Clutched
1 reviews
14 points
2 forum posts Joined on 07-Sep-2018
My first Audi  Posted on 26 Sep 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Good price for the power it delivers. Disappointing as it does not include memory seats at the front.

What I like
The power it delivers.
The interior is cosy.
The gadgets including the VC is interesting.
Back row has air conditioning.

What I do not like
The centre piece at back row is too high.
Driving position is a bit Low coming from an SUV driver previously.

Addats
1st Gear
2 reviews
77 points
52 forum posts Joined on 08-Apr-2010
Fuel efficient for a 2L car  Posted on 05 Jul 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Coming from Volvo, this 2L car has a 10km/L consumption compare to my 2L Volvo which is only getting 8km/L. Although on paper is is about 200BHP, its pickup is comparable to Volvo probably because Volvo is heavier

I like the way the gear stick is design for you to rest your hand and the buttons to navigate the user interface.

The Virtual Cockpit is nice, good for finding your way by having a top view of the area so that i can divert out of traffic jam easily

What I like
- fuel consumption
- power
- Virtual Cockpit

What I do not like
- keyless entry sometime required many press to lock/unlock
- cannot permanent disable start/stop engine (as with most Conti car)

Hackjazz
Clutched
1 reviews
9 points
6 forum posts Joined on 23-Nov-2003
Good FC but poor handling  Posted on 20 Jun 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 1/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Have driven this 1.4 car for 10,000km before giving up to another car. Generally, the car is on par with camry if you will to compete on comfort level. Due to the high suspension, driver will need to pay extra precaution when driving in high speed. Car will tend to drift left and right. Auto tilt down mirror when put on reverse gear did not work well as the angle was not tilt to max low where you can see the parking white line. The rear will tend to skid away when perform U-turn, not sure if this is factory design issue. Have send to premium for check but no defect found. Sold it away due to safety reason.

What I like
Console design
Auto wheel lock when stop at traffic light
spacious space and boot
MMI - one of best entertainment
seamless link between your iphone
Good FC
Engine roar when you turn drive select to dynamic mode

What I do not like
Car vibrate when traveling in low speed
no memory seat
no virtual cockpit
Can feel car roll
Poor handling especially it skid abit when U turn.

Stegosaurus
1st Gear
1 reviews
45 points
36 forum posts Joined on 15-Jan-2018
Excellent continental compact executive sedan  Posted on 09 Apr 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Bought the Audi A4 B9 2.0 TFSI. After PA ceased bringing in the 1.4, the 2.0 became the entry level A4 model hence the price dropped (or so I thought). COE was also slipping hence the A4 was priced very competitively for a continental compact executive sedan.

The engine is sufficiently punchy and drive is smooth. Gear change is also seamless without hiccups. Sweeping dynamic indicators are attention grabbing and for good reason because other drivers would be aware of your signalling.

Virtual cockpit is very cool. It does serve a practical function apart from "Wowing" Passengers. Using the maps on the virtual cockpit allows the driver to keep his hands on the wheel and prevents him from fiddling with or looking away too much at the centre MMI screen. Voice command is also receptive to the Singaporean accent unlike first generation Siri or Garmin where a more western accent is needed. The virtual cockpit is powered by a powerful Nvidia processor hence it does not lag when you scroll around and use the various functions.

Keyless locking/unlocking and opening of the boot may seem unnatural but becomes second nature after a while.

Overall this is an excellent and value for money continental compact executive sedan.

What I like
- Strong engine and smooth ride
- Cool technology i.e. virtual cockpit, sweeping dynamic indicator, keyless entry and voice command
- Good choice of colours

What I do not like
Door handle is not ergonomic. Opening the door requires some strength.

Dilemma
5th Gear
1 reviews
1,141 points
376 forum posts Joined on 02-Apr-2007
High Tech Car with great drivability  Posted on 07 Nov 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Bought the car about 3 months back with the optional feature of the virtual cockpit. I would say this is one of the most outstanding feature of the mid size sedan market.

Have been driving the A4 1.4 for almost 2 months and I'm still enjoying every moment with the car from the power of the car and also the features. Comes with navigation and voice control which is easy to navigate.

The ride comes with 16" Rims which is a tad small for it size and I never regretted upsizing the rims to 18". Comfort level is about the same and road noise isn't an issue with the ride. Lastly the fuel consumption is respectable at about 13-15km/l for every tank that I filled with.

Overall the virtual cockpit with all the features is the main reason that attracted me to buy the vehicle.

