Recommended for you

Mazda CX-5 2.5 Super Luxury (A) Review

Mazda CX-5 2.0 Luxury Sports (A) Video Review

Mazda CX-5 2.0 Luxury Sports (A) Facelift Review

Five car servicing myths you must absolutely ignore


This is an old car model that is no longer for sale by the local distributor since Mar 2024.
Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Mazda CX-5 2.0 Luxury Sports (A) Video Review
27 Oct 2022  |  Mazda Reviews
The Mazda CX-5 is not only great to look at, it's also nimble to go, comfortable to sit in, and comes with a mighty premium cabin.
spacer
spacer
What We Dislike
Does not come with the latest infotainment system from Mazda
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mazda CX-5
spacer
4.0
 
17 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
4.5 Reliability
4.0
spacer
Handling
4.0 Features
4.0
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5 Interior Design
4.0
spacer
Value for money
4.0 Engine Performance
3.5

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
arjunprasad
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Apr-2015
Fantastic all round SUV package!  Posted on 06 Nov 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
If you are looking for German build and interior quality, Japanese reliability, all round comfort look no further than the CX-5. Despite not having the best performance, it’S best of multiple worlds.


quippery
Neutral Newbie
84 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
More features, just as good to drive  Posted on 31 Aug 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
The Mazda CX-5 has been updated for 2022 with new equipment in a bid to stay competitive. In sum: It still looks the part, and drives the part.

What I like
Ok so the trim hardly looks like what rivals are offering. There's no big screen, no digital instrument cluster, no multi-colour interior lighting.

But there's still something really appealing about it all. Build quality is impressive, and the entire dashboard to the centre console just has a cohesiveness in its design that so many new cars are sorely lacking. It all just looks like it all belongs.

Then there's the drive. There's more power elsewhere, but it's still quiet, and smooth enough on the go. That's really all you need in this SUV.

Throw the car about and the drive also feels very intuitive and natural. The car pivots around you and steers exactly as you intend with each additional degree of steering lock applied. You may not be going fast but driving this CX-5 always feels very controlled, easy, and stress-free, no matter how badly pitted the road surface gets.

What I do not like
Do you think the Mazda red clashes with the green accents on the 'Elegance' trim car?


Leeslayerex
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
4 forum posts Joined on 28-Jul-2013
Spacious and minimalist interior with sporty outlook of an SUV won my heart! (Not many 29 years old would wanna own an SUV at this age)  Posted on 27 Aug 2022
spacer
 

Review
Been looking around for an SUV with decent specs (coming from a C-Class) with an open mind to include Japanese / Korean SUVs for my consideration and chanced upon one of the few rare 2.5L Luxury unit. Test drove a 2.0L for comparison and was sold on the 2.5L.

Spacious, punchy and responsive yet sporty looking of the CX-5 KF model made my whole ownership experience for the past 8 months a very pleasant one. Interior is quite minimalist which I like, feature wise it's one of the highest specs (Super Luxury would have packed all the safety enhancements) which would have beaten all the other entry level conti SUV around the same price point in the used car market.

Did slight exterior enhancement to make it even sportier including a full glossy black rims and also blacked out the side mirror covers, also included kick boot sensor which made it even more convenient with the power tailgate.

If only it came with panoramic roof (which I've considered the Harrier Turbo before deciding on this ride), which I could settle for the sunroof.


devilised
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Dec-2019
Probably one of the more value for $ SUVs  Posted on 07 Jan 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
It's probably one of the most bang for buck SUVs out there when I got it approx 2 years ago. Test drove almost all the SUVs that were around the same price range (+/- 20K) and landed on this. It was superior in the following areas:

1) exterior design - sporty, elegant
2) interior design - simple, classy
3) interior seats - comfy, well shaped for the average Asian
4) spacious - both cabin and boot, though not the most spacious but sufficient. Head room is not low as well.
5) handling - gives a feel that you have very good control over the car. Stable at higher speeds.

What I like
1) exterior design - sporty, elegant
2) interior design - simple, classy
3) interior seats - comfy, well shaped for the average Asian
4) spacious - both cabin and boot, though not the most spacious but sufficient. Head room is not low as well.
5) handling - gives a feel that you have very good control over the car. Stable at higher speeds.

