Recommended for you

Five best buys at the Singapore Motor Show

7 popular cars for private hire drivers

The Toyota Sienta is a sensible choice

The Volkswagen Golf: A winning formula


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Toyota Sienta 1.5 Elegance (A)
21 Oct 2016  |  Toyota Reviews
Are you looking for an affordable and practical seven-seater multi-purpose vehicle suited to your sensible driving needs? The Toyota Sienta might be the answer.
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Toyota Sienta 1.5 Elegance (A) vs Volkswagen Caddy MPC 1.4 TSI DSG (A)
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota Sienta
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
11 Reviewers
3 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3/5 Features
2.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
2.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

11 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
portanova
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Aug-2020
A simple & a reliable car  Posted on 20 Aug 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I have been driving this car for the last 6 months. My requirement is to drive my kids to the school, tution, Office trips on regular basis and occasional use of the 3rd row seats during my visits to shopping malls, religious places with parents, friends or relatives. I would simply say this car is the best fit for the above requirements based on my experience. Its a simple and reliable car with a generous space when the rear seats are folded. Infact, i have even packed 2 bicycles (1 normal and 1 small sized) & drove to east coast park with my kids. I would say its just a reliable family car with a decent fuel economy (i am getting around 13 Km / Lit with a 50-50 City / High Way pattern). A car specifically designed to suit Asean hot climate (rear aircon / auto climate control) and high suspensions considering speed bumps / humps etc., Probably if Toyota has added in the blind spot monitor this would have been an ultimate car but i managed to fit the blind spot trackers from an external vendor similar to the that toyota provides as stock in other high end models. The seat configurations are very good and very specifically the third row seats folding under the second row concept is an excellent design which gives an abundant rear space if you wish to have more boot space. The second row seating height has been well appreciated by my family members. Auto-Sliding doors for eldery parents.

Probably if Toyota has provided a 1.8L engine similar to taiwan model it would have been better.

If you are an aggresive racer who wants to be the first one to move from traffic lights then this car is not meant for you. However, If you are a family man looking for a practical functional car then this is the car for you.

My FC readings are as below for your view with Caltex 98

1. 100 % City ride - ~10 Km / Lit
2. 50-50 / Express Ways - City- ~13 Km / Lit
3. 80-20 / Express Ways - City ~ 15 Km / Lit

What I like
1. Toyota Reliability
2. Generous Space (MPV at this price)
3. Fuel Consumption in comparison with other petrol MPVs
4. Well thought interior design
5. Handling
6. Heard from my friends that - Parts availablity and the price considering this car is popular across Asean specifically in Indo and Thailand as its specifically manufactured to suit Asean countries
7. Friendly FB group - For any questions i can go there and i felt even Toyota might not have this much information

What I do not like
1. 1.5L engine can be improved for the initial torque though is sufficient for me.
2. Toyota Telematics stock HU

iceraider
3rd Gear
1 reviews
262 points
241 forum posts Joined on 05-Oct-2015
Not for fussy buyer  Posted on 13 Mar 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 1/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the car and find the features is quite bare. Nothing to shout abt on the features.

The steering feels heavy and not comfortable when driving. Given the base model price going near $100k, it does not have the feature like smart key, foldable mirror.

What I like
- auto passenger door
- high head room
- spacious

What I do not like
- lack of features given the price
- steering feels heavy
- engine noisy
- lack power
- very basic and bare
- don't come in leather seat for Standard model
- only 3 airbags

Bilalaliahamed
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Aug-2012
Worth for the money  Posted on 05 Apr 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
For those who use this as just transportation without expecting luxury, class, this is the best vehicle. 7-Seater SUV for the cost of small cars. For those who wants economical and do not want to spend more on vehicle for just 10 years but to carry more people, this is better. Once the vehicle in full speed, it feels like floating and the driving is very smooth.

What I like
- Interior Spacing.
- Entertainment System.
- Head room.
- Seating.
- Smooth steering.
- Huge boot space when folding the 3rd row.
- Even more space when second row folded.
- Easy to park.

What I do not like
- The front view design
- The engine pickup, could have higher rated engines for 7-seater

Bieffe
2nd Gear
6 reviews
158 points
445 forum posts Joined on 13-Oct-2004
Totally basic  Posted on 18 Feb 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 2/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
The car drives like a Toyota. Boring. In this Indo variant of the car the quality of materials used in terrible. It's so hard and sharp. The concept of the car seems promising but other than the sliding door the 6 seat concept is far from usable.
The way the seat is folded you will never have a flat loading area. The folded seats leaves lots of odd areas and holes. The last row needless to say are for ur enemies. Folding the seats will almost need a PhD too.
Comparing to the shuttle I feel this loads much less and the horrible non flat loading area is a nightmare. So unless u always use 6 seats and like to put your in laws at the last row, skip this. Get a Shuttle. But this has a little more head room.
The transmission will shift with any tapping of the acc. Making the fuel consumption terrible. Normal city driving will only see 10.9km/L at best. The car is heavy so when driving u will be 2nd class. Even a kid on a unicycle has more speed and acc.
Also the 2 roll seat when folded the backs are hollow! How are we gonna load? It sinks down when u place stuff there making the loading area like the surface of the moon!
Ride wise is just abit better than HRV. But is a Sampan.
Also on the V variant of the car from BM. The keyless entry only on driver side and trunk. So all other doors cant be unlocked! So if u come from the front passenger side u cannot get it without using the key!
BM just give 2 more sensor for entry will cost u how much? PI has them standard.
So in short this is a good car in concept and should be missed.

