Recommended for you

Hyundai teases the IONIQ 5

Test drive the Ioniq Electric from Paya Lebar

Hyundai to turn 'Ioniq' into EV sub-brand

Car insurance and used car warranty in Singapore


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid 1.6 GLS (A)
13 Feb 2017  |  Hyundai Reviews
This is the Ioniq, the latest petrol-electric player to enter the fray, and Hyundai's first car to be built on a dedicated electrified vehicle platform.
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid 1.6 GLS vs Toyota Prius Hybrid 1.8
spacer
spacer
Facelift

The Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid was facelifted on Nov 2019. Read more

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
14 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
4/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

14 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
sg5135a
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Jul-2020
Definitely better than the Prius! What an ideal, innovative and intelligent Hybrid car!  Posted on 15 Nov 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The Ioniq is way more innovative in terms of technology, a car way smarter than the Prius and other similar Hybrid car offerings! Plus in times if I were to sit at the rear of the Ioniq, there's rear aircon vents unlike the Prius and most other Hybrid car options. Overall, the car definitely offers a whole experience of functionality and comfort on such a modern car for drivers as well as passengers! Well done, Hyundai!

What I like
- Innovative "smart" features
- Rear aircon vents
- Modern design
- Comfort

What I do not like
I like everything!

Tristanloh
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
4 forum posts Joined on 24-Jul-2005
Bought the last unit available  Posted on 05 Jun 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Been going around the showrooms for since last weekend starting with Japan car, followed by Conti brands and lastly Hyundai. Japan car - overpriced with less features if buy from dealer. Conti - still worry about higher maintenance although the price is competitive.

Then came Hyundai Ioniq. The features are so fully packed that you will hard to match it with any other car in this price range. The full suites of active safety feature (Blind spot, lane keeping, AEB, SCC), passive safety features (7 airbags!), comfort (electric memory seat, ventilated seat) ticked all my requirement.

Went for a test drive and the car is quiet at low speed especially when it is running on battery. Pick up is decent for family car.

I also like the interior design. The use of soft touch material, the blue line theme etc.

Unfortunately the HU does not support CarPlay, which is pretty standard nowadays.

Waiting to get my hand onto it.

What I like
active safety feature (Blind spot, lane keeping, AEB, SCC),

passive safety features (7 airbags!),

comfort (electric memory seat, ventilated seat)

What I do not like
No CarPlay
Low headroom for rear passengers
Small boots

Soreloser
3rd Gear
6 reviews
311 points
49 forum posts Joined on 01-Oct-2018
Nearly bought this vehicle  Posted on 16 Nov 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was on my shortlist but in the end purchased Honda Shuttle hybrid X instead. It was a close call and the only reasons why I chose shuttle was because:
1. Wagon (shuttle) has more space
2. More affordable - both upfront price as well as road tax (double the tax of shuttle)
3. Slightly better FC according to my research (30 vs 25km/l)

But the ioniq hybrid was better in terms of looks (personal opinion), Sun roof option, electronic seat, in built fast charging, comes with cargo tonner cover.

What I like
Comfortable ride, not lacking of power, modern / futuristic looks, good fc, electronic seat with memory

What I do not like
Price a little high (around 108k for S/R model) and road tax at 1.3k!
A little too common by taxi companies
Front logo plate is a piece of cheap plastic?

Cypress
4th Gear
2 reviews
659 points
131 forum posts Joined on 09-Dec-2009
Quiet and comfort car  Posted on 25 May 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have test drive of the Ioniq during the MCF hangout, it had attracted quite a number of participants to q for test drive. Before I sat into the car, I was attracted by the exterior.

During the drive, I discovered the engine was very quiet and the feature of cooling and warming driver's seat was unique. It has this energy saving feature of setting the air con focus on the driver when the car is without passengers. There are spacious room for the legs and car handling is easy for lady while the car boot is big. It was an enjoyable drive although the test drive journey was short.

What I like
The quiet engine, the feature of warming or cooling the driver's seat which is good during hot or cold rainy day. The dealer offer 10 years battery warranty.

What I do not like
I need to use my left leg to stay on the hand brake. After driving auto cars for years, I am not use to using left leg on the vehicle.

Robin
4th Gear
1 reviews
623 points
9239 forum posts Joined on 06-Sep-2004
Hyundai Ioniq  Posted on 25 May 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I test drove the Hyundai Ioniq at the MCF event and was impressed by the features that the car has eg the sunroof, large boot space etc
Hyundai offers a 10 year warranty on the battery which i believe will give potential buyers the confidence to own a hybrid.

