Related Articles

The Volkswagen Touran is mightily-accomplished

The Volkswagen family takes a trip up North

Volkswagen celebrates 15 years of Touran

Vehicle sales and transfers to go online


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Volkswagen Touran 1.4 TSI DSG Comfortline EQP (A)
08 Aug 2016  |  Volkswagen Reviews
With just about every part of the vehicle redesigned, the second generation Volkswagen Touran looks to build on the success of its predecessor.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Volkswagen Touran
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
11 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4.5/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
4.5/5
9 out of 11 (81.8%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

11 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Loner911
Premium User Loner911
1st Gear
1 reviews
59 points
51 forum posts Joined on 02-May-2004
The most unreliable car I've owned!  Posted on 04 Aug 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Owning it for 7 weeks with 1100km on the odometer, the DSG struck. Car been jerking so bad and at times goes half clutch. Towed back to VCS and found no issues. Did a software reload, drove home and immediately the problem came back. Got worse instead with gear grinding badly, car lost power, and suddenly surge forward. Not sure about the reliability of this car is able to last beyond 1 year. Probably it's a part and parcel to be stranded by road side in a Volkswagen

What I like
- handling is superb
- very fuel efficient at 14km/L
- ease of getting in and out of car due to wide door opening
- 5 isofix seats

What I do not like
- DSG reliability, seriously avoid at all cost! What salesperson claim that issue solved is a mystery, it's a lie to me.
- car rattled badly inside.
- no option for electric seat. Difficult to switch between Wife and myself driving position.

Jeff0704
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Jun-2008
A Doable MPV  Posted on 12 Jul 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I've driven this for the past 13 months. Its comfortline model.

The 3 individual seats in the middle are comfortable. The last row is for really meant for kids. The drive is good overall. However be very careful during turning due to the high center of gravity. The interior is similar to golf. Its quite basic to me, the storage compartments are sufficient.

What I like
- Drive
- All Round Parking Sensor
- The driving view
- Price. 11-12k Depre 1 year ago.

What I do not like
- Turning
- Reliability. DSG Gear Box. Still have another 2 years warranty.
- Cheap plastic interior

opgamerkkhk
1st Gear
26 reviews
79 points
15 forum posts Joined on 15-Nov-2016
Been driving this car for more than a week now  Posted on 13 Jun 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This is a supplement to my previous review. Went to Kedah with family of 6. I have been getting 15+km/ so fal. Idiotic start stop is a pain in the ass and will be looking to modify the system at outside workshop. Dynod the car and it produces close to 155 Hp and 274.6 Nm of torque, higher than VW suggests. Friend offered to re map the car to produce an estimated 170+ Hp and around 340+ Nm of torque

What I like
All that i stated before.
Additionally,
1.Low end torque, easy overtaking on NSHW, drive about 190-200 km/h to Kedah
2.Silent wipers
3.Intuitive infotainment system compared to my porsche's
4.Steering adaptive lights makes driving in malaysia's backroads easy
5.Very easy to park, small size
6.Air-con pretty strong and effective, third row also can feel within a short moment of turning on the air-con
7.Pretty easy to find aftermarket parts(Changed my exhaust manifold, Exhaust tips and brakes. Changed the front lights to leds also)

What I do not like
Previous review alr stated
Boot a big problem now for me, even fold one side down still insufficient on malaysia trips
2wd cause a lot of wheel spin during hard acceleration, always happens when i accelerate from malysia tolls

opgamerkkhk
1st Gear
26 reviews
79 points
15 forum posts Joined on 15-Nov-2016
So pwerful, cant believe it is 1.4T  Posted on 09 Jun 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Was shortlisting this touran 1.4T EQP, sorento GT-line, Bmw 2Gt. Bmw too poor performance and bad reviews. This car picks up under 9 seconds and proves beneficial especially when full loaded with 7 aboard. Third row spacious and good enough for adults under 1.8M tall. As a vw, its interior is top notch as expected, much better than something like a merc B-class. Ergonomics is excellent, everything is where i expect it to be. Have already booked the car and waiting for delivery. Although sorento has arguably more features and almost the same performance, vw SE gave great deal giving out many equipment FOC, like the kessy. Went for comfortline priced at 121800 as list price but SE gave 120k flat so just take, cannot go wrong with vw with 5 year warranty and free servicing 3 years.Main reason i picked this over sorento is due to the build quality and the fuel efficiency, road tax cheap also.

What I like
1.Build quality, fit and finish, centre console would not budge no matter how hard i pushed it.

