Recommended for you

The Hyundai Elantra N TCR makes its IMSA debut

Hyundai Motor releases first images of Elantra N

Hyundai reveals the new Elantra N

ENZO offers premium, durable car mats


Past Car
Models no longer being sold by local distributors.
Model unavailable since Dec 2018
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Hyundai Elantra 1.6 GLS Elite (A)
03 Jun 2016  |  Hyundai Reviews
The all new Hyundai Elantra boasts an impressive spec sheet, and has its sights set on becoming the best-selling model in Singapore.
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Chevrolet Cruze 1.6 vs Hyundai Elantra 1.6 vs Nissan Sylphy 1.6
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Hyundai Elantra
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
32 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

32 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
spymax
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-Oct-2016
Hyundai Elantra - Worth Every Penny!  Posted on 02 Apr 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I bought a NEW Hyundai Elantra 1.6 last year June 2018 and my first ever Korean made car. After 9mths and clocking 25,000km - the runs beautifully and most of all an excellent fuel economy for a car t's size!
On an average a full tank, I am clocking an average of 650km - 680km on 48-49litres of petrol. The best ever I have manage is 730km!!
The body rigidity of the Hyundai using HTSS has improved the body flexing effect and the handling of the cars are now almost comparable with the European makes.
The interior is spacious - width similar to a Nissan Teana. Your cannot go wrong driving this car.
Air-con is top notch putting many other makes to shame with it's efficient cooling capability and efficiency.

Well Done HYUNDAI MOTORS! You have leaped forward into a new era and I am sure more consumers will be captivated by the improvements you have made over the years.
Komoco great after sales service!

What I like
The Elantra is a Japanese Sedan beater!!
- Interior size and the large booth space
- Super frugal as it sips petrol.
- Modern design
- Good road handling
- Excellent transmission shifting (Could be better with a lower gear ratio) to improve FC.

What I do not like
The fault with the Elantras
- The android auto interface is poor and tends to hang
- Lack the torque during pick up due to the weight to power ratio mismatch
- NV intrusion into the cabin is too much.

Han1911
1st Gear
3 reviews
51 points
18 forum posts Joined on 10-Nov-2009
Good for its value  Posted on 13 Nov 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Have been driving it for a few months now. I must say, the face lift did refresh the look of the car. Performance wise, there is nothing to shout about for it as I was driving larger displacement and turbo charged vehicle. For the current value and our market situation, this is the best in its class for price range.

What I like
The styling dont look dated. It just functional.

What I do not like
Its a K car, what else can i expect.

Jojo_elmo
1st Gear
1 reviews
36 points
19 forum posts Joined on 24-Mar-2009
Just a point A to B car.  Posted on 27 Oct 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Bought it abt 8 months ago. A bit of regret as I was looking at other jap models and ended up with this.
Would be selling it away if I am not losing too much money.

What I like
Handling good
Slightly modern exterior.
Feature rich.

What I do not like
Feels cheap driving this car.
Interior hard plastics.
Uncomfortable ride.
Android auto doesn't work well from day 1.
Feels engine performance is subpar to jap made ones especially pickup and efficiency.

Capsupereme
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Jan-2011
Best car in its category  Posted on 26 Oct 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The first time owning a brand new car and it's a great experience. Own a more powerful car previously.

What I like
Driving pleasure, sound proofing, infotainment features, digital and analogue combi dashboard.

What I do not like
Acceleration, interior space, compartments are limited. Turning radius

csy_sky
3rd Gear
1 reviews
388 points
248 forum posts Joined on 24-Jul-2018
Good among the same class with cheapest price  Posted on 07 Oct 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This is very first impressions after driving this car for 3 days.
I am om and off driving a Toyota vios and Honda accord 2.0 owned by other family members.
This car in term of comfortable and sound proof was almost as good as accord in my opinion.
Handling wise and FC I only comment after longer driving experience with this car.
Ac on this was not as cool as those on Toyota and Honda, during sunny day noon time need to turn to almost max to feel the coolness.