What I like
- Virtual cock pit (LED screen for the speedo)
- 0-100km/h in 8.5 Sec
- Navigation
- Good fuel consumption
- Handling
- Large boot space and knock down seats
- 3 Zone Air Conditioning

What I do not like
- Large wheel gap
- No spare tyre
- Clicking sound at 40km/h
- No legal aftermarket exhaust to mod

Rockaphonics
4th Gear
1 reviews
529 points
460 forum posts Joined on 17-Aug-2009
Best all rounder  Posted on 21 Jun 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
If you are in the market looking for a car that has good interior quality and design, smooth gear changes and brisk acceleration with very good fuel economy, comfortable ride with little cabin noise, good rear seating and boot space at a relatively attractive price, then the A4 is for you.
Other than FC and interior built, the A4 may not be the best in the other aspects in its class, but it does everything else really well and that makes it a good all rounded package.

What I like
For its selling price, the A4 is the best among its competitors.

What I do not like
Pretty bare options at the base price ( not even reverse cam ).
16 inch wheels look out of place.
handling cannot match a jaguar xe but better than a c class IMO.
reliability still has to be monitored, audi hasnt been famous for it reliability lately.

Wolfverine
Twincharged
11 reviews
23,410 points
901 forum posts Joined on 03-Dec-2005
Value for money amongst its competitors  Posted on 25 Feb 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The interior is the most refreshing amongst its competitors and although features are not as comprehensive (non-Design model), the standard items are sufficiently good for a car of this level. I am not too hung up with what some say about the FWD of this vehicle as to me, this car takes cornering relatively well compared to my RWD F06 - this might not be the case at higher speed but then again, obviously someone must be speeding to make such comments! The 1.4TFSI is very decent and is by no means underpowered.

Only gripe I have is the exterior styling although this can be improved with a few mods.

What I like
- Value for $
- Refreshing interior
- 1.4TFSI - economical yet decent power is there is needed

What I do not like
Exterior styling

Phil
1st Gear
1 reviews
22 points
21 forum posts Joined on 09-Sep-2004
An understated German brand  Posted on 26 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Having test driven the popular 3 amigos (318/C180/A4), the A4 is definitely a hidden gem.

Outlook
The car initial outlook impression seems dated, which looks almost identical to the outgoing B8 model. But the surprised elements were abound once you get into the "Aircraft" Cabin - simplistic but high tech. The interior has aluminium trimming, sensory touch button, frame-less rear view mirror, "Top Gun" Gear throttle, and the optioned Virtual Cockpit which all of these shout Ironman tech wizardry!

Drive
Surprised that the initial move off was brisk and quiet for a 1.4L potter. Comfort is well balance with the new multi link suspension. Leather steering is luxurious and nice to hold, but seats are slightly firm as with all German brand. The 150bhp/250Nm turbo here is more than adequate for the executives on our road.

What I like
Understated look
Wonderful cockpit
Quiet and comfortable ride
3 Zone climate control

What I do not like
No memory seats - seriously?
Virtual cockpit is optional
16" wheels only in these class segment
Rear beeping parking sensor with no visual aid

Cutepooh2
Clutched
2 reviews
11 points
1 forum posts Joined on 28-Jan-2011
Young Executive's dream car!  Posted on 28 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Upon the launch of the all new Audi A4, it is a big step from it’S predecessor model. Exterior and Interior looks were revamped at the same time retaining features of the Audi Brand. Spotting the A4 from a distance or from your rear view mirror would not be difficult due to its distinct front and rear LED lights.
The exterior of the A4 allows one to feel that it has been lengthen to provide for room for rear passengers. Styling makes one feel that it will not be outdated in the near future.
Entering the driver’S seat, I felt that it was more exclusive than what I could have imagined. The “Cockpit” Of the A4 resembles an aircraft and made me feel I was like a kid again. The gear shifter is what I would call the “Throttle control of the aircraft”. Instrumental Panel on the A4 is futuristic and informative, with many information available. I felt similar to operating an aircraft with the informative description of the machine you are operating
The integrated multimedia interface has the apple play feature, which is a thumbs up to iPhone users and it is not difficult to navigate between the radio stations / MP3. Air vents on the dashboard is proportional and feels solid, rather than hollow and plastic. What caught my eye was the wood trim where u can actually feel a little of the grooves of the wood.
Angle of the rear seats are pretty upright and not comfortable for long journeys, especially one who is tall, however, it offers decent leg room
The drive of the A4 was superb! The quick acceleration caught me by surprise for a vehicle for its class. Steering was light and low speeds and became firmer at high speeds. Despite the weight reduction, the A4 was stable at highway speed.
I will describe the A4 as a vehicle where you can have fun driving(sportiness and engagement), at the same time getting you home in a smooth and relaxing drive after a long day at work.
The A4 offers by far the most comprehensive comfort and driving experience for a young executive looking to own a vehicle.

What I like
Exterior Styling of the A4
LED Lights
Fun driving experience, can have fun and drive smoothly, the car will suit your needs.
Awesome interior and dashboard
Attractive Dashboard
Superb sound system

What I do not like
16 inch rims comes as standard
Angle of rear seats too upright, uncomfortable for long journeys
Push Start button located at a very weird location
Boot space insufficient for 2 golf bags

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Audi A4 Sedan
4 stars - based on 26 reviews