2.Materials used for interior, high quality better than other "posh" brands

3.Good quality leather seats, even for the 3rd row unlike other posh brand "posh" brands

4.3rd row much more spacious compared to most other MPVs like the renault grand scenic, the "posh" bavarian brand and the peugeot 5008.

5.Extremely good pick up, much better than the 1.5T and 1.6T of Honda Cr-v and Peugeot 5008,grand c4 picasso

6.Only 1.4L ,low road tax compared to my old porsche cayenne turdo 4.0 which is
2.3k road tax per annum.

7.Door closing sound, including the tailgate when shut. Even the release of handles sounds almost like my cayenne

8.Particularly quiet drive, close to hybrid like the Prius Alpha or Prius+

9.Panoramic roof makes cabin full of light and cosy at night

10.Individual seats on second row seats unlike some Bavarian automaker

11.47 cubby holes in car, can smuggle drugs already HAHA

12.One year only need to service once, unlike japanese cars i used to own(first gen cx-9, NA mx-5(pop-up headlights), toyota starlet)

13.7 airbags, you might be like isnt that standard?? No, none of the japanese automakers have 7 airbags on mpvs on sale as of now below 150k

14. Infotainment system and steering wheel controls, easy to use, crisp and clear display, better than the Bavarian maker one in the 216i, but of course not as good as the full one on the 5 series and above

15.Cornering fog lights

16.Genius folding mechanism, even faster and more efficient than renault grand scenics one touch folding.Can eaily access all back seats from the boot

17.Impressive standards of packaging by VW, small footprint but interior is supremely spacious, even compared to the much bigger 5008s and the Grand scenics.

18.Dual tailpipes heh thankks VW, dual exhaust in a MPV

19.VW thought of the tonneau cover, can be stored under boot floor, unlike the opel zafira which the SE says to hold or put on 2nd row, LOL

20.Excellent dual-clutch transmission by VW, smooth and seemless

21.Shock absorbers and the anti roll bars make wonderful handling and great comfort , i dare say best in class, handling second to the 2gt? But definitely not as good as mazda 5, that one is razor sharp

What I do not like
1. Boot at around 160+ litres with all three rows up, muc much smaller compared to the sorento (but most of the time i use 6 seats with one side down, just enough for family trips up north. Little squeezy but still doable.)

2. Additional 7k for EQP, which adds led headlamps which turns according to the steering imput by driver, AEB etc.

3.Vw did not specc the car with auto electric tailgate, ugly button on the rear which is obviously meant for the powered boot but sadly in SG dont have.

4.Halogens in the comforline????? come on man, you can already get leds in the toyota wish.

5. Plastics are hard below the waist levels and the window sillls at 2nd row are also hard plastics.(not the scratchy ones you find on Merc but still its hard)

6.Window blinds/sun blinds that you get in Kia Sorento and Reanult Grand Scenic

7.WHYYYYYYY VW did not put the 12.3" discover pro infotainment in EQP?????? I would have gladly paid 10k more for that awesome infotainment and the Graphic on the speedometer, showing the maps

8.Boost already at 1 bar, hardly any room for tuning after warranty expires.

9.The adaptive suspension on the EQP variant makes ZERO difference , will not pay 7k for eqp since SE already added in the keyless. Only have the LEDs to be left for desire. Can fix outside i suppose??

10.Not sure about the 17 inch wheels, looks fine but a little too small for my liking.

11.Saw a Grand scenic parked beside a touran few days ago at Jurong point, looks so different, Scenic looks so much nicer.

12.Looks sort of boxy, not as sleek as renault?? But also translates into more headroom inside especially in the 3rd row where the Scenic becomes unliveable(literally)

13.Lots of brake dust on test car

yokechye
Premium User yokechye
4th Gear
2 reviews
676 points
520 forum posts Joined on 27-Mar-2016
Comfort and value for money  Posted on 02 May 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Had owned the comfortline EQP for 6 months and so far the ride has been very good. Full tank coverage can reach minimum 800km and more for 70%Highway 30%Urban and driving light footed. At times when I drive more urban, is around 760km -780km which is still not too bad. Averaging around 14-13km/L respectively.

Comfort wise is very good. With a higher seating position, the view is great. The boxy design also mean a more practical space at the back. 3rd row is comfortable for tall people like me at 1.8m. With the 2nd row pushed slightly forward, there's still plentiful of leg room for middle row. Much more than those which I had test driven such as the Renault Grand Scenic, BMW 2GT, Kia Carens, Mazda 5 and Toyota Wish. This is taking in consideration of headroom as well for my height.

