Recommended for you

Cupra uses 3D printing for the Leon Competicion

Cars that are great for track and your daily drive

The Cupra Leon hot hatch is spicy, yet safe


Past Car
Models no longer being sold by local distributors.
Model unavailable since Oct 2020
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Seat Leon 1.0 TSI DSG Style Plus (A)
06 Aug 2019  |  SEAT Reviews
The Seat Leon hatchback may bear the underpinnings of the formidable Volkswagen Golf, but can the Spanish be as good as its class-leading foe?
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Mazda 3 Hatchback vs Seat Leon vs Volkswagen Golf
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of SEAT Leon
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
7 Reviewers
4.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4.5/5 Features
4.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
4.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

7 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
BtyCheers
1st Gear
1 reviews
25 points
13 forum posts Joined on 24-Jan-2019
Most Bang For Your $, Feature packed and Drive like a 1.6L Engine  Posted on 04 Oct 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I have owned the 1.0 Litre DSG Version for 2 years clocking 35k Mileage so far. Simply amazing ride. Price bought at $89,999.

What I like
1. 1.0L Engine - Small engine. But drive like a 1.6L engine. Totally no lack of power. Acceleration from standstill is good, gear change is smooth lole butter.

2. Cheap road tax and insurance - Road tax is $396 per year and insurance is cheap due to the low engine cap.

3. Car Features - Feature packed, with apple/ android car play, brake hold, E-hand brake, wireless QI phone charging, auto headlight, auto wiper. It really spoils me, i practically just need to start engine and everything else is auto. Won't even have the issue of forgetting to on or off headlights.

4. Interior - Plenty of space for driver as well as passenger at the back. The material inside the car feels premium, less some small portion which are plasticky, but doesn't really affect the functionality.

5. Boot Space - Hugeeee boot space, for all your baby needs or shopping trip up north. When required, just knock down the read seats and you can packed a month worth of food to stock up if pandemic strikes.

6. Rear Aircon - Passenger at the back enjoy their own AC vent. Comfort for your little and family members.

What I do not like
1. The in-built USB port is located too deeply into the center console. Not so practical. Very difficult to reach.

2. The Hump at the floor of center back passenger seat is irritating. Quite big and eats up some space.

3. The Boot Door is not automatic. Need to manually pull up and down when button is pressed.

4. The stock rim is ugly. For fussy people, need to spend some money to get it changed.

Kellychin
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Jan-2020
Value for money  Posted on 07 Jan 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
For 1.0 turbo engine really impressed & powerful , nice to drive lower consumption insurance premium very cheap plus the road tax just only $392 per year. For Conti car just selling at $89,999 really value for money

What I like
Wireless charging
Second row got air con
Side mirror tilt down when reverse gear

What I do not like
No Adaptive cruise control

Ken70angie73
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 16-Nov-2016
Most value for money conti hatch back  Posted on 06 Jan 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I am driving my brother's Seat Leon and am impress by the performance of the car..The car comes with a kessy keyless access system.. The car is responsive and handle pretty well . The gear changes very smoothly. No lack of power when i do an overtaking. At 115 horsepower and torque 200 NM , it is equilvalent to a 1.6 litres car and i am paying lesser road tax and a better fuel consumption. The car comes with a cruise control system. The Seat full link ( apple carplay) is very useful. I could use a voice control to reply a text message without holding the phone to text out a message. The car comes with a wireless charger. My children sitting at the rear passenger seat is happy with the rear aircon. In conclusion this is the most value for money conti car that i have ever own .

What I like
performance of the car and safety features
7 airbags including knee airbag
fuel consumption is good
nicely curve exterior design
apple carplay
electric brake
auto hold function
rear aircon
wireless charger

Blackflyz
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Stellar car from SEAT.  Posted on 15 Oct 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
3 months of driving the LEON for this review and feel its time to put some words in perspective.

Most asked me what car were you driving and why downgrade? (Was driving a bigger engine TSI capacity and boot space before this....And I really wanted to carry on with a continental ride.)

Even more honestly, I never intended to go with SEAT but I read the reviews online, watched the videos and looked up the car on Instagram- still wasn't 'wowed' over yet and then decided Why not give it a test drive...Nothing to lose right?


*Cut short.....And I DID and I am GLAD and I am happy enough to put in a review.(my time is precious)

This car had been made real good-IMHO.

What I like
Many things to like here.....
but my number 1 like is saving $$$.....so IT SAVES- Saves- saves me comparing to my previous ride...road tax/gas/insurance....etc.