What I do not like
1) fuel efficiency - can be better. It's probably due to the car's good weight and non-turbo engine.
2) features - relatively basic at this price range


Pastor
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-May-2016
Best Japanese SUV  Posted on 23 Dec 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Replacing my X3 35i with a Jap SUV is never easy. After months of testing different Jap SUV, I decided to go for the CX-5.

The best in design, comfort, class interior, bose sound system, and engagement drive. I prefer the skyactiv-drive to those CVT.
The power may be lacking due to non-turbo but it is sufficient for Singapore city driving.

Actually, My X3 was overpowered which comes with many summonses from TP !

After 3 months of getting used to it, I have no regrets! Highly recommended!

What I like
Design, class interior, BOSE sound system, easy-to-use infotainment system, Headup Display, Auto Locks, Comfort, and engagement drive.

What I do not like
Non-turbo but still is powerful enough for city driving and overtaking!
17"'rims, where 19'rims will make it more fierce!

Still, it is much better than those 1.4/1.6 turbo cars that tend to have turbo lag when overtaking.


gabzilla
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
2 forum posts Joined on 11-Oct-2019
Spacious SUV with Style  Posted on 23 Oct 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Maybe it was a transition from a bad experience with my previous bmw 216i to this cx-5, there's a lot of driving experience bias in me since i could compare. In short it's very spacious, handsome and does provide a lot of comfort when navigating different terrains well.

What I like
space, style, air-con

What I do not like
interior styling doesn't have a luxury feel. engine though is 2.0, the torque is weak and takes time to kick in, compared to my even a lower capacity bmw.


Motorknut
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Oct-2012
First and last mazda i'll ever own  Posted on 18 Oct 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 2.0 Engine Performance 2.0
spacer

Review
Was initially impressed by the design and handling of the car. Handling is indeed pretty good - comparable to the BMW X3 (F25 gen), but engine is underpowered with slow pick up. Ride comfort is decent and cushy.

Interior design looks very BMW-ish, but functionality is not all there. Eg: volume controls for the radio vs nav system don't sync.

Car is also not refined - vibrations in the cabin are quite standard for this model, from the '08 to the subsequent "Facelift" Variants.

Had a number of parts fail in the first year of ownership - mirrors, wipers. Japanese reliability is not a strong point here.

What I like
good ride comfort, decent road handling. Cheap to run - 95 octane gas and reasonable road tax.

What I do not like
Poor refinement in the engine and overall driving aspects of the car. Parts reliability is not great either. luxury features seem "german standard" but fail in real world usability. Underpowered engine for the size of the car.


TankoMank
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Oct-2019
Wonderful Car  Posted on 15 Oct 2019
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Booked CX-5 a very pleasant car to drive and be in. Conti like interior and got great pricing for my trade-in car and the CX-5 event unit.

What I like
Everything

What I do not like
Limited choice of interior colour - only black. Would have loved to have white.


Extravaluemeal
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
2 forum posts Joined on 08-Dec-2009
Comfortable  Posted on 06 Oct 2019
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Previous car was a Mazda 3, which was already nice to drive. Decided to switch to a SUV as I've always felt more relaxed and shiok driving SUVs (CX5 and Rav4 on overseas roadtrips).

As our highway surfaces can be quite undulating due to constant roadworks (and maybe some other reasons), there is a difference in the way this SUV "Bounces" Along at highway speeds, as compared to a sedan. If possible, try to test drive on the highway to see if you like it. Generally, you will feel less jarring-ness from bumps in the road.

The CX5 can get up to speed rather easily, but I find myself driving safer in a more relaxed mood. Mazda cars are already more driver-centric than other Japanese brands in the similar range, but I would say the journey is more enjoyable in the CX5, while the drive experience is more enjoyable with the Mazda 3 (and I would guess the Mazda 6 as well).

There are probably better aftermarket sound systems, but the provided Bose sound system in the CX5 is good enough, if you don't intend to add on aftermarket parts.

Get the premium version if you can. It has nice options, one of which is ventilated seats. With the press of a button, a fan system inside the chair will channel cool air from the a/c to your back.