What I like
- good "stock" sound proof .
- cheap price among same class
- 7 airbag plus other safety features
- feature given to each trim are well arranged in my opinion. (At those only available for highest trim are not safety related and truly optional such as left lights, dual zone ac, cruise control and drive mode)
- info display beside speedo meter.
- much more small feature although not very important but convenient to have, like auto car lock, auto mirror folding, android auto, auto chromatic rear view and etc etc)
- importantly spacious cabin and boot.

What I do not like
- ac not cool enough. (Good to have stronger ac)
-

zenko
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Oct-2017
Very good even almost 1 year  Posted on 26 Aug 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I had owned the Excel(Accent) and Tucson before and now the new Elantra, It is a huge improvement in terms of engine, fuel consumption, looks and features.

This car is value for money indeed as it is amazingly jam-packed with all the latest features that you can find in more expensive luxury cars. Drove the 'Elite' model and till now almost 1 year, clocked around 18k kms, still the drive is good as new.
The engine is very quiet when idling, sometimes I even forget that the engine is still on and I tried to leave the vehicle after parking.
The engine is not bad, very good at overtaking, but not so good at pick up.

What I like
Nice look especially the front
Different drive modes
Auto boot
Quiet engine
Very stable, even when cornering
Auto retractable mirrors and "Welcome lights" on door handle when approaching vehicle
Rear aircon
Reverse Cam with guide
Electric seats adjusting

What I do not like
Not a fuel efficient as it claims to have (10-11+km/l)
Side mirrors not too big (can't see much)
Roof is abit low for my height
Auto headlights not as responsive as other car brands

SGCMKermit
Neutral Newbie
6 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
Still enjoying the ride after 6000km  Posted on 28 May 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Having driven the car for more than 2 months and clocking more than 6000km, i am still enjoying the ride. I saw a review that complained about a noisy ride but so far my car is still pretty quiet as per my first review a month ago. I think most Elantra owners would agree with me on this one.
Fuel economy is still pretty decent. I still get between 6.5-7L/100km these days so no complaints there. (about 14.2 - 15.3km/L)
Handling of the car is still pretty good. Granted, it's no Bimmer but it's actually quite composed through the corners and very stable at high speed.
Hint: if you want a bit more fun when driving, drive without air-conditioning. You'll notice a difference in power especially uphill or during starts. But that aside, this car is perfectly adequate for my needs and at the price i paid for, no complaints so far.

What I like
1. Fuel economy still decent after 6000km (14.2 - 15.3L/L)
2. Ride still quiet
3. Ride still comfortable

What I do not like
1. i wish they would swap the signal and windscreen wiper controls back again to the same as Jap models.
2. hopefully android auto will be available in SG soon so that i don't have to do side install each time an update comes up.

Cr3sent
1st Gear
1 reviews
23 points
28 forum posts Joined on 05-Apr-2017
Nice upgrade from Avante  Posted on 04 May 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Have driven Elantra S for nearly a month now, clocking average 80km per day. Fuel consumption is better than my previous Avante, at about 13.5-14km/L, Avante was about 13km/L. Coming from a owner of my ex 08 Hyundai Avante S'roof, the car feels heavier, well sepcs, much more tech to play with and is a good upgrade for interior and exterior, featuring a masculine and mature look.

Wiper and light signalling have now switch places. Like the sound of the signal, auto close side mirror, audio control on the steering wheel, apple play, rear camera, start/stop keyless entry and engine, rear air condition, smart trunk system, tire pressure gauge, also shows you electronically what is your fuel consumption, distance left you can go etc etc and many more.

Elantra also feels more spacious than Avante, my height is 1.85cm and when i am driving my avante, my hair will brush the roof and the steering wheel at its highest possible height still touches my leg, wasnt a problem for Elantra.