The pickup of this 1.4L petrol turbo engine is surpassingly good. It's quick and even with full load, it doesn't show any major sign of restlessness. During my drive up North, overtaking had no issues at all. Acceleration is quick with little lag. The only complain is wind noise can get high at speeds above 100. This is no issue in Singapore roads as speed limit is at 90km/h.

What I like
Acceleration is quick.
Good quality
Good fuel consumption
Good 3rd row leg and headroom
Panoramic sun/moon roof
LED headlights
Emergency city braking. This is a useful function especially during heavy slow traffic. It automatically brakes before collision if I get to close to the front vehicle. So far it works well during emergency, it also"supplement" the braking force to prevent collision.
3 individual seats at 2nd row seats
5 isofix points on 2nd and 3rd row seats
Huge door bins at 2nd row
Easy to fold down 2nd and 3rd row seats

What I do not like
Quality of materials gets lower from 2nd row onwards. i.e. plastic along the window sill on doors instead of soft rubber material you get at front row doors.
Wind noise at high speeds
Didn't come with lane assist
No integrated pull up sunshade at 2nd row Windows
No mirror link/android auto and navigation as standard.

Kefuz
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Jan-2017
Smooth and cool perfomance  Posted on 11 Jan 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Been driving the car for 2 weeks.
Was used to driving Japanese car and took some time to get used to the European handling. But now ok.

This is my first MPV. Previously all sedan.
The fixtures in the car are of high quality.
The features of the car from entertainment system, to car lock/unlock, handsfree phone and many others makes this car value for money.
The sunroof is great, giving a wow factor to the car especially when picking up friends and family for a ride.
Engine performance is smooth, pickup is very fast and internal very quiet which allows user to enjoy the entertainment system.

What I like
Smooth and fast pickup.
Quiet.
Sunroof.
Quality feel.

What I do not like
The small headlights that is always on.

superbyron
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 23-Nov-2016
Best car in the compact MPV category  Posted on 21 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have been looking for a suitable MPV for a long time due to the increased family size. I do not wish to drive a much bigger car like Honda Odyssey or Toyota Estima, thus is targeting at compact MPV, such as old Touran, Grand Picasso, Carens, Gran Tourer and Wish. The downside of the compact MPV is consistent: ie the third row is difficult to be used for adults, which is something I have to bear with.
After the comparison, the new touran immediately stood out, before even released in SG: The Comfortline is just like a scale down version of Sharan in terms of the comfort and features, with the similar grand sunroof, the easy accessibility to the third row, and the ISOFIX ports at all 5 rear seats. Cars like old Touran, Picasso, Carens and Gran Tourer seem to have very difficult ways to access the third row, you typically need to do 2 steps to fold the middle row seats before you can access to the third row and you have limited ISOFIX ports and have to put your child seats most likely at the outer seats at the middle row, which makes it extremely difficult for people to access the middle seat and the third row seats. So in the end I decided to take up the 2016 Touran Comfortline EQP.

What I like
- Comfortline features: Sports rim, LED headlights and daytime lights, Panoramic roof, keyless engine start and keyless lock/unlock. The kids like the Panoramic roof and the keyless lock feature so much.
- Front assist: I nearly hit into a car while waiting at a filter lane behind it and the feature was activated and emergency brake was applied.
- Android Auto/Apple play: I paid extra to get both features such that both Andriod and Apple phones can connect to the car for mainly musics and navigation. This is very cool feature, although Andriod Auto is not officially released in SG.
- ISOFIX at all 5 seats: I have the flexibility to install the baby Chair at the 2nd row middle seat, hence it will not disturb people that is trying to access the car from both side doors and the third row.
- The way to access to the third row: Simply pull the lever on the chair, I am able to pull the second row seat forward to leave enough space to access the third row.
- The flexibility to move the second row seats forward: There are 3 sets of rails for individual seats at the 2nd row, so I can move the seats forward to allow a bigger space at the third row, yet both rows have enough leg space.
- The engine: It is a trustworth 1.4 TSI engine with good performance and it produce much higher horse power compared to Grand Tour, which in terms of the comfort of the interior, outperforms Touran.
- Display panel: It is exactly a replica of VW Golf with the cannon hole design, and hence I do feel very familiar.
- The external appearance: the old one looks like a coffin van, but the new one looks much more stylish.
- Made in German

What I do not like
- Gas consumption: I drive mainly in central part in both normal roads and high ways, but the average gas consumption is about 10 L/100KM. I drove Golf previously and it was 7-8 L/100KM only.
- Sound proof/isolation: It is quite noisy while driving this car, even with all windows closed. Sometimes it is very difficult to listen to the radio while driving in a tunnel.
- Aircon: Still haven’t figured out how to turn on the aircon for the third row, where I saw the aircon air outflow ports, but cannot get aircon from it.
- Accelerate pedal: Seems a bit soft compared to the old Golf I was driving.

