Recommended for you

Breaking down different types of crossovers

Win a limited edition watch by reviewing a Subaru

Subaru's safety systems put to the test

Here's how to keep your car clean, without sweat


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Car Review - Subaru XV 2.0i-S EyeSight (A)
28 Mar 2018  |  Subaru Reviews
Now offered with a 2.0-litre engine and Subaru EyeSight, the Subaru XV 2.0 delivers a compelling, refined and premium SUV experience.
spacer
spacer
What We Dislike
CVT gearbox dampens the driving experience
spacer
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Honda HR-V 1.5 vs Skoda Karoq 1.5 vs Subaru XV 2.0i-S
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Subaru XV
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
41 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4.5/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

41 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Ingenius
Turbocharged
6 reviews
8,575 points
3727 forum posts Joined on 19-Sep-2009
The Subaru xv review after 4 years  Posted on 25 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
Like
Spacious
Comfortable cruiser
Car keeps in lane under all conditions
Low center of gravity
Good visibility

Dislike
Small boot
Less than ideal fuel consumption
Not much power

seantayy
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Jun-2020
Subaru XV GT7 eyesight 2.0L  Posted on 13 May 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
Car is about 3 year old and there is nothing to dislike!

The comfort and nvh is pretty good for this of segment.

Engine performance is decent although its NA.

FC wise for a awd its decent too but not the best.

Handling wise to my preference its top notch. Takes bends and corners like a low slung sedan without sacrificing too much of comfort, the AWD system also lets you have the confidence to take on bends during wet weather.

I always mod with my older cars and change out brakes, suspension parts but with this XV GT7, the stock parts are good enough for my usage.

Good job Subaru!

asharch06
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 18-Jul-2016
Great Car at a great price  Posted on 08 May 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
Have been driving for the past 1 year zzz
The best and the lowest priced 2.0L Engine AWD car available in the market.
Fully loaded with an array of safety features
Very good noise insulation
Spacious interiors

danlim2000
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Dec-2020
Great Car.  Posted on 07 May 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
I have been driving my 2019 XV for the past 38 months and still loving it! This car is not quick but the power is adequate. Lots of functional and safety features. Car is stable, love the AWD and you do feel safe driving the car. However, the boxer engine produces noise but bearable. Those who are not familiar with Subaru car, should go for test drive. I would be happy to rate 5 stars if not for the missing rear aircon vent. Great car indeed.

LeoLiu
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 05-May-2022
Subaru XV  Posted on 05 May 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
My first car. A lot of safety features. Very easy to drive.

Michaeleeyf
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 16-Nov-2019
Nice entry car with good features  Posted on 30 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
Car is equipped and unique. Affordable entry car for cross over. The new XV looks elegant with it new headlight and powerful with it 2.0 engine.

What I like most
Look sturdy
Dual function X model
2.0 engine

What I dislike
Rust and collision
Fuel consumption

Silverfishball
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Dec-2019
Great car  Posted on 29 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
What I like :
- sturdy
- safety features
- 2L engine is not too sluggish and fine for me
- passenger leg room
- dashboard area looks decent and not too cheap looking compared to other Jap brand model
- driving experience

What I do not like:
- no turbocharge
- no rear AC
- have to open the car boot only from the outside
- relatively small boot space

ZephyrX_045
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
1 points
4 forum posts Joined on 15-Dec-2019
Small Crossover With High Ground Clearance  Posted on 29 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I went down to Motor Images @ Leng Kee with my dad awhile ago to test drive the Subaru Impreza 5D & XV. Upon first glance at the XV, the GT-edition was rather too sporty looking, we decided to look at the Impreza and the normal XV. Turns out, the XV felt sturdier than the Impreza.

The XV itself is relatively small, but has the practicality of a compact hatchback. It is very maneuverable and agile. Stability in the corners are also very pronounced. However the ride in the back is rather stiff. Engine pickup under hard acceleration is rather average. Not really a mind-blowing punchy engine, but rather just good enough to move the car along.

I'd say overall, you get a lot of car for the money. Features, safety tech, and practicality.

