Recommended for you

Win a limited edition watch by reviewing a Subaru

2018 Subaru XV and Impreza get five-star Euro NCAP

Subaru Impreza debuts at Frankfurt Motor Show

Tribeshield allows you to car-share in peace


spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Subaru Impreza 5D
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
12 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

12 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
AdityaSingh
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 27-May-2019
A nice comfortable ride  Posted on 14 May 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Owned it since 2019 and till now I am quite happy with the purchase. The car handles beautifully and the interior feels spacious. Was always a Subie fan so the decision was always biased but when I was out in the market and I test drove the cars, the decision was already made after visiting the Subaru at Toa Payoh.

What I like
Interior Space.
Safety Sensors and reputation for safety.
5 Years free servicing and warranty.
The initial acceleration from standstill.
Handling.
Comfortable on long drives i.e. Malaysia. Has adaptive cruise (A must have)

What I do not like
Insurance is slightly on the higher side from main insurers.
Petrol consumption is on higher side but then it is a heavier car.

angshida
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 01-Mar-2015
Sporty, Spacious and Stable Subaru Impreza I-S  Posted on 07 May 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Been driving the 1.6 i-s for 5 years, and the technology is still top end, such as Android Auto, Apple Carplay. The sound system has a good bass, making spotify really enjoyable during the ride. Due to its low built, cornering is smooth and the steering allows it to be intuitive. The blind spot sensor has been really helpful in improving the safety of the car. The interior is spacious, and friends who drive the H or T Japanese car brands often marvel at the space, even though the specs may be similar. Smooth drive, every day.

What I like
Good after-sales services, attentive servicing, able to detect faults before they occcur. This is made even better with servicing deals at Kansha festival annually.

What I do not like
Hope future generation of Impreza has adaptive steering to further improve the experience.
Fuel consumption is alright, but not comparable to hybrid car models.

Lloyce
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Sep-2012
Good built quality and safety features.  Posted on 06 May 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
I've the Impreza 2.0l for two years and never encountered any dangerous or unable to manage road situations. Went all the way up to Penang when it breaks first 1k km and also travel many times there afterwards. Even tried Genting Highland recently and handles so well on the slopes uphill and downhill. Never gives any doubt on this car capabilities. Good quality built that's going to last with safety features add ONS. Good for new drivers too

JoshuaMok
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
2 forum posts Joined on 27-May-2014
Nicely priced with updated technology.  Posted on 01 May 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
Great handling with AWD, eyesight has saved us many times for near accidents. Fuel consumption is acceptable for its weight and AWD.

daleq1118
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Mar-2021
Car of fun  Posted on 24 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The first 4WD i owned.
Good: the solid handling makes me feel driving like a pro. Got my first speeding bill in the first month because there's no difference after 80km/h to 120km/h. Love the feel when turning+Downslope combined, where everyone especially SUV has to press the brake while I can still press the accelerate!
Down side: the car is a bit floppy if driving our side the sport mode. And this car is a driver also, making wallet a bit tight after oil price raised. Also, this car makes me keep thinking of getting a STI/WRX

What I like
The handling, the appearance

What I do not like
FC a bit on the high side

nyilwin
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 14-Apr-2022
The Subaru Impreza  Posted on 14 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
The Subaru Impreza space of the car is comfortable. Boot space is also reasonable. The infotainment system should be updated with Car Play like Subaru in the US. I feel like the infotainment system is not worthy and not attractive. I don't know why Impreza in the US and Singapore are different. The US has a more advanced system in the same model. We managed only 10.1km/L mix city and expressway.
The other thing is while reversing, the auto i system is activated, and the engine has to restart again.

What I like
The Eye-sight technology
AWD

What I do not like
I expected it to be faster, but it wasn't
The engine performance of a 2 litre car is not that impressive
Car audio and entertainment

pangsh02
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 18-Jan-2018
Average car but does the job  Posted on 23 Sep 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
CVT makes car feels sluggish but in actual, it's reasonable.
Perfect if with manual transmission. MI, please bring in manual for me.. Hahah
AWD provides good stability in wet season.
Suspension is slightly too soft.
Eyesight saved me a few times! It's now in my must haves.
Have been reliable so far (coming to 3yrs).
Not the most fuel efficient car but that's what you get for AWD and 2.0L engine. 11 - 12KM/L on mixed driving. Good value for the price.