However, S trim comes without climate control which my Avante has but i guess it doesnt matter that much as the aircon is cold at fan speed 1. Overall a really good car to drive.

What I like
Value for money
Exterior look
Interior look
Drive feel
Responsive engine
Quiet drive and firm suspension
Auto close side mirror
Day light running
Auto headlight
Good enough sound system for me
Start/stop
Tire pressure gauge indicator

What I do not like
Some body roll during turning
Wiper that comes with it screeches
No Climate control?
DLR and headlight is Halogen
Long queue to service at Komoco

JoshuaJoshua
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-Mar-2018
Noisy car  Posted on 25 Mar 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Seriously guys, I don’t understand why there are a few reviews here commenting that the noise insulation is good.

The road noise is very loud when on coarse road but decent on new road. The noise insulation is different from the test car I drove before buying. I will be going down to test their car again and compare to my 2018 elantra again. If it is indeed a problem with my noise insulation I hope Komocco will fix it. Soundproofing is done by a local dealer for Komocco. Maybe the dealer did not do a good job ? I don’t think mine is an isolated case because I spoke to other 2018 elantra owner and they felt the same too.

What I like
Value for money.

What I do not like
The road noise. Engine gets louder after 1k servicing.
Lousy blue tooth for phone calls

aaronneo17
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Mar-2018
So spacious and comfortable  Posted on 20 Mar 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I could not beleive that a korean car could be so spacious and comfortable. The drive is so quiet and smooth. It's interior is luxury and it definitely good value for your money. You need not worry about hp charging point too. I definitely recommend not only the car but the SE Shantel who is very patient and knowledgeble in explaining and guiding on the car usage and features. Happy driving so far since CNY.

What I like
The spacious inner
Auto detect boot
Quiet and smooth
Back air con
multiple usb charging point
reversing camera

What I do not like
Fog light cannot off
slow pick up (engine)
Left hand direction signal

SGCMKermit
Neutral Newbie
6 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
Happy driver after 1 month  Posted on 15 Mar 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I test drove 6 cars before settling for the Elantra S. Having driven for the last month, i have no complaints about the car. For the price i paid (80k), i got a car that is not only comfortable to drive but also packs a lot of feature you only find in cars costing 10k more at least. For e.G. Rear aircon, which was a big thing for me as i wanted my parents to feel comfortable when they sit at the backseats.

my only worry before i made the decision was the fuel economy but i'm happy to say so far, the fuel economy has been very decent. (13.5km per L, 70% Highway and 30% City) and i'm not particularly light-footed. The reason i was told is Elantra's engine had just been upgraded to a more fuel-efficient model. To me, this means, i had even less incentive to go for other more costly Jap models.

I want to thank James from Komoco Motors for being so patient with me and no hard selling and getting ready the car in time for CNY. :)
in fact, he even recommended me contacts for other brands.

That's my feedback so far. I'm keen to see if the fuel economy will improve after the first servicing. Until then, i am a satisfied Elantra owner.

What I like
likes:
1. unbeatable price with a good set of features (i reckon only KIA has slightly better pricing but the reason i went for Elantra as I prefer the design.)
2. Good suspension. My family really enjoyed the ride.
3. fuel economy is not bad. not quite the same as Honda obviously but at 12-20k lesser, i don't think my fuel savings will equate that amount.
4. Interior design and materials used doesn't feel cheap.
5. I felt that steering is light compared to other Jap brands when i test drove it but after driving for a month, i actually really appreciate that.
6. there is tiptronic available if you like that but personally, i don't use it but i can see it could be useful if you are coming downhill.

What I do not like
dislikes:
1. Android Auto not particularly useful as you have to update yourself. if the version is outdated, you can't use it until you update it. Officially, Android Auto isn't supported in SG so you can't update from Android playstore. That said, it's not a problem for me as I prefer to use bluetooth connection anyway. but just fyi.

