Recommended for you

Vauxhall launches new Insignia campaign

Vauxhall launches the new Insignia GSi

Vauxhall Insignia gets five-star Euro NCAP rating


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Opel Insignia Grand Sport 1.5 Turbo Innovation Premium Edition (A)
23 Feb 2018  |  Opel Reviews
With its keen styling, comprehensive equipment and generous interior space, the Opel Insignia Grand Sport is a practical choice for the sensible driver.
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Opel Insignia Grandsport 1.5 Turbo vs Skoda Superb 2.0 TSI
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Opel Insignia Grandsport
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
6 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

6 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
franzphil
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 24-Aug-2020
Opel Insignia 1.5 Grandsport  Posted on 24 Aug 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I was considering the Mazda 6 and Insignia for some weeks, and finally bought the Insignia 1.5 Grandsport. I like the European build quality, and it comes with excellent tyres (Continental Contisport 5), 18" Rims 245/r45 .

Opel's Joseph was very patient and professional, never pushy. In the test drive, he got me to experience the various cool features of the car. Very helpful. Look for him if you are interested in Opel cars.

The fuel consumption in city driving seems very average, but on the highway it is good. The large tyres gives me confidence, lots of stability.

What I like
1) low road tax
2) very stable
3) German quality
4) approachable and honest sales person
5) value for money, with the various safety features put in.

What I do not like
1) not enough storage/compartments
2) fuel consumption

Wlee
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 19-Apr-2006
Great car at a great price  Posted on 14 Nov 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Opel is a super under value car, it's great and the price is about the same as a korean car but you get continental touch. It's like driving a volvo but at half of it's price.

What I like
price

What I do not like
cost of parts

ErChianKong
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Nov-2018
Value for money for a beauty  Posted on 08 Nov 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Own the car for 3 months now and drove close to 8000km. So far, it is very comfortable, good and sharp handling despite its size. I got the diesel variant so every full tank give roughly 1000km. Spacious at the back, so it has fair amount of leg room. Boot is big too!

Definitely a big upgrade to the Altis and Mazda 3 i was driving

Really pretty car, many people turn their heads to have a 2nd look. I guess it is also not common, so it add to the uniqueness

What I like
Safety features - value for money

Styling - very chio

Good FC - especially now fuel $$$ is going up

Space - enough to be comfortable

What I do not like
Engine - sometimes a bit slow in getting the power

Large gaps between panels - so cleaning it totally can be a hassle as dirt might accumulate there

High road tax?

Justauser
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 14-Jun-2018
A gem that has been missed by many!  Posted on 14 Jun 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was looking at Mazda 6 and Opel Insignia when I was changing my old Mazda 6. Decided on Opel Insignia and never regretted. Got the car just about 2 weeks ago at 146K.
The car is packed with features: anti-collision, lane alert, passenger collision alert, adaptive cruise control, 360 camera, auto-locking feature, Apple Carplay, wireless charging of phone, driver seat with massaging ability, driver and front passenger seat with cooling and heating capabilities etc. The touchscreen was very easy to use and link up with Carplay was a breeze. The interior design of the car looks impressive with soft leather lining and tastefully designed. The leather felt much more posh and supple than my old Mazda.
Above all, the rear seating area is big. Plenty of leg room with rear aircon and USB charging for phone for passengers. I can sit my 4 young adult children at the back without much difficulty.
The car is also has much, much more sound proofing than Mazda 6 and the head up display was cool.
The pick up of the car is comparable to my old Mazda 6 2.4. But Mazda maybe a little more responsive possibly because of a larger engine and lighter than the continental car.
Lastly I love the car so much also because it is not a common sight on the road. And it is a beauty to behold externally too. Just noticed someone peering at and into the car just the other day when I was walking to the car in my company's carpark:)

What I like
- Everything so far except the 4 points below.

What I do not like
- Storage compartments not as many as Mazda 6.
- The display panel cannot play video, but I guess you are not supposed to play video while driving:)
- The navigation system is through Apple Carplay and does not come in-built. The European version with in-built navigation can actually show direction on the heads- up display as well. Hopefully future models come with the capability.
- Rear seats only have heating features but not cooling features:(

opgamerkkhk
1st Gear
36 reviews
28 points
62 forum posts Joined on 15-Nov-2016
Really bad  Posted on 09 Jun 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 1/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Rear headroom lest the a vw beetle, i cannot fit at all, strictly 2 seater, can get passat at this price, this car is slow, low quality and poorly engineered, just a rebadged holden

What I like
How opel cheat money

What I do not like
what do you think?

InsigniaOwner
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 24-Apr-2018
Great and Underrated German Car  Posted on 24 Apr 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Got this car 1 month ago and is very pleased with it. 1.5l petrol turbo which has great power and torque. After purchasing the car then I realize that this car is more powerful than the CLA180, C180, BMW 318 cars. In terms of size, it is bigger than all the above mentioned. Backseat room space is huge, much more comfortable than the CLA180, as commented by some friends who have sat in a CLA180. Price wise of course much cheaper than the others. Very happy with the drive, the feel and the overall handling of the car. Pick up is quiet and smooth. This car also has many of the latest safety features. A friend driving the E200 AMG commented that my new car has more safety features than his 1.5 year old E200. To top it off, the Bose sound system is awesome. Lastly, the Apple Car play also gives seamless integration with my phone... And wireless phone charging! Distributor also provided a Thinkware camera for front and back, this camera gives very good quality videos. Car comes with 5 years warranty and 3 years service. Distributor giving additional 2 more years servicing at a reasonable price. This is important as continental cars tend to be more expensive when it comes to servicing, locking in 5 years of service puts me at ease.

What I like
In general, happy with everything.

What I do not like
Car doesn't auto shut off when I leave the car... thought would be great if there is such a feature. The VES incurred a $10k addition to the car price else it would have been even cheaper. Note, even with this VES, the car price is still much cheaper than those mentioned above. Turning radius wider than my old Jap car, so still trying to get use to it.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Opel Insignia Grandsport
3.5 stars - based on 6 reviews