What I like
- Subaru EyeSight 2.0; A lot of safety tech.
- Relatively cheap price for a CAT B car.
- High ground clearance. Good for off-roading or driving through flash floods.
- Decently sized boot.
- Permanent AWD for stability
- Signal, wipers and headlight controls are similar to that of a conti car layout. Not much issue transitioning between cars.

What I do not like
- EyeSight 2.0 turns off in really bad weather compared to the conventional camera + radar system.
- Road tax for a 2.0L
- Engine performance is just satisfactory, would be nice if the engine was smaller and turbocharged.
- Fuel consumption due to the AWD system.

lssdhr
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 09-Jan-2021
Recommend as a first car  Posted on 27 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The 2.0 engine is powerful enough to manoeuvre. The safety features has saved me for several potential collisions. It is definitely a good car for a small family. The space is spacious enough. It has plenty of safety features as compared to any other cars from the same class.

What I like
Boxer Engine
Eyesight
360
plenty of safety features

What I do not like
Nil so far, maybe can add rear aircon

DWDW
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 27-Apr-2022
Most reliable car I've owned!  Posted on 27 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The XV model of this car is well equipped with all the necessary features that I dreamt of for my first car. The car has a very high-tech interior that allows you to have superior control over any terrain and weather.
The top speed delivered by the boot boxer engine feels like heaven as it is accompanied by various technologies for drive assistance.

What I like
Great safety features such as Eyesight and lane keep functions.

What I do not like
Improvement Area:
Boot space

WilliamC77
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 24-Nov-2019
I love my XV  Posted on 25 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Why do I love my XV:
1. I have full confidence of overtaking.
2. Has the power and responsiveness when needed.
3. EyeSight Driver's Assist Technology I can't imagine my car without it. Helps me easily keep my distance at flip of a switch.
4. X-Mode if I ever need to go Off Roading, I know that the XV can handle mud, puddles and inclines.
5. Choice of colours are unique and distinctive.
6. XV GT Styling is sporty yet not shouting loudness. "Classy Sport" Styling.

What I like
What I like:
similar to my review:
1. XV GT Styling
2. Colour variety
3. Safety is huge tick in my book of wants and needs for a car
4. Power and responsiveness
5. Agility
6. Height clearance gives one confidence to go through flooded roads
7. Rim styling very bold and eye catching
8. Comfortable for family of 4 persons

What I do not like
Could be better:
1. Boot space smaller than previous car, Qashqai
2. Middle compartment could be bigger
3. Dash area could have be redesigned to be able to place items on the dash without fear of them rolling off.
4. This is more a want...changeable interior lighting to match car colour especially the image on the car's dash to match the model and possibly the colour would be a nice personal touch.

zhengmin
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 01-Nov-2021
Good SUV for small family  Posted on 25 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Overall its good car for small family just like me.
its comfortable enough and handling is good.
Enough safety features to give peace of mind, especially in bad weather such as heavy rain

What I like
Handling
Exterior styling
Safety
Value for money

What I do not like
Head unit can be improved
it will be good to have backseat aircon
Fuel consumption

Alexsalvage
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
2 forum posts Joined on 07-Oct-2010
Fun and Affordable  Posted on 24 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
Great safety features such as Eyesight and lane keep functions.
Smooth ride for a small crossover.

Symagician
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
1 forum posts Joined on 26-Jun-2013
Nice and Affordable  Posted on 24 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
My first car, the first generation Subaru XV in 2016. If you need a vehicle that is functional, practical and sustainable without compromising on ride quality, performance and style, the Subaru XV is a great choice at an affordable price . It has few flaws, no issues and is perfect for everyday city commutes. Fuel efficiency is commendable, and the powerful engine and smooth handling make it easy to drive in heavy traffic. Comfort is the best option, and a range of tech features make it a value-for-money package.

Playst
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 14-Mar-2013
Subaru XV  Posted on 05 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The Subaru XV is a handsome styling, compact dimensions car with easy entry, quality interior and low running costs make the XV one of my favourite car. The steering was easy to handle and I like the Eyesight safety feature too.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Subaru XV
4 stars - based on 41 reviews