I can get 600km++ on driving this car...just use the better gas...
1.0 liter engine? No way...it feels like it...
Everything else - (keyless,rear a/c, push start/stop.)

Great interior quality, sleek exterior design...nice in my eyes

What I do not like
1. Driver leg room space is smaller - so cannot open too wide to relax/stretch.

2. Not much aftermarket accessories since SEAT is the new kid on the block.

(Nothing much NOT too like for now because my mind tells me its a great car...and is an unbiased thought.)

BryJo
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 04-Oct-2018
A Value For Money Purchase  Posted on 04 Oct 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Collected my new Leon last weekend! I must say it was a great purchase. I was looking at small hatchback since my requirement is just to drive to work and back home everyday. I went to VW to view their Golf initially. Then I was browsing on SGCARMART and came across this car (SEAT Leon), read some of its features and decided to pop by at their showroom in Ubi area.

Once I stepped into their showroom I was instantly greeted by their friendly sales consultant. He explained to great lengths to me about the car (Leon), he was professional and very patient with me because I had many questions. Once I saw the car I fell in love with it, it looked gorgeous, with its sharp features and not to mention the price was better than others.

After that we went for a test drive and I really liked the handling and the comfort level in the car. Once we ended the test drive I had no hesitation but to sit down with the Sales consultant to discuss the details of the purchase.

Drove my new ride for coming to a week now, I must say my love for my new Leon grew everyday. I would not hesitate to recommend SEAT cars to anyone. In fact this is a good time to buy their cars before they grow more reputation, by that time I am sure their car prices will go up!

What I like
1. Design (full LED. Front grille looks special.)
2. Keyless entry.
3. Wireless charging for handphone.
4. Big touchscreen.
5. Safety (this car has 7 airbags!)
6. Apple Carplay and Android Auto.
7. Electronic hand brake.

What I do not like
1. Colour options (I guess their stocks level are not high, colours are limited. But this is not very important to me)
2. 16" rims. If it comes with 17" rims as stock it will look nicer.

No_worries
6th Gear
2 reviews
3,109 points
814 forum posts Joined on 29-May-2006
Seat's Comeback to Singapore  Posted on 16 Jul 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
When Seat announced they would be back to Singapore in mid 2016, I was the few that drop by their completed but yet unopened showroom in the eastern park of Singapore to take a peak at their cars. At that time, I was driving a Mark 6 VW Jetta with no problems but due to falling COE prices, I thought it would be good to shop around for a new car.

I wanted a Golf but the white Leon I saw in the yet unopened showroom caught my attention instead due to it's ''distinctive sharp styling lines as German motoring review series Autogefuhl calls it.

Finally I decided to pop in to their showroom in Feb 2017 to test drive their Leon 1.2. Having tested the Golf 1.2 just a weekend ago, I was impressed by their firmer ride and more communicative steering. And plus, I prefer the styling which has it's character compared to the more business like Golf. The deal was set and I put a deposit down for it. Bonus was Vertex gave a good value for my Jetta so that sweeten the deal a bit.

Now 4 months into ownership, I have no regrets. Some say I am quite silly to swop a Jetta 7DSG to another 7DSG on the Leon. Perhaps it is because I had a good ownership experience with a Volkswagen based 7DSG that made me commit to another 7DSG.

What I like
Firm ride and communicative steering

Sharp and distinctive styling lines

5 star Euro NCAP

Powerful 1.2TSI engine which could bring some 1.6L Jap cars to shame

Interior although fill with some hard plastics look like they can last a long time

What I do not like
Small side door bins which cannot hold a 1.5L mineral bottle, I only found out after I collected the car. Haha

For the Style package, you need to pay extra for leather, I could have done without it, but was worried about my daughter soiling the original cloth upholstery so decided to top up to leather.

vwlover
Neutral Newbie
11 reviews
0 points
1 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2011
Punchy engine with sporty handling  Posted on 27 Oct 2016
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Seat's comeback with the Leon has really surprised me. They've replicated the Golf platform, which means it can't really go wrong.

The 1.2 liter engine pulls its own weight and allows the car to zip in and out of traffic with ease. The Leon's handles itself well, really sporty and responsive.

The interior is meh. It's not horrible, but it's not fantastic either. Not really a big deal considering how well it drives though.

What I like
Decent engine
Sporty handling
Great alternative to the Golf

What I do not like
Interior feels less refined than the Golf

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
SEAT Leon
4.5 stars - based on 7 reviews