What I like
10 year warranty on the battery

What I do not like
Engine sounds a bit rough for a hybrid

fwm
fwm
1st Gear
1 reviews
92 points
78 forum posts Joined on 12-Apr-2017
Most Satisfying car  Posted on 24 May 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Already like the car very much when first saw it during the motor show at Suntec. After test drove at the MCF event love it even more. The car exterior looks futuristic and sporty especially the front. The interior looks high tech with digital graphic dashboard, ventilated seats keep the driver and passenger cool especially during hot days. Drive in normal mode pickup feels a little slow in pickup but if change to sports mode you can feel the power when accelerate from standstill. The car is very quiet too, you don't hear any engine sound after pushing the start button to start the car even when the engine kicks in only hear a soft engine sound, cabin is well insulated from external noise. What I don't like is the rear view is too small but with the help of reverse camera that solve the problem. Did not have the chance to try the smart cruise control as the test drive distance is short. This will be my first choice if I want to buy a new car. I find it value for money.

What I like
. Futuristic and sporty look
. high tech features like smart cruise control, graphic dashboard, lane keeping, blind spot detection, etc
. Driver and passenger ventilated seats
. Comfort and quiet interior.

What I do not like
. Shallow boot space.
. Small rear view.

jdmrockz
Neutral Newbie
16 reviews
0 points
2 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2011
Understated, underestimated  Posted on 19 May 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid is more conservative than other hybrids out on the roads today. Many could argue that it was a safe route but I actually prefer that. It doesn't scream for attention, it just cruises along; Low profile.

As expected from a hybrid, fuel economy is great. The petrol engine kicks in unobtrusively and does its job of staying out of the way most of the time. When it does kick in, you barely feel any vibration.

Cabin space is decent, but can be improved. Taller passengers might want to avoid the rear seats.

What I like
Fuel economy
Build quality
Conservative styling

What I do not like
Taxi companies are using it

Freeder
Hypersonic
1 reviews
86,903 points
5163 forum posts Joined on 30-Jun-2009
Nice Looking Hybrid Kimchi  Posted on 03 May 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Queued up for the test drive but the super friendly SE choped the line for me n urged me to view other models as not to waste time..Extinct svc nowadays..
The first impression of the instrumentations was nice ..Comparable with conti makes..Paintwork looks solid but the plastics looks cheap instead of chrome. The drive was good n perky..The gear change was smooth n engaging unlike the normal CVT trans..Looks Better than all the current Hybrid models available right now.Went for 2 rounds of test drive n SE asked me to "Sah" Corner to test the car road holding powess..Hyundai finance schemes makes one desire to own the car much easier..

What I like
Built quality
Car design
Interior quality
Nice instrumentation
Nice factory fitted items
Solid exterior
Nice front design

What I do not like
Cheap plastic used
Taxi coy using them
Slight bouncy ride
A bit cramped at the back

Fuelsaver
Supercharged
2 reviews
5,762 points
5311 forum posts Joined on 15-Oct-2009
More for less  Posted on 03 May 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Had a quick view and short test drive of Ioniq.

Build quality was good; Surpassed the Japs. All factory fitted trims including seats. Seats were comfy with seat cooler in front and seat warmer behind, although rear headroom was a little low for me. Shoulder room and leg room were adequate, though rear foot well could be deeper due to lower seats that did not allow rear passengers' feet to slip too deep into. Stock sound system was more than adequate to deliver reasonably good sound quality.

Drive was reasonably quiet for a car of this price range. Pickup was good only from the moment engine kicked in; Initial pickup response from standstill by motor alone was not what I have expected. Nevertheless, I felt it has a better response than another Korean hybrid. Car was stable as I revved throughout the test drive. Manual gear change can respond more immediately to make driving more fun.

Overall, I quite like the car despite some of its shortcomings.