Cruise
1st Gear
1 reviews
70 points
125 forum posts Joined on 16-Apr-2009
Best in its segment  Posted on 08 Feb 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Went to test drove all the 1.5-1.6 cars along Alexandra Road, Elantra stood out as the best in its segment! From driving Avante to Elantra, Korea is a very frightening country. In a matter of 10 years, they built something that is affordable and sturdy. I just hope it can last as long as my Avante.

There is not a single noise from the under carriage. The steering is accurate and light. If you prefer heavier steering, you can set to sport mode and the car grips the road like a magnet. The suspension is just nice, no extra swing when going over bumps. Japanese suspensions are too soft and Germans suspensions are too hard. This one is just perfect. The engines are so quiet I often thought I am driving an electric car. The seats especially driver seat are so comfortable that I can immediately fell asleep. Sound insulation is good as I cruise it along the highways, enjoying every twist and turns. Apple CarPlay is a bonus, connecting the phone to the car is seamless, phone conversation is crispy clear and GPS connection is seamless. Listening to my favourite music on YouTube through the car speakers makes the driving so pleasurable.

My family members often found it hard to close the door. They need to slam it before it can close tight. I love the sound of closing doors, slam as hard as you can and they car still feels solid. I love the gorgeous daytime running lights and the face of the car feels like a shark charging forward. I can stand there to admire this beauty for 5 minutes and I won’T get bored. I just wonder how the Koreans did that? This will put all other cars in the same segment in shame.

Special thanks for Anna from Komoko for her professional service!

What I like
Daytime running light
Comfy Seats
Auto rain and lights sensor
Apple CarPlay
Beautiful design
Sturdy body
The price$
Driving feel
Precise steering
Quietness
Safety

What I do not like
Boot closing doesn’t feel as sturdy as the doors
Please bring in the Turbo version
No blind spot detection
No sunroof
No aircon seats
No auto brakes to prevent collosion
No radar linked cruise control
No memory seats

BennieLee
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Nov-2017
Awesome car  Posted on 16 Dec 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
First time owning a Korean car and finally broke the stereotype that we had. Have been driving Japanese car since day 1 and never really trusted other countries manufacturer.
Comparing the new Elantra to the Sylphy that we owned, it was heaven and earth. Engine performance, noise isolation, handling, and design were way better.

Especially like the infotainment system that comes with Apple CarPlay as standard. It is really hassle-free as all it takes is just plugging in the cable.
Have driven for a week and it was really impressive! Though the fuel economy is kind of below average. Clocking 11km/l on average. Didn't really rev the engine and it was being kept below 3000rpm yet the fuel consumption did not hit what it was being claimed.

Customer service by Komoco Motors could be better. Was expecting a prompt update on the vehicle but sadly I have to frequently ask questions to update myself on the status of the vehicle.

Overall, Elantra is really a good car to drive. Fell in love with it when I went to the Expo car sale. At the same time, the price is really reasonable with the equipment it comes with.

What I like
- Styling (Interior & Exterior)
- Engine performance
- Handling
- Infotainment
- Noise isolation
- Rear aircon

What I do not like
- 15" rims (Looked pathetic)
- Fuel consumption
- Auto climate control not as standard
- Door panel not leather wrapped (Looked as though they forgot to wrap)

Imranalivirani
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Jun-2009
Surprised  Posted on 14 Nov 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Went for a test drive and later booked the Elantra S.
Responsive engine. Light steering for city drive .
Interiors have well sculpted plastics (good for the price) . Shuling (car sales executive) from Komoco motors is excellent

EdmelThaddeusArollado
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Nov-2017
Hyundai Elantra  Posted on 08 Nov 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
A desired car that worth driving and to buy for under sedan category. Fuel efficiency is good and you can have your own design and concept on the exterior part of the house. Definitely recommend to a friend to own this car.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Hyundai Elantra
4 stars - based on 32 reviews