What I like
Nothing at all.

What I do not like
Almost everything.

skyjuic
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-Sep-2018
Very spacious interior  Posted on 18 Dec 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Sienta is a very practical car which has a very high head room. It is very spacious and could easily house 7 persons in it.

The only problem is lack of consideration for driving into Malaysia as there is NO cover for the bonnet. The entire bonnet can be seen through from the side glasses. That is too dangerous for those drive into Malaysia which the glass could be broken and the stuff may be stolen from bonnet.

What I like
i like the high head room and spacious interior.

What I do not like
There is no cover over the bonnet and exposed the stuff through the side glass. It is too dangerous to drive it with some stuff in bonnet into Malaysia.

Soreloser
3rd Gear
6 reviews
358 points
55 forum posts Joined on 01-Oct-2018
Affordable MPV but...  Posted on 25 Nov 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Accompanied a friend who's looking for mpv. Both of us agree that it was rather disappointing. Test drive in Sept 18

What I like
Smart way of stowing last row seats underneath middle row.
Affordable pricing
Auto slide door - good for seniors
High roof - suitable for taller ppl
If it's a Toyota, it should be reliable
Spare parts shouldn't be hard to find since its quite common
Spacious feel

What I do not like
Looks ugly, and some may say, like coffin car (personal opinion)
Very noisy ride, can hear engine clearly even at standstill
Lack of power for a petrol vehicle

opgamerkkhk
1st Gear
36 reviews
28 points
63 forum posts Joined on 15-Nov-2016
Very under powered and poorly built  Posted on 08 Jun 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 1/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Every surface that you can touch on the doors and dash are all hard plastic that can easily be scratched by fingernails i suppose.In borneo showroom the sienta interior a lot of scratches. Not very obvious but visble. Seats narrow and not comfy. Stitching on the dash so fake i rather it be inexistent, doors close like paper, cant believe this car so poorly build. Understanderbly, it has a reasonable price and we cannot expect this much, but just buy secpnd hand mazda 5?

What I like
3rd row quite good space, in terms of depth
price quite low
Toyota reliability
Power sliding doors, pretty impressive
Good packaging, 3rd row can stow under 2nd row when not in use

What I do not like
Acceleration really poor
Taken for as Grabcar LOL
Hard plastics everywhere
Show car in borneo leather seems cheap like pu and seems like very worn out
Dont know about reliability of this interior, might not last . although no doubts about it mechanically

Bigmeman
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
3 forum posts Joined on 13-Jan-2013
Value for money compact MPV from toyota  Posted on 26 May 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Spacious car with sufficient features for driving family around singapore comfortably.

could be better with more usb ports, auto closing mirrors, start stop engine function and foot break.

What I like
spacious interior with flexible seat configuration

What I do not like
underpowered when moving off with 7 pax.

interior is plain compared to the exterior

Jimmy1978
Neutral Newbie
17 reviews
0 points
10 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Compact SUV 7 seater  Posted on 10 May 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Not bad, value for money but can be better ... Can add more features better. For family still ok daily usage good.

What I like
Compact and roomy

What I do not like
Small boot space. High roof ...bait too high

bahomet
Neutral Newbie
19 reviews
0 points
12 forum posts Joined on 23-Jan-2014
Perfect for the wife and kids  Posted on 19 Oct 2016
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The Sienta is a really affordable car when you think of the number of things you can use it for.

I have to send my kids to school and wife to work every morning, then pick my wife up from work in the evening. This car doesn't give me any problems with hauling the family around. There's enough space for the little imps to jump around in.

What I like
More than enough space for the kids in the back
Reliable
Good fuel economy

What I do not like
Not the most luxurious family car

ilovetoyotacars
Neutral Newbie
23 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2015
Not the most luxurious car but it gets the job done  Posted on 28 Sep 2016
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The Toyota Sienta is a pretty practical car, considering it's not that fast or luxurious.

I like the headroom and legroom in the second row. It even has convenient storage compartments for random things that kids like to bring around.

I like the motorised rear doors, they're really convenient when I send my elderly mum to the polyclinic for her checkups.

What I like
motorised rear doors are a convenient feature
spacious second row
practical family car

What I do not like
last two seats don't have much space

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Toyota Sienta
3 stars - based on 11 reviews