What I like
Eyesight
AWD

What I do not like
CVT gives a sluggish feeling
Crap Audio quality

Kevin5599
Neutral Newbie
5 reviews
0 points
2 forum posts Joined on 31-Oct-2010
Equip most safety car in market but lack of power and bad after sale service  Posted on 28 Jan 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Would not recommend this car for anyone. With the price u add can add a little more to get a euro car. Engine No power and Bad after sale service. Fuel consumption very bad as 10L/100km for mix combine 50% City and 50% Highway. Beware of their sale talk bad after sale service. The car brand is good but I think Singapore service is bad.
If can I would like to complain till Japan HQ

What I like
Safety features install

What I do not like
Fuel consumption
After sale service

Shrio1978
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 05-Mar-2013
Impreza Hatchback 2018 eyesight model  Posted on 10 Jul 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Price, design, technology is what prompts me to give Subaru a try.

For the feel, the moment i test drive XV and Impreza, both my wife and me fell in love with it. We ended up choosing Impreza as it is low enough for my mum to get in and out of it.

Having driving it for 2 months, my comments are:
Eyesight is decent, works when needed.

What I like
Stability feel, being a 4wd. Not easily swept away by puddle of water or doing a cornering or u-turn.

Adaptive cruise control. good to use when traveling to Malaysia

Good braking.

What I do not like
Mileage is about 10.5 to 11.5km/ltr, as compared to stated 15km/ltr (way too off)

At low speed, the auto gear shifting is rough, whether you are accelerating or decelerating.

When stationary on the road, the idle stop hold is rough, whenever i start to drive again, thus I've turn it off.

No apple Play.

There isn't a good location to mount your phone holder that will not obstruct your view.

Engine performance is so so for a 2 ltr car.

Ivantanjh
1st Gear
4 reviews
52 points
68 forum posts Joined on 31-May-2012
Decent car for the buck  Posted on 02 Feb 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Didn’T want to buy a car this year, but my beloved Golf GT decided that it was time and made that decision on my behalf, so I took 2 days from scouting to signing on the dot line.

Was dead on to buy a K3 or Elantra, because I am cheap skate and didn’T want to spend too much on a liability since my pocket does not have spare changes to spare, but wasn’T exactly happy with K3 for its light steering and it is scary if I can say, and Elantra interior does not really excited me too much, so I went to test drive Mazda 3, C-HR, Impreza and for the budget I was willing to spend, this look to be best deal for the dollar, at least like my friend say, I won’T be cursing too much whenever I stepped in the car.

What I like
The features that it’s come with and maybe The Eye-sight technology

What I do not like
The drive is lifeless even with a 2.0, guess the CVT doesn’t cut it as a driver car.

bahomet
Neutral Newbie
19 reviews
0 points
12 forum posts Joined on 23-Jan-2014
Handsome car with confidence in the corners  Posted on 13 Mar 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I love the dashboard of the new Impreza. It has so many controls and buttons to play with that it makes me feel like a pilot. It takes some getting used to but once you master the controls, you'll be ready to reach mach 2.

But that's where the problem lies. Both the 1.6 and 2.0 variants aren't fast. The car behaves admirably around bends, with confident cornering abilities. But floor it and it takes a while to reach desired speeds.

Styling on the Impreza has been improved over the previous model, with more muscular lines that don't get too 'beng'. All in all, a great car to own and drive.

What I like
Cornering ability
Cockpit-like cabin
Muscular styling

What I do not like
Not as fast as I'd hoped for

Quistation
Neutral Newbie
38 reviews
1 points
4 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Sleeker styling with more boot space than its rivals  Posted on 16 Jan 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I'm loving the direction that Subaru has taken with the new Impreza. It has a sleeker styling and its headlights are a huge improvement over its bug-eyed predecessors.

The 5D is definitely more practical imo. There's more boot space than the sedan, as well as the Golf and Civic Hatchback.

Visibility in the Impreza has been greatly improved. There aren't many blindspots and the cabin feels light and airy.

What I like
Sleeker styling
More boot space than the Golf and Civic Hatchback
Great visibility

What I do not like
High-end power is slightly disappointing

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Subaru Impreza 5D
4 stars - based on 12 reviews