What I like
Build quality, NVH, sound quality, manual mode, seat ventilated seats, exterior & interior styling

What I do not like
Low rear headroom, almost non-existent foot space for rear passengers underneath front seats

RadX
Supersonic
1 reviews
67,491 points
64938 forum posts Joined on 28-Feb-2002
Changed my perception  Posted on 03 May 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Tested the car on 28th Apr 2017. It changed my mind of how the Hyundai Hybrid would perform. From the start, it was quiet and even when the engine was on the insulation was great. No road noise and great steering feel, neither heave nor light. Throttle was responsive and was ready to go always. The added bells and whistles with the full options given was a great add on to the car including the interior stuff like wireless charging. Value for money is tops and definitely worthy of a purchase. Impressive Michelin tyres given as well and did not think Hyundai would give that

What I like
Full options, quietness and the nice overall package. Price was tops

What I do not like
For a short test, nothing much as yet

Jayy25
6th Gear
1 reviews
3,421 points
663 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Value for money hybrid car  Posted on 03 May 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
I test driven Toyota Prius and CHR before this hybrid card from Hyundai

Both of the toyotas are 1.8L while this is 1.6L but I felt the pick up was comparable and in the sports mode, the torque is there.

in terms of design, Ioniq loses this department to CHR but still a pleasant looking car

in terms of features, it certainly gives a good bang for value with its sunroof, conti feeling and other premium features

Ioniq is indeed a value for money car with its competitive price tag (at least cheaper by 20% Compare to Prius and CHR)

Engine wise, i must say the Korean still has much catching up... When I sat in Prius and CHR with mg GF as the driver. She rammed the accelerator like no tomorrow. The sound from the engine/motor are almost negligible
For Ioniq, the noise is pretty obvious which the salaperson said maybe it is the tires... Both my gf and I know that was the turn off point for us.

Anyway a good car if you want a point A to point B car with good back space and nice feature and at a affordable pricing.

What I like
sunroof
affordable pricing
conti-feeling and functions

What I do not like
noisy engine/motor when during acceleration
boring design like Prius (compared to CHR)

SuPerBoRed
Twincharged
2 reviews
29,030 points
5654 forum posts Joined on 26-Feb-2013
The most value for money car I test drove  Posted on 03 May 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Attended the event and was the first few at the event to test drive the car. Overall decent handling, spacious car, decent power, at a very comfortable price point.
Really a very quiet car.. The best of the hybrid thus far.

What I like
The features are pretty decent.. lane assist, ventilated seats.. and the FC? legendary.. Just thinking abt the petrol savings also feel happy..

Touch screen.. nice interface at power up.. spacious boot.

What I do not like
why no car play?
why no red colour?

and more importanly.. why let comfort use the car as a taxi? the main sore point for me is having to spend abv 100k on a car which is used as a taxi..

psychologically very difficult for me to ignore the last point.

Tianmo
Hypersonic
7 reviews
106,338 points
46430 forum posts Joined on 22-Mar-2010
Well featured fuel saver  Posted on 30 Apr 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Tested the car during the event on 28 April 2017.

The exterior reminds me of the 5 doors back in the 90s. Interior is well layout and clear. Space is average, nothing to shout about, not too bad either. However features are plentiful, so much that it may take a while to sort out and get use to. A great important from Hyundai cars of yesteryear ( I owned two Hyundai before to pass this comment).

The engine is quiet, so quiet I almost wanted to re-start the engine. Good pick up burning lesser fuel is a big plus. The steering is a little too light. However I am not complaining for city driving, and the car is not meant to attack that corner at high speed. Boot space is good, flat and squarish. Fold down the back seat, and you can save on hotel room when driving overseas.

With a 10 years warranty on the battery, calling the tow truck or mobile battery supplier may well never happen again. If you forget to bring the charging cable, there is wireless charging, no worries or excuses of a flat mobile.

For city driving in SG, this car seem to be going the correct direction.

What I like
Good FC
10 years battery warranty
wireless charging
huge, flat and squarish boot
Nice layout
a lot of extra space under the head unit.

What I do not like
Steering a little too light
engine too quiet ( I need to hear the engine). LOL

toyotapower
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2015
Gives the Prius a run for its money  Posted on 25 Feb 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid is pretty darn good at keeping up with the Prius in terms of fuel economy, thanks to the DCT which offers weight reduction and low friction losses, an exterior that achieves a 0.24 coefficient of drag, and a slew of other mind-blowing tricks by Hyundai.

It might not be as roomy as the Prius but it's sleeker and looks more aggressive, unlike the boxy 'uncle car'. Another thing I like is the fact that the Ioniq is packed with driver assistance systems and other convenience features like a wireless charging bay that charges up Qi-enabled smartphones.

What I like
DCT has no CVT drone
Looks better than the Prius
Packed with driver assistance systems and convenience features

What I do not like
Not as spacious as the Prius

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
4 stars - based on 14 reviews