What I like
- HUD shown directly on windscreen.
- High ride-height.
- Automatic "Manual" transmission as opposed to CVT.

What I do not like
- Limited extensibility of telescopic steering wheel.
- Aircon seems weaker than Mazda 3 from 2017.
- Centre console for resting arm is not as long as that in Mazda 3.


qiming89
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Jun-2016
Best bang for bucks  Posted on 01 Jun 2019
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Car comes with Android auto and auto carplay, 2L engine more than sufficient for urban driving. Interior is equivalent to Europeon cars. No complains.

What I like
Premium interior
Best looking exterior
Does not cost as much as common looking harrier and low powered CRV , not to mention Euro cars
Bose sound system
HUD
Android auto , apple carplay
Reverse cam
Great handling in corners
Accor member with 1 free night stay

What I do not like
FC
A paranomic roof will be nice


Superflyguy63
4th Gear
1 reviews
523 points
125 forum posts Joined on 07-Feb-2019
Great Car  Posted on 07 Feb 2019
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Took delivery early December. Chock full of features and interior has the luxury feel,and I have driven 3 Merc and a Bimmer,and not to manteion other continent broads before,this one is a definite value for money in terms of luxe feel and features( mine's a 2.0 Premium) Handles well and rides comfortably for my family of 4. Only drawback I can tell is the boot space or the shortfall of it. Ohhhh....And one more thing, personally I think it's the handsomest SUV in the market......That's why I bought it! :-)


qiming89
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Jun-2016
Almost Premium  Posted on 26 Jan 2019
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Have been driving the CX-5 2.0 Premium for a month now. The entire car gives a premium feel compared to most cars in it's class.

What I like
Premium feel all around
Good handling
Exterior styling outshine most cars in same segment
Get so much more (electric tailgate, HUD, etc) compared to an entry level Audi/BMW/Merc

What I do not like
Gear change timing
Brake can be sharper


jabsmat
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
1 forum posts Joined on 26-Dec-2018
Upmarket Jap car that won't break the bank!  Posted on 23 Jan 2019
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Recently took delivery on a 2.0 Premium in November, and have been driving it for a while.

Ride is stable, but usual SUV feel. Soft suspension to cushion some bumps, but results in quite abit of body roll, when pushing car into a corner. Brakes also do not bite as well, might need to upgrade to aftermarket ones for a better feel.

Interior is plush, seats in Mazda fashion are thick and comfortable, but results in slightly less space as compared to other mainstream jap cars. Rear seats are more of a 2+1 seat rather than 3 seats. Significant raised middle block in the rear results in less space for middle passenger even though this is a 2WD.
Infotainment system is easy to use and has no lag. Buttons are plush and feel premium.

What I like
Interior design and comfort
Infotainment ease of use
Exterior design

What I do not like
Soft suspension
Brakes not as strong


0wnage
2nd Gear
2 reviews
107 points
357 forum posts Joined on 01-Sep-2011
Most exciting SUV to drive in its class  Posted on 08 Nov 2017
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Mazda's new KODO design language has been around for some time and it looks great on the 2nd generation CX-5 especially in this new Red colour! Having driven the 1st generation CX-5 myself, this CX-5 is still as engaging and responsive to drive with an improvement in NVH. It's handling is also known to be one of the best amount similar class of SUVs. Only downside is its lack of power (no turbo) unlike the Harrier and CRV. The CX-5 will definitely be my next car although I hope a turbo variant will be available then.


Trent895
2nd Gear
8 reviews
106 points
21 forum posts Joined on 08-May-2016
Very good built but expensive  Posted on 04 Nov 2017
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
I test drove the 2.5 top version and the build of this car reaches entry luxury standard. Very impressive indeed. The cabin is a wonderful place to be in, although leg space is slightly tight. The engine is ok, but it needs to rev to get going. Can feel tiring listening to the engine zoom zoom all the time.

What I like
Beautifully appointed cabin and overall looks.

What I do not like
Top-spec version price also reaches entry luxury car price level. A turbo charged engine will suit the car better.

Mazda CX-5
4 stars - based on 17 reviews