Related Articles

The Toyota Sienta is a sensible choice

Launch of the new Toyota Sienta

Five best buys at the Singapore Motor Show

COE continues to rise in first May bidding


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Toyota Sienta 1.5 Elegance (A)
21 Oct 2016  |  Toyota Reviews
Are you looking for an affordable and practical seven-seater multi-purpose vehicle suited to your sensible driving needs? The Toyota Sienta might be the answer.
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Toyota Sienta 1.5 Elegance (A) vs Volkswagen Caddy MPC 1.4 TSI DSG (A)
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota Sienta
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
9 Reviewers
3 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
3/5 Features
3/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
2.5/5
6 out of 9 (66.7%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

9 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Bieffe
Premium User Bieffe
3rd Gear
6 reviews
481 points
524 forum posts Joined on 13-Oct-2004
Totally basic  Posted on 18 Feb 2019
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 2/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
The car drives like a Toyota. Boring. In this Indo variant of the car the quality of materials used in terrible. It's so hard and sharp. The concept of the car seems promising but other than the sliding door the 6 seat concept is far from usable.
The way the seat is folded you will never have a flat loading area. The folded seats leaves lots of odd areas and holes. The last row needless to say are for ur enemies. Folding the seats will almost need a PhD too.
Comparing to the shuttle I feel this loads much less and the horrible non flat loading area is a nightmare. So unless u always use 6 seats and like to put your in laws at the last row, skip this. Get a Shuttle. But this has a little more head room.
The transmission will shift with any tapping of the acc. Making the fuel consumption terrible. Normal city driving will only see 10.9km/L at best. The car is heavy so when driving u will be 2nd class. Even a kid on a unicycle has more speed and acc.
Also the 2 roll seat when folded the backs are hollow! How are we gonna load? It sinks down when u place stuff there making the loading area like the surface of the moon!
Ride wise is just abit better than HRV. But is a Sampan.
Also on the V variant of the car from BM. The keyless entry only on driver side and trunk. So all other doors cant be unlocked! So if u come from the front passenger side u cannot get it without using the key!
BM just give 2 more sensor for entry will cost u how much? PI has them standard.
So in short this is a good car in concept and should be missed.

What I like
Nothing at all.

What I do not like
Almost everything.

Bilalaliahamed
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Aug-2012
Worth for the money  Posted on 05 Apr 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
For those who use this as just transportation without expecting luxury, class, this is the best vehicle. 7-Seater SUV for the cost of small cars. For those who wants economical and do not want to spend more on vehicle for just 10 years but to carry more people, this is better. Once the vehicle in full speed, it feels like floating and the driving is very smooth.

What I like
- Interior Spacing.
- Entertainment System.
- Head room.
- Seating.
- Smooth steering.
- Huge boot space when folding the 3rd row.
- Even more space when second row folded.
- Easy to park.

What I do not like
- The front view design
- The engine pickup, could have higher rated engines for 7-seater

skyjuic
Premium User skyjuic
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-Sep-2018
Very spacious interior  Posted on 18 Dec 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Sienta is a very practical car which has a very high head room. It is very spacious and could easily house 7 persons in it.

The only problem is lack of consideration for driving into Malaysia as there is NO cover for the bonnet. The entire bonnet can be seen through from the side glasses. That is too dangerous for those drive into Malaysia which the glass could be broken and the stuff may be stolen from bonnet.

What I like
i like the high head room and spacious interior.

What I do not like
There is no cover over the bonnet and exposed the stuff through the side glass. It is too dangerous to drive it with some stuff in bonnet into Malaysia.

Soreloser
Neutral Newbie
6 reviews
18 points
0 forum posts Joined on 01-Oct-2018
Affordable MPV but...  Posted on 25 Nov 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Accompanied a friend who's looking for mpv. Both of us agree that it was rather disappointing. Test drive in Sept 18

What I like
Smart way of stowing last row seats underneath middle row.
Affordable pricing
Auto slide door - good for seniors
High roof - suitable for taller ppl
If it's a Toyota, it should be reliable
Spare parts shouldn't be hard to find since its quite common
Spacious feel

What I do not like
Looks ugly, and some may say, like coffin car (personal opinion)
Very noisy ride, can hear engine clearly even at standstill
Lack of power for a petrol vehicle

opgamerkkhk
2nd Gear
36 reviews
141 points
61 forum posts Joined on 15-Nov-2016
Very under powered and poorly built  Posted on 08 Jun 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 1/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Every surface that you can touch on the doors and dash are all hard plastic that can easily be scratched by fingernails i suppose.In borneo showroom the sienta interior a lot of scratches. Not very obvious but visble. Seats narrow and not comfy. Stitching on the dash so fake i rather it be inexistent, doors close like paper, cant believe this car so poorly build. Understanderbly, it has a reasonable price and we cannot expect this much, but just buy secpnd hand mazda 5?

What I like
3rd row quite good space, in terms of depth
price quite low
Toyota reliability
Power sliding doors, pretty impressive
Good packaging, 3rd row can stow under 2nd row when not in use

What I do not like
Acceleration really poor
Taken for as Grabcar LOL
Hard plastics everywhere
Show car in borneo leather seems cheap like pu and seems like very worn out
Dont know about reliability of this interior, might not last . although no doubts about it mechanically

Bigmeman
Premium User Bigmeman
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
8 points
3 forum posts Joined on 13-Jan-2013
Value for money compact MPV from toyota  Posted on 26 May 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Spacious car with sufficient features for driving family around singapore comfortably.

could be better with more usb ports, auto closing mirrors, start stop engine function and foot break.

What I like
spacious interior with flexible seat configuration

What I do not like
underpowered when moving off with 7 pax.

interior is plain compared to the exterior

Jimmy1978
Premium User Jimmy1978
1st Gear
16 reviews
56 points
10 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Compact SUV 7 seater  Posted on 10 May 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Not bad, value for money but can be better ... Can add more features better. For family still ok daily usage good.

What I like
Compact and roomy

What I do not like
Small boot space. High roof ...bait too high

bahomet
Premium User bahomet
2nd Gear
19 reviews
111 points
0 forum posts Joined on 23-Jan-2014
Perfect for the wife and kids  Posted on 19 Oct 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The Sienta is a really affordable car when you think of the number of things you can use it for.

I have to send my kids to school and wife to work every morning, then pick my wife up from work in the evening. This car doesn't give me any problems with hauling the family around. There's enough space for the little imps to jump around in.

What I like
More than enough space for the kids in the back
Reliable
Good fuel economy

What I do not like
Not the most luxurious family car

ilovetoyotacars
Clutched
12 reviews
30 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2015
Not the most luxurious car but it gets the job done  Posted on 28 Sep 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The Toyota Sienta is a pretty practical car, considering it's not that fast or luxurious.

I like the headroom and legroom in the second row. It even has convenient storage compartments for random things that kids like to bring around.

I like the motorised rear doors, they're really convenient when I send my elderly mum to the polyclinic for her checkups.

What I like
motorised rear doors are a convenient feature
spacious second row
practical family car

What I do not like
last two seats don't have much space

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Toyota Sienta
3 stars - based on 9 reviews