Incubus22
Premium User Incubus22
2nd Gear
5 reviews
146 points
64 forum posts Joined on 19-Feb-2005
Best MPV in it's class!  Posted on 08 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I've been a big fan of compact MPV and amongst all that I've tested, the all new Touran provides the best comfort and lush feel in it's class.
The engine provides the necessary torque whilst being fuel efficient even with 7 people in it. The pickup is smooth and no observation of stress is noted on the ever quiet engine.
The new single touch lever to access the 3rd row is a new plus and to top things up, the last row has more leg room space in comparison to the previous rendition of the Touran.

What I like
1) The individual seats for all 7 passengers
2) The one touch lever on the 2nd rear seat in order to get into the 3rd row
3) Quiet and smooth transmission even at cruising speed
4) Sturdy fittings
5) More leg room space compare to the previous edition for the last row
6) Infinite compartments for storage (exaggerated)
7) Low taxes
8) Updated look is more appealing and trendy

What I do not like
1) Reliability of DQ200

Sgho5754
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Oct-2011
All rounder MPV  Posted on 19 Oct 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Drove this car for more than 4 years and my family really love it. I would said that the car perform excellent with the 1.4ltr turbo engine. You will enjoy the drive because of its performance, handling and comfort.

The only concern with Volkswagen is the reliability. The air con compressor give way in less then 3 years and sames goes to the gearbox. I have repaired the gearbox 3 times within 4 years.

Other then the reliability issue which I hope Volkswagen can resolve, I would say that this car worth the value.

What I like
- Powerful engine
- Comfortable
- Handling
- Cheap road tax

What I do not like
- Reliability
- Gearbox issue
- High maintenance fee (in particular to servicing by Volkswagen)

kcng
Premium User kcng
1st Gear
6 reviews
82 points
48 forum posts Joined on 04-Aug-2016
Very well designed Touran and excellent compact MPV  Posted on 14 Aug 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Test drive on 13 Aug when I happened just passed through VW (actually just plan to use VW showroom as short cut to get to Alexandra Rd from Leng Kee Rd)

Surprisingly saw the Touran is a very well design compact MPV, the 3rd row is very easy to access (compare to X-Trail, 2GT, Wish, Mazda 5), approached by a very very nice SE, end-up go for 2 round (my wife and I) of test drive.

The car performed surprisingly well, especially compare to previous version, very quiet, powerful (high Torque in low rpm), very responsive. The driving is smooth, comfort (never felt the gearbox changes, neither of any minimum of vibration), very relax. Of cos which mean lack a little bit of "Fun" Element in term of driving.

The interior have met the standard quality expectation on conti car, but still lack of impressive features, also kind of lack of some "Basic" Expect features for a car at 150K price range, e.G. Electrical tailgate, electrical car seat, GPS etc.

Only thing stop me for place the booking is the bad experiences on VW, especially after sales service. Also the "Improved" 7 speed DSG gear box (DRY), which still unsure the reliability on this.

After all, this is an excellent MPV car. (If it working fine.)

What I like
Nice quality of build on both exterior and interior.
Quiet and comfort driving.
Powerful torque in low rpm.
Well design on 3rd row and space.
Smooth engine and gear box feeling during test drive.
3-zone aircon temperature control, which mean 2nd row can adjust their temperature individually.
Very nice SE :)

What I do not like
No electric tailgate
No electric seat
Have to wait till Nov/Dec for new car.

Key issues that really affect on decision making:
7-speed DSG gear box (DRY) which have bad history.
Bad experiences on after sales service.

BabyStar
2nd Gear
15 reviews
147 points
17 forum posts Joined on 03-Jul-2014
The smallest seven-seater I've owned  Posted on 22 Jul 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This is probably not the best looking Volkswagen but it is certainly one of the most functional ones in its fleet.

Its compact design makes it easy to park and drive around tight spaces. Though the car can carry seven, I would recommend short drives for those seating in the back.

I like that its 1.4-litre engine stays frugal on fuel consumption, while being fun to push around. It has 250Nm torque which makes changing lanes even at higher speeds super easy.

What I like
Well designed cabin
Sharp lines
Punchy engine
Nice handling
Quiet cabin

What I do not like
Third row is a bit of a squeeze
Could do with more boot space

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Volkswagen Touran
4 stars